Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow IMM13 holders getting PR so easily: Upko

IMM13 holders getting PR so easily: Upko PDF Print
Friday, 24 October 2008 10:04

Kota Kinabalu: United Pasok Momogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) welcomed the setting up of the Special Unit at the National Registration Department (NRD) and Immigration Department to clear backlogfor citizenship and Permanent Resident status, but with reservations.

"We understand the delay when foreigners are concerned. However quite a number of red MyPR holders who are by every right Sabahans save for the fact that they were born in another country, have been waiting for decades for their application for citizenship to be approved.

"We hope the Special Unit will prioritise to settle these cases," said Upko Citizenship and Security Bureau chief, Donald Mojuntin.

He said there were also cases of PR applications by foreigners married legally to local Sabahans who have been waiting for the result of their applications for a long time.

In the meantime, he said holders of the IMM13 document seemed to be getting their PR applications so easily.

"Of course, this has become a sore point and a source of discontentment for locals," he said, Wednesday.

Upko also begged to differ with Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar that efforts to help the rakyat with regards to birth certificates, citizenship and status for their foreign spouses were "politicising" it.

"As far as we are concerned, these are real issues that our people face day to day and there is an urgency to sort them out. Every responsible leader of the State and country should be very concerned with a matter as fundamental as cases of "anak watan" (native) Sabah being denied citizenship.

Upko also questioned the long period for the authorities to make their consideration.

"When a file reaches NRD Putrajaya, how many times does it have to be looked at before they are sure the application is genuine? Does the NRD have surveillance officers to monitor the applicants for years?," he asked.

Donald who is also Assistant Resource Development and Information Technology Minister said most of the cases involving natives are straightforward and this fact can be verified effectively if NRD officers interview family members and community leaders.

He said it is understandable that each case must receive the utmost scrutiny to ensure there is no forgery or abuse.

"But why is such scrutiny only reserved for genuine applicants compared to apparently easier and express process for illegal immigrants and even IMM13 holders?

"This is the heart wrenching reality for Sabahans. The Home Ministry and the departments under it must realise and accept this. It must be a factor to be considered when looking through relevant applications from Sabah.

"Whether we like it or not the perception and belief of the Sabah people is that it is easier for illegals and IMM13 holders to obtain legal documents by illegitimate means than for genuine applicants who follow the legal process.

"The Special Unit must also address this," he said.

Meanwhile, he said the bureau had been inundated with requests for assistance from all over Sabah with their respective applications and problems related to the NRD.

The cases received varied, mostly involving birth certificates, citizenship and PR status.

"We hope that we can work hand in hand with the NRD to settle as many of these cases as possible.

"We managed to meet the new Director on our last visit and we are happy to say that he has agreed to have a roundtable discussion with the bureau in the near future," he said.

- Daily Express, Sabah

written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 10:09:21
It's no longer called the land below the wind,now it's the land of illegal immigrants.
written by myke, October 24, 2008 10:26:57
Donald..WAKE UP..Don't you know that people in Sabah have been screwed by UMNO all these while.?
written by adan, October 24, 2008 10:30:53
'UPKO ALSO BEGGED TO DIFFER WITH SYED..... "POLITISING IT"

THE BOTAK IS IMMUNED TO TRUTH , JUSTICE AND FAIR-PLAY. ANYONE WHO HOLDS A DIFFERENT VIEW (BETTER STILL OPPOSING VIEWS ) FROM SYED BOTAK ON MATTERS AFFECTING THE PEOPLE AND THE NATION WILL EARN THE RESPECT OF EVERY RATIONAL AND SELF-RESPCTING CITIZEN .LET HIM WALLOW IN HIS OWN SHALLOW AND HOLLOW THINKING !!
written by Tompios, October 24, 2008 10:34:41
Sabahan UMNO's people are the most stupid in Sabah. Unfortunately, majority of Sabah-UMNO people are Moslem. Sabahan Moslems seem love to associate themselves with Malay people in Malaya. Moslem Sabahans are really in danger! Identity critical.

UMNO not screw up Sabahans but those Sabahans' UMNO is the one who screw up their gut to Malaya-UMNO.

written by thor, October 24, 2008 10:43:40
AMENO in Sabah already ah? I thought one time they couldn't get support over there, maybe there are ppl there willing to help them get such support so they can fly in their private jet or some might even hve gambling debts which the AVERAGE MALAYSIANS cld not earned in their entire life time while these JOKERS are playing with OUR NATION RESOURCES. GREED KNOWS NO BOUNDS. Ask the one who cannot SPE KE LER INGRIS..

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 10:46:21
Ya Lah, all the sabahan's ass hole are already loose due to years of screwing by umno.Don't tell me sabahan don't know who screw them!
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 10:49:45
Sabahan love umno screwing and that's why they never wake.How's it that these bloody guys knows screwing so well!They must have perfected it.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 11:22:57
ahmadneil, are you starting "open confrontation" with me AGAIN over MY Sabah????
written by Hope4all, October 24, 2008 11:23:29
I just hope UPKO is not just a mouthpiece to make their Kadazan folks happy. It's all about actions, how they can get rid of their leaders who are willing to sacrifice their own people to UMNO for money, UMNO who buy them to their extinction or at least accelerate them into being minorities. After all, PBS is already too silent on issue like this.
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 12:52:04
Sabah is a backyard for all of umno's shit becos sabahan never try to kick out those corrupted.In fact they aiding them,by taking the dirty money and leaving the rakyat to rot.From the days of Tun Mustapha to Musa Aman,sabahan have been singing along with these corrupted.Independent polls shows that sabah is one of the most corrupted state in Malaysia.
Rainbowseahorse,if you can't stand what I write then move on to the next one.You look distressed and need doctor's help.
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 12:57:49
Sabah-The breeding ground of illegal immigrants.Exporting these illegals to other states in malaysia and causing unnecessary pains to malaysian.Some call sabah 'The illegal immigrant Factory'.Sabahan,stop polluting malaysia.Stand up and rid all these bastards from our shore.
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 13:00:50
I love sabah but I hate her for been RAPED and USED.The stupidity of the sabahan are surely to be blamed.
written by david28xxx, October 24, 2008 13:42:16
Ahmadneil,I came from Kedah but settle down in Sabah since 1993.Pls dun blame all Sabahan for this matter,only the UMNO Sabahan support it n benefited,go to F*CK MAHASHITHEAD(Damn it,he also fr Kedah),he planned all this shit !
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 15:08:08
Ooooh, so the great conquering hero..Kumar Bond” (the wannabe James Bond) who thinks Malaysian are so stupid as to believe his fanciful tale of investigative trip to Paris and onto Mongolia, but who openly confessed he is just a poor worker who cannot even afford a trip to Sabah, least of all to France & Mongolia…….tells me to bugger off, yah!

Amhadneil, you know shit about Sabah, so don’t even profess to say you love us, yah! You are a bloody hypocrite, wannabe, and a fuked-up liar and is most certainly not welcome in Sabah. We would prefer our migrants over to you. Go read up on Sabah’s rich history in WIKIPPEDIA (under Sabah-Malaysia) and you will come to know that before 2008, Sabah was one of the three Malaysian States (apart from Kelantan & Trengganu) which were held by the opposition party.
Prior to being swamped with over two million migrant voters, your Federal Government was shit scared of us Sabahans as we can cause havoc to the BN. All this while, you were voting (and mostly probably still do) for your father Sammy Valoooo, Mamathir, and that Ahmad Ismail.

So when are you leaving for Mongolia? Or have you been having sleepless nights (worrying about your brother Bala, I presume) and cannot dream up more of your fanciful yarn?? Don’t you know, nowadays, we use CDs to take photos?? Films are soooo out dated, you know!
written by asguard, October 24, 2008 15:57:39
UMNO style of messing around with Sabahan citizenship...
written by sydput, October 24, 2008 16:15:30
If only there is sufficient power supply in sabah, I have no doubt that sabah can be rapdly industrialised. Sabah state is [popular with koreans/japanese and taiwanese. Land is plentiful and labour abundant(thanks to mahathir). Due to numerous offshore find, sabah should be supplying the labour for the oil and gas industries and be able to build these facilities as well.
Unfortunately, there is a shortage of electricity is sabah, So nothing gets developed there.
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 16:25:57
Rainbowseahorse,
I have skype Dr Mahathir to give you some depression suppressing drugs becos you look sick to me.I have already paid for it if you don't mind.Take care of yourself becos the illegals are wild bastards.They might harm you.That's why I have no balls to go to Sabah.
written by ahmadneil, October 24, 2008 16:27:38
Blame no one sabahan,but yourself for the mess you are in today.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 16:50:13
No, not no balls ahmadneil…No money coz, as you said: “My batik is brought from Pasar malam and it cost RM3.08 which I'm not ashamed to say becos I'm poor.” Which was posted at “ANWAR NO LONGER IN A HURRY TO TAKE POWER”.
Ahmadneil, stop pretending to be what you are not! And, most importantly of all, stop voting for your Ahmad Ismail as he is not going to help Indian Malaysian no matter how many times you vote him into power or carry his balls.

Our migrants?? We have lived with them for a long2 time now ever since your Mamathir gave them MyKads behind our back. No matter, I and many of us are educating them to be patriotic Sabahans. Hey! After all, these migrants are Bumiputras which is much2 better than you as a Malaysian Indian; yah!

You know you should be very proud that a Malaysian Indian like Mamathir made it to the highest office in Malaysia. Pity Mamathir doesn’t acknowledge he is of the same race as you!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 16:58:06
Ahmadneil, come to think of it, you are such a bloody liar!
You posted: on October 17, 2008 13:54:08 at “ANOTHER CASE OF BRAIN DRAIN”
I'm a chemical engineer working in Shell Singapore.I work in Singapore but stay in Johor.I have the best of both world.My wife is a singaporean,so if I don't go back to Johor ,I will stay in Singapore for a couple of days.But if I miss Johor food then I go back to stay in Johor . I love the S$ becos it really help me to pay all that i have owe the bank in malaysia.Living standard in Johor is cheap and the S$ is big.WOW,it's a windfall for me,driving cheap malaysian BMW M5,Mercedes SLK 500 and Ferarri F50.In malaysia I'm king and in singapore I'm a skill labour.No way will I leave this place for another, only on holiday. “
…and then posted that you are so bloody poor that you can pay for a RM3.08 batik!

You sure is a piece of work, Ahmadneil! A wannabe dreamer!

If you come to Sabah, I think you would, in all probability, be one of those (Pakistani)Seller going around in a motor bike hocking your kain2 and tinklers to poor villagers!
written by dassky2000, October 24, 2008 16:59:12
The main culprits in the issuence of Malaysian Identity Cards in the rurals are the Ketua's. I don't care if their issue to a chinese , malay, indian or even to the orang utan for a fact that this person is born and bred in Malaysia.

The Ketua's issue Native documents to illegals, who don't even know the cheif minister of Sabah is for miserable fifties and hundreds Malaysian ringgits. These old farts called the Ketua Kampongs must go.

The second in line, culprits with a necktie sitting in aircon rooms at the NRD. From the no 1 man to the janitor, are corrupted. They can even give courses to the illegal reciepient of MYKAD's on Malysian lifestyle, dress codes, language spoken and other important facts to blend into the Malaysian community on Tax payers money.

Any neighbouring country, as long as you are a muslim you get a Malaysian Identity and you are a BUMIPUTRA. The ethnic SABAHAN's will soon loose out if they don't stand up and fight for their rights now.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 24, 2008 17:09:24
Dassky2000,

Yes, the Ketuas (or rather Natives Chiefs) paly a part in selling Native Status to Chinese, non Bumiputras, as well as migrants. Then there are those in the NRD selling MyKads to all who can pay their price. But the single major2 contributing factor was the mass issurance of MyKads by the Federal government to DILUTE real Sabahan votes.

As I mentioned somewhere, we Sabahans will have to come to grip with our situation and the best course is to educate our migrant Sabahans to become patriotic Sabahans. We have to start telling them: “Look, we know you were given MyKads. But now, you are Sabahans and nobody can take that away from you. So, we have to pick and to vote for leaders who have Sabah’s interest at heart!”

It will be a long & difficult process, but that is the only way we can get back our “people’s power” in Sabah.
written by Question Mark, October 24, 2008 19:13:17
Hey come on gentlemen... what happenned to Sabah is tragic and if we Malaysian want to have a verrry trustworthy goverment, we the rakyats from all states must unite... not blastering and condemning each other to take the fault...

I am a Sabahan and had always been proud of it until today... I am also a catholic and I remember when I was in Form 5 (I do have many muslims friends), I always went to eat lunch with 1 of my good muslim friend, we went to a chinese restaurant and as usual I ordered by sasau kai fan (pork & chick rice) and she ordered kai fan ( chick rice)... these were very common in Sabah and still are but I think because of the reliogion/racial issue stirred up by UMNO the past 10-15yrs, these kind of social/unity among diff races and religions are decreasing in sabah...itu mesti halal la, ini haram la... the women/girls who doesn't wear tudungs are slutslah and many2 stupid social disunity...

What I am trying to say here is that the REAL Sabahan (regardless race & religion) people were very laid back people and quite naive in many senses. UMNO had capitalized this weaknesses and backstabbed the people through some IDIOTIC GREEDY POLITICIANS so they can be in power "forever"...No one will ever guess that the government in those time will sell out the Sabah people BUT at least NOW WE KNOW TX TO RPK AND IT'S TIME WE DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!!! The same may happen to West M'sia & S'wak so EVRYONE PLEASE UNITE TO BRING DOWN THIS EVIL UMNO BASTARDS down thw drain...

STAND UNITED not divided... cheers
written by born2reign, October 24, 2008 20:23:51
Ahmadneil, please do not blame Sabahans and make assumptions. I'm not a Sabahan, but some challenges faced by them should be looked into:

Their voting centre is more than an hour or a day by river and land from their residence.
Their names were not on the registrar (even in P.Malaysia, a few voters who voted last time could not find their regisation in the list)
The illegal "citizens" outnumbered the registerd voters.
The illegal "citizens" had leave from work and UMNO arranged for transport for them to reach their polling stations.
Many of the hardcore poor citizens in Sabah has no resources to even put food in their stomach let alone travel to polling stations.
The huge numbers of illegal citizens will be fearful to vote for opposition in case their citizenships are revoked and they are sent back to their own countries-hence they will be faithful UMNO voters till they die.

So be a solution provider instead of accusing all Sabahans for UMNO's hold on Sabah. We already know that UMNO rather give PR to criminals than to honest foreigners/natives, so what is the solution? Anwar is still sitting pretty, taking his own sweet time while RPK languish in jail.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 24, 2008 20:56:15
Fellow Sabahans, your politiians are screwing u people up. They have no guts to fight for your rights. They are just pussyfooting. NATO style la till the next elections. They will make their money and abandon you all to doom where sabahans will be treated like illegal immigrants whilst the immigrants will be your masters. UMNO is very capable of doing just that.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 24, 2008 20:58:57
This is exactly what is happening in West Malaysia.Indonesians are having an upper hand and claiming bumiputra rights here. Very soon if a referendum is forced in Sabah it will join the Philippines or Indonesia. Fight back and fight hard now.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 24, 2008 22:58:43
To those of you engaged in a war of words here, please stop all these nonsense. I can see that there are differences of opinion on the blame game. Everyone of you has some good points and some "not-so-good" points, but please look beyond to the creator of all these fugging shit. None of you are to be blamed, not us anti-BN from Semenanjung nor you anti-BN from Sabah. Different people react differently to situations and their tolerance level differs too. UMNO / BN has so far managed to hide their sinister political agenda very well, (too well), to the extent that a large population of good Malaysians, both in Semenanjung and East Malaysia had fallen prey to.
One thing we can, and must, all agree is that the fugging culprit is UMNO / BN. Squarely and only. Whatever the reasons that caused the rise of UMNO in Sabah is not as important as the fact that UMNO / BN MUST BE STOPPED!
Now is not the time to squabble among ourselves. Now is the time to UNITE against UMNO / BN. Please stop this and FOCUS on the real issue. The enemy is still out there watching our every move.........

Warmest regards,
MalaysianFirst