Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow 'The Assassination of George W Bush' and 'Politik Baru YB J'

'The Assassination of George W Bush' and 'Politik Baru YB J' PDF Print
Friday, 24 October 2008 11:01

By Mansor Puteh

There are still some people who are so pressed with the idea that they are the only persons in this country who know what 'Freedom of the Press' is and should be.

The irony is that 'Politik Baru YB J' is not about this freedom but of the freedom of expression considering that it is not a feature article or political commentary, but a short story. Therefore, it is literature and it falls under the category of the Freedom of Expression and of Free Speech.

I hope those who want to talk about any of these freedoms know which they are referring to and not be confused by what they are so pressed about.

I wonder if any of those who are into such a debate has actually seen the film 'The Assassination of George W Bush' made by a studio in Hollywood.

Or for that matter, the film, 'Independence Day' and even 'Day of the Jackal'.

Or, 'X' a film by Spike Lee.

Spike shows the American flag being burnt. Under normal circumstances it is secreligious in America for which he could be charged in court.

However, since he did that in a film, it falls under freedom of expression and therefore the film was allowed to be shown in America and he was safe from prosecution.

'Day of the Jackal' is about a man whom the police describes as The Jackal who tries to assassinate the president of France, Charles De Gaulle. It is a work of fiction which was shown worldwide.

'Independence Day' is another Hollywood feature film which shows how the White House was bombed and was completely destroyed.

And there is another film which shows the former Twin Towers being attacked and destroyed.

The then president of America, Bill Clinton, after watching 'Independence Day', jokingly said he hoped the White House would be there when he returned home.

Unfortunately, for the 3,000 or so persons who died in the attack and collapse of the Twin Towers, none of them managed to return home on September 11, 2001.

Still, the producers of the film which suggested that the Twin Towers could collapse in such a manner were not persecuted for suggesting that they could be so.

And this is America, the so-called land of the free.

Yet, in Malaysia, even when a person who had written a short story whose literary merit is still not determined, can be so chastised and worse, be subject to a legal suit by parties whose names are not even mentioned.

In the Hollywood film, 'The Assassination of George W Bush', the name of the present president of America is mentioned. Yet, the film was not banned and its producers not charged for any crime.

In fact, the White House didn't even bother to comment on it, since it is just an artistic work.

Malaysians who want to talk about these freedoms seem to have got everything wrong. They seem to think that they are the ones who have the right to define what they are, and no one else.

Their thoughts and actions have made many wonder if they subscribe to the spirit of democracy, and if they are willing to listen and learn from the others, too, especially those who have different views on the same matter.

It is not them alone who are interested in this matter. And many other people, too, have other views on it. Yet, they are not being heard. And if there are public forums to discuss the issue, only those of the same stripes are invited. So in the end, they get views which are stale and repeated.

And from what I can see, most of those who talk about such freedoms have not studied and lived abroad for an extended period of time. And I suspect, their views on these freedoms are so convoluted that it makes many want to puke.

The worst habit that they all have is that they think too highly of themselves in the matter, and they do not care what others say on it. Yet, they want to describe themselves as liberals when their minds are not open and their vision blinkered.

I feel sorry for them because they do not know what they are talking about most of the time.

They have not studied what Hollywood and the literati in America and the West have done.

Where were these people when Prophet Muhammad was blasphemed? None of them rose to the occasion to criticize the Danish cartoonist and the newspaper for publishing the offending caricatures of the prophet.

written by FFT, October 24, 2008 11:13:17
Dude has a point.

Everybody should just take a chill pill and stop making a mountain out of a molehill.

While we're in this jolly mood of freedom of expression, someone should pen a short story (i.e., fiction) about a group of bounty hunters who are on a mission to bring in, dead or alive, a particularly nasty politician-cum-murderer called Najis the Rosak and his lovely wife, Mrs. Cruella the Haggis.

written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 11:14:13
Freedom of speech and Democracy are...good subject for debate!
In practice, there is nor can there be 100%....only in doses!

In some countries(our country Malaysia is one of them), we are not ready nor is it wise to emulate Western Democracy. First, we need to accept each other as Malaysians, then and only then can we talk about Democracy in the real sense of the word.
Freedom of speech?? Very difficult lah, as religion will always come into the picture and we all know what happens if some of you "hurt our Muslims' feelings", yah! smilies/wink.gif
written by Iskandar11, October 24, 2008 11:14:15
Okay let's now write a cerpen of a certain Pansor Muteh (Fictional character) who wrote an article about the rights to write on the assassination of YBJ. Let's have this character Pansor Muteh (still fictional and not related to anyone living or dead) at the end of the story justly assassinated with everyone cheering on upon hearing the news of this.

Someone write this cerpen then distribute it worldwide and let's see if Mr. Mansor Puteh still agrees that it is okay. I don't see why he won't agree since it is fictional like he says.
written by lamakawan, October 24, 2008 11:24:04
You are right, Mansor. These people think too highly of themselves. They are introverted. That is inside the tempurong. They think the world belongs to them and they alone will decide what is right and what is wrong. Actually, they are as stupid as the proverbial donkey. These are the people which we call in modern day Malaysian language UMNOputras.
written by truthbespoken, October 24, 2008 11:28:09
Readers would believe the writer more if his previous writings have been less slanted and more positive in nature.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 24, 2008 11:35:26
oh purleez

"Where were these people when Prophet Muhammad was blasphemed? None of them rose to the occasion to criticize the Danish cartoonist and the newspaper for publishing the offending caricatures of the prophet."

Are you so sure about that? and DO YO(U REMEMBER SALMAN RUSDIE, the guy who wrote "The Satanic Verse"

please spare us with your bent reasoning.

written by thor, October 24, 2008 11:53:13
Why write cerpen?? Write lah novel like WAR AND PEACE!! OOPS, Mr White, no everyone can afford 2 hve the privileges of LIVING ABROAD for an extended period of time as not EVERYONE hve the privilege of having SCHOLAR the SHIP, INTENT my fren is IMPORTANT, IT shows the WAY TO THE HEART. That is Why my BELOVED HERO with the C4ME T Shirt have my utmost RESPECT, for wat that is worth. His INTENT is noble and more important WITHOUT MALICE.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by arazak, October 24, 2008 12:00:42
Dear Mansor White,

You should talk your mumbo-jumbo “freedom of expression” to the UMNO/BN regime first rather than to the rakyaat Malaysia. . .!

You should also compare the “freedom of expression” by the “US Government” and the “freedom of expression” by the “Malaysian UMNO/BN Government”. You have instead compared the “thoughts’ of “citizens of USA” and “citizens of Malaysia” on what “freedom of expression” is all about. These 2 are different entities; one is the masses, the other the ruling regime. . ., “capiche, compronez, maklum”?

The US have it’s First amendment in its Constitution. . .
“ The First Amendment to the United States Constitution is the part of the United States Bill of Rights that expressly prohibits the United States Congress from making laws "respecting an establishment of religion" or that prohibit the free exercise of religion, laws that infringe the freedom of speech, infringe the freedom of the press, limit the right to peaceably assemble, or limit the right to petition the government for a redress of grievances”. (Source: Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia).

Tell me. . ., did we enjoy any of the above from the UMNO/BN regime? . . . “No, tak ada, nada, zip, elek, boh liau, mafi”.

You also said;
“And from what I can see, most of those who talk about such freedoms have not studied and lived abroad for an extended period of time. And I suspect, their views on these freedoms are so convoluted that it makes many want to puke.”

Damn arrogant statement . .! Malek Al Shabaz (Malcolm X) learnt the true meaning of freedom while in jail. What did he do?. . .He reads, reads and reads while in jail. He did not learn freedom traveling overseas. He came out as a freedom fighter for the African American.

By the way. . ., I have lived half my life overseas. . . none of the these countries' government suppressed freedom of expression as much as the UMNO/BN regime. UMNO/BN regime clutch on local media is too extreme. . .!

Ever wonder why Malaysia had always been the bottom 30% countries in press freedom (Source: Freedom House's Global Press Freedom Rankings)?

In terms of general freedom Malaysia is worst than countries such as Sebia, Romania, Poland, Slovenia (mind you these are former communists states!), Vanuatu, El Salvador, Senegal and even. . ., Mongolia!!!

So preach to the UMNO/BN regime first before you talk to us. . ., the rakyaat of Malaysia, on what is “freedom of expression”.
written by Mr Smith, October 24, 2008 12:09:01
This is convoluted logic. Why not Mansor White write a short story about a Mongolian lass and a Malay leader from Bolehland and let's see if he get his ass burnt in a lock up.
Kickdafella only displayed the inverted Malaysian flag on his blog and he is in trouble.
Mr White the stort should be read together with the Teresa saga and you will get the drift unless you are dumb.
Yes, go on and defend your friend with your warped logic and wait to be rewarded.
written by wes wong, October 24, 2008 12:18:20
You cannot compare Malaysia and USA!!! The timing put forth by the story has been so badly timed that it seems to be on purpose. Not to mention the fact that people actually dare to attack a politician's house, one shudders to think what would happen if they actually picked up an idea from the story.
written by apasalahku, October 24, 2008 12:41:51
*phew! i'm just glad Mansur Puteh managed to NOT mention himself being US-trained artist, author, yadayadaya this time around.

But still he made mention of ppl who think too highly of themselves, which was profoundly ironic.
written by BennyG, October 24, 2008 13:09:28
Mansur Puteh,

I'm sure that you would not mind anyone writing fictional stories coz' you are also a very good fictional writer yourself. You won't want to be restricted by anyone, won't you?

We are encouraged by your right to claim freedom of speech in fictional writing and we would be appreciative if you could write about a mad man (based on your personal experience and indepth knowledge of how a mad and power hungry man) who had managed to win all his battles and how he managed to do all that & more. How he had enriched all his cronies and caused a split in race & harmony and still continue to do so without letting go.

We will be terribly indebted to you for such an entertaining story. We even promise to visit you in Kamunting especially since you think that your kind of selective freedom of speech works in Malaysia.
written by cllim123, October 24, 2008 13:30:34
The YB J short story carried with it a threat of murder at Teresa and that it condoned the killing of a politician, and that is wrong. It cannot be compared with the films like Independence Day with aliens invading earth, or the Assassination of GW Bush or even Malcolm X which carried a different context but promoted fundamental freedoms.
written by patriotic1994, October 24, 2008 13:34:04
Mansor Puteh, this is not USA. USA has strong and mature public infrastructure where people can defend themselves if they feel need it. Over here if you are sodomized by policemen, you only can complain to your papa and mama, who could only bring you to see doctor to ease your ass pain, not dignity.
written by Liberace, October 24, 2008 14:00:01
Compare Malaysia to the United States? You might as well compare a kindergartener to a PhD holder because that’s how big the gulf in maturity between these 2 countries is when it comes to civil liberties. We’re like an ant to an elephant. No match, no fight, nothing to compare. The US government is also not in the habit of igniting, stoking, and blowing at the fires that burn between different ethnic groups to divide and rule. Malaysian politicians are notorious for doing that and continue to use this weapon of mass destruction. So if you have a history of delinquency, you will be watched and chastized anytime you step out of line. It’s like a convicted criminal out on probation. He has a history of criminal leanings and he cannot and must be given the same degree of freedom that responsible citizens have. Get it Mansor?
written by carribeanking7, October 24, 2008 14:16:03
Dear Mansor Puteh,

The problem with pseudo intellectuals like you is that you try to defend assertations that are indefensible with "copulated logic" in reference to the 4 letter word starting with F.

You seem to revel in drawing paralells that are inane and out of context.

You defend Utusan , a daily with plumetting circulation figures because the news it publishes is shameless and blatant UMNO propoganda that would have even made Stalin proud.

You are talking about creative expression in a country that still has arcane obscurantist laws like ISA, Seditions act, printing and publications act that is invoked at the drop of the hat or the slightest hint of political descent.
RPK who articulated human rights has more creativity in his little finger than the entire MSM let alone the retarded Utusan is being held under ISA because he was a threat to the establishment.
So dont talk about creative expression when laws are enforced in a lopsided manner.

I leave you a quote to ponder, it was written by a man who fought for the freedom of many from the bonds of slavery, but even he talks about fair enforcement of laws.

"Let me not be understood as saying that there are no bad laws, nor that grievances may not arise for the redress of which no legal provisions have been made. I mean to say no such thing. But I do mean to say that although bad laws, if they exist, should be repealed as soon as possible, still, while they continue in force, for the sake of example they should be religiously observed." [Abraham Lincoln]

I hope Teresa Kok sues Utusan to bankruptcy and the some more, after that you and Utusan supporters can show your solidarity by holding candle light vigils for Utusans demise.

written by michael chick, October 24, 2008 14:30:24
Ode to Mansor Puteh

Once upon a time, there was a Village idiot. His name was Pansor Mutih. (fictional character). He

was an artiste wanna-be. He had grouses against the present government of Melaysheer (fictional

country). They are called UNMO. He badly needed money to finance his literary expeditions.

Unfortunately, UNMO wouldn't give it to him. He just didn't get any... Frustrated, he kept

switching political camps.

Finally, out of desperation, he decided to kiss-ass up the UNMO money tree. Shake it a bit to see

if any Rupiahs fell from it. Unfotunately, he was rained in a shower of fresh bird-shit, and

rotten Guava. Again. This evil regime, UNMO was no different form Pol Pot, or the Junta, of

Myanmar. They all arrest people without trial, and in some cases, slay the victims, under trees

with a shovel, or some other hard and blunt farm equipment. Then falsely reports that the bullets

cost US$500 each. (This was a very corrupt UNMO) The evil UNMO even keeps 6 yr olds overnight in

Jail. Imagine the eternal Trauma on this poor little young innocent soul.

Frustrated, Pansor Mutih turned once more to the other camp, and begged Mr. Falsely accused

Sodomite. In a brilliant flash of thunder and lightning, the Angel Gabriel appeared, and together

with Mr. Falsely accuse Sodomite, brandished a great Katana and wanted to Kill the Deputy Crime

Minister (fictional govt positions) of MelaySheer after Friday Prayers. This was to avenge the

death of an extremely Sexy Mongoloid femme, who had been two-timing the Deputy Crime Minister,

and was now with child while frolicking together in the Scorpene, (with his tiny Scorpene, of

course.)

to be continued...
written by michael chick, October 24, 2008 14:31:01
...continued from above

Unfortunately, the Angel Gabriel did not have the C4 execution-kit that day, and was about to

slay the Deputy Crime Minister with the great big Katana, but lo and behold, this innocent 6yr

old, dark-skinned detainee, who was friends with the second wife of the Deputy Crime Minister,

another 6 yr old (among the 13 wives) pleaded a stay-of-execution based on humanitarian grounds.

"Spare thus thou, this fool, for though this swine may have brought upon great injustice to the

Land, killing him, would only make widows of his 13 young underaged wives (and 1 fat old one). I

thus saith to you, an eye for an eye, yay, but since thau hast no C4, it would not be Justice

divine. Killing him thus, would only reduce his misery. What would his many singing mistresses in

Dort Pickson say ??"

The Angel Gabriel, was so touched, decided only to chop both hands off, and to make a Eunuch of

the Deputy Crime Minister forever. By slowly sawing it off with a blunt spoon, while holding it

steady with a BBQ fork. After Pansor Mutih rubbed salt on the stub, he started to wonder, if he

actually liked the "the experience of holding ... it". "Thank you, Angel Gabriel, you have now

made me in touch with my feminine side, which I never knew existed. I can now complete my journey

to finally become a Ladyboy in ThighLand, and make real money from the Farangs. I will even pull

out all my teeth, for professional reasons. Oh, this noble profession, so much better than being

an artiste. I can even keep my long hair, but will consider taking a shower after the operation.

And when I die, you can keep my 75 virgins. I will only utilize the 25 pretty young boys,

promised by the Great One. Thank you"

With a twirl of his wavy long hair, Pansor Mutih walked into the Sunset, never to be heard of

again in Melaysheer.

The End

Pulitzer Writer
written by Ranulaw, October 24, 2008 15:25:53
Mansor Puteh

U sound like a well travelled & open minded person. However, ur comparison of cinema shows, novels with Utusan is totally out of topic. If I want to see or read fiction, I'll go to a movie or read novel. I won't pick up Utusan to read such things. The fact tat it was in Utusan, a newspaper, gives the impression it's something of importance. Even in the States, tat is an obvious distinction. In short, u don't compare roti canai to cuisine in Tai Thong restaurant lah.
written by DXB2008, October 24, 2008 15:27:57
More to write and to defend in real world but ignored by main stream media for ameno survival. http://1426.********.com/2008/...ntong.html
written by crozz, October 24, 2008 15:32:32
What nonsense and rubbish this article is trying to feed! Cases such as the white house being bombed and the twin towers falling are truly 'fictional' at the time those films were made which does not suggest specific action from any quarter. It has little bearing to the sentiments of the people during that time. Even the film on the assassination of George Bush and Day of the Jackal has a context where the targeted person is a national leader and brings to center stage the plot of an evil force working about to destabilise global peace. However, in the cerpen chamil written the context is that we have a YB J who apparently has chauvinistically trespass the sensitivities of the local muslim population and defiantly opposes status quo should be shot which is in the melodrama of the local papers today. It instigates and incites untoward feelings and actions. Show me a movie that portrays the assassination of a world leader today what is alleged to commit crimes of injustice to his voters and tell me that wouldn't cause a lawsuit! Context is what matters most and playing up local tension and emotions in a apparently artistic work brimming full of political malice is hardly comparable to the artistic work done previous in USA.
written by Anti Relon, October 24, 2008 15:49:05
FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION!!!
Sack this guy instantly. He should not serve at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

'The ministry, in a letter signed by its Middle East and North Africa division secretary Dr Hasrul Sani Mujtabar, advised UM to withdraw the invitation to “keep close ties between Malaysia and Iran”.' (The Star 24 Oct 200smilies/cool.gif

Dr Rais Yatim has now voiced that Iranian Shirin (Nobel Prise lautete)would be invited. Bravo Dr Rais.

written by samesamemam, October 24, 2008 16:53:48
why is it that everytime he writes, he uses America as a model and benchmark?...well, at least it explains to me "Malaysian Snow"...I want to make a movie called American belacan.
written by Sinewy, October 24, 2008 17:08:03
For those supporters of Mansor and Utusan, imagine if someone write a story implying your namesake having an affair with an underage which result in you being condemned by the masses and arrested by the Islamic authority and also the total break-up of your beloved family due to their shame about you, would you forgive the story teller because of the so-called freedom of expression? Be truthful and put your heart with your God, would you sue the hell out of that story teller? Don't sit pretty and be a hypocrite. Talking big is easy.
written by cruzeiro, October 24, 2008 18:30:44
The writer doesn't seem to get it does he?

Strictly speaking, of course his argument is correct.
However, in Malaysia things aren't as it is in the USA, where you can have parodies and satires on public figures and discuss anything without restraint.
Where is this freedom you speak of in the MSM?

In Malaysia - anything that might be related to ruling parties will invite retribution. They don't even need to prove that what you write is anything - they just have to say that they perceive you as a "destabilizing threat" - and the rest would be history!

Considering the circumstances, it is still crappy politically motivated stuff masquerading as the "literature" Mansur claims it is.
Mansur's analogy therefore stinks to the high heavens!

And he claims that he isn't defending Utusan!!
written by cruzeiro, October 24, 2008 18:34:44
BTW michael Chick,
Fantastic piece of "literature" of Mansur's standards.

Maybe it will win the cerpen awards this year?