Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Suhakam: Filipino with 'connections' gets Mykad

Suhakam: Filipino with 'connections' gets Mykad PDF Print
Saturday, 25 October 2008 14:18

The Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) has revealed three cases that raise searching questions about the Sabah office of the National Registration Department, as well as about border security.

Deputy chairperson Simon Sipaun provided details recorded from complainants, when he spoke to Malaysiakini by telephone in Kota Kinabalu.

Case No 1

A Filipino who had been arrested under the Internal Security Act (ISA) and deported a few years ago, had re-entered Sabah three weeks ago to collect his MyKad when informed it was ready.

He complained to Suhakam that the state NRD did not want to release the document because they found out that he had previously been detained under the ISA.

police abuse suhakam pc 050808 simon sipaunAsked by Suhakam officials how he managed to re-enter the state, he replied: “Entering Sabah is as easy as walking from CentrePoint (a shopping complex in Kota Kinabalu) to Kampung Air (across the road). I was not alone. There were 50 of us.”

Noted Sipaun (left): “Here we have a Filipino who said he had connections in the state NRD and it was through them that he had obtained a MyKad. And (yet) we have locals who have been waiting for years to get their MyKad.

“There is an urgent need to strengthen enforcement along Sabah’s border. Saying that the border is long and porous is inexcusable. Sarawak has a even longer border with Indonesia and yet its problems with illegal immigrants are not as severe.”

Case No 2

A 33-year-old man born in Kampung Mandurian, Pitas, has yet to obtain his Mykad after waiting 12 years. Both his parents are locals and they have always lived in the same village. The complainant has a valid birth certificate issued by the state NRD.

Case No 3

A Filipino complainant was not satisfied after his children were not admitted to school. He has a MyKad issued by the state NRD. It indicates that he is a Malaysian, Muslim and bumiputera. His birth certificate shows that both his parents are Filipinos and non-Malaysians.

“He is not a citizen. His birth certificate states that he was born in Kampung Pirasan, Kota Marudu. But when Suhakam checked, there was no such village in Kota Marudu,” said Sipaun.

“This is very puzzling. Here is a person who should not have been issued with a MyKad at all because he is not a citizen. This is based on the documents that he has showed us.”

Sabah Law Association president John Sikayun blames the state NRD’s policy of accepting (previously) a police report and a statutory declaration to issue a late registration birth certificate as the main loopholes.

identity card mykad change of religion or faithThese are being exploited by illegal immigrants to obtain a MyKad and become citizens, Bumiputera and natives, after which they also get on the electoral rolls.

“The Registration of Birth and Death Ordinance 1948 of the state is the right procedure to use in registering late birth certificates,” said Sikayun.

“The Ordinance clearly provides a process of law in which a magistrate has to ascertain whether an applicant is a genuine citizen. The Ordinance exists and should be used.”

Sikayun suggested that the state NRD officials follow the mobile court on its rounds. The mobile court system, introduced in March, can help conduct inquiries of applicants for late birth certificates. The applicant should produce five witnesses, as provided for by law, including the village head and the midwife.

Colour code for passes

Newly-appointed state NRD director Abdul Jaffear Henry said he would have to check the law before commenting on the use of the state Ordinance for late registration of births.

“We try to follow the mobile courts to assist the rural folk to obtain their documents, but sometimes we are unable to make it because of (staff) shortage.”

The NRD in PutraJaya recently announced that it would no longer entertain applications for late registration of births in Sabah. This provoked an outcry against the ruling among ordinary people and politicians from both sides of the divide.

syed hamid albar exclusive interview larger pix 231008 05Instead, what awaits potential late registrants is the infamous green card (indicative of temporary residence) system which was abandoned a few years ago. It was revived earlier this month, according to Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar who pledged that “everyone in the country would be given an identity but not necessarily a Malaysian identity”.

Under the previous application of the law, the green card must be renewed every year. Holders are not allowed to leave the country and, should they leave, they will not be allowed back in. If they are allowed back in because no other country will accept them, they would be reduced to the status of a Special Pass holder.

In Sabah, the old green card holders are not allowed to venture even to other parts of Malaysia. Peninsular Malaysia and Sarawak are considered ‘foreign countries’ under the immigration law.

Red card (permanent resident) or MyPR holders can be away from the country for six months at a maximum but would have to obtain a re-entry permit before leaving. If they do not, they will be stripped of their MyPR upon their return and reduced to the status of a green card or Special Pass holder. Permanent residents are now allowed to work without a work permit.

For travel purposes, MyPR holders have to use the passport of their country of origin. If this is not possible - loss of citizenship status after 10 years is the main reason - the Immigration Department will issue them with a yellow Certificate of Identity or brown Emergency Certificate for the purposes of travel abroad.

Effectively, they are considered stateless people. The Emergency Certificate was also previously available to Malaysian citizens who wanted to leave the country at short notice.

The Special Pass allows a ‘foreigner’ - generally ‘Malaysians’ who did not have even the green card under the previous policy but who have returned - to remain in the country. The Special Pass has to be renewed every month and may be issued for periods less than one month.

The Home Ministry has set up a Special Unit within the NRD to clear the backlog of applications for citizenship and other personal documents in Sabah and Sarawak.

However, Syed Hamid Albar has warned that “the applications (backlog) cannot be simply approved as there are rules and regulations which have to be observed”.

- Malaysiakini

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:23:16
I was inform from my Sabahan sources that if you kick out a Indon tonite,he will come back tomorrow with a new name and a new passport.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:26:25
The tradegy of sabah is only to be blame on the sabahan themselves.They should have kick out all those crooks,but instead sabahan take a few dirty ringgit and kept the crooks.
written by justinlian, October 25, 2008 14:29:01
These things has been going on for years, not only now...
You kick him out, he will come back in a few days time.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 25, 2008 14:37:05
Haiyo, Sipaun! You mean to tell me you got the “sleeping sickness” too??? This has been happening since Tun Mamathir’s time from around 1986 onwards when real honest-to-goodness Malaysian ICs were issued freely (like Tapai) to all migrants in Sabah.
The exercise was carried out to punish the PBS for pulling out of the BN (and effectively making Sabah the third Opposition held State) and to dilute our Sabahans’ votes to turn Sabah into UMNO’s “Fixed Deposit” (as Najib kindly puts it) for the BN to win in every damned general election from that time onwards (which has indeed happened).

Furthermore, I strongly suggest that you and the other bunch of “Topenai” politicians make the rounds and slap every fuking Natives Chiefs for selling Natives Certificates to none Bumiputras and none Malaysians too.

After you have done that, you and your bunch of “T Topenai” politicians put on old & torn sarongs and publicly flog yourselves and beg forgiveness from all real Sabahans for selling us off to the Federal government.
written by kota marudian, October 25, 2008 14:42:56
You are both right about illegals in and out of Sabah. My mother in law has been here all her life and has a red ic. Her mother is Kadazan and father Chinese. Born here means nothing but connections do. smilies/angry.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 25, 2008 14:48:08
Waaah, Ahamadneil, what the fuk are you still doing here, and as usual, talking cock & know nuts about Sabah?? We all thought you would have left on an "URGENT MISSION" to fuk Najib in Mongolia. You SHAMELESSLY posted yesterday (in your own words):

written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 20:59:20
Breaking news...
"My source in Mongolia have just call me to inform me that I can leave at anytime I chose.So from now if You don't hear from me,then I'm secretly making my way to Mongolia.Guys if you have any question that you want me to poise to Shaariibuu Setev,kindly post it in MT and I will record it down.Try to make your questions short and clear,straight to the point,becos I will be engaging a translator.Thanks."

Why??? No money to purchase tickets to Mongolia kah????
written by avj, October 25, 2008 15:07:37
Ahmadneil,
please log on to http://sjsandteam.*********.com/ they would like to hear from you. Remember sjs ,they are here.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:09:00
Put on a Haji cap and you can do what you like in sabah.This cowboy town of umno are the most corrupted state in malaysia.No wonder crooks from around like to come to sabah to make a living.It's won't be long before sabah like another wild wild west.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:20:00
One taxi driver told me ,while I was in sabah,that if you want to be a local,just fast track a marriage to a local bumi girl and the in-laws will help you be get my card easily.My god,no wonder most sabahan family consist of illegal immigrants or runaways.Guys, be careful when your sons want to marry a 'sabahan'.Check her background first,or otherwise you will be accuse of harbouring illegals.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:23:04
Dear MT,
Rainbowseahorse is in distress.Take necessary steps to examine his sickness becos drug seems not effective.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:30:33
Umno is very interested in sabah becos this where they can rape sabahan and get away with it.No states in malaysia have been raped so many time as sabah.Sabah to umno is like Guantanamo Bay to United states.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:34:14
Mahathir please come to sabah and see for yourself how successful your policies have helped sabah.May your puppet follow your footsteps to carry on what you have left behind.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 15:44:39
Mahathir,Please come to sabah and see for yourself how your policies have fcuk the sabahan.Your puppet in the making have started to call sabah 'Fixed Deposit',readying himself to continue what you have not finish doing during your reign.Raping sabah is your favourite past time.The person who was raped the most is Joseph Parin Kittingan.Sabahan, wake up!Vote wisely,not blindly!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 25, 2008 16:22:10
Ahmadneil, you really am one sorry piece of shit! In one post you wrote:
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 16:25:57
Rainbowseahorse,
I have skype Dr Mahathir to give you some depression suppressing drugs becos you look sick to me.I have already paid for it if you don't mind.Take care of yourself becos the illegals are wild bastards.They might harm you.That's why I have no balls to go to Sabah.
…and now you write:
“One taxi driver told me, while I was in Sabah, that if you…”

Then you claim in the posting: “Not all NEP elements will go, Najib aide clarifies”, that you are a “Malay”…HA, HA, HA.. and in another earlier post somewhere, you openly admit to being an Indian…
…..and to top it all, you and your wild, wild yarn about your “investigation” trip to France, and then is supposed to have gone to Mongolia for further “investigation work”.

Ahmadneil, you are one piece of work and so full of SHIT! Aren’t you ashamed of yourself to lie so blatantly to all of us bloggers here??

I am going after you because you Ahmad-Kumar totally has no idea about my State of Sabah, and yet you write so much shit about us.

written by michael chick, October 25, 2008 16:53:43
Dear Rainbowseahorse, Tawau, is a hotspot. So is Sandakan, and Sipadan. With the hundreds, and thousands of islands nearby, with the numerous fishing boats, and all, how the hell does one keep the illegals away?
I 've taken the bus from KK till Tawau. Got woken up couple of times because of the road Blocks. Army, Police, you name it. Still, with the PDRM and the Army gracefully, and willingly taking bribes, these Roadblocks only serve as "Ang Pow Toll" for them.

There is no stopping of illegals into Sabah. Not unless we get rid of UMNO. FOREVER !!!
written by Forex, October 25, 2008 17:08:47
Before UMNO enter to Sabah,

The is no word of Rasuah
The is no word of Phantom Voter (pengundi hantu)
Everybody mixed well, my Muslim Friends willing to accept my cooked foods!

After UMNO Enter Sabah...

Everything...was here!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 25, 2008 17:27:05
Michael Chick,

Tawau a hotspot??...haiyah, almost the whole of the East coast of Sabah is a hot spot! We had fully armed M16 trotting Philippinos carrying out daylight robberies in Semprona & Tawau, and, of course, the famous kidnappings of foreign tourist in Sepadan Island…plus hijack of Boats & Barges..in fact there are all sorts of illegal activities going on in the East Coast, thought, it has quiet down of late.
RELA & the Army/Marine are the power there and God alone knows what is going on there. The islands off the coast are real hot spot for migrants coming & going freely from next door Philippine & Indonesia. Yes, the boarders of East coast Sabah is extremely porous.

Get rid of UMNO forever?? I don’t think so, as these over 2 million legalized migrants loyalty (for now) are solidly behind UMNO. Only way for Sabah’s self determination, again, is to educate and to convince these legalized migrants to be patriotic Sabahans.
This is not easy nor is it going to happen any time soon…perhaps in another generation or two, these migrant Malaysian citizens will come to realize that they are really Sabahans and have to fight for their rights as any other Sabahans. For now, our fate is sealed and we just have to do get along with each other the best we can.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 17:33:13
Mick,you are right.Everywhere you travel,you have to get your ang pow ready.Sabah is really in a sorry state.That's what umno like best,to make sabah knee down and beg,slowly giving them bits of hangouts but not to kill them.In this way sabah will be submitting themselves to the whim and fancy of umno.It's like 'Give me what I want and I will give you whatever I like'.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 17:35:14
Musa Aman fiddles while sabah burns!
written by Hope4all, October 25, 2008 18:01:40
Is this new information?? This is old news, again and again and again. When will the BN government act to protect our constitution??? When??!?!
written by cruzeiro, October 25, 2008 18:02:37
Rainbowhorse,
Don't get so cheesed off with ahmadneil lah - he gives plenty of fodder for imagination.
Imagine Paris, all the interviews, easy access to documents, photos, taxi rides - like Mad's "Spy vs. Spy", maah.
Almost like James Bond's Quantum of Solace.
Only, here it's quatum of beers!

You can enjoy the ride like many others have too, you know ....
Only make sure you have your beers first!
written by cruzeiro, October 25, 2008 18:04:46
Cheers, ahmadneil ...
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 19:16:29
That's the way cruzeiro...We are all in here making MT as interesting as possible.At the end of the day we all go to bed with a satisfying feeling.
written by peace, October 25, 2008 21:20:56
umnok sabah is running by a bunch of evils who only interested in the illegal muslim immigrants. To islamise the local native. GET LOST UMNOK from SABAH ASAP!!!
written by Sabahfan, October 25, 2008 21:26:05
There are a few bullshit comments here...

Sabah Law Association president John Sikayun blames the state NRD’s policy of accepting (previously) a police report and a statutory declaration to issue a late registration birth certificate as the main loopholes.

WRONG MR SIKAYUN...Police report and statutory declaration is meant for those whose IC are really lost, mostly by theft, snatch robbery or break ins otherwise how else could this victim get new IC??

THE REAL LOOPHOLE here is that anyone who is a MOSLEM gets favourable treatment by the MALAZUTUMNOputras who uses there votes to stay in power.. GET RID OF this previleged religion and rascism and only then the problem can be solved.

written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 14:26:25

The tradegy of sabah is only to be blame on the sabahan themselves.They should have kick out all those crooks,but instead sabahan take a few dirty ringgit and kept the crooks.

AHMADNEIL.. the bullshitter who's been posting fictitious travels for the past bulshitdays....

Hey Ahmadbullshit, it was people like you who voted Mahatir into power. I know on Indian who speaks with a folk tongue. He now condemns everyone for voting BN when he himself came from semenanjung with his father and was so proud of being appointed Youth Leader of MIC by none other than Semi value himself... used to show us his letter at some clubs in KK......
Such snakes are like this ahmadneil character...

Because of you vote for mahafiraun.... we in sabah suffered... if Simon sipaun ever spoke like this during mahatirism, he also would be under ISA eating DOGS FOOD.

ME used to write lots of protest letters in local dailys but news editor so scared of printing them becos his newspapers would be closed down...All becos lots of semenanjung people kissed BNs arrrssses for 50 years....
When PBS won against the might of BN and some of its leaders were under ISA, only LIM KIT SIANG protested...where were the rest of you??

Simon SIPAUN... you are right....

THe polipins with connections can get MYKAD as easily as buying newspapers and there connections are all ex polipin immigrants who are now in power..

They include...

1. former CM SAKARAN DANDAI...
2. Dr Pataware
3. Sairin Karno (the prefered abu sayap negotiator)
4. Harriss Salleh, former Cm
5. the bajau moslem Association who are always defending philipino moslem immigrants.

6. Said keruaks son...Salleh Said koruak... he he he

..and SABAH UMNO who has registered millions of illegal polipines as their member..

WHO KNOWS THIS? NON OTHER THAN A REPORTER FROM SEMENANJUNG WHO WAS ONCE A MEMBERSHIP REGISTRAR FOR UMNO.... HIS NAME???

Well, he has already published tons of books on this and non of them were banned if he was telling a lie..

the authorities especially UMNO just keep quiet pretending he does not exist..

NOW WHAT DO YOU MAKE OF THAT???
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 22:50:22
I have wish all my Indians brothers a Happy Depavali.
To Rainbowseahorse and sabahfan,the only 2 bloggers from sabah,please come to visit my Indian nest at No 88,Jalan Bangsar Baru,K.L.I will be on hand to greet you to wish me a joyous Depavali.Come on don't be mean!
written by johanssm, October 25, 2008 23:27:40
We are not here to "fight". While RPK is not here, let us respect his blog.
Ahmadneil, i though you did mentioned no Divali open house, change mind kah?
Is 88 near the McD Jalan Telawi? I might drop by if there is nasi minyak/tomato or briyani.
Happy holidays and Divali to all.
To all families of the ISA , do remain strong. You are not forgotten.

Suhakam must furnish the findings in full to the public. With the Mykad numbers.
No one should be protected .
written by Ngui, October 26, 2008 07:36:01
No need to analyze so much. The NRD have people who have other agenda spur by some interested parties. Especially on the East Coast of Sabah. If anyone is serious, they should solve this fast. Even some of these staffs may be of qusetionable back grounds. These staffs have many "relatives"!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 26, 2008 14:05:05
Johanssm,

We do not “fight” with fellow bloggers…especially here in our bro Pete’s blog.
What we will mostly certainly “fight” against is when West Malaysians blindly and ignorantly accuse, blame, and call us Sabahans “cowards, stupid” and other names for our desperate situation whereby your imperialist UMNO has diluted our people’s power votes down to 1:2 against migrants voters with free issuance of MyKads.
Instead of showing support and encouragement to real Sabahans to continue the fight against your imperialistic UMNO, some of you West Malaysians have resorted to calling us names. These West Malaysians are NO BETTER then your UMNO and your Police in treating rape victims and the innocent victim in gruesome crimes. And yes, your imperialistic government has committed gruesome crime against us Sabahans and a lot of you West Malaysians, in the form of “ahmadneil”, are just as bad as them and rubbing salt & vinegar in our gushing wounds.
written by ahmadneil, October 26, 2008 17:31:21
FOR YOUR REFRESHING YOUR MIND>>>>>>My hometown is Sarawak which was once polluted with this bastards Indon from Pontinak,stealing,raping,killing and doing all the dirty things one can think of.That was the time when we were having construction booms so all this Indon came bringing along their dirty habits.It was the worse time we have experience since we join malaysia.Even the police ,field force and the local volunteers have a difficult time to deal with this barbarians from across the border.Time after time tragic murders happen,and in the end the locals have enough of this rubbish so they took laws into their own hands.As one say ,its takes a thief to catch another.So the local started to take laws into their own hands,practically beating up every Indon that is found.The place where most illegal Indon were found are the construction sites,plantations,fishing boats etc.Some are so badly beaten that they swear they will never set foot on Sarawak again.Sources told me that there are groups that go out at nite to hunt for Indons.If caught loitering around,they will be burn with cigarettes butts until they promise to leave the state.This method,though cruel,later became a effective tools to frighten this illegals and in turn also scare those who are not illegals from entering the state.Many went back and tell their counterparts in Pontianak about the cruelty of the sarawakians and in no time most of the Indons are scare to come.There was a protest by the Indonesian consulate for the way this Indons was been treated but it falls on deaf ears for they know who is to be blame for all this crimes in Sarawak.Slowly,after that ,less and less came and the final blow came when the construction boom ended.Those working in sawmills and plantations, after hearing the stories related to them from the consulate,left in a hurry.So a blessing in disguise,today sarawak is almost free from all this rascals,thieves,murderers,crooks,unwanted,shits etc.Another thing is that there was quite a few robberies which targeted the Ministers's house and this really get the police going becos these high ranking politicians started to make noise and the police started to tighten the security.All these hasten the departure of this illegals from the land of the hornbills.So in conclusion ,the local people play a very important role in the demises of illegals.But in other states people embraced illegals thinking that this people can be useful and cheap but it turn out to be a time bomb and the longer they stay the more illegals will come so more problems crops up.We all can say it's not that easy, but when you think of it carefully,the people have to make sacrifices.Today's pain is the future happiness.Many sarawakian now don't employ Indon workers or maids, a sacrifice they make with the intention of safeguarding the future of our states.Ya,the maids,they are the pain and the joy of all households in sarawak.No households can get by without having a maid but the problems,like stealing,mistreating the kids,unhygience habits,collaborating with Indonesian men to steal from the house etc,out weight the advantages.Now most household prefer to get part time locals and pay them higher to do the job.Ya, they make sacrifices but it was worth every cent.Now we can walk after dark with confidence.Still some minor case of petty crimes but not so serious.Petrol stations,shops,ATMs etc are all operating without any incidents.I hope other states will copy the shinning examples of how Sarawakians kick out the Indon and they are now a model state for all to envy.
Now,I'm living in Johor and K.L.These states are still trying to fight illegals but not as successful as sarawak,due to many locals collaborating with the Indons to exploit their cheap labour.But if they are careful controlled, then it's ok.If this get out of hand then the price will be too heavy to pay.The choice is all yours,whether you like it or not,enjoy now and suffer later or sacrifice now and reap the fruits later.
If I fail to convince you after you read this, then move on.This is my personal true encounter.'Ask not the country can do for you,but what you can do for your country'.A tribute to the brave Sarawakian.
written by Question Mark, October 26, 2008 21:58:37
To ahmadneil:

R u an ignorant "statist"? Please be respectful to Sabahans or a matter of fact to other states.. whatever happened to us Sabahan may happen to the other states... If u want to point fingers of UMNO winning the recent elections, POINT IT STRAIGHT AT UMNO ok???!! If you want to blame the Sabahans PLEASE named specific individuals and give evidence as I VOTED for the opposition last election...

IMO u feel that u r like 1 of the fellas that thinks he knows everything and would like to be a HERO... well I got news for u chap,... Deepavali is just around the corner so do us SABAHAN a favour and go to the temple and pray to your Hindu God to teach you manners.. HAPPY DEEPAVALI TO ALL HINDUS!!

p/s: whatever you will write to justify urself from now on including the above (i didn't even bother to read it)is irrelevant because u seemed to me forever just a chap with bad manners... AND RUDE!! Mind your own business because Sabah does not need saving from the likes of you... go back to where you come from and fix whatever problems need to be fix like the IMAGINARY HERO that you want to be... again Happy Deepavali to all...
written by archie, October 26, 2008 23:22:20
For BN, Sarawak and Johore are more "fixed deposit" than Sabah. (At least Sabahans have kicked BN's arrse numerous time before.) But name-calling is only directed at Sabahans. Maybe it's one way to piss them off from this blog?
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 27, 2008 09:36:00
Ahmad-Kumar..I really have to smile when I read your posting cause you really can shamelessly bullshit just about anything. Haiyoh, what the fuk is an Indain doing in Sarawak's construction sector? You very obviousely have no idea of the power welded by those very powerful & wealthy Chinese Sarawakian; do you?? These are the people who have kept Sarawak relatively migrants free...not the Sarawakians!

Nevermind lah, Ahmadneil, like Johanssm said, you are full of fantacies and cannot be taken seriousely. Henceforth, I will not argue with you anymore nor will I attack you...Just keep us entertain lah!

Happy Depavali to you & your family, yah! And may you find what you seek in Life!