Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Protecting our money

Protecting our money PDF Print
Thursday, 23 October 2008 14:54
Nowadays, many people are worried about their finances. Prices are shooting through the roof. The stock market is crashing and a world recession is looming. Banks still pay an interest rate of less than 4% while unofficial inflation exceeds 10%. How then are we to protect our money?

What is money?

Traditionally, it was gold. Today, people have been conditioned to believe that paper currency issued by the Central Banks is money. It is part of the Rat Race System.

What is the Function of Money:
1. Store of value
2. Medium of exchange
3. Unit of account
4. Standard of deferred payment

Paper money is very useful as it is compact, easily transportable and can be sent electronically. Then you can do fancy stuff with it like currency hedging, bonds, derivatives, etc.

Central Banks love it because the cost to them is only paper and ink and they can get the Rats to work for those pieces of paper – a form of modern slavery. But the Bankers were greedy and wanted to make the Rats work more for less paper. The way to do it is to suppress the price of what has always been accepted as real money – gold!

Here is a history of the evolution of gold in finance from 1914 to date.
This is a summary: http://gata.org/node/4843
( Here is the full article- The relevance and importance of Gold in the World Monetary System.)

The summary is good enough for our purpose. Basically, the analysis states that we are entering an unstable phase which will lead to deflation due to excessive debt of the US.

Why is gold important?

1. Most reliable and long lasting money.

2. Universally accepted: Gold is the same everywhere,

3. Durability: It lasts forever, 

4. Cannot be printed or manufactured: It can not be created out of thin air. Holding gold instead of paper money enables the people to impose a certain level of discipline on the Central Bank.

5. Inflation: It is immune to inflation. Its price rises along with inflation.

Gold characteristics which makes it very attractive for use as money:

1. Inert. It can appear as a pure metal in its natural state, and easily discovered by early civilizations.
2. Rare. 0.005 parts per million in the Earth’s crust.

3. Very dense, 19.3 metric tonne/m3, 20 times as dense as water and 2 ½ more dense than steel.

4. Compact. Useful form of monetary exchange
5. Attractive. Bright yellow colour.

Because of its popularity, it became a much-sought after metal and was highly valued. Early civilizations adopted it as a form of money. And this has been the practice for more than 3000 years.

Traditionally, Central Banks backed their currency notes against gold. The USD was initially pegged to gold at USD 35/oz. The US Government could not sustain this rate due to its trade deficit with other countries and foreign governments kept on exchanging the USD for gold. Eventually on 14 Aug 1971, rather than exhausting all the gold stock in the US Reserve, President Nixon broke the peg. Now the USD became a floating currency relative to the other major currencies – Sterling, Euro, Franc, Kroner, Yen, etc.

But the emotional linkage with gold is still there. People intuitively perceived the value of a paper currency through the price of gold – the higher the price, the weaker the currency. Since the Central Banks can print money but cannot “print” gold, they had an incentive to promote paper money as the cost of production was so low and they could create lots of money this way. Using paper money without a gold backing removed a restraining factor on the Central Bankers’ behaviour.

Although recognized, gold is not perceived the same way everywhere. We all view it through the unique lenses of our own home currencies. Most of us are born, reared, and socialized in a single country. By the time we reach investment age, our minds are hardwired to judge value exclusively relative to our particular country’s currency.

To conclude, gold is important as a measure of the worth of our currency - the higher the gold price, the lower the purchasing value of our currency. Effectively, you can say that gold is the canary in the mine with respect to the economic policies of the Central Banks and the government.

Here are some links to follow if you wish to explore more. Read Here

FUNDAMENTAL PROPERTIES FAQs - QUALITIES & ABUNDANCE
http://www.galmarley.com/framesets/fs_is_gold_money_faqs.htm
Gold : prices, facts, figures & research

SEVENTEEN REASONS TO OWN GOLD

1. Alarming Financial Deterioration in the US

2. Global currency Debasement

3. Investment Demand for Gold is Accelerating

4. Negative Real Interest Rates in Reserve Currency (USD)

5. US Federal Reserve Policies in the Event of Increased Deflationary Pressures

6. Ongoing Proliferation of Financial Derivatives

7. Existence of a Huge and Growing Gap Between Mine Supply and Traditional Demand

8. Mine Supply will Likely Decline in the Next Three Years

9. Large Short Positions

10. The Central Banks are Near an Inflection Point where they are unable to provide more gold to the market.

11. Increasing Likelihood of Central Bank Gold Purchases

12. Large Increases in Outstanding Gold Derivatives despite major reduction in Producer Hedging

13. Gold is very cheap compared to oil price

14. The China Factor

15. Gold as Money Continues to Gain Credence

1. Rising Geopolitical Tensions

2. Limited Size of Total Gold Market provides tremendous leverage (total gold in existence <130,000 mt)

How to buy Gold:

Here are a few possible places to buy gold. This is not a recommendation so please do your own due diligence

Goldmoney

Maybank physical & investment a/c

Perth Mint

Poh Kong Bunga Raya (goldsmith shop)

Public Bank Gold investment a/c

Public Gold (Penang-based company which may not be related to Public Bank)

UOB Bhd

UOB Singapore

For more information: Visit our Gold & Precious Metals Forum for more discussions on gold

- PY Wong

written by justice, October 23, 2008 14:58:00
The best way to protect our money is to vote UMNO-BN out completely in GE13!
written by justinlian, October 23, 2008 15:01:21
What gold and what money when it comes to the poor ?
Can they sell their bones for gold ?
It is the time to tackle the economy not buying gold or anything.
The more important is how and what to tackle to stablize the economy for malaysian.
written by ahmadneil, October 23, 2008 15:03:46
The best way to protect our money is to invest it in RPK's ideology.
written by cheekymate, October 23, 2008 15:09:37
Monthly pay can't even keep up with inflation. Cukup makan saja. Bonus pun tiada.
Old age EPF money kena rob inside out.
Where got spare money?
written by mikewang, October 23, 2008 15:16:48
The best way to protect your income is to make yourself fiscally productive, even after your retirement.
written by joeawk, October 23, 2008 15:20:08
Many are even living on credit and here we have someone talking about safe investment. So what if the KLCI hit 600, it is no real reflection of real productivity.

Forthose who speculate on the KLCI, swerve him right if he goes hungry because they had been living off others' sweat and tears.

Speculators are idling bastards who contribute nuts to humanity. It goes for many of those so called financial wizard, they are the worse kind.

written by DXB2008, October 23, 2008 15:25:52
What about protecting our oil money and reserves? http://1426.********.com/2008/...erves.html
written by Watcheyes1, October 23, 2008 15:41:37
Guys with respect but what PY Wong says is true. If you realy want to safe guard your money it is only in gold. At this moment with all this world economy crisis, gold is the only way to invest and safe what ever you have in your savings. Even a bank goes bankrupt, your money is safe because once you invest in gold, it is there in the safe physically. What PY Wong trying to say is not dump all your money in gold but if you have a savings account, withdraw it and open a gold savings account. As of now only in Maybank they you can open a gold savings account with a minimum purchase of 5gm and whenever you want, you can withdraw it either in solid gold wafer or in cash. In Public Bank you can only open a gold savings account but you can't withdraw in solid gold wafer. Check out maybank2u website for more info. Cheers mate just sharing what i know.
written by Watcheyes1, October 23, 2008 15:48:29
Please look at it at converting your cash savings to gold savings. When we save in cash, our savings are used by the bank to invest in other place and if they go bankrupt, you will never get your money back. But when you open a gold savings account (Maybank only), even the bank use your money for investment as they always do, you gold is there in the safe. So if they go bankrupt, your savings are still there in the safe in form of gold and that is all they can return.
written by taishan, October 23, 2008 15:51:07
The same post again.

Investing in gold now is as stupid as it gets.
Who would be investing in gold or commodity when the economy is slowing -
when speculative money is fleeing. Everyone is trying to survive.

Gold has been on the downwards trend for a while and will be for quite while.
Invest in gold and watch it evaporate in front of your eyes.

written by pixieface, October 23, 2008 17:50:58
R u back ahmadneil. anxiously awaiting news from paris. talking about the global economy. just my 2 cents. its the US that's manipulating the global economy.
remember 97/98 crisis. the condition set by the world bank. Who is the world bank.
The banks that are crashing are the mortage banks. The whole world is paying for
the cost of the Iraq war. Think about that. FOOD FOR THOUGHT. We should not depend
on the US. Its time we in asia have a buffer against the western policies. Time for Asia to do something. So far as anyone heard or read about Japan being affected. In fact Japan should set up an Asian Central Bank against the World Bank.
written by born2reign, October 23, 2008 20:47:06
Watcheyes1 - Please be cautious when purchasing local gold mint like Kancil from Maybank. Maybank has been known to REFUSE buy back their gold coins until they are threatened with legal action, unlike UOB who buys and sells gold mints without a fuss. Advisable to buy Maple gold or silver (www.kitco.com) because these are internationally recognised and tradable. I have been buying gold for 5 years now and this is friends' experience with Maybank.

pixieface, US is not alone in manipulating the money market. Most central banks print money with no gold backing. Each time you read of bailouts (ie Valuecap) without any tax increase, the govt is busy at the print shop, printing paper currencies. I am also amazed that many ppl place more faith in the paper stocks and currencies than gold and silver. I guess there is only one way to find out if man-made is better than God-made. But those who hope for fast gain or speculative gain will be disappointed, you need to keep it for min 18 months, and not monitor the fluctuations daily.

I am amazed that many people still wait for the govt to turn over a new leaf before they start to make their own financial decisions. So if Anwar / PKR never took over and UMNO becomes more corrupt and evil, you and your family will just wait and die of hunger, being swallowed by inflation is that it? Japan is not our answer-this is a country with 3 generation mortgage and high inflation.

Please keep your wealth management separate from politics. Govts are pro-central banks and banking system, where 90% of your deposit is loaned out and classified as ASSETS in banks' balance sheets, if the bank folds, bye bye 100% of your savings. Warren Buffet's principle is buy low sell high. Gold is at low price now (gold price 1997-USD250, 2008-USD850)

Those who are in debt please get out of debt. Sell your house and rent. Now is not the time to be in debt. Please for the sake of your family do not wait until the govts of the world get their acts together...
written by sarawakian, October 23, 2008 20:58:42
i'd really like to see if Maybank or any other "bank" who takes deposits backed by gold will be able to really dish out the gold when the economy melts and you want your gold in your hand in wafers, bullion or whatever and not bank notes.

and then, if you do get your gold, it would be interesting to see how you would use that for dinner when no one else around you has anything to barter with you. hmm.. let's see, maybe 4 shavings from your gold wafer for 2 bags of rice?

look at how the price of oil has been manipulated from highs to lows in less than 6 months and can anyone dare say the same will not happen to gold or any other "safe bet"?

written by Sudahlah tu, October 23, 2008 21:17:44
bagilah semua kat tdm tu ..
biarlah dia pergi bersama kekayaan kita semua ......
orang macam ini ..tak usah kita melawan ....
selagi kita lawan dia ..dia semakin kuat berhidup dan kuat mangacau kita ...
bagi aje ..semua kekayaan kepada dia ..nanti lama-lam dia tak payah susah -susah bercakap - cakap ...
bolehlah dia diam -diam duduk bersama semua wangnya ...
sekejap nanti ..matilah dia ....
sebab tak ada cabaran lagi .... mati tua lah dia ...
senangakan ...
manusia yang ingin menjadi tuhan ini ..kita biarkan aje ..
dia ingin nak kejar wang kekayaan sebab masa kecil-kecil dulu miskin ..
kini sudah jadi penyakit dialah .. kasi aje ...
ubatnya itu ..wang ...
biar dia makan banyak ubatnya samapai mati ..
written by CPY, October 24, 2008 09:35:47
How bout silver!? The Qing used to pay 'indemity' through silver.
written by pywong, October 24, 2008 12:37:19
Fellow MT readers,

The above article was written with sincerity. Please protect your savings for your family's and your sake. There is not much time left. Come Nov 15, 2008, when the Western leaders meet Bush in the US to discuss a new financial architecture, it could be too late....
http://tindakmalaysia.com/tm_forums2008/index.php/topic,156.0.html, post #1

Don't be a victim. You will be if your holdings are in cash as the Central Banks can manipulate the value of your cash.
written by born2reign, October 24, 2008 13:45:39
Those who cannot afford gold, silver is selling at USD10/oz. You can get the physical Maple silver coin from Perth mint or www.kitco.com

Sarawakian, alternatively buy a wheelbarrow, for when hyperinflation strikes, you can wheel your paper money around to buy a bag of rice smilies/grin.gif
written by pywong, October 25, 2008 06:43:01
We will read here how hyperinflation can destroy our money. A real life example is unfolding in Zimbabwe, where inflation is in millions of %. What does it mean?

In Nov 07, USD 1 = 1 million Zimbabwe dollars. Today, USD 1 = 250 BILLION Zimbabwe dollars! If you stack a million dollar note of Zimbabwe dollar, 250 billion dollars is as high as an 8-storey building. You need a pickup to carry the Million Dollar notes just to buy a loaf of bread.

By comparison, during WWII, our parents/grandparents only had to use a wheelbarrow to lug the Japanese banana money to buy that bread. Ask them how it felt then.

Read on.. http://tindakmalaysia.com/tm_f....html#new, post #3
written by Old Man, October 25, 2008 22:35:46
Investment in gold is not a bad idea. However, the best investment is to spend quality time with our love ones and give our children quality education for their future survival. An empty skull is worse than an empty pocket. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif