Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Is this a hint for Malaysiakini?

Is this a hint for Malaysiakini? PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 October 2008 13:44

Bernama reported that Information Minister Ahmad Shabery Cheek made a remark regarding the journalistic misjudgement made by Malaysiakini over a so-called ’(UMNO) election manifesto’ that was erroneously attributed to Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak.

Shabery said that it was within the legal purview of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) to decide on whether ‘to act against Internet news portal Malaysiakini, which published an e-mail supposedly linked to Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s election manifesto for Umno’s polls’.

“It is only appropriate if the MCMC, which is under the Ministry of Energy, Water and Communications, takes action against Malaysiakini since it concerns an online news portal,” he told reporters after presenting excellence service awards and farewell gifts to retiring staff of the ministry at Angkasapuri here tonight.

Perhaps Malaysians would also want to know what the MCMC and the Minister of Energy, Water and Communications think of this matter. Well, according to today’s Berita Harian, the Minister of Energy, Water and Communications had indeed made a comment and he revealed that the MCMC had started its investigation on this matter.

Also see here for the Home Ministry’s response that was reported in Utusan Malaysia Online.

http://mustafakanuar.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/is-this-a-hint-for-malaysiakini/

written by indianputra, October 22, 2008 13:53:56
Shab eeeeriie!! If you don't know, let me tell you. Najib has accepted the apology made by Malaysiakini. That means, the story is 'habis' unless you want to screw things up in Malaysia by revoking the existane of Malaysiakini! Just try it!!
written by Horizonline, October 22, 2008 13:56:06
yalar tu... at least the journalist has resigned and apologized for this issue. what about the news report from utusan? has they taken the appropriate action against that "si ai bin" journalist? all things that was against the government always wrong la. that's because we are always wrong, government always right mah... what do you expect from our bolehland?
written by cheekymate, October 22, 2008 13:57:35
Vile threats are only used by cowards.
written by biggun129, October 22, 2008 14:06:18
Sah belly, ball carry, what else can this informer do?
written by Mee Udang, October 22, 2008 14:13:41
Strawberry, you carry so many "BALLS", you tired or not??? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by sydput, October 22, 2008 14:24:10
Inilah keadilan UMNO. Semua salah kecuali puak mereka sahaja.
written by JackWang, October 22, 2008 14:36:03
Justice must not only be done but must also to be seen to be done.
So, in the name of justice, a similar investigation should also be opened against Utusan Malaysia for their erroneous report on the Azan issue. (Dr. Khir has said Utusan named Teresa on its own in the state assembly.)
Otherwise, we are like animal farm, all animals are equal but some are more equal than others.

Cheers
written by biggun129, October 22, 2008 14:38:42
Sahberry, do u hear 'Mahathir sceptical of Najib's ability on economy', go, tell MCMC to convey the message, appoint Mukriz as FM, and TDM acts as adviser!!!
written by Lembing, October 22, 2008 14:39:35
DOUBLE STANDARDS AGAIN, AGAIN & AGAIN.

What about UTUSAN Malaysia's consistently misreporting??????

Ahmad Shabery Cheek, you may think you are intelligent but Don't take us for idiots.

written by ibabonma, October 22, 2008 14:45:32
A precedent has been set. Remember Bala’s case?

This journalist has been bought into admission….all from that submarine and helicopter commissions. That najis is buying his way into premiership. We must resist or else ‘habis’ Malaysia.
written by Sinewy, October 22, 2008 15:04:17
So the authority should have the will to act against malaysiakini but they don't have the will and the balls to act against Utusan?
written by Durnfordi, October 22, 2008 15:11:45
Shut-up-bery! I can still see stupidity foaming in your mouth since your debate with DSAI. Information Minister you are but a real idiotic one at that! Now stupidity is again foaming in your mouth with this idiotic comment of yours! Think first before opening your gap again! Another idiotic minister!
written by MAMR, October 22, 2008 15:12:58
That said if the report is NOT TRUE TAKE ACTION PREFABLY BY !YESTERDAY! if the teport is TRUE dont bother to investigate !WHAT A DOUBLE STANDARD!
written by lamakawan, October 22, 2008 15:15:33
This could be a set up by the UMNO people to trap Malaysiakini. Get malaysiakini to publish the provocative article, then get najib to deny that is is not from him, then Najib will apologise it was without his approval, then multi media authority will step in to query malaysiakinin for that unsolicited publication. This is all in the blood of the UMNO dogs that they will go to such extent to instigate the authorities to act against Malaysiakini.
written by lamakawan, October 22, 2008 15:17:58
In the first place, if Najib had not written such article, it would not be there.
Najib must have composed the article and that it is just when he would officially publish it.
written by lamakawan, October 22, 2008 15:19:10
His bad intentions are all in the article already. It does not matter whether he sanctioned it or not.
written by Taiping60, October 22, 2008 15:22:06
I would like to know from Ahmad Shabery our Information Minister, why there is a double standard.

Utusan Melayu, printed false about Teresa Lim and they even instigate violent against her with their short story recently. But Ahmad Shabery kept complete silence about the matter.

Now Malaysiakini did and error, which they admitted, apologise and to a certain extend lead to the resignation of their journalist. Ahmad Shabery out of nowhere speak against this. Are you merely "ampu" the future PM to enhance your carrer or just another mistake like the rest which you need to apologise for?
written by SocratesI, October 22, 2008 15:49:15

I would advise all those Malaysians running blogs and news portals to set up HQ overseas in a country which does not have extradition arrangements with Malaysia, and operate mirror sites around the world. Stay overseas and keep reporting on the Truth, and keep on fighting for Equality, Justice and Freedom !! This way, you don't have to give a damn about these barking Anjing and impotent Eunuchs from Barisan Najis any more.

Otherwise, you guys will be exposed to double standards, discrimination by the authorities (Anjing of Barisan Najis), and maybe even ISA and Kamunting.

written by angora, October 22, 2008 16:09:32
i cannot imagine how the bn govt still acts in this way of upholding double standards n using laws to their convenience without realising that NOBODY takes it seriously.

perhaps they think that just because malaysians don't all jump up in disgust with an uproar equates to acceptance to their bull? pathetic!
written by Anti Relon, October 22, 2008 16:19:51
Please Minister! Enough is enough.
Malaysiakini and Journalist Wong apologised.
As info minister you should know an apology is enough.
As info minister you should know that in western states if a news media errs, it is months before an apology is made, and inside pages.
The Guardian (London) has a 'Corrections and Clarifications' section.
written by joeawk, October 22, 2008 16:50:45
What about the lies told by ministers. Blatant lies, we are talking about. Can we hang them in the middle of Bukit Bintang road?

At least the Malaysiakini reporter take responsibilities and quit. Have we seen any UMNO minister quit do the same. UMNO minister can do no wrong.

Except for Zaid who quit because he did not agree with the stand of UMNO. There is only one principled man in UMNO. Shame on you, Crooks.
written by ohuat, October 22, 2008 16:51:55
charge Utusan Melayu first !!!!
written by doggone, October 22, 2008 20:43:22

Can't you guys see that he is polishing Najib's shoes.

Not to worry lah En.Shabery. We are quite sure you would be given a very high ministerial post when he becomes the PM.

They say when you use the foam from your mouth in the final stage of polishing, you will surely get you a glossy finish on the footwears. Start foaming !!!

written by malgal, October 22, 2008 21:21:15
Adding one more item on the blame list. Keep on sinning until it all seems right.