Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ACA report lodged against Najib

ACA report lodged against Najib PDF Print
Saturday, 25 October 2008 08:28

PUTRAJAYA, Oct 24 - The Pakatan Rakyat Youth wings today lodged a report at the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) headquarters here against Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak for alleged involvement in the RM2.3 billion Eurocopter helicopter deal.

om left, Ahmad Sabki Yusuf,Anthony Loke and Shamsul Iskamdar Mohd Akin showing their research papers on the Eurocopter deal. - Picture by Choo Choy May

"We want them to open an investigation against Najib," said PKR Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar who led the group which included DAP Youth secretary Anthony Loke and Pas Youth secretary Ahmad Sabki Yusuf.

The three representatives said they submitted several documents to assist the ACA, including a research paper over a similar purchase for the military helicopters by Brazil but for a significantly reduced sum.

Malaysia is reported to have signed a letter of intent to acquire 12 Eurocopter EC727 Cougar helicopters for a sum of RM2.3 billion while Brazil paid US$1.2 billion for 50 units of the same model.

The PR Youth want the ACA to mount an investigation over the price discrepancy in two Eurocopter deals as well as to investigate a letter of intent regarding another complaint letter purportedly sent by one Datuk Zahar Hashim, the chairman of Mentari Services Sdn Bhd which is the local representative for a Russian helicopter company.

In his letter, Zahar, a retired airforce captain, had claimed that Eurocopter had been awarded the contract to replace the ageing Nuri fleet even though it was the most expensive bid among the companies which tendered for the contract.

According to Loke, they were the first group to lodge an official complaint against the DPM over this particular matter even though the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) in Parliament had spoken about the issue recently.

"PAC is only a security filter with no investigative power. The most suitable body to undertake this investigation is the ACA," said Loke, who is also the MP for Rasah.

Shamsul added that the onus is now on ACA to take action.

"We told them to be proactive. There is no reason for the ACA not to open an investigation," he said.

Shamsul also called on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi to live up to his promise to implement his promised reforms, particularly in dealing with corruption, before he leaves office in March next year.

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by binarytan, October 25, 2008 08:29:45
ACA will not do anything against their future boss in waiting even he is taking money in front of them, perhaps ACA also shares some of the cake.

ACA is our national shame.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 141
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 25, 2008 08:33:54
ACA report lodged against Najib

FIRST WE HV TO CHANGE THE GOMEN AND REMOVE ALL THE LAP
DOGS GUARDING THESE INSTITUTIONS. OTHERWISE, IT WILL BE A
JUST SWEPT UNDER THE CARPET
written by Tom n Jerry, October 25, 2008 08:41:43
BN politicians are above the LAW;how to charge them;ACA is their arse-licker!Let them be corrupt until our coffers are empty;and they will abscond naturally;that is the natural flow of karma;insyah Allah they will be brought to justice when judgement comes;Alhamdulilah! smilies/angry.gif
written by sabade, October 25, 2008 08:53:40
Malaysia is planning to purchase the Eurocopter EC 725 model and I believe from press reports Brazil is buying the Eurocopter AS 532.

The closest price reference for the EC 725 model is the purchase by the French Air Force and Special Forces, 10 x EC 725 for 271 Million EURO(contract 2002).

At approx Euro 223 Million for 12x EC 725 helicopters announced by the KSU Ministry of Defence if there are no other cost seems okay.

However to buy a Helicopter without flight test does not seem right. Other shortlisted helicopters should also be tested for compairson. Being technically no 1 can be deceiving as the specifications may be written around the EC 725 model and in favour of Eurocopter.

Specifications of AS 532 and EC 725 as follows:

Specifications of EUROCOPTER AS 532

General characteristics:-
Crew: 2
Capacity: 20 troops
Length: 15.53 m (50 ft 11½ in)
Rotor diameter: 15.6 m (51 ft 2 in)
Height: 4.92 m (16 ft 2 in)
Disc area: 206 m² (2,217ft²)
Empty weight: 4,350 kg (9,590 lb)
Useful load: 4,650 kg (10,250 lb)
Max takeoff weight: 9,000 kg (19,840 lb)
Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Makila 1A1 turboshaft,
1,185 kW (1,589 shp) each
Performance:-
Never exceed speed: 278 km/h (150 knots, 173 mph)
Maximum speed: 249 km/h (134 knots, 154 mph)
Cruise speed: 239 km/h (129 knots, 148 mph)
Range: 573 km (310 nm, 357 mi)
Service ceiling 3,450 m (11,319 ft)
Rate of climb: 7.2 m/s (1,417 ft/min)

Specifications (Cougar EC 725)

General characteristics
•Crew: 1 or 2 (pilot co-pilot)
•Capacity: 1 chief of stick 28 troop seats
•Length: 19.50 m (63.98 ft)
•Rotor diameter: 16.20 m (53.14 ft)
•Height: 4.60 m (15.09 ft)
•Empty weight: 5,330 kg (11,750 lb)
•Loaded weight: 11,000 kg (24,250 lb)
•Useful load: 5,670 kg (12,500 lb)
•Max takeoff weight: 11,200 kg (24,700 lb)
•Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Makila 1A4 turboshafts, 1,800 kW (2,413 shp) each
Performance
•Never exceed speed: 324 km/h, 201 mph (175 kts)
•Maximum speed: 324 km/h, 201 mph (175 kts)
•Cruise speed: 285 km/h, 177 mph (154 kts)
•Range: 857 km, 532 mi (463 nm)
•Service ceiling 6,095 m (20,000 ft)
•Rate of climb: 3.6 m/s (710 ft/min)

written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 08:55:01
See bloomberg last nite interview with Haslida Amin.Najib have been asked about his tainted name involving the killing of Altantuya.You can see his face turn pale and he was in a panic mode.I bet he shit in his pants.He have to answer to all these allegations before he can be PM or otherwise his credibility is in serious doubt.
written by sabade, October 25, 2008 09:04:27
Malaysian is planning to purchase the Eurocopter EC 725 model and not the Eurocopter AS 532 as in the case of Brazil. The closest price reference is the purchase of 10 x EC 725 for the French Air Force and Special Force for Euro 271 Million. As such the MoD statement that the Eurocopter offer for 12 x EC 725 is approx Euro 223 Millions seems okay.

Being technically no 1 in a paper evaluation maybe deceiving as the specifications may have been in favour of Eurocopter EC 725.

However i believe the heli should be tested prior to purchase and also to test it with other shortlisted bidders.

Specifications of EC 725 and AS 532 as follows:

Specifications of EUROCOPTER AS 532
General characteristics:-
Crew: 2
Capacity: 20 troops
Length: 15.53 m (50 ft 11½ in)
Rotor diameter: 15.6 m (51 ft 2 in)
Height: 4.92 m (16 ft 2 in)
Disc area: 206 m² (2,217ft²)
Empty weight: 4,350 kg (9,590 lb)
Useful load: 4,650 kg (10,250 lb)
Max takeoff weight: 9,000 kg (19,840 lb)
Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Makila 1A1 turboshaft,
1,185 kW (1,589 shp) each
Performance:-
Never exceed speed: 278 km/h (150 knots, 173 mph)
Maximum speed: 249 km/h (134 knots, 154 mph)
Cruise speed: 239 km/h (129 knots, 148 mph)
Range: 573 km (310 nm, 357 mi)
Service ceiling 3,450 m (11,319 ft)
Rate of climb: 7.2 m/s (1,417 ft/min)

Specifications of EUROCOPTER EC 725

General characteristics
•Crew: 1 or 2 (pilot co-pilot)
•Capacity: 1 chief of stick 28 troop seats
•Length: 19.50 m (63.98 ft)
•Rotor diameter: 16.20 m (53.14 ft)
•Height: 4.60 m (15.09 ft)
•Empty weight: 5,330 kg (11,750 lb)
•Loaded weight: 11,000 kg (24,250 lb)
•Useful load: 5,670 kg (12,500 lb)
•Max takeoff weight: 11,200 kg (24,700 lb)
•Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Makila 1A4 turboshafts, 1,800 kW (2,413 shp) each

Performance
•Never exceed speed: 324 km/h, 201 mph (175 kts)
•Maximum speed: 324 km/h, 201 mph (175 kts)
•Cruise speed: 285 km/h, 177 mph (154 kts)
•Range: 857 km, 532 mi (463 nm)
•Service ceiling 6,095 m (20,000 ft)
•Rate of climb: 3.6 m/s (710 ft/min)
written by J Dean, October 25, 2008 09:28:55
We are supposed to tighten our belt and save every sen as much as we can. But our BN government are spending as though as there are no tomorrow. I hope they can review all their acquisitions in the pipeline to cut cost as much as possible. Our country will be bankrupt if we still have people mismanaged our country's expenditure such as this Eurocopter dealings. I think we have a real shit dickhead leaders who are self centred moron!!!

written by MAMR, October 25, 2008 09:30:55
Police report had been lodged and ACA report had been made, all initiated by the OPPOSITION against the suspect WRONRDOINGS of the socalled FUTURE PM.A few of same reports had previously been lodged by even UMNO members involving the same suspect. What is happening ? Are those in AUTHORITY DEAF TO EVEN PROCEED WITH INVESTIGATION ? ARE THEY SCARED OF SOMETHING? PLEASE ACTION TO INVESTIGATE TO PROVE THE TRUTH. By keeping SILENCE THERE WILL BE MORE SUSPICION OF COVERING UP. I STRONGLY BELIEVED ALL MATURED RAKYAT WILL WANT INVESTIGATION TO PROCEED.
written by onnetline, October 25, 2008 09:37:54
Pak Lah,

Where's your reforms to handles such cases ???? Or just cock talk, as usual, Mr. Hypocrite !
written by SCM, October 25, 2008 09:47:44
Hahahahaha. I laughed at the following statement. "The most suitable body to undertake this investigation is the ACA". Loke, you and I know that the ACA comprises of people that UMNO has put there. So, do you really think ACA will find Najis of corruption? Well, let them investigate and we all can C4 ourselves whether they will come up with anything or just close the case on Najis the corrupt "murderer".
written by michael chick, October 25, 2008 09:49:34
written by biggun129, October 25, 2008 10:04:28
Che Det said 'This is another Concerted effort!!!',He said 'I should have not resigned if I knew there are so many ignorant Malaysian around!!!The file is closed as soon as the PKR youths team walked out from the Police Station,I overheard the officer said 'Buang Masa sahaja'!
written by ASK4u, October 25, 2008 10:15:57
This could be Pak Lah's last card! or am I wrong.
written by said, October 25, 2008 10:45:00
MY PREDICTION

OPPOSITION AGAINST NAJIB WILL REACH BOILING POINT SOON AND WITHIN 6 MONTHS, HE WILL RESIGN AS DPM OR PM OR BE DUMPED BY PAKATAN OR UMNO.
He will not be able to sustain fiery and crunching blows and Barisan or himself will have no choice but to step down or resign until investigations into his obscenities are completed by a squeaky clean judiciary (if they can find one). Revelations in court will shudder Malaysia if, yes……if investigations reach the courts. Of course if the same corrupted judiciary is involved in the investigation, rakyat will push and scream for them to be kicked out.
Everywhere amongst the men and women from every race on the street, in kampong and city, renowned intellectuals, all opposition MPs, some Barisan MPs, prominent writers, some Umno members, women, NGOs, momentum is building to kick out Najib.
Even amongst some sections of police and army- they are voicing their concerns. Some of RPK’s friends are in the army.
Any decent leader or MP would have stepped down or resigned in face of such ugly accusations-
killing a human being with help within the inner circles of govt., interference with judiciary in the Altantuya murder, shielding perpetrators of the murder and other murders, hundreds of millions of ringgit in arms deals, abuse in the use of ISA. My latest calculation estimates that over the years Najib has stolen at least 1.5 billion ringgit from fraud which is equal to 50,000 low cost houses at $30,000 ringgit each. He had been stealing-food from the mouths of every race and also other amenities for the improvement of our lives.
If Najib can get away with the obscenities, what hope is there for rakyat?
The smell of rot and maggots is in the Malaysian air. Tension is heating up and reaching past fever pitch. Some thing will happen and the stepping down or resignation of Najib
IS THE CIRCUIT BREAKER for the fiery atmosphere to slightly calm down.
Barisan will try to use ISA to detain more people and opposition MPs but educated and intelligent Malays like us and all other races-rakyat will respond with such great outcry that Barisan will tremble with fear. More police and army will join in this time out in the open.
I hope there will come a time soon with Hindraf, PAS Nik Aziz, Husam Musa and Anwar issuing an ultimatum for Najib to resign within a week and release ISA prisoners or face the wrath of rakyat and call for a huge demonstration against the obscene Najib.
My wish is for at least 500 Malaysians, especially Malays to invade Federal Parliament, stay there and throw shoes, chairs and plastic bottles at Barisan politicians and police until Najib and Badawi resigns for obscenities inflicted on Malaysia.
The time for never ending talking, pleadings with Barisan is over. We Malays must physically act to end Barisan obscenities or our suffering will go on and on.
There will be injuries and maybe deaths in Parliament amongst us but Barisan will crumble very quickly. Some in the police and army will resist Barisan from taking action against rakyat, no doubt about that.

Najib’s cousin, Muhyiddin will take over but he will just be as useless because of his illegal massing of extreme wealth from his time as Johor Chief Minister and his closeness with cruel mf…g Mahathir. Lots of swindling stories of him in Johor. He is in the top 10 rich list in Malaysia.
RESIGN NAJIB-YOU ARE A MURDERER AND MASTERMIND OF TERRIBLE SWINDLING

written by coolandy, October 25, 2008 11:07:43
You all can lodge 100x more reports against Najib to the ACA but I am sure this is an exercise in futility. Deep in your heart I know that you know the sloth-like ACA is not going to act against someone of that stature.

Lest you forget, even Israel has more transparency than Malaysia and their PM does get investigated.

I hope to see the ACA to be a fully independent body answerable only to parliament and dares to act without fear or favour.

written by Lembing, October 25, 2008 11:11:59
You don't have to wait for the ACA's report on this Eurocopter's deal. I have here in my hand the actual report:-

"ACA has found that Najis Rosak has acted in an appropriate manner and that there is no evidence of corruption in this deal".

written by budakindia, October 25, 2008 11:23:18
What a waste of paper, effort and time! You expect them to hauled up Najib ? Dream on! smilies/angry.gif
written by buaya, October 25, 2008 11:26:55
Some one should start a online poll on the most hated politician in Malaysia and let the rakyat vote:
Top 10
1. Syed Botak
Crime committed: abuse of power...
2. Najis
Crime committed:
3. Dollah
Crime committed:
4. Khir Toyo
Crime committed:
5. Khairy
Crime committed:

You know what to do, just fill up.
written by SCM, October 25, 2008 12:29:39
1. Kerbau from Rembau a.k.a. Khairy
2. Malaysian Bozo the clown a.k.ka. Bung Mokhtar
3. Botak with no otak a.k.a. Syed Hamid
4. Mr. Shaaribu's son-in-law a.k.ka. Najib Tun Razak
5. Kerismuddin a.k.a. Hishammudin
6. Fatty arse bitche a.k.a. Rosmah
7. Mr. Thief of maika money a.k.a. Samy Vellu
Wah, this list cannot end la. I give up and just put all the others under No.8
8. All UMNO members
written by MyView, October 25, 2008 12:34:53
ACA can do anything. He's the next PM.
Go against him, abislah
written by IceOnFire, October 25, 2008 12:58:03
Hi AhmadNeil,

How is your mission in Paris?Everything going smooth?The suspend is killing me~~~
I cant wait to c more dirts dig out from najis xxxhole!
written by Ahjamal, October 25, 2008 13:26:25
PDRM only have one eye only. one way traffic all clear for UMNO PKR can only
be a collectors of police reports and keep it away. PDRM have only one paymaster that is UMNO not the tax payers.
written by Sudahlah tu, October 25, 2008 13:56:17
tidak berhasil ...
bpr itu ..cuma orang suruhan umno
polis.....cuma anjing kawalan umno
hakim.....cuma jalan undang umno
mereka ini semua melayu umno ....
kita tidak dapat buat apa-apa ..
tuan punya tanah pun turut terlibat dalam kebanyakan skandal rasuah ...
siapa lagi boleh tolong rakyat ....
kita sahaja yang boleh menolong negara ini ....
kalau semua rakyat bersatu .... itu pun kalau Melayu jati berani..
kita akan berjaya
written by ez24get, October 25, 2008 14:25:31
Syabas to PKR Youth!

It is good to pile up the pressure against Najib and UMNO. If there are hundreds of police reports and accusation of corruption but no action from the ACA, the joe public will soon think " why go into the trouble of filing hundreds of police reports? It would be better and more convenient to get rid of one man, najib, and his party once and for all. Problems immediately solved!".
written by yipck, October 25, 2008 20:41:57
Damn.. Malaysia already lost to singapore tons tons of times..

Even in Tourism board, one of the boss only... u ask her to go for a conversation coffee (minum kopi), she first question will blast to you.
"Are you trying to bribe me?".
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 21:22:34
written by IceOnFire, October 25, 2008 12:58:03
Hi AhmadNeil,

How is your mission in Paris?Everything going smooth?The suspend is killing me~~~
I cant wait to c more dirts dig out from najis xxxhole!

Dear sir,MT is still processing the documents and will be releasing in a short while.My next posting will be 'Mongolia,My secret lover'.Stay tune!Blockbuster and best seller!Thank for your worries!
written by IceOnFire, October 26, 2008 00:21:09
Thanks AhmadNeil!!
I sure will stay tune!!!
And a million thanks for all the efforts and hard work ppl like u,MT team and RPK do to let us all know the truth!reli appreciate it.
Cheers
written by DreamLady, October 26, 2008 10:07:27
Lodge a report with ACA?? no way, it will not work that way, cos' all those people are DUMB; MUTE, AND DEAF !!!

The next option for most of us maybe the royal highnesses: but that won't work either because they are not willing to soil their royal hands in the pool of shit created by the devilish politicians..

So what next????
written by DreamLady, October 26, 2008 10:12:32
You lodged report with ACA??? It will be fruitless cos' those people are DUMB; MUTE; AND DEAF!!!!

Next option might be our royal highnesses: but they are not willing to soil their hands in the pool of shit created by the syaitanic politicians..

So what shall we do next ????