Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kit Siang: Hold Eurocopter deal for watchdog green light

Kit Siang: Hold Eurocopter deal for watchdog green light PDF Print
Friday, 24 October 2008 17:15

PETALING JAYA (TheStar): The Government should not go through with the purchase of helicopters from Eurocopter if the deal is not approved after the investigation by the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) and Parliament, Ipoh Timur MP Lim Kit Siang said.

He said the RM2.3bil deal should be suspended as it would be contempt of Parliament for the Defence Ministry to proceed without waiting for the outcome of the investigation.

“It is no exaggeration to say that this will be the most important investigation in PAC history as a major government contract will hinge on its report,” he said in a statement Friday.

Lim said PAC should not depend solely on the technical and expert advice of ministry and Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) officials in its probe.

“PAC must have independent and professional advice from people knowledgeable and who have working experience in the aviation industry.”

Lim said PAC should also call up representatives from the seven tender bidders.

He also said he was doubtful that a two-day hearing, from Oct 29-30, - was enough, considering the amount of data the PAC would have to scrutinise.

The deal was approved two days before Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak handed his over his Defence Minister portfolio to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and took up the latter’s Finance Minister post in a straight swap.

Earlier in October, Mentari Services Sdn Bhd chairman Capt (Rtd) Zahar Hashim alleged the tender accepted during Najib’s tenure as Defence Minister to replace the ageing Nuri helicopters was “too costly.”

He claimed the Government could have saved almost RM1.5bil if it had bought the Kazan-M172 helicopters from Kelowna Flight craft Ltd, a firm he represents.

He said the Kazan-M172 met all the specifications required by the armed forces and costs RM898mil while the Cougar EC-725 would cost the Government RM2.3bil.

Najib denied any irregularities and invited PAC to scrutinise the deal.

written by loosecannon, October 24, 2008 17:33:59
I don't trust the PAC and I don't trust Sharir. They don't have a good track record to show. It's just like the ACA. All noise but no teeth. They are there to cover the BN dirty tracks.
written by Nunudada, October 24, 2008 18:43:18
I think the purpose of these expensive helicopters is to change the armed forces role from defensive to offensive.We need more clout to aquire more land to house the foreigners that have been made citizens and,we cannot tolerate another loss like Piedra Branca,for which we expect to fight tooth and nail in future.The sophisticated night time sensors and radar on this crafts will also help to keep groups like Hindraf in check as they and the opposition group can be spied on from the air day and night.Hence,this will ensure a peaceful and harmonious state that will attract more foreign investors and Tourists.
written by Kyle, October 24, 2008 18:45:47
Brother loosecannon, PAC isn't under Shahrir. It's under Azmi Khalid, husband of
the beautiful Normala Samsudin.
But you are right to say you don't trust PAC.
I don't trust PAC too.
However, I believe Kit Siang believes the other man in PAC, his comrade,
DAP veteran Dr Tan Seng Giaw, MP of Kepong.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
You know that PAC has to wait for Najib's 'approval' before it
started investigation ?
written by biggun129, October 24, 2008 18:54:01
Nothing can stop the Purchase if the present ruling regime insisted, they will purchase Mercedes instead of Proton Perdana!!!They got hundred reason to get the deal go through, the only way to stop them is if they are not the Government!!! As long as Najib decided, who else can stop, who is more powerful, the BN or PR!!! We cant over-rule the BOSS, isnt it!!!
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 18:58:29
The kickback have already been paid.No use shouting lah!
written by Sabahfan, October 24, 2008 19:26:15
HERE is something for everyone to ponder...

ALL the MalazutUMNO appointed top govt officers and Managing Directors they sent from semenanjung to rule Sabah like colonies, always preach preach preach about using BENCHMARKING... on cost in the subject of PROCUREMENT....

SO we sabahan get sick of it and ask them...

Hey boss, can U tell us what kinda Benchmarking they used when they procure those scorpene submarines and helicopters and tanks and M16 and C4s and gunships and sending doctors to play yo-yo in space?

The typical answer given by these MalazutUMNOputras is....
"Itu jangan cerita lah itu politik...."

or

"that is beyong your circle of influence and concern"

FAVORITE EXCUSE BY UMNOshitputras......
written by Kathy, October 24, 2008 20:40:50
I see two avenues open for the Opposition to force a vote of no confidence in the govt. - this Eurocopter issue and that of the ISA debate.
written by mikewang, October 25, 2008 00:46:04
Hey YAB PM.

Why do you need to spend money which are to be paid in foreign currency when we are supposed to be frugal in bad times ?

Price of petroleum is falling.
Price of palm oil is dropping fast.
The stock market is in trouble.
Our economy is slowing and most of the rest of the world is slipping into recession.

1 ringgit saved is 1 ringgit earned.
If we cannot earn more, we can surely save more.
Didn't your mother teach you that ?
written by Steven Tan, October 25, 2008 01:41:24
RMAF still can proceed with the idea to buy Eurocopter EC725 if the price of the helicopter is RM82.8 million or less. I believe everybody will agree with this deal smilies/cheesy.gif