Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow National image tarnished and PDRM made vulnerable

National image tarnished and PDRM made vulnerable PDF Print
Friday, 24 October 2008 21:01
The saga surrounding little citizen child P. Vwaishhnnavi's recent spending time within a police detention center is drawing much flak in the country. And the police action -- or even if was inaction, will also place the country under the radar of global movements that champion child protection and human rights.

The question is why is the government allowing itself to be sieged into a vulnerable situation in an age and time where national brand vision creation is increasingly becoming an indispensable option for progress and economic success.

While PDRM's image has suffered much from numerous accounts of failed court cases, negative reports and a host of unresolved allegations, this latest episode of a six year old citizen being taken and kept within a police station, overnight, is sending the wrong message across the planet.

Whatever the reasons that the authorities may now dish out to do damage control, the rakyat remain baffled as to why the authorities are ever digging deeper into the mud with their antics.

Whether HINDRAF is good, bad, banned or not is not the issue here. The crux of the problem is the government and its appointed leaders failed miserably in conflict resolution. This failure has catapulted into a complex web of misunderstanding and hurt that is ripping through the nation.

And in the wake of the political leaders inability to manage conflict and negotiate solutions in the best interest of national progress and peace, detentions inevitably seem to be the stop gap measure.

And as two wrongs can only lead to a third failure, today we are getting stuck with yet another embarrassing situation given the seeming 'detention' of a six year old child in the very vicinity of brutal criminals and law breakers.

How do we explain all these to the child? How do we tell our children to respect the law? How do we learn to understand that respect is far more superior then mere fear for the law?

In putting PDRM in such a vulnerable position, the leaders have also jeopardized the global image of the nation.

Who is going to pay the price? Mr Prime Minister, as the leader at the helm of this management team of Malaysia, You have to make a difference here.

Locking up people without trial is not going to remove the problems. Ignoring 'timing' in decision making can be catastrophic too.

On the contrary, negotiation, collaboration, discussion and conflict resolution are superior attestations of sound leadership. All of these are the tested and proven methods of nationhood and leadership in this century.

- J. D. Lovrenciear, Semenyih

written by indianputra, October 24, 2008 21:02:53
DEEPAVALI 2008 is cancelled throughout Malaysia. No Indian or Hindu will celebrate Deepavali this year in Malaysia until the HINDRAF 5 and RPK is released from ISA. Indians irrespective of the political affliations have no right to celebrate the Deepavali when innocent Hindus and martyrs are suffering under ISA in Kamunting.

If any MIC/PPP/IPF leader or branch holds any Deepavali open house, all Indians and Hindus must boycott the open house.

All Indian Pakatan Rakyat MP's and State Assembly men must NOT hold any Deepavali Open House.

Indians, please UNITE for the sake of unjustified detention of our Hindu brothers in Kamunting. Please spread the news!
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 21:08:43
Their image have long been flushed down the toilet ,since that day when they gave my Hero Anwar a black eye.Bloody hell!
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 24, 2008 21:19:18
PDRM had never had a good image except in Yusof Haslam's 'Gerak Khas' and 'Roda-Roda Kotaraya' movies.
written by asiseesit, October 24, 2008 21:52:04
PDRM's image was never good to begin with. but this glaring flaw, have made malaysia the first to ever arrest a 6 year old child simply because she was with her mother.

will the government provide pyschological counselling to this child?
written by Spear Bing, October 24, 2008 21:58:54
PDRM embracing negotiation, collaboration, discussion,conflict resolution, and what have you?

Bukit Aman's police personnel are not professionally trained on this aspects of policing processes and procedures.

The Malaysian Police psyche is very much tormented by reactive behaviours displayed by even the top brass of the police force.

Just take a look at the CID Director and other senior Police Officers who take advantage of their blue uniform and deploying physical abuse and bodily harm to the victims.

Police management has advanced during the past decades and Malaysia is still trapped in the cut and dry abusive tactics of inhumane treatment of the man in the street.

It will take awhile for PDRM to improve its image and restore its credibility. What can you say when a million dollar drug materials are found missing in their own compound and apparently stolen by their own police personnel?

It's a very sad and pathetic episode.
written by Amicus Curia, October 24, 2008 22:03:00
PDRM have NEVER had a good name. Everyone including foreigners know that they are the licenced THUGS of our beloved country. They are supposed to be there to help us but why do the innocent fear them and they fear the criminals (as said by our home minister). As an Ah Long once told someone who said he was going to report them to the police. "kalau lu bikin report, itu kau tim punya duit pun saya caj you". (If you make a report the amount I use to settle - in other words BRIBE- the police I will add to your debt). smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Jit Dharma, October 24, 2008 22:30:31
Indians will not forgive or forgive this. Die MIC die...
written by *********, October 24, 2008 22:32:35
If the Neanderthal (picture left) can't see the big picture, what can we expect from Albar. They both seem to be gazing into oblivion...More http://*********.********.com
written by Mr Smith, October 24, 2008 22:47:02
Students with the lowest grades in SPM join the police force. Now these guys have no brains so how will they know that a 6 year old cannot be convicted of any crime. How then they can be arrested?
written by macaufan, October 24, 2008 22:54:55
Polis RAJA DiM'sia memang dah biasa dikecam tapi Raja polis masih bertahan sebab wang RASUAH yang tinggi,kenaikan pangkat yang cepat & dapat Datuk/Tan Sri/Tun ship juga!
look at IGP Musang, AG Guni Petai, CJ Eusoff Chin, CJ Fairus... all this r best of d best CORRUPTORS in TDM era !
written by eskay, October 24, 2008 23:03:05
Crime rate keeps increasing, but PDRM rather put their hands in keeping frustrated rakyat who wished to voice up their frustration in the lock up.

When is our PDRM team going to learn how to keep their reputation as the guardian angels of the rakyat ?

I believe not all of them are brainless and some still have conscience, may God bless those among this group to have the courage to speak up & voice your disapproval on what PDRM is heading to.

written by Motherchell, October 24, 2008 23:07:51
PDRM got all the manuals from the father of all evil ,TDM , read more here

http://sjsandteam.*********.co...-24122008/

of the methods used to stay on in power to enrich himself --- so the real demented "child" in PDRM is behaving with no Laws to check its abuses. The disarray of the rule of Law is an eddy which they are ever ready to follow!
Hitler and Mugabe told us the tale of all that PDRM is on the path to. Ironic because every tenet of the Islamic laws are transgressed in the process and it means nothing to them!
Read the details in the site mentioned folks,it proves to be to be a magnifying glass of their misdeeds!
written by ChangeBoy, October 24, 2008 23:24:10
i see no sense in the arrest of the 6yo girl. if an arrest is made by isa the top leaders should know about it. is the goverment not aware of wat it's most powerfull agency is doing? 1 night in jail is not acceptable dispite what ever "reasons"(or in better word - EXCUSE) they say. or is their conscience compass is not spoiled but entirely unusable? just cant comprehend what happened...
written by biggun129, October 24, 2008 23:29:01
So,this is the way the PDRM promote their 'Rakancop', who dare to be the friend of the cop, if the six years child is scare to death to sleep overnight in the Polis lockup!!!
written by Shiva, October 24, 2008 23:50:37
this is not a case an elected government's race hatred, its a case of government and its ethics not in proper management.
what we may need is to understand is Vwaishhnnavi's scenario will be similarly faced by any other malaysians as well, as long as freedom of speech in a democratic country only has face value on undocumented papers but not in actual fact.
rather then crying wolf...., please...see what can you as an individual can contribute..for a better malaysia and these may result in short term sacrifice.

avoid smoking, avoid drinking etc... cause your tax on these products are actually helping the continuity of these regime.

written by ChanRaj, October 25, 2008 00:22:47
Indraputra is right. There is no reason to celebrate Deepavali for there is only darkness in Malaysia. Tell the Non-Indians who wish us Happy Deepavali that there is nothing to be "happy" about. Let this be a protest. Let this be just purely a spiritual day.
written by DreamLady, October 25, 2008 00:42:05
My dear fellow Malaysians,

We are being constantly abused by the very law that is supposed to protect us, not even the children or women are spared by the devils.

At this very hour, I call upon all kind souls to voice forth their grievances; their frustration; their dismay; and their feeling of hopelessness in an increasing crescendo so that the whole world could hear our hearts' crying out for justice, to see how cruel our government is treating its own people...

There got to be a fool-proved means to overcome the present trials of the devils that we are confronting. With the strength of a single voice, it is next to impossible to cause a ripple of damage to the plot of the demons.

But when all of us are united, the forces will be in the form tzunami, to demolish all the demons with one single mighty blow..

Please, God, help us, the helpless victims.........
written by picadilly, October 25, 2008 00:59:05
First of al, moron albar equated that Hindraf= al-arqam. That itself shows how way off mark this buffoon is.

Hello Mr.Control of home ministry,
If Hindraf is = al-arqam how come every indian supports it,
you know what is going to be deepavali talk in every house next 1 week?
its abt you and your moronic govt civil blind servants.
kah kah kah.

you made it our depavali. Thanks.
written by Enforcer, October 25, 2008 01:17:32
Now we see who the real 'TERRORISTS' are in the country!
Time to put the HEADS of these 'terrorists' under the ISA!
Even the ANIMALS care for their young and keep them from harm!
Can't even match-up to the animals!
written by drsangeetha, October 25, 2008 03:00:50
please let the kid attend kindergarden! not gatherings . cards and teddy bears , the adults can deliver. VAALGA PEOPLE' VOICE
written by JUST, October 25, 2008 06:54:48
Justice Bao? Father Of Reforms? Dream on .......... smilies/grin.gif
written by Daryl, October 25, 2008 09:00:35
Vulnerable??? I am confused that the PDRM image is vulnerable because of this. Do they still have any image at all? If you sold your soul to the Devil you do not have one. So, am I suprise they did that.... I don't believ so and they deserve evrything that goes their way.
written by ASK4u, October 25, 2008 10:05:04
Najib, it is "too little, too late" for UMNO/BN now. You have already "let the cat (PDrM) loose" and it has smeared your name and caused much havoc. Unless proactive measures are taken immediately to follow through all Pak Lah's promises in an honest and transparent way, come next GE [in two years time(?)], Malaysia will have a new govt. Mark my word!
written by anak penang, October 25, 2008 12:10:22
its persecution against indians.
there will be more of such episodes.
they are forgetting something.
the more they persecute the indians the more resilient the indians will be.

the torch of freedom and equal opportunities made the indians support hindraf.

banning hindraf won't solve the spirit of hindraf. the spirit of hindraf lives in the heart.
it has also encompassed other malaysians of non indian origin.

soon it will become a movement for all malaysian.
and no tyrant government will be able to suppress the force of makhal sakthi
written by InEffective, October 25, 2008 12:42:00

In light of this latest persecution on children and women in this nation of malaysia, perhaps we should re-ask the rulers their views and feelings on the following :

a) do the rulers still hold the view that the constitution is still functional ?
b) do they still believe that the sanctity of their promoted 'social-contract' is still intact ?
c) should the defenseless and persecuted continue to submit to coercion, oppression, suppression, exclusion, rights-denied, opportunities repressed for the sake of 'unity & harmony'?

I do hope we will be rewarded with more than words of eloquence from the rulers intellect. And i do hope that the rulers will have the courage and leadership to state their position, and not avoid or re-frame the queries in the interests of self-preservation, or place self-interests above the hopes and aspirations of the rakyat. (but perhaps i ask too much)

Inquiring minds do want to know - we'd like to get our expectations straight and well-defined. (its hard to get that from politicians, because what they say and what they do is usually quite different).
written by mafiaa, October 25, 2008 13:16:50
MACHIAVELLIAN...STOP USING CHILDREN,ngo ...STOP USING CHILDREN.
...SToooooooooooOPpppppppppppp USING CHILDREN smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mykantree, October 25, 2008 13:41:05
This case is just another one that further reinforce the very negative role that the PDRM plays in Malaysian society as an enforcer of the law.It only adds further to the disdain that the public has about its perceived duties. It will only shock the public when it actually perform what it is supposed to do.

If such peaceful gathering is being construe to be illegal and police action required, than the law is rotten to the core, as it is, and only a major revamp of such laws will enable the citizen to have any hope of ever seeing justice and fairplay. having such laws in any democracy is an abuse of its name.
written by macaufan, October 25, 2008 14:39:28
so long as corrupted rejim racist umno belum dikuburkan, rakyat m'sia tak mungkin celebrate Raya, CNY, Deepavali, x'mas & etc in peace & joy !
DSAI & PR,
pls speed up ur take over of Fed.gomen fr rejim umno now !!!!
written by Side Helmit Elba, October 25, 2008 17:35:45
Our leaders should learn that respect is earned not to be forced into them. The more you stiffer a group the greater is rebellous force as according to Newton 3rd law the greater is the action force applied the greater is the reaction. The goverment also lost the best opportunity to engage the 3 largest race as MIC has already proof its failure to engage the Indians in the country.