Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysiakini grovels like a teenager in trouble

Malaysiakini grovels like a teenager in trouble PDF Print
Thursday, 23 October 2008 09:13

By : Azmi Anshar, NST

It will be difficult but Malaysiakini’s sloppy gaffe in publishing a report expounding a putrid manifesto by a “support group” purportedly attributed to the Deputy Prime Minister in preparation for his ascension to the Prime Ministership must be regarded as simply that: a gaffe that the highly political web portal editors were unable to detect or prevent, given the high confidence it confers to its copy editors to take the initiative.

It must have been galling then for the Malaysiakini senior editors that a seemingly trusted copy editor published the report while ignoring its highly explosive nature and without having to check its source and veracity, or, if she had an iota of scepticism, referred it to her more senior and experienced editors for careful deliberation.

She didn’t and when she pressed the OK button on the publishing software, it was not so much a case of publish and be damned as it was a routine that was all in a day’s work. That copy editor practically lit a literary bomb that blew embarrassingly in her face and her outfit. It could easily have been circumvented had she abided by certain basic journalistic tenets.

While it’s all nice and well now that the said copy editor took it upon herself to assume blame for her journalistic sins and immediately put in her walking papers, the affair affirms a measure of zealotry that Malaysiakini has assumed as its journalistic credo – to err towards gung-ho recklessness that only a young media outfit, like teenagers without a care in the world, can only flaunt.

However, Malaysiakini was, metaphorically, still a teenager lacking in the social graces and still short in maturity, while trying to live in an adult world where responsibility, sobriety and caution are bored principles. The entry to a night spot and drinking age is 21 and cigarettes cannot be sold to teenagers below 18. Balderdash! Malaysiakini would dismiss these rules as superfluous to their growing process, until their shit hit the fan.
Whether they deserve it or not, Malaysiakini has built a brutal reputation as a web news portal whose raison d'être is to gleefully criticise, lambast and condemn the Barisan Nasional Government, its machinery and its machinations, its systems, its policies, its weaknesses, its credibility to the point that it can’t report in any other way or it will lose the legion of supplicants it calls its base audience. Its all politics all the time and mostly from the view of the firing seat.

To be sure, Malaysiakini can do just that because it does not have to temper an annual Government licence like its print rivals and being on the web, weighed in on the Government’s pledge of non-cyber censorship, cheaper overheads and non-existent logistical woes.

Just as the mainstream newspapers been perceived as being pro-Government, Malaysiakini is trenchantly looked as pro-Opposition, whether it likes it or not, but its behaviour, mannerism and attitude strongly suggest that it lives and dies by that anti-Establishment moniker.

That is why the so-called Najib manifesto was published all too casually, on the account that the copy editor was living up to the Malaysiakini’s doctrine. It’s too soon to tell if they will have to pay the price in terms of punitive action or something worse but given that its presence is much needed in the pursuit of a free Press, Malaysiakini must learn to get away from its belligerent adolescence.

Nevertheless, Najib could have sued the socks off Malaysiakini for false reporting, which among others quoted the DPM as “eager to defend till the last drop of his blood the supremacy of the Malay race”, or at the very least demand a police probe into the portal’s ill-advised transgression. But he didn’t, perhaps out of magnanimity or perhaps out of the fact that he cannot afford the distraction, seeing that he will soon inherit the management of a country roiling in the perfect political storm and need to muster all his energy and effort.

In a media conference outside the House, Najib accepted Malaysiakini’s apology. "The reporter showed a high level of professionalism and took responsibility for the untrue story," he told the media at the Parliament lobby today. However, Najib rightly pointed out that the culprits who released the fake manifesto was still in hiding.

Najib is leaving it to the relevant authorities to unmask the perpetrators of the fake manifesto, agreeing that he may have to face all this until March, when Umno holds its general assembly and its delayed but high-octane party elections.

Cub reporters were taught from small to respect facts and triple check them when they conclude their reports, just before they submit their masterpieces to their copy editor for editing or tasting. It’s a time-honoured concept practiced by most media outfits, whether they are of left or right leaning persuasions or whether they newspapers, magazines or the electronic media. Some old school journalism editors would also insist that their underlings their parents say they love you, check their claims too.

No conscientious editor or reporter would knowingly publish or write reports that are factually dodgy or just plain wrong but if the unimaginable happens, the blame is always an oversight or simple human error. Already, Wong’s action has been spun as a “rare day when a Malaysian journalist resigns to take responsibility for an erroneous report.”

That said, Malaysiakini is truly fortunate that Wong was conscientious enough to take the rap and save further grief for the portal. It could have been ugly.

written by cruzeiro, October 23, 2008 09:23:21
The toilet Paper complaining about shit?
written by lamakawan, October 23, 2008 09:28:17
Let us begin at the beginning. In the first place, that article would have already been written by Najib himself first. All his thoughts are in there, whatever it is intended for ,etc2. So one can only surmise when that article is going to be distributed or printed. In this case, it was just unlucky for Malaysiakini to be printing it first. All in all, we can believe what is already the intention of Najib in that article.
written by KELADIHUTAN, October 23, 2008 09:32:15
well3x look who's talking, UMNO mouthpiece. Speak for yourself first before you speak for others. Haven't you looked at yourself in the mirror? It's not like we're ever gonna stop reading malaysiakini for ONE silly mistake. boo fcuking who!!!
written by Raizzen, October 23, 2008 09:38:44
No, cruizero its the shit thinking the unthinkable, it thoughts that it finally outdid himself and he call himself poop. And he thought its cute.
written by taishan, October 23, 2008 09:39:44
This NST propaganda piece trying to teach the world journalistic ethics !
While it will stoop to any level to satisfy its masters, it preaches professionalism.
Lack of integrity, unprofessionalism, lying is all in a day's work for these dogs, who call themselves journalists.
Like the corrupt UMNO goons it serves it should just STF.

written by raven1958, October 23, 2008 09:44:59
Better a teenager with balls...then a has been born congenitally without a spine....the NST is a worm employing usually shamelessly ball licking journalists like this one.....
written by Xerxes, October 23, 2008 09:49:18
NST has short memories. It should ask itself what about that piece written by its recently resigned Deputy Chairman on the Pak Lah/Dr M meeting in Tokyo a couple of years ago. Despite a public correction by Dr M's press secretary, NST nor the writer apologised or anyone resigned for the "mistake" made. At least Malaysiakini had the grace to apologised for its mistake and the copy editor took responsibility for her actions and resigned, which is much more than we can say about NST. Even the DPM commended the copy editor for her professionalism in resigning.

It is still not too late for the NST to apologise to Dr M to redeem its "professionalism" as defined by DPM Najib and start practising a culture of responsibility for its actions?
written by Rashid, October 23, 2008 09:54:23
I remember contacting this Corsi type buffoon one time and telling him that his sheer stupidty that thrives in outright buffoonery and stinking mentality steeped in utter ignorance (mistaken for intelligence) is unacceptable. It seems that he hasn't got it. Anyway, Malaysiakini doesn't need the unsolicited advise of prostitutes preaches morality. NST is not even among the top 200 websites in Malaysia. Why would this low class preach to anyone when he has no ground? What's interesting is that he says the MSM is accused of being pro-govt yet the govt owns them. Stupid! No wonder his ilk are the ones who help the opposition as they lull the Alblurrs in Umnoland. Huh!
written by reason, October 23, 2008 10:12:37
NST, is this all you are good for, kicking a rival when he is down? Malaysiakini has acted correctly and professionally. You may be king of the dungheap but Malaysiakini retains the moral high ground.
written by FFT, October 23, 2008 10:16:56
written by cruzeiro, October 23, 2008 09:23:21
The toilet Paper complaining about shit?

Please don't insult toilet paper.

I once lined my dog's crate with the NST and even he refused to degrade his droppings upon that rag.

The only thing the NST will prove useful for is to line the concrete beds at Kamunting for Mahathir and his supporters who have an upcoming date with the ISA.
written by cruzeiro, October 23, 2008 10:25:09
written by Raizzen, October 23, 2008 09:38:44
No, cruizero its the shit thinking the unthinkable

written by FFT, October 23, 2008 10:16:56
Please don't insult toilet paper.

======================================

Well said guys!

These guys would've tried to "fix-up" M'Kini with this "false alarm" which was probably genuine in the first place.
Now that they have subscribed to "Accountability", owned up and retained their moral high ground (a conduct which they cannot comprehend) - these guys are squirming in their seat with Utusan Malaysia fecal incontinence ....
written by cruzeiro, October 23, 2008 10:29:36
Typo:-
Now that they M'Kini Has subscribed to "Accountability", owned up and retained their moral high ground (a conduct which they NSTP cannot comprehend) - NSTP guys are squirming in their seat with Utusan Malaysia fecal incontinence ....
written by loosecannon, October 23, 2008 11:00:36
Of all people, NST should be the last one to act high and mighty on this issue. Malaysiakini shows how a decent papers should behave and rightly so. NST is nothing but a propaganda machine for Umno and it's cronies. No principle, no shame.
written by Frankie,BSD, October 23, 2008 11:00:49
For the NST guy to come out strongly against its competitor is unbecoming of a fellow journalist.
ITs a genuine oversight, especially when the 'facts' are not shocking, if fact I was not even a little bit surprised to read this manifesto as it a 'very normal' for him to do this ( he have said 'worse').PERIOD.
written by densemy, October 23, 2008 12:01:49
The words that come to mind when I read this drivel:

Sanctimonious
Self Righteous
Hypocritical
written by archie, October 23, 2008 12:21:09
A veteran hooker preaching to a 'teenager' about the virtue of fidelity.
written by johanssm, October 23, 2008 13:20:48
Whats the big deal?
It is just a way and a chance for the gov. to play down the utusan meloya lousy racial reporting by shifting the attention onto MalaysiaKini.
Utusan did more damages or did Malaysiakini did more damages?
written by carribeanking7, October 23, 2008 13:32:15
Dear Azmi Anshar,

Everytime I read your articles I just roll my eyes,
your writing and reasoning abilities are equivalent to that of
infernal rantings of an attention seeking teenager.
I especially find your criticism of shuttler Lee Chong Wei against Lin Dan boorish, your asessment of the Permatang Pauh by-elections totally delusional and your most attrocious piece
"The marketing ingenuity of Shah Rukh Khan’s Datukship" I post the link here so everyone can know the rubbish pile journalism that you indulge in :
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_...index_html

You and your ilk are nothing but pathetic poodles of limited cognitive abilities
eager to please your political masters.

I would even venture to say that if your brains were put into a pigean it would fly backwards.

written by Liberace, October 23, 2008 13:32:55
Well, I would hardly describe NST's cowardice and dependence on political favors for its survival as maturity and having all the right social graces. You stink and you have no right to call yourself a newspaper so while Malaysiakini may not have got everything down pat, you in the twilight of your life have no wisdom to share with the young 'uns. That truly is a wasted existence.
written by unomalaysia, October 23, 2008 13:36:37
I don't use the NST as toilet paper but I do get free copies that I find it very useful in my pet rabbit's cage..... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Hmmmmm, maybe I should at least read them first before placing them in the rabbit's cage...... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by SimpleSoul, October 23, 2008 13:48:03
Hmmmmmm, Hoping for a promotion? Bigger bonus? only you will know!
written by densemy, October 23, 2008 13:53:39

The world has voted on the NST et al. And now Malaysia has dropped to 132nd place in terms of Press Freedom
written by teo siew chin, October 23, 2008 14:06:23
"...The only thing the NST will prove useful for is to line the concrete beds at Kamunting for Mahathir and his supporters who have an upcoming date with the ISA...."
------------------------------

the call is for the ISA to be abolished - not put on hold! can we allow for over 60 detainees to languish in kamunting to await the arrival for another 60 much more worthy for detention?
written by fireduck, October 23, 2008 14:44:39
written by archie, October 23, 2008 12:21:09

A veteran hooker preaching to a 'teenager' about the virtue of fidelity.

Ah, I was looking to say something to that effect, but you, archie, says it so well here. Exactly my sentiments.
written by Sinewy, October 23, 2008 14:49:42
Azmi Anshar says "Malaysiakini was, metaphorically, still a teenager lacking in the social graces and still short in maturity"

You must be joking. NST journalism is full of political patronage, especially from UMNO. Please go and look at the mirror and be truthful towards yourself. Are you sure that NST is apolitical? Be truthful because fitnah is prohibited in Islam.
written by mykantree, October 23, 2008 14:53:01
Yah, the toilet paper complaining that shit is dirty and smelly.The criticism would be sincere if the paper applies the same guidelines to its own "news".
written by aryn, October 23, 2008 15:53:25
Ahh, NST!

It's like cutting your own nose to spite your face!
written by KopiO, October 24, 2008 12:25:20
Say whatever you want Azmi Anshar.
The past record of NST has made me choose to read Malaysiakini.
You can write till you die, making a mountain out of a molehill, condemning Malaysiakini for 1 mistake, but you ain't getting me to buy your papers.

Eat your heart out! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by KopiO, October 24, 2008 12:28:29
Year end is coming. Expect some Smart Alec to go the extra mile to earn extra bonus at the expense of others. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif