Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Not all NEP elements will go, Najib aide clarifies

Not all NEP elements will go, Najib aide clarifies PDF Print
Saturday, 25 October 2008 14:22

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 25 —Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak has said he is ready to dismantle a decades-old policy favouring Malays, marking a significant change from the government's staunch defence of the policy in the past.

A close aide to Najib, however, told The Straits Times that the Deputy Premier had said there would be a “gradual liberalisation of some of the elements of NEP”, and not the entire programme.

This could take place in the “not-too-distant future”, Najib had earlier said of the New Economic Policy (NEP) set up in 1971 by his father, Tun Abdul Razak, the then-premier, to help the country's Malays.

His remarks appear to be aimed at appeasing disgruntled non-Malays as well as disillusioned Malay youth who say the NEP serves only the interests of a select few, say observers.

“If we do not change, the people will change us. In the not-too-distant future, we will see all the elements of the New Economic Policy being replaced,” he said in an interview with Bloomberg.

The policy favours ethnic Malays and indigenous groups, or Bumiputeras, in public offerings, housing, government scholarships, procurement and employment. It has repeatedly drawn criticism from non-Malays, who complain it has led to distortions in the economy and cronyism.

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim had also capitalised on unhappiness with the NEP while pushing his multiracial platform — which contributed to his coalition's surprise victory in the March polls — and said he would scrap it if he seizes power.

With his latest comments, Najib — who is slated to take over from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi in March — is beginning to sound like Anwar. His remarks could be part of Umno's efforts to stem a slide in support, which saw it suffering major losses at the polls.

Some analysts remained sceptical, however, over Umno's readiness to give up the NEP, noting that it has helped many of its members.

James Chin, political science lecturer at the Monash University Malaysia Campus, said Najib was simply making the right noises to impress the non-Malay electorate as well as the global business community.

“Najib's statement was aimed at the business community. He understands that with the financial crisis the world is facing, Malaysia has to reform, especially on its NEP in order to attract new foreign direct investment,” he told The Straits Times.

“‘Not-too-distant future’ can mean any time between now and 100 years.”

Najib yesterday was also quoted as saying it was time for Umno leaders to conduct themselves in such a way that they would appeal to a wider audience, if they wanted to stay in power.

He was responding to former deputy premier Tun Musa Hitam's stinging criticism this week that the party was “too introverted” and suffering from old-age sickness.

Another Umno politician who is now whistling a different tune is Khairy Jamaluddin, the 32-year-old son-in-law of Abdullah. A year ago, he was taking the ultra-Malay approach of many politicians but now he is all for multiracial politics.

“The level of multi-ethnic camaraderie within BN is still lacking. It is as though we come together only for electoral purposes because we are part of this pact, the same coalition,” he said in an interview published in The Sun yesterday.

“There is no genuine feeling of a shared destiny, of a common future. That's something we have to change and I feel very strongly about that.”

But critics say the change could be too little, too late to save Khairy's reputation.

Even within Umno, he is struggling to garner nominations in the race with Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, son of former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, for the post of chief of Umno Youth. 

- Straits Times, Singapore

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, October 25, 2008 14:26:55
THIEVES' COMPROMISE

Not all elements will go.

Special privileges for ordinary Malays will go but the extraordinary privilege to steal for special Malays will stay...

written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:31:36
Don't shame me anymore,Najis.I'm a malay and I don't need this shit anymore.You make me been called with all sort of names but in fact I don't benefit a cent from NEP.Get lost!I'm a new malay and I really don't need this bloody ass hole.
written by justinlian, October 25, 2008 14:33:41
Ai yah, just a few facial changes for what,
better dont change at all and keep for next 4 years more.
written by justice, October 25, 2008 14:34:17
written by Old Man, October 25, 2008 14:42:13
Even if the NEP is scrapped totally today, tomorrow we'll see a new policy to benefit the Puteris and Putras of UMNO. Ahmadneil is right. A lot of Malays/Muslims/Bumiputras don't even benefit a single cent from NEP! If really everyone were to benefit every Malaysian ( regarless of race or religion ) would be a millionaire today! Of course very soon we are going to be trillionaires when we are at par with Zimbawe in the not too distant future! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:50:49
Umno is playing with NEP to fish for votes.Don't ever be fooled by their tricks.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:57:53
Very simple,when umno needeed the chinese votes,they will say we will abolish NEP.When umno needed the malays votes,they will say NEP must stay.This is the greatest BULLSHIT in the whole world. All the chinese and the malays are are been kick around by umno, like a football.They still think we all are the stupiest people on earth.Everytime NEP is mention,my blood boils.These bastards must have the NEP stuffed into their mouth.
written by binkah1, October 25, 2008 15:11:09
A half hearted promise...just keep it smilies/cry.gif
written by avj, October 25, 2008 15:16:25
What goes or what stays makes no difference.It is still the same players,and the motive is still the same,to tear the carcass to the bone.Malaysians will be shy to reveal their Malaysian identity because of their PM's tainted and rediculed past, which he chooses not to disprove.
written by loosecannon, October 25, 2008 15:28:16
NEP or not, these crooked Umnoputras will find a way to continue to steal from us. Trust them.
written by miwaki, October 25, 2008 15:38:58
Don't be too excited about what Najib said,politicians especially from UMNO-led BN government are all cannot be trusted.Whatever policies introduce by our current government are just to make you happy,there is no actual improvement on our daily life.
written by Braino, October 25, 2008 15:46:18
Stealing can take many forms and shapes. As long as the whole bunch is still there, trust me...nothing much will ever change. Just empty talk! The Rakyat is no longer as stupid as they use to be. The Rakyat is more informed and educated now. Don't try to fool us with cheap talk and cheap tricks. It does not work anymore. Still using the old tricks his father use!...so much for inteligence!
written by onnetline, October 25, 2008 15:46:23
Najis, cut you shit talk, please !

With or without the NEP, you & your cronies are already stealing from the rakyat of this country.

After all, what can we expect of a corrupted murder suspect being a Prime Minister ?

Shameless bastards !!!!

written by ez24get, October 25, 2008 16:13:49
Yes, all NEP elements will go and those which enriches UMNOputras will stay!

Take the example of Valuecap - you are using the poor pensioners’ money to finance the rich UMNOputras in the share market. How does that help the ordinary Malays?
written by Msian Idol3, October 25, 2008 16:27:26
Talk is cheap. Implementation is another story. Besides what can the PM/DPM do about corruption starting at the top(Ministers) & our education system which is race based???? Right its just talk but the lack of will to implement has always been an issue with the present ruling power.
written by cheekymate, October 25, 2008 16:36:10
Hey guys,
I loved all your comments. Absolutely brilliant!
Keep the momentum going; wear him down and tear him to pieces!
written by michael chick, October 25, 2008 17:25:35
SMEELY SHIT WILL NEED TO BE EXECUTED THIS WAY.
ELSE, ALL WILL BE LOST

written by Fairminded, October 25, 2008 17:27:07
Please cut the crap man! UMNO will never remove the NEP not because it benefits the Malays but it benefits UMNOPUTERAS. I dont see a non race base, but need base system will not benefit the Malays if the Malays are in the lower income group. However, this will remove the excuse to give contracts of white elephant projects to the fake Malays in UMNO. I hope our Malay fellow citizens will realize the ruse and stop being taken in and alienating themselves from other Malaysians.
written by Hello Keithy, October 25, 2008 17:52:43
Who says he hasn't got his own manifesto ? He's lying. The Malaysiakini journalist should not have resigned. Abolish ISA and NEP.
written by A MI, October 25, 2008 17:55:08
NEP has been around since second PM and how come there are still "poor" Malays? Cos all the rich fat Malays still want to be leeches. You how many amno-putra/putri Profesor Madyas proodly announce their sons or daughters have secured JPA or MARA scholarship. To begin with these parents were beneficiaries of NEP and they expect their generations to continue to be financed by the government. And they clamour for free education in UiTM too.
written by michael chick, October 25, 2008 18:17:55
THIS IS NAJIB'S BANK. DO THE RIGHT THING !!!

written by smalluncle, October 25, 2008 18:20:58
Hellooooo, when Lim Guan Eng mentioned NEP, protest comes from every available angle.

now Najib mentioned the same, WHY SO QUITE? Isn't that a BULLY evidence M Son Of M wants. Nah, take it. Big Bully.
written by smalluncle, October 25, 2008 18:23:06
How come no one protest one. Now Najib mentioned the same issue Guan eng mentioned in March. where are all the mamak nasi kandar protestors????

Double standard BIG BULLY.
written by cheekymate, October 25, 2008 19:05:25
Najis, UMNO and its parasite Umnoputras are like a bad cancer. The only way to cure it is to cut it out.
written by educationist, October 25, 2008 19:16:27
Ha! Ha!
Just one day, he has to clarify what he means.
By the time he becomes PM, there is nothing in the NEP that needs to be changed.
written by ibabonma, October 25, 2008 19:41:41
When they do away with the NEP, there are no UMNO cronies available to help the goons to buy votes. So you believe in this Najis, the licker?
written by Futurist, October 25, 2008 20:11:29
All this is just plain talk to hoodwink the non-malays. Do you think they will ever give up the money plant?
written by Atheist, October 25, 2008 21:14:43
First of all, I'm happy that the Govt agrees to ammend the NEP instead of the ISA. But then again, just don't abuse the ISA until people can do without it.

Secondly, AAB I believe has so vindictive and so bitter towards Hindraf that it even considers manhandling children. This is sadas even during the peak of TDM's cruelty, we never manhandled children!

The key to UMNO's survival is to decipline the UMNOPUTRAS .... not open the economy so that the typical businessman can take a bigger chunk of it and abuse the rest of us. What is the price of char kueh teow now with the fuel price drop ????

I consider the NEP and ISA as Pandora's boxes. Need I say more ?????
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Malaysiaputra, October 25, 2008 21:21:24
“There is no genuine feeling of a shared destiny, of a common future. That's something we have to change and I feel very strongly about that.”

=====

What shared destiny ? Umnoputras are only thinking of how to fill their own pockets (govt contracts, APs, Taxi licences etc etc) when they succeeded in getting into the right post not what is good for the rakyat or the nation.

Where is the likes of Daim after making their millions through govt contacts, contracts etc etc ?. Staying overseas will their newfound wealth ?.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 25, 2008 21:24:31
I don't need so many words to describe my feelings. Just two.

FUG THEM.
written by Loh, October 25, 2008 22:10:19
///A close aide to Najib, however, told The Straits Times that the Deputy Premier had said there would be a “gradual liberalisation of some of the elements of NEP”, and not the entire programme.////

The issue is after 50 years should government policies be race-based? To retain even a single element in NEP shows that the government is still racist and that defeats the idea of shared destiny for the citizens. It only says that the politicians are just gauging the extent discrimination could be practised, and thre is no sincerity to treat the people of different races as equal citizens.

NEP was formulated because the government in power thought that article 153 was not widespread in its discrimination against non-Malays. For Malaysia to have a future with people believing that they belong, not only NEP should go, Article 153 should be declared mission accomplished.
written by minds, October 26, 2008 05:03:57
Just ask him what our malaysia dont have? why we are still behind 50years,why we are still so poor just a bit better than zimbabwe.WE WANT CHANGE and we need new goverment
written by Ngui, October 26, 2008 07:43:35
Back tracking again. As if Malasian are so incapable and require this charity and that. How to compete if at home they are so shielded. Look at sports for the answers. Why at the last hurdle? Why always just the nexr step is required?
written by Dominic, October 26, 2008 10:10:24
Najis,we dont need to be told time and again that NEP is only there temproarly and in no too distant future it will be removed . Thats a lie ! If it is not good now,it should be removed immediately and not later. Malaysia need foreign investment. Why should these investors put their monies here when they have better choices elsewhere ? Be bold enough to scrap immediately and the next thing you see is flocks of investors coming over with their monies. Your recent statement is nothing but a big lie hoping to place your seat in a more comfortable position once you take over the premiership in Mar09. Rakyats are no fools and so are the foreign investors !!!
written by talk2stop, October 26, 2008 10:22:33
The current NEP has it good side. Don't knock me but be a bit realistic.
It makes the non bumis competitive in life. Look around you with NEP running for decades in Malaysia the bumis are only marginal ahead.
What do you think of a successful bumi who works his/her guts out? He/She gets a negative respond because it is not her/his ability but because of NEP. That's is why the bumi has no incentives.
The non bumis are trained to hunt the moment they are born. That's what my mom & dad said,"Son you are born to struggle in a foreign land."
The tough gets going when the going gets tough.
Try to explain that to a bumi. Some don't have a clue.
written by born2reign, October 26, 2008 18:27:10
NEP = Never Ending Paralysis.

Frankly, I'd prefer that govt continue NEP with the Malays. Then the non-Malays become more skillful and resourceful and we can work in China, Europe, Singapore and other countries, or non-Malays do business globally in China and India, become rich, have better savings rate, and come back and buy up all the Malaysian land that Malays are too poor to own, and too eager to sell (quick money is in the Malay's soul)

Please do not stop the Never Ending Paralysis. It's a good policy for non-Malays to conquer Malaysia economically.