Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M says Umno will lose power because of corruption

Dr M says Umno will lose power because of corruption PDF Print
Saturday, 25 October 2008 08:25
By Adib Zalkapli

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 24 – Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today said Umno will lose the next General Election if nothing is done to weed out corruption in the party.

“After the defeat there will be no Prime Minister, minister and other positions. No more contracts, APs and licenses. Everyone will suffer, and be insulted by others. And that is the end of Umno,” said the former Prime Minister.

In his latest blog posting he said that he believes that many people are disappointed with money politics in Umno now.

“I know a lot of money is being used. It used to be only the division Youth heads that received the money. But this had resulted in other office bearers of the movement not cooperating. But now everyone can get it and the return is very substantial for the bribers,” said Dr Mahathir.

“The winners can become lawmakers, Exco members, ministers, deputy ministers, parliamentary secretary, chairman of GLCs and receive contracts worth millions of ringgit,” he added.

He said corruption is expected to get worse by March 2009 when the General Assembly begins.

“Looking at the positions being contested, every delegate can receive up to RM20,000,” said Dr Mahathir.

He said that the Barisan Nasional's victory in the 2004 General Election was because the people believed that the new leadership was cleaner than the previous administration, but Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi had failed to walk the talk.

“Between 2004 and 2008, they could see that Abdullah's administration was full of corruption. They noticed the role played by his family members and cronies and also Cabinet members. What they saw convinced them that the administration is not clean. The result can be seen in the 12th General Election,” said Dr Mahathir.

Corruption or money politics is a thorny issue in the Malay nationalist party.

After the last party election in 2004, newly elected vice president Tan Sri Isa Samad was suspended for three years for his involvement in money politics.

Supreme council member, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, who is vying for a vice president's post even suggested that the positions in the party be awarded to the highest bidder, since money politics is so rampant in the party.

At the Umno Supreme Council meeting on Oct 20, the issue was discussed at length and the party's highest decision making body is expected to announce tough measures soon.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by binarytan, October 25, 2008 08:27:28
Father of corruotion and racist talk coc* sing song!!!!

UMNO will be irrelevant after PRU13, just like the ball-less MCA/MIC & Gerakan.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 117
written by cheekymate, October 25, 2008 08:33:54
Kettle calling the pan black. It takes one to recognise the other. YOU were the one to fan money politics to its height; so stop being a bloody hypocrite.
written by loosecannon, October 25, 2008 08:34:44
Look who is talking.
He should know because he started it.
written by Sam W, October 25, 2008 08:40:26
If that's what it takes to bring down umno, then let there be unlimited corruption. Saya sokong. Can I donate to the umno corruption fund?
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 25, 2008 08:40:56
“I know a lot of money is being used. It used to be only the division Youth heads that received the money. But this had resulted in other office bearers of the movement not cooperating. But now everyone can get it and the return is very substantial for the bribers,” said Dr Mahathir

AND WHO STARTED THE CORRUPTION FUND ROLLING AND ESTABLISHED THIS CORRUPTION INSTITUTION??? CAN SOMEONE MAKE A WILD GUESS???

written by Cash Money, October 25, 2008 08:43:42
Saitan you Mahatir! You have found the answer to the Malay Delima!
Yes the opite of Cash Money to your beloved UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, October 25, 2008 08:59:22
Corruption in umno is getting worse.The higher the nomination the higher the price.In fact it's my hope that with Bank negara support,umno will dig itself to the grave.
written by justinlian, October 25, 2008 09:24:26
I support UMNO to be more corrupt as it is their ways of promoting themselves to be ministers and others.
Curruption is healthy...
Make more money...who cares...
But the grand master is promoting no curruption...
what a laugh...
written by onnetline, October 25, 2008 09:33:44
The biggest hypocrite a.k.a. ex-dictator of all time ! ........ this ma mak from Kedah of Kerala's origin. Having not very bright children but all multi-millionaires.

Please explain, CarTUN.
written by ASK4u, October 25, 2008 09:39:03
“After the defeat there will be no Prime Minister, minister and other positions. No more contracts, APs and licenses. Everyone will suffer, and be insulted by others. And that is the end of Umno,” said the former Prime Minister.

In his latest blog posting he said that he believes that many people are disappointed with money politics in Umno now.

“I know a lot of money is being used. It used to be only the division Youth heads that received the money. But this had resulted in other office bearers of the movement not cooperating. But now everyone can get it and the return is very substantial for the bribers,” said Dr Mahathir.

“The winners can become lawmakers, Exco members, ministers, deputy ministers, parliamentary secretary, chairman of GLCs and receive contracts worth millions of ringgit,” he added.

Ha!Ha!Ha! Came straight from the horse's mouth...a Feudal slip! So what now? smilies/angry.gif
written by Msian Idol3, October 25, 2008 09:53:32
Mahadev - U are the father of corruption. Remember the time magazine citing U as the richest PM in the world. Incidently, the last bite rush is on. According to one of my source who cited "the ministers are now very blazen" in their demands for a higher cut of contract kickbacks. Its DEAL or NO DEAL business methodology. He cited profits are almost to the bone. He may just pack up & go into early retirement or support the Najlis camp to stay in business. Well, it would be great to see UMNO gone. Look at our Kerbau, so easy to make money to achieve millionaire status and of course not forgetting how MM kids got so rich & powerful certainly arrogant.
written by MAMR, October 25, 2008 09:55:02
To begin with DS RAIS , then TUN MUSA and now TUN MAHATHIR, all thiese are veteren umno members who are or previously holding VERY HIGH POST in UMNO and M'SIA sounding out WARNING ABOUT MONEY POLITIC. Yet there are still GREED SEEKERS WHO STILL SUPPORT LEADER WHO DISH OUT CORRUPT MONEY in return for VOTING THEM. Its time THESE VERY VERY VERY SUPER LOW MORAL FUTURE LEADER AND MEMBERS BE KICKED OUT.
written by SCM, October 25, 2008 09:57:24
Oi marmark, you are the fool that destroyed this country. Just because badawi and geng have cut you out of UMNO's banditry, you are now jealous of them raping us blindly? Just do the rakyat a favour before you konk, i.e. go after that slimy oily Khairy and destroy him permanently. If you do that, we will name a road after you. We can rename Jalan Alor as Jalan Marmark Mahathir. Deal?
written by onnetline, October 25, 2008 10:00:09
Mahatahi,

As a Petronas adviser, did you not know that your son, Mockzani's company was just being awarded contracts worth RM 2 plus billions and to be shared with a few others ?

Of course, you do not have any comments, right ?????
written by arazak, October 25, 2008 10:08:14
Tun M.a.m.a.k. Kutty said;

“After the defeat there will be no Prime Minister, minister and other positions. No more contracts, APs and licenses. Everyone will suffer, and be insulted by others. And that is the end of Umno,”
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

What he is saying, right now UMNO is living on contracts, APs and licences! We know for a fact that these contracts, APs and licences under the UMNO regime are obtained by corruption. . .on both sides, the receiver and the taker!

Who else knew better than the "father' of all corruption!!!
written by biggun129, October 25, 2008 10:15:39
The old, ugly CRAB is asking all the Clan of the Crabs to Walk straight,and he said 'Dont rob, steal and corrupt, give me all the loot!!!
written by biggun129, October 25, 2008 10:25:02
Mukhriz spends substantial amounts to obtain the highest nominations for the post of chief of UMNO youth, who is the man behind it???
written by Alice, October 25, 2008 10:34:28
The man who destroyed the Malays is actually a mamak pretenting to be a Malay - Mahathir Kutty.

FATHER OF ALL CORRUPTION - MAHATHIR KUTTY
Don't give us your 2cent worth of opinion regarding corruption. We know you are the cause of it all!!
written by miwaki, October 25, 2008 10:47:08
Don't just fious on corruption,it's the incompetence of the administration that will destroy the country.Who cares about the end of UMNO and BN,they are not important and can be replaced anytime.
written by miwaki, October 25, 2008 10:48:43
The rakyat will celebrate when UMNO and BN are gone,please continue your evil deeds.
written by Lembing, October 25, 2008 10:57:22
DIEU MAHATH . How did your son, who is only a green horn in politics, managed to get some many nominations???????
written by said, October 25, 2008 10:57:37
SOS TO HUSAM MUSA AND NIK AZIZ

This is an urgent request to you to issue an ultimatum to Badawi and Najib to release prisoners under ISA or face demonstration. Barisan is holding innocent people. They are not terrorists but are critical against a m..f…g obscence govt.
SOS to honest police and army to SPEAK UP, PLEASE.
NAJIB,BADAWI, RESIGN- YOU ARE GUILTY OF CORRUPTION BY THE TRAINLOAD. YOU HAVE TAKEN FOOD FROM OUR MOUTHS. MOTHERF.. DOGS
written by Fuminari, October 25, 2008 11:03:10
the reflection is clear cut here,umno be end is a bold choice for not only the malay,it involves n concerns all malaysian!
written by Yacob, October 25, 2008 11:14:57
Mahathir is the sole element for the UMNO ruin. In effect, should Mahathir be in no existence, UMNO would be more thriving and prosperous. Mahathir had infected 'cancer virus' to UMNO and Malays in UMNO. UMNO is now perishing.
written by budakindia, October 25, 2008 11:17:58
uMNO people likes to do the following:
1) Body snatching
2) Temple demolition
3) Dog poisoning
4) Detain a 6 year old child
5) Forbade the use of God for non-Muslims
6) Bullying the non-Malays & non-Muslims

What kind of sickos would associate themselves with UMNO?
I bet they also love child pronography too!
What a bunch of criminals instituted to one party!
written by macaufan, October 25, 2008 11:31:09
TDM: "umno will lose power bcos of corruption"
'korek korek .... TDM,
u must tell corrupted rejim racist umno: "umno can only 'enjoy' corruption under my control"
hahaha....
written by sonofman0, October 25, 2008 11:38:35
Here is a very concerned citizen revealing all he knows! Intelligence gathering at its best! So much detail! Will others follow his fine example and reveal more?

Thank you so much for exposing all this corruption! May I suggest that you make a beeline for the nearest ACA office and make a report. Your loyalty to our nation is inspiring and will always be remembered by its concerned citizens!
written by densemy, October 25, 2008 11:43:49
Short term memory loss AND long term memory loss!!

But wait!!!... Mahathir wasnt responsible for ALL the corruption. Was he??

He just made it easier for other Malays to be corrupt

Get rid of him and what are you left with?... A whole lot of Malays who are readily corruptible
written by Zapper, October 25, 2008 11:47:10
Before Tun Hussien Onn, money politics and corruption is very very rare. However, with TDM coming on board, all these nonsense happened to his advantage. Now, he is no longer in power and he is complaining about something that he has created because his legacy is coming to haunt him.

With due respect TDM, what goes around comes around. Please enjoy while it last. This is your legacy.
written by raven1958, October 25, 2008 11:47:51
Where is GOd.....and is the moron being protected by the devil..
written by InEffective, October 25, 2008 11:49:33

Our former premier has spoken well about a critical issue.

But i am wondering if he speaks for the interest of the rakyat, or is for the interest of UMNO.

Its a crucial distinction, because one concerns the internal ongoings for authority and power positioning inside a political party, and the other concerns the external impacts and costs and risks of corruption that the rakyat is underwriting.

Under his administration, he clearly didn't really care how much the rakyat had to underwrite.
the rakyat is underwriting the costs of all the corruption.
written by Fuminari, October 25, 2008 11:58:04
readers,do u see all the 'catch' words of what he is trying to say??
he cares only about 'PMships=power','contracts,licences,APs =money',so do u think he cares about the nation?the people?or even the malays??
very clear cut,he cares only about preservation of power so that he n all the cronies,families could continue to rape n rob the nation with freehand!!!
written by Davy McChester, October 25, 2008 12:36:22
Who is talking ? Is this shameful vermin so senile could not remember all his self-serving policies ,legislation such as the printing act,the secret act & all other acts,all of which were designed/introduced to stifle the press,turn whistle blowers into criminals and criminals into victims? The worst thing that could ever happened to Malaysia was having this evil doctor as the prime minister of Malaysia for 22 years. Anyway, all of us including Annuar Ibrahim have all learnt a good lesson and hopefully the next generation of Malaysian do not repeat a grave mistake of the last generation,which is allowing wrongs/crimes committed by politicians to get away by invoking the "race card";constantly reminding us that the "new"colonialists have replaced the old ones and smartly inherited fully "the divide and rule legacy.
Standing for the truth is statesmanship;sweeping the truth under the carpet is rewarding the criminal, permeating corruption,making it a way of life, and depriving justice to all Malaysian.
written by RumahPanjai, October 25, 2008 12:51:15
Corruption = UMNO = Hadhari? Islam according to UMNO embraces corruption!
written by cble, October 25, 2008 12:56:03

Maaf Cekdet. Anak U sendiri bagaimana? Dia tidak menabur wang kah?
written by HamChak, October 25, 2008 12:58:16
Niamah you, Mahathir, what are you talking.
Surely Coruption is sweet and tasty mah.
Without Corruption, how can you, your family
and cronies are so powerful and rich? You mean
you, your family members and CRONIES are SO
SMART, ahh? You started all those SHITS.
Spit on your face next time I see you in public.
written by cheekhiaw, October 25, 2008 14:05:58
The father of all thieves are telling them that if they don't buck up they will not be able to steal some more after the next election...

written by ez24get, October 25, 2008 14:08:10
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today said Umno will lose the next General Election if nothing is done to weed out corruption in the party.

This guy is unbelievable! He is more concern about corruption in the party than the widespread, endemic corruption happening in about every Government department in Malaysia!

He is only concern about corruption in this small circle in his party because it affects his chance in making a comeback and Muhkriz's quest for the UMNO Youth post. He is not concern about the ordinary malays or the ordinary Rakyat of Malaysia at large.

In fact he is not at all concern about the widespread corruption in Malaysia at large because he is the biggest corrupter that Malaysia ever has in its 50 years history! He doesn't want to concern with the corruption in Malaysia because he wants to embroil in corruption. He wants to make a comeback and make more money for his family. He wants to put his son and future generations into a position to access all that wealth.

He is the father of corruption and he wants to teach his young crabs how to walk straight! What a despicable ex-Prime Minister! There are no words to describe him!
written by KotaDamansara73, October 25, 2008 14:15:11
Mahathir, you have failed the Malays.
Mahathir, you have made the Malays more dependent on the goverment.
Mahathir, you have brought the Malays self esteem and self confidence to all time low.
Mahathir, you have made enemies throughtout the modern world on behalf of the Malays
Mahathir, you dislike Americans, British, Australians, Chinese, Indians and Jews and other white race people doesn't mean that the whole entire Malay race should follow suit.
Mahathir, you have self victimised the Malays, making them vulnerable to globalisation.
Mahathir, after helping the Malays for many years, the Malays are still not independent.
Mahathir, after giving so much money to the Malays, the Malays are complaining that they do not have enough.
Mahathir, after giving the Malays all the gas station license, teksi license, bus license, APs and all sorts of monopoly license, the Malays are still unable to progress.

Mahathir, you have inculcate dirty political games into the Malay mindset. Khairy, Ahmad Ismail and other racist politicians are the fruit of your brainwash propaganda.
Mahathir, you like to achieve numerical results without going through the genuine process.
Mahathir, you have taught the Malays the short cut way to success, but they will be vulnerable when the hard times hit them.
Mahathir, you have made the Malays artificially successful by making only a few Malays artificially successful like your son, Mokhzaini, Daim, Halim Saad, Taijuddin Ramli and etc.
Mahathir, you like to show the kampung Malays that Malay race is successful by doing circus trick that drain the nation's wealth such as sending a man for a vacation in the space.
Mahathir, so many Malays are unable to progress and the UMNO goverment is spending money here and there where the ecnomic benefit does not trickle down to the poor masses.

Mahathir, today the Malays are more afraid and more likely to resort to violence because they have low self confidence, low self esteem, not equiped with any skills and are ill prepared to face globalisation.

Mahathir, it is education, integrity, strong character, hard work and deligence that will determine the survival and progress of the race and the majority of the Malays are lacking in this departments.

Mahathir, you are a liar and a thief who stole millions of ringgit worth of the nation's wealth.
Mahathir, you are the root cause of the Malay problem.
Mahathir, you will die with your eyes open, because you have failed the Malays.
written by macaufan, October 25, 2008 14:27:12
KotaDamansara73,
i couldn't agree more with u ! good list of write up. 1 more to add: TDM has successfully made m'sia into a POLIS STATE !
look at our courts of justice, parliment & KL city now: suka suka anjing Raja polis di m'sia set up road blok ! kononnya our Home Minister Shit-Hamid got wind fr 2 sms & few blogs said ada RALLY ! kakakaka.....
written by mykantree, October 25, 2008 14:32:09
TDM's statement that;
1.UMNO politics is corrupt
2.UMNO will be gone come the next GE
3.People are disappointed with corruption in UMNO

hits the nail on the head. It's correct,correct and correct.

What he conveniently did not mention is that it all started during his 22 years tenure as PM.And that it has been so institutionalized that it will take unprecedented political will, humongous effort, unquestionable incorruptability and indeterminate time, to have any hope of ridding this country of this scourge that has done this country so much damage and despair.
written by mikewang, October 25, 2008 14:52:15

===========================

What does that suggest to you ?
That UMNO will not survive as an opposition party because it is corrupt to the core.
It's corruption (ie. big money) that is keeping the fabrics of the party together.
The party is there for the money and not the cause.
So once a while it must cook up some racial issues, hoping to deceive the Malays.
written by Jit Dharma, October 25, 2008 14:53:20
Mahathir defending UMNO againts corruption is like Hitler being the German
ambassador to Israel.
written by Jit Dharma, October 25, 2008 14:55:21
A dirty crook should be the best at fighting corruption because he knows how
the other crooks operate.
written by cheekhiaw, October 25, 2008 14:56:50
You are assuming that dirty crooks would come clean. That's a big assumption.

written by Old Man, October 25, 2008 15:14:41
Does anyone disagree with KotaDamansara73 and Macaufan? Mahatir started with a small dream, then became a big dream and now has become a reality!
Only Mahatir, his family and others in the inner circle may be able to sail calmly through the shattered economies BUT when we Malaysians drowned ( in fact drowning by every second )there'll be no more PM, no more ...... NO MORE TAX PAYER!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, October 25, 2008 15:24:51
It was a dream for Mahathir and idiots that followed him. Nightmare for the rest of us...

written by ultraman, October 25, 2008 15:35:27
hey, TDM, corruption was rampant during your time. Now you are trying to tell others are corrupted. in fact you are the main cause
written by ultraman, October 25, 2008 15:36:56
Aiya,dont lecture others when you are the main person allowing it to happen
written by ibabonma, October 25, 2008 16:20:49
(So on and so forth) .....
Penultimately, Mahathir, bawa Melayu masuk longkang.
Lastly, Mahathir, ajar Melayu minum todi
written by justinlian, October 25, 2008 18:22:05
Kota Damansars,
That was the best.......................
Bless you
written by educationist, October 25, 2008 19:27:57
Coming from Dr M and Dr Rais, they are just stating as facts what is public knowledge about the going ons during UMNO elections.
written by sonofmalaysia, October 25, 2008 20:00:25
Mahataik is the ultimate crook. He is so despicable that it is beyond all the ENglish language words to describe him adequately. It was a great tragedy for Malaysia ti have PM like him !!

Mahataik, the Indian-Malay mutant has turn UMNO into a big lanun and Mafia organisation whose members and leaders are made of the most despicable, most unsavoury characters, (all were folowing his foot step and practice ). The lanun and Mafia organisation has one distinctly grotesque culture, using racism and masquerading behind Islam to plunder and steal from the Rakyat and country !! MAhataik had made successful lanun politcians of UMNO the role models for all Malay youths !!

That's why we are seeing episodes after episodes of the most shameful scandals, orgies after orgies of looting the country by UMNO leaders !!

Instead of leading and inspiring his people to excel and to do good for the country and rakyat like many great leaders of the world do, MAhatak did the worst of the opposite !! He had planted and nurtured a thieving culture in UMNO, now the raison detre for Malay to join UMNO is to get rich by stealing from country and people. Now we are seeing the full effect being played out day in day out.

His 'achievement' is so enormous that even if DSAI is sucessful in taking over the governmrnt , it will take generations to get rid this monter UMNO and its evil and corrupt practices.

written by Sabahfan, October 25, 2008 21:32:50
Dear Mahafiraun....

thanks for your prediction... we hope that it will come true...

and WE MUSST ALSO THANK YOU ... FOR IT WAS UNDER MAHATIRISM THAT CORRUPTION IN UMNO WAS REALLY DEVELOPED...

Mega projects was awarded by you directly to CHINA with local counterparts who were your cronies...

small projects for class F contractors pretends to go open tender amonghts BUMI contractors.... BUT projects like 500 million and above all goes thru your office for approval of direct awards....

What Najib, scopene and etc are only following your footsteps and examples given by you to your disciples..

SO LET UMNO BE CORRUPTED IN HELL TOGETHER WITH THE MAHAFIRAUN....
written by MalaysianFirst, October 25, 2008 22:02:51
Syarikat MalaysiaBoleh Berhad announces the following executive vacancies and compensation schemes:

CEO = MYR1.5 Million p.a. plus MYR20 Billion in cash bonus over five years
Deputy CEO = MYR1.3 Million p.a. plus MYR18 Billion in cash bonus over five years
GM (War Apparatus) = MYR1.0 Million plus MYR15 Billion in cash bonus over five years
GM (Finance) = MYR500,000 p.a. plus MYR12 Billion cash bonus over five years
DGM (Finance) = MYR350,000 p.a. plus MYR10.0 Billion cash bonus over five years
GM Trade & Industry = MYR300,000 p.a. plus MYR8.0 Billion cash bonus over five years
DGM Trade & Industry = MYR280,000 p.a. plus MYR6.5 Billion plus cash bonus over five years
All Other GM = MYR250,000 p.a. plus MYR5 Billion cash bonus over five years

Kindly submit applications not later than 29 December 2008 attention to:
THE CHAIRMAN
MR. MAHADEER A/L ORANG INDIA
MALAYSIABOLEH BERHAD
NO. 1, KUBANG PASU

(Only really snakey candidates with proven track record need apply)
written by elmo world, October 25, 2008 22:35:01
wow! i am surprised.. very..

of coz i hate corruption, but then, look, who was that just mentioned that...

its the "papa" of coruption....

bravo Papa
written by jowkg, October 26, 2008 01:28:15
Mahathir, what do u mean UMNO will suffer? Not getting currupted money is suffering? if that's the case.. is DAP, PAS and PKR suffering? IS all THe Opposition SUFFERING? oh common... UMNO goons are to pampered... everything come easy for them.... they don't work hard for the country.. they work hard to be a crook...
written by jowkg, October 26, 2008 01:58:56
Mahathir.. ur Space programme which is part of ur VIsion 2020 is a complete joke... common.. let them learn how to build a plane first... a helicopter first... learn to make weapon....... we can't even build our own car ( proton technology was borrow btw) and u wanna jump a few hundred step and get into space programme? only kampung folks will get fooled.. ur Astronaut just tumpang ppls rocket up there ..... the qualifying test is just a matter of physical fitness test and u gave him a Datoship.. ... u select the few Non-malay Finalist is also a joke... U know very welll only Malay will be selected and yet u get those chinese and indian into the play...
written by minds, October 26, 2008 05:55:54
MAHATHIR ??????? who is this guy?
written by ASK4u, October 26, 2008 09:48:44
What, when Mahadheer applied to do medicine in Singapore, he wrote his ethnicity as Indian in the application form? How disgusting this old man. After his rise to power, he started to systematically marginalize and discriminate against the Indi@ns and the Chines*, i.e., climbing up by stepping on other races and curbing their progress. What an opportunist he is. This type of people won't even think twice of killin their own mother in order to achieve their evil ambitions. Wonder what else Lee Kuen Yew knows? LKY is the custodian to Malaya history,..the past 5 decades or so. Paying him a visit will open the "Pandora's box". Perhaps someone should organize an Interview with this wise old man(LKY not Makutty),...wonder, what else is in store for us. smilies/angry.gif