Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ex-leader uses blog to needle Malaysian government

Ex-leader uses blog to needle Malaysian government PDF Print
Monday, 27 October 2008 08:27

By Seth Mydans, The International Herald Tribune

In a vast office at the top of one of the world's tallest buildings, former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad sits at a broad, glass-topped desk, scribbling his thoughts on a pad of unlined paper.

For 22 years Mahathir was the most powerful person in this land, and his thoughts were commands as he reshaped the country in his own grand image.

But he has become an irritant and a spoiler five years after stepping down, turning against his handpicked successor, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, and he has fallen victim to the press controls he perfected as prime minister.

It is mainly a system of self-censorship in an atmosphere of pressure and intimidation that produces an obedient press and has seen the closure or banning of many publications.

"Where is the press freedom?" he exclaimed two years ago, apparently surprised to be suddenly ignored. "Broadcast what I have to say! What I say is not even accurately published in the press!"

Around the region, bloggers like him are becoming a fifth estate, challenging the government's monopoly on information in Singapore, evading censors in Vietnam and influencing events in places like Thailand, Cambodia and China.

In March, political experts say, Malaysia's bloggers helped tip the balance, contributing to the biggest upset the governing party, the United Malays National Organization, had suffered since independence in 1957. For the first time in decades, it fell below two-thirds of the seats in Parliament, and it lost control of 5 of 13 states.

Two months after that, in May, Mahathir went digital, cutting and thrusting with elan.

"It is time the so-called intellectuals realize they were being duped by the Master of Spin," he wrote on Aug. 21, referring to his bitter enemy, Anwar Ibrahim, who was his deputy prime minister and now leads the opposition.

"The pious Muslim, who is also the bosom pal of Paul Wolfowitz, the neo-con Jew, the killer of Muslims," he said, referring to the former U.S. deputy secretary of defense.

Blogging on Sept. 3, he offered a sort of mission statement.

Many people are with him as he harasses the government, he asserted. "But they are not prepared to say it openly. That was why I started my blog. About six million had visited my blog site and tens of thousands have commented and supported me."

In case anyone doubts this, he posts the comments, by the dozens and hundreds, page after page, day after day. It turns out he has a lot of fans out there.

"Amazingly brilliant!" reads one comment. "I can't stop laughing... you made my day Sir!"

"HAHAHAHA :) ...This is your BEST posting so far, my dear Tun!!" reads another, referring to Mahathir by an honorific.

"Dearest Tun," reads another, "You are sooooo right.. spot on.. bulls eye.."

And just to clear up any possible misunderstanding, another writes: "You, sir, are the most brilliant politician Malaysia has ever been blessed with."

In the upheaval of the March election, several bloggers, following an opposite trajectory from that of Mahathir, used their online popularity to win seats in the national or state parliaments.

The most prominent was Jeff Ooi, 52, a former advertising copywriter who was one of Malaysia's first political bloggers, in 2003, at www.jeffooi.com.

"The government doesn't have a clue how to handle bloggers," he said in an interview. "If I were a dictator I would be despairing. What do you do against this?"

The government's assault on Ooi - "very hostile," he said - included threats of imprisonment without trial, attacks in the government-friendly press and defamation lawsuits, which are popular among leaders in Southeast Asia.

But that only seemed to make him a hero, and when he decided to run for Parliament with the opposition Democratic Action Party, he already had a big head start.

"As a person that has consistently faced threats as a blogger, I had a kind of iconism and imagery that this is someone you can trust, someone the government fears, someone you need to put into Parliament," he said.

But he said it is much harder to blog from the inside. "The trade-off is that I have to write with measured words," he said. "I am no longer my old self. I thought I had to take it to a higher level, and a lot of readers are getting disappointed. It isn't the same blogger that they used to know."

Earlier this year, Ooi said, he attended a public forum with Mahathir, and he claims that he is the one who persuaded the old war horse to get blogging.

"I threw him a challenge," Ooi said. "A blogger shares a few prerequisites. One, he is strongly opinionated. Two, he could be controversial. And, thirdly, he is an agent provocateur on issues.

"I thought Mahathir fulfilled all three."

The result, Ooi said, was "a miracle, he scored about 10 million visitors within months."

Now, a convert to free speech, Mahathir is using his blog to champion the most recent victim of government censorship, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the country's highest-profile blogger, who posts his slash-and-burn commentary on his site, www.malaysia-today.net. The site has been blocked, but readers are redirected to another address, which continues to be updated.

The government has fallen back on the kind of tactics that Ooi said it threatened against him, charging Raja Petra with sedition and locking him up for two years without trial for comments he has posted.

Mahathir, the country's former strongman, sounded almost like Che Guevara when he said in his blog that the arrest showed "a degree of oppressive arrogance worthy of a totalitarian state."

Furthermore, locking people up is futile, he said in an interview in his sky-high office. There is no way the government can arrest all the bloggers, even if it wants to.

At least, he said, "I hope so. Otherwise I'll be in, too."

written by cheekymate, October 27, 2008 08:37:45
Don't pride yourself you have a huge fan club; we log on to see how low you will stoop and continue to make a fool of yourself. You have an enormous HATE club. Get that right.
written by Tlau, October 27, 2008 08:41:42
Can this mammak influence the government to release RPK? If he can, I will salute and bow to him. Otherwise, keep his gap closed.
written by ibabonma, October 27, 2008 08:43:35
I have not visited his blog, this former public enemy no. 1, the former lanun no. 1, the HAPRAK no.1, the dirties of UMNO goon ... this Mammak Kutty.
written by biggun129, October 27, 2008 08:45:07
He is the One that screwed up our country!!!Put him into Kamunting Camp, and we will see whether he can still write his blog like RPK!!!This useless oldman, he is the traitor of our country!!!
written by avj, October 27, 2008 08:53:34
"It is time the so-called intellectuals realize they were being duped by the Master of Spin," he wrote on Aug. 21, referring to his bitter enemy, Anwar Ibrahim, who was his deputy prime minister and now leads the opposition.

Bullshit,TDM you are the spin docter,you twist the facts to suit your convience.Do you think that all those who support DSAI are idiots? Even if they are,what they are doing is making sure that the likes of you don't worm their way back into government,and your UMNO Bahru is obiliterated in the next G.E.
written by truthbespoken, October 27, 2008 08:55:41
To cut a long story short, Mahathir is still having it "My Way" on either side of the media's fence.

The worse part of it now is that it seems this man is succeeding in making use of the media to promote the extension of his dynasty!

It looks like Malaysians have a lot more to swallow from this cunning man!
written by rockli, October 27, 2008 08:57:54
M is still at it - can't keep quiet.
What on earth did he do much for Malaysia?
As for promoting racial polarisation, cronisms, nepotisms, allowing corruption to flourish coz he needed Umno support so he let Umno bigwigs get away with corruption.
They gave him Tunship for all these!
If he had made Malaysia a developed nation status like S'pore then he did the country some good.
With ALL our natural resources - we should be ahead of S'pore even ahead of Taiwan, probably close to S. Korea by now.
So what if we are ahead of Indonesia, one of the most corrupt nations on earth.
So he should shut up FOR GOOD!
The ACA, AG should pin some misdeeds of his and put him behind bars for at least 3 years.
written by lamakawan, October 27, 2008 09:00:25
Mahathir, a/l Kutty, you are a double headed snake. You would have arrested Jeff if you were in the gomen. You would think of the ways and means to give reasons to arrest any blogger that doesn't share your views. This is a fact since the days you started government. You instituted Opeeation Lallang once the opposition gained ground in that election year. You silenced any one not suitable for your palate. Now that you are no more in gomen, you say blogging should be allowed. Why? Because that would give you a means to fight back your enemies on the other side of your fence now.
written by onnetline, October 27, 2008 09:23:41
A bloody corrupted, unIslamic ex-dictator who rules by the way he wants it and not the way of the people !

An immigrant child from India who claims to be an ethnic Malay or bumiputera.

Shameless bastard.
written by Hello Keithy, October 27, 2008 09:25:53
He's a devil in disguise. Better watch out esp. when he's being nice.

written by ireneyow, October 27, 2008 09:37:50
Whatever this dirty old man says or writes is just to make sure his kingdom maintains. WE CAN SEE IT NOW. He is also the culprit for making Malaysia a racist, over religiuos, corrupted, poor education standards and degrading moral standards amoung our Asians neighbours. We were not like what we are now under Tuanku (Our Father of Malaysia) goverment. This dirty old man should be taught a lesson and IF I can suggest we should put him in ISA and then ablish ISA. Lets make history by putting THIS DIRTY OLD HORSE the last person to be arrested without trial. He is a ONLY MAN who really make Malaysian Education, Economy and Polictical unstability in Malaysia.
written by justinlian, October 27, 2008 09:51:15
Dear Mahatir,
No doubt you are the one to make malaysia a well known country to the world, When I was in UK in 80's, no body really know where is malaysia but only Singapore and thot most of us living up high on the trees.
But you also a father of everything.
I recommend you to retire peacefully and have a nice life before it ends with grace or disgrace.
At least save some face for your generation or they go down with you.

written by DreamLady, October 27, 2008 09:57:36
With due respect to you mahathir, your mind is still as sharp as the young and vibrant intellects, there is a difference though.....

You tend to forget what you condemn an act which you condoned when you were PM so much so that you spill out garbage each time you open your mouth.

In future be mindful of what you say least your 'squeaky-clean' reputation
shall be tarnished !!
written by Braino, October 27, 2008 12:56:58
A frustrated person is a very dangerous person. If he cannot get it his way, he will rather destroy it than to let others enjoy the so call "fruit of his labour" That the behaviour of someone who enjoys so much attention and suddenly ignored by the very people he supported and groomed.

We must understand the feeling of betrayal and being played out by those whom he thought can be trusted. Worst still its his very own race and creed. Its tough to wake up every morning feeling unwanted and sidelined...no easy time to pass even for the strongest person of will power and self dignity.

So sad, but that's the price you pay when you venture into politics!
written by FFT, October 27, 2008 14:52:29
In case anyone doubts this, he posts the comments, by the dozens and hundreds, page after page, day after day. It turns out he has a lot of fans out there.

Read the comments in chedet.com carefully, and you will see a common theme in it. Something very peculiar, and that you won't observe in any other blog, including a popular one like MT.

All comments are almost exclusively focused around glorifying and adoring the "Dear Ex-Leader", much like you see these public platitudes rigged in a very overboard manner in North Korea, Saddam's Iraq, and Mugabe's Zimbabwe.

The comments there, I would estimate quite reliably about 95% of them, are minions of Mahathir whose job is to post comments of glorification and adulation. And it is engineered by Mahathir, through his intermediaries and more sophisticated blogger flunkies. And unsurprisingly so....it is a hallmark of a grand old dictator who harbors delusions of grandeur. The comments on his blog are a direct reflection of the psychological affliction that plagues him. It is merely the cyber extension of his deeds while in power in terms of mega projects, mega towers, mega this and mega that.

And it also underscores the present situation he finds himself in....that of relative irrelevance, apart from loyal slobbering toadies. He needs the blog not to voice out for the people, he needs his blog to make him feel relevant in a world that is speeding on and leaving him in the dust.

This is a very sick man that the country could do without and would improve tremendously if he were consigend to the garbage heap of history.
written by yy88, October 27, 2008 15:50:07
If you thought you knew Hitler well as a racist, you haven't know this Tun MAMAK yet.
If you thought you knew Pol Pot for being cruel to his people, you haven't know this Tun MAMAK yet.
If you thought you knew Osama well as a terrorist, you haven't know this Tun MAMAK yet.
If you thought you knew Suhaarto well for his corruption,you haven't know this Tun MAMAK yet.
If you thought you knew Idi Amin well for his hypocrisy and dictatorship, you haven't know this Tun MAMAK yet.
Who would blame you if you need a Stephen Hawking to see the real Tun MAMAK who is all in one.
written by lamakawan, October 27, 2008 16:42:51
Mahathir, you are a conceited ex UMNO dog. You look to youirself as the epicentre of all things. People log on to see your blogs does not mean that they support you. They just curious about what you have to say against your adversaries still in UMNO. You are not the champion of Malaysians. Your perception of such is all pure escapism on your part. If you don't stop writing you will end in a world of hallucination.
written by educationist, October 27, 2008 19:05:24
I'm not sure I'm doing the right thing, but on a matter of principle I have studiously avoided Dr M's blog.
For what he did to the independence and dignity of our judiciary, I feel it is giving him an honour he does not desrve.
But, that's no shortage of info of the sensational blogs of his either in the MSM, Malaysiakini or MT.
Which brings me to my point - if roles had been reveresed -Badawi will long ago had been detained under the ISA and not a whisper of what he said will have appeared in the MSM.
written by Sabahfan, October 28, 2008 00:02:08
The blog of the ex-Firaun? aaarrh.. BLOOODY BORING....

the so-called millions who keep filling up his comment forums are just a bunch of die hard UMNO supporters, or probably paid to write over and over just to add more to the hit counts....

went and check once, and all the commenters starts with the same stupid opening lines....'SALAM TUN".... he he he he..

which proves the same few people repeating themselves over and over.

sometimes i see more than two comment postings fromt he same guy.. haaaa ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha aha ha h
written by InEffective, October 28, 2008 09:48:09

no one is stopping anyone here from blogging on chedet's blog.

I for one celebrate the former premier's blogging, and i appreciate him positioning his views.

I personally think he is a hypocrite, but then which politician isn't ?
If the rakyat does not have the critical thinking ability and judgment to not fall for the framing and spin skills of this masterful politician, then you will be a victim of his.

But at the end-of-the-day, he is very smart, very competitive - plays to win at your cost, but does not have that trait or quality that makes a true leader on the level of the great governors in history - he places self first. (world of difference from a leader like Akbar to this politician)

written by Blackgiring, October 28, 2008 13:36:59
....no wonder all of you moron suffered for 22 years without any education, shelter, food, job..etc..etc.. it is all due to TDM 22 years ruling policy..what a pathetic lot..this country have...