Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No wrongdoing in construction of ‘Istana Mat Deros’

No wrongdoing in construction of ‘Istana Mat Deros’ PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 October 2008 21:32

By DHARMENDER SINGH and EDWARD RAJENDRA in The Star

SHAH ALAM: The Selangor Government has not initiated any action over the mansion belonging to the late Port Klang assemblyman Datuk Zakaria Md Deros as it has not found any proof of wrongdoing.

Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said soon after Pakatan Rakyat came into power, a study was carried out on the legal, social and political aspects related to the construction of the mansion in Pandamaran.

He said however until now it had not found any proof of fraud or abuse of power involving the construction of the mansion.

“Whether we agree with it or not, we have to accept that a title for the land (occupied by the mansion) was issued by the previous state government so the occupation of the land is legal.

“We have to study whether any offence was committed in the other aspects of the construction of the mansion before taking any action and we cannot act as we wish,” he told a press conference in the lobby at the Selangor state assembly.

Khalid said the state government also wanted to do the right thing and not act in haste even though it could have won political mileage by taking action.

He was answering to a challenge issued by former Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo to the state government on Tuesday to take action since many Pakatan Rakyat leaders had then slammed the previous government for failing to act.

The controversy began when it was discovered that Zakaria had built his palatial home in a low-cost housing area without submitting building plans to the Klang Municipal Council (MPK) for approval.

Zakaria, who died just days after the general election in March, had also operated an unlicensed satay restaurant built illegally on government reserve land and had not paid assessment for another property for 12 years.

All these occurred while he was an MPK councillor.

written by cheekhiaw, October 22, 2008 22:05:36
Why look for proof of fraud or abuse of power involving the construction itself?

Look for proof of fraud and thievery that funded the construction - it should be a whole lot easier to find.

written by hiro, October 22, 2008 22:17:57
It's a low cost area. What's a mansion doing there? Some approval must have been given. Who gave it? Was it reasonable to give the approval under the circumstances? There may not be any proof of corruption, but certainly administrative wrong would have been committed. Investigators not doing a thorough job perhaps.
written by Amicus Curia, October 22, 2008 22:18:37
The construction was obviously legal. How did he become so rich? Donations? You must be joking.
written by alpha100, October 22, 2008 22:27:42
Way to go PR! No wrong doing means no wrong doing! Unlike some who act on flimsy grounds and lose confidence of rakyat!
Fairness of PR goverment give us rakyat the confidence on them!
written by Atheist, October 22, 2008 22:29:24
ahhhh ... no worries !!!

All good Malaysians like Mat Deros get to build the palaces in hell ....

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Francis, October 22, 2008 23:20:56
Has income tax been paid on the income derived by Mat Deros? Has he declared his assets to the former government? Can copies be obtained? Where di he amass the money to build the mansion?
written by The Hammer, October 22, 2008 23:34:50
Ok, everything is legal, what about the Quit Rent? MPK assessment rate? Is it still based on the old rate? Since this house is more or less like a palance' the household should be paying atleast RM5K p.a.! MB Khalid, please check whether the rates paid are acceptable or not. Keep up the good work! Hope you recover the RM30B or whatever, no thanks due to the inefficient Cur Toyol and gang!
written by bn haramjadah, October 23, 2008 00:03:47
'Zakaria, who died just days after the general election in March, had also operated an unlicensed satay restaurant built illegally on government reserve land and had not paid assessment for another property for 12 years'

Hai yah did he die from heart attack or whatever the bullshite story the press printed about mat deros. the truth is ZAKARIA MAT DEROS COMMITED SUICIDE, pURE AND SIMPLE THE COVER UP WAS MASSIVE, and the family was promised nobody will touch them. THIS WAS agreed upon FROM THE HIGHEST ECHOLANS OF both the opposition and bn, don't beleive me go ask MB KHALID. WHATEVER SAID AND DONE DON'T TELL ME YOU CANNOT UNCOVER THE 12 YEARS OF UNPAID TAXES, HOW HE GOT HIS MONEY, HOW WAS THE BUILDING MADE THERE WHEN IT WAS GAZZETED AS A LOW COST HOUSING SCHEME, WHERE ARE ALL THE DOCUMENTATION???, I am a Pakatan supporter, but here I am saying something is not very kosher, there is a cover-up.
written by chanatak, October 23, 2008 00:13:24

Yea, yeah, right. No wrong doing in the disappearance of Altantuya's immigration records either.

written by chin, October 23, 2008 00:50:38
Did this Datuk pay his taxes ??

If all else fails, there is always evasion of taxes when it comes to dirty money.
written by freewilly2, October 23, 2008 01:46:00
klang town and the areas under MPK jurisdiction were heaven for illegal gambling machine outlets and illegal VCD stores when Zakaria were the councillor. there were more than hundreds of this outlets when he was in power. imagine the wealth he has amassed when( not if) each outlet pay protection fees to him each month rm1000. 100 x 1000= rm100,000. i dont know how many years he was in that councillor, but to have a brief ideas of how much he has amassed just take rm1 million multiply by the years he was in the seat. basically all his wealth was from the gambling operators' activities. dont believe me just ask his gangster son who probably might not be residing anymore in klang
written by Hakim Joe, October 23, 2008 01:55:14
I heard that Zakaria owned a few satay stalls. Didn't know that it was such a profitable business. Guess what? I want a mansion as big as Zak's so I am starting my own satay stall tomorrow!!!

written by hamid, October 23, 2008 05:25:12
If this PKR MB said that HE is STUPID. Better say we are looking into it as with other matters. The rakyat voted you in for a purpose to rid Malaysia of the Mat Deros. You Really don't know how to play politics. Continue to Dangle the NOOSE in fron of their Family Deros....they are equally Evil to have benefitted from the crimes of Corruption. It was the Anger against Zakaria that won you a few seats ....otherwise you are still in Opposition Barisan Rakyat Bodoh??

Start undoing the Racism in Selangor with the Building of more Religious Place of worship for Non Muslim. This I will personally keep an eye and Pressure. Or Convert those on Factory land to be Proper place of Worship. Don't say that cannot be done either!!
written by Lembing, October 23, 2008 08:10:51
What is the source of funds for this mansion????

IRB (INEPT RACIST BOARD), it is about time that you stop your discrimination against NON-MALAYS in all your Tax Investigations. ALL Malaysians, regardless of race and political connections, should be investigated when there are evidence of tax evasion and/or unaccounted or unexplained source of funds.

There are BILLIONS of undeclared income like secret commissions, bribes. It is time that all IRB officers wake up and START INVESTIGATIONS on ALL THOSE who are involved in TAX EVASION.
written by Engineer, October 23, 2008 09:01:12
This new state government is excellent in its policies.

They have definitely demarcate two different issues; legality in construction and person integrity.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 23, 2008 09:19:17
No wrongdoing in construction of ‘Istana Mat Deros’

OK, SINCE TOYOL WANTS TO SEE JUSTICE AND TRANSPARENCY,
GIVE HIM ALL DUES. INVESTIGATE BOTH TOYOL AND ZAKARIA'S
ASSETS DISCRETELY.
THEN GET THE IRD TO INVESTIGATE BOTH SOURCES OF INCOME. AS FOR ZAKARIA,
HOW COULD HE AFFORD TO BUIL THE PALACE. WHAT IS THE WORTH
ON THE PALACE. WHAT IS THE WORTH OF THE LAND. ABUSE OF POWER
BY NOT PAYING ASSESSMENT. MONEY LAUNDERING.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 23, 2008 13:51:13
What about the manner in which the land was transferred to his family in the first place? How did he get so rich? Re-value the assessment rate and all quit rent payment of that land to reflect the value of the mansion.