Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow I Am Not an Anwarista

I Am Not an Anwarista PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 23 October 2008 14:20
Roughly half of all Malaysians support the Anwar Ibrahim-led Pakatan Rakyat coalition, but for some reason, in the minds of a few, this means roughly half of all Malaysians are "Anwaristas". While there is no question that many Pakatan supporters are slavish supporters of Anwar, I think it is as offensive to label Pakatan supporters Anwaristas as it would be to call Barisan Nasional supporters Mahathiristas or Abdullahistas.

When people take sides in politics, it is rarely, if ever, the case that they truly support their chosen side 100%. There will always be doubts, always be questions, and always the potential for disagreement. I may support Anwar and Pakatan, but that does not mean I always agree with them or their actions.

An Anwarista is simply someone who would support Anwar no matter what. Even if Anwar turned out to be a total lying bastard, they would be behind him till the very bitter end. To call someone an Anwarista is to suggest that they have no mind of their own, that they have been so swayed by someone's charisma that they would follow him to the end of the earth.

I am sure there are many Anwaristas out there. Anwar is a charismatic politician, and that by definition means he will have a corps of devoted supporters. But for all the Anwaristas out there, how many Mahathiristas or Abdullahistas do we actually have?

A fairly large number, I would say. Try reading the comments on Mahathir's blog, or the comments on UMNO message boards. You get the sense that even if Mahathir or Abdullah told their followers to eat shit, they would do it without questions asked. No matter how badly these men screw up, no matter how stupid the things they say are, they will have an audience of supporters behind them all the way. Is it really fair to Anwar to bash him alone for having a club of mindless fans when his counterparts have exactly the same kind of people in their camp?

READ MORE HERE: http://www.infernalramblings.com/

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by beijing, October 23, 2008 14:30:24
Empty promise and liar....
disagree 72
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 23, 2008 14:37:27
To ALL those DIEHARD & BLIND SUPPORTERS of DSAI :

ONCE AGAIN, I and others like me, ARE NOT ANTI-DSAI yah! As for our Bro Pete’s feelings regarding DSAI’s promises and open declaration, just re-read our bro Pete’s last posting entitled: HIGH-STAKES POKER GAME OR GUNFIGHT AT THE OK CORRAL? On 6/Sep/2008.

“Today, I received many phone calls from concerned friends who told me that the government is considering detaining me under the Internal Security Act ‘very soon’. If that does happen, then this could probably be the last article I write, at least until 16 September 2008. So I too need Anwar to succeed. If not I will be in Kamunting for quite some time to come and you will not hear from me over the next couple of years.

Yes, I too have placed, not only my money, but also my freedom on Anwar. And if Anwar fails to deliver his promise on 16 September 2008, not only he but I as well am headed for a fall. But I have confidence he will do it. And I have confidence that my stay in Kamunting will not be for two years but for a mere two weeks.

But if I am wrong…..well, then see you maybe in six or seven years time, because for sure Najib Tun Razak will not release me in 2010 when he becomes Prime Minister. What he would do, instead, would be to rollover my two-year detention another two years, and another two years, and another two years, until I am too old to think and write anymore.

Till we meet again, if we do meet again, take care and keep the flame burning. There is still a long fight ahead of us in bringing reforms to this beloved country of ours.”…

Now, tell me AGAIN, that our bro Pete did not put his FULL TRUST in DSAI to deliver as promised on 16/Sep/2008 which has since long passed, while our bro Pete is languishing in prison!
disagree 16
written by ahmadneil, October 23, 2008 14:52:49
I'm a Anwarista but with my eyes and ears open.
written by temenggong, October 23, 2008 14:54:58
Rest assured that folks here in MT are not Anwaristas. Support for Pakatan is also on an issue by issue basis.

Also remember that Anwar only rose to prominence after Hindraf when it became clear that there is a definate shift in politics, and that the seeds of an opposition alliance were sown. Recall that Anwar lost in Ijok just a few months earlier. It was after Pakatan was formed that Anwar drew large crowds of five or ten thousand and still continues to do so. Before that Anwar and PKR were quite irrelevant. Hindraf changed everything.
written by Kampong, October 23, 2008 14:57:54
If we still blindly trust any politician for our well being, we will definitely be awaken rudely by yet another batch of scandals. Power corrupts. Period. Check and balance is what will safeguard our interests, not any self-proclaimed saint politicians.

Be vigilan, folks
written by ibabonma, October 23, 2008 15:00:31
At the end of the day we are all anti-UMNO/BN, and that counts. Otherwise, live under their rules for the next 50 years and rots.
written by DreamLady, October 23, 2008 15:11:25
john leem, I beg to differ. Please do not make sweeping statements. The MT visitors and commentators are mostly here to exchange ideas, our views towards the present political atmosphere,and voice forth our disastisfaction about certain issues. occasionally we do enjoy some jokes among us.

Generally we do not indulge in obssession in terms of singing praises for one particular characters, let alone the likes of anwar, mahathir and badawi....

Please, be fair to us, as well as to yourself when passing comments!!
written by aryn, October 23, 2008 16:02:21
Neither am I.

I just want a new government to replace the Umno-led BN govt. And apart from Anwar and PR, who else do we have?

If they eventually form the govt, as the rakyat, we must continue to be the watchdog lest they err like BN.
written by justinlian, October 23, 2008 17:07:10
I dont think the people in here is to called Anwarista.
Why ?
First of all, Pakatan was never a govt.
The people that backing Anwar is becos most of them wants a change of govt and the release of RPK and others.
They do not want a govt that is currupted and use law to gain for themselves.
Secondly they have no other choices rather than pakatan rakyat to make a change.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 23, 2008 17:09:42
justinlian, that was exactly what I want to say too!
written by SamYap, October 23, 2008 17:10:17
...Anwarista, Petrariska, Mahathirista or whatever it is lah, more importantly:

I AM DEFINITELY NOT A NAJISTA! (Oops! I meant...Not A Najibista)
written by justinlian, October 23, 2008 17:30:58
God bless you, rainbowseahorse...........
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 23, 2008 17:43:49
Ayoyo rainbowseahorse not u too. That bloody Botak fler too much la. We wil pray and hope u will be alright and all this just a rumour.
written by machitam, October 23, 2008 17:45:09
i am an anwarista, i support him because of his vision and struggle. your interpretation of anwarista is shallow and narrow...
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 23, 2008 17:45:44
oopss..misread article..sorry bro..heeheehee smilies/grin.gif I thought they coming after u too la. Peace rainbowseahorse.
written by Watcheyes1, October 23, 2008 17:46:05
I'm Anwarista but i eat rice and drink water. Which means i have brain to think. Only UMNOrista and BNrista eat shit.

Man, who the hell wrote this article?
written by Dongra Dude, October 23, 2008 18:13:27
All Malaysian Folks like to see a charismatic and reliable leader who has the people's welfare been taken care. We dont want NATO leaders who provide lip services, and Not leaders who are corrupted, practice chronism, neopotism, Kulitism, Racism, UMNOsm, sodimism the rakyat of their savings, and last not list Mahathirsm. I dont mind having a Malay Leader who goes all out to create Bangsa Malaysia. No favour or special treatment for particular race.
written by carribeanking7, October 23, 2008 19:17:09
Actually I am willing to run the risk of anybody who can pledge good governance run the country, anyone but BN.
They have proven that they are not fit to lead, and going by what is happening in pakatan led states , the BN semms inept at playing the opposition role as well, in GE 13 - I hope for a Pakatan government with Independent Canditates as an opposition check and balance, with BN totally out of the picture.
To the hardcore BN supporters, I have this to say, the country developed all this years because of her courageous and harworking citizens, not because of BN but inspite of BN, if we had better governance our GDP would exceed that of taiwan, Singapore or even Hong Kong.
So stop claiming credit where it is not due.

BN can take a long walk off a short pier for all I care.

At the moment I am Anwarically Petrafied.

written by Mark C, October 23, 2008 19:34:56
this is precisely what UMNO led BN wants.....at a mere speed bump, every supporter suddenly becomes disillusioned with DSAI and hurl accusations of him being liar, political prostitute etc etc...

fact remains that changing a standing government that has ruled iron fisted for 51 years is not at all easy, and having to cement a loose coalition within parties with completely extreme political agenda and is no mean feat.

Anyone who has less political maneuvering skills would have fade into oblivion long time ago. Sure, not able to meet the deadline of 16th Sept is disappointing but without DSAI is the dream of an alternative government even remotely possible?

I wonder if anyone ever heard of "Sikit sikit, lama lama jadi bukit?" It takes time, anyway, Rome wasn't built in one day....

The urgency for RPK to be released is very real. RPK and his 41 days spend incarcerated for ISA is felt by all like minded Malaysians, He is a shining example of sacrifice for the better good. The pressure from the rakyat and politician need to be sustained for ISA to be abolished. Meanwhile cut DSAI some slack and work together to topple the evil regime...no infighting please!
written by Eskay Lim, October 23, 2008 20:09:19
I am an Anwarista but one with eyes & ears opened-wide and with brains fully functioning,
unlike those obsessed Umnoputras behaving like the rats blindly following the music of the Pipe-piper of Hamelin.
written by boeytahan, October 23, 2008 20:58:23
Astalavista UMNO/BN it'll be ta ta ta if you still play play!
written by malgal, October 23, 2008 22:56:41
must i be one or the other to be a malaysian? if i have to throw in my lot when the crunch comes, i will put my support behind the one with less known evil doing.
written by anakdesa, October 24, 2008 00:08:06
It not because of being "Anwaristas" but rather it is because of the the people that wants CHANGES. The people got fed-up of being fooled around and taken for a ride for the past 51 years. The BN especially the UMNO is getting thick headed because they feel that they are indispensable so much so that corruption is everywhere. The people want changes to tell all the leaders be they from BN or PR that it is the people that is the real power. Change in government is good as this will ensure that the government of the day will always lisent to the people's voice. Too long at the the top makes them arrogant just as the case of MP Tajuddin who doesn't want to be called "KAMU" but must be "YB".
So it is not a question of "Anwaristas".
written by arifmr, October 24, 2008 00:15:49
don't really care who gonna be the next p.m @ gov;
every second UMNO and ass-ociates stand in power;
i lose;
my tax money was abused; my income was reduced by inflation; even my savings are not spared!!!
anti-anwar say that his cronies are starving for ten years now & impatiently waiting to start the looting;
me? i take my chances..

written by AsamLaksa, October 24, 2008 00:24:21
I am not an Anwarista. Never have been. I support the issues. If Khairy promises to fight for the Manifesto Rakyat, then I would support KJ too. Even if Anwar disappears from the scene I will still support PR if it continues to carry the People's Manifesto. I do not have any idol be it in sports or entertainment and don't intend to have a political idol too. There are people I respect like Gandhi, RPK, Anwar, Obama, etc but that don't mean I idolise them.
written by arifmr, October 24, 2008 00:29:25
anti-anwar also say that a sodomist is not fit to be the leader of this country;
me? i can only ask myself; how many people anwar can sodomise a day; he will be very busy when he become p.m; and his backache would probably kill him if he don't put the habit in check; but
dr.m has "sodomise" my sense of justice & freedom;
abdullah has "sodomise" my trust;
najib has "sodomise" my tax money & now my savings; and
hamid albar has "sodomise" my intelligent & common sense;
i'm done with this people..
written by MalaysianDreams, October 24, 2008 01:38:27
I rather finds its funny while reading your posting this time. People like you Mr. Kasee, always thought you are too wise, to be more smart from the others. Always thought you have all the right to express your perception on others. I hope you do aware as now, others also read and have their own fair judgement. I bet with my life that no one will eat shitt if they are told to do so by anyone. Unless they are mentally retarded.

I have followed all the blogs either from the government site or the opposition and especially Malaysia today. There are no different at all really. Both condemning each other. For an example, when superadmin post Dato Johan Jafar writing here sometimes ago, each and everyone here gave their negative comment. I cant find anything wrong with those article.

I dont know, may all us here has becomes a frustrated nation. Thats lead us to write rubbish. You better find a job fast Kasee, dont let your frustration come over you. Or else you yourself become a Garbage!!
written by chilten, October 24, 2008 10:58:04
This is what I observe, when Mahathiristas accused a bunch of people for being blind Anwaristas, Anwaristas defend themselves by saying that they do support Anwar, but they're not blind supporters. They know what they are doing and their eyes and ears are open. At the same time, those people can say the exact same thing to the Mahathiristas and the Mahathiristas will say they're not blind Mahathir supporters, they know what they're doing and their eyes and ears are open.

The loyal MT readers are just the same. They talk like they're smarter than all the 'dumb' Anwaristas, Mahathiristas, Najista etc but somehow they can also be called as blind RPKista. Even if RPK write in his blog that UMNO made a deal with aliens to destroy the earth, the might have believed that it's the absolute truth! At the end, the things that he wrote are not proven and Najis is living happily ever after with his family and $$$$$.

Don't get me wrong buddy, I'm not trying to say I don't like RPK and his fans. It's just an example. I even describe myself as an RPK supporter..but my message is: the way you feel you're not wrong for being a die hard RPK supporter (because you know he's telling the truth and he's committed to fight for justice), those 'Anwaristas' & 'Mahathiristas' feel the same way too about being Anwar/Mahathir loyal supporters.

But I do think that those Najistas should have their brain inspected by a doctor smilies/wink.gif
written by mabuaya, October 24, 2008 12:02:48
As far as I'm concerned the most important thing right now is to get rid of the pestilence that goes by the acronymn BN (Bloody Neo-facists) I personally would prefer Wan Aziza or Kit Siang to be the head of the opposition but ANYONE is better than Mr. Ineffectual or Mr. Nasty. Restoring democracy is going to be a long haul and the first step is to get the slugs out from under their stones so we can pour salt on them and watch them shrivel up and die. The most significant part of this process is that there has been a radical change in the way the rakyat view politics...the old mindset, that the government is the boss and must be tolerated and served no matter what, is dying. The idea that it's the people's country not the politicians' is the fundamental issue and it's very empowering. So if Anwar does get his day and messes up the way BN have then he goes too - simple as that. And if he does mess up then I'm sure there are enough people within Pakatan with integrity like Sivarasa, Teresa, Guan Eng, Karpal et al who will reign him in and throw him out.
written by sueteh, October 24, 2008 16:52:40
Whatever it is, when one political party reigns too long of course, there will be abuses. Let's say..if PKR become new govt, and maybe 1st 4 yrs OK, then we elect them in GE, 2nd year, will it be still OK??
written by sueteh, October 24, 2008 16:57:43
I do care who is the next PM or DPM..even East Msians (Sabah/Sarawak) says put one EMsian be a DPM. It was Sabah & Sarawak that gave BN the winning bulk. Why not..put an EastMsian as a future PM or DPM or whatever. But do you think that Melanau Muslim Sang Rambut Putih Rolls Royce riding Mahmud Taib allows opppositioN? Si Melanau tu fulamak..MAHA KAYA, MAHA SOMBONG. How many DPM you want, for each race? Good idea, but too many cooks spoil the broth??