Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow RPK's Habeas Corpus hearing: Final Update

RPK's Habeas Corpus hearing: Final Update PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 October 2008 11:53

12:44pm: The court was told that the police interrogation was a fishing expedition and extraneous grounds were used to justify the minister's order under Section 8 in order to circumvent defects in the police detention under Section 73. Jurisdictional error renders the minister's decision mala fide and susceptible to be set aside on judicial review.

Hearing has been adjourned. Result will be out on the 7th November.

12:33pm: The court was told that various affidavits by the minister and police themselves show clear mala fide, and case precedents support RPK's position. Earlier, the court was told that RPK was merely discharging his muslim duty of amar maaruf nahi mungkar as confirmed by the Perlis mufti and Tok Guru Nik Aziz in letters tendered to the court.

12:18pm: Counsel Azhar Harun narrates facts of RPK's unlawful arrest and detention and attacks the minister's mala fide decision under section 8 of the ISA which is based on baseless police investigation.

11:41am: Counsel Azhar Harun, the S-G's brother, challenges the Minister's grounds for detaining RPK on ISA based on mala fide.

11:28 am: Judge Syed Helmi seems receptive to counsel Malik Imtiaz's argument on article 149 of the federal constitution impacting on Section 8 of the ISA that the Minister's act is ultra vires. Counsel Azhar Harun will address the court on mala fide after 15mins. break.

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 22, 2008 12:06:31
It’s been such a long time since our bro Pete has been imprisoned… and I can only imagine what he is going through physically & mentally.

Foremost in my mind is: What are his feelings in putting so much hope & faith in DSAI?
As our bro Pete wrote on 6/Sep/2008:
“Yes, I too have placed, not only my money, but also my freedom on Anwar. And if Anwar fails to deliver his promise on 16 September 2008, not only he but I as well am headed for a fall”

Where the hell are you DSAI???????
agree 233
written by ingodwetrust, October 22, 2008 12:16:03
Hang on there Pete, our prayers are with you and your family.
written by Littlebird, October 22, 2008 12:36:13
Pete, I am sad. DSAI let me down. So too the people who ignored the March to justice, the petitions to King. The speaker who thot fit to debate Shah Rukh Khan datoship but not the declaration poor Indians HINDRAF. what else to do but Wait for 2013? (Is there anyway to make spitting emicon?)
written by avj, October 22, 2008 12:39:39
Yes DSAI where are you? A nation is waiting and you remain out of sight.Delay is costly and many are paying for it.Get going man,how long are we going to suffer?
written by BORN FREE, October 22, 2008 12:56:25
Yes ! We are all very very disappointed with DSAI !
Looks like DSAI failed his mission and Malaysians are on their
own now ! Nevertheless, THE FIRE OF CHANGE must never be extinguish, with
or without DSAI we have to continue to carry on what needs to be done after the 8th March. Malaysia belongs to everyone of us that wants fairness,
democracy and non racist ! WE ARE ONE AND ONE FOR ALL !!
written by ahmadneil, October 22, 2008 13:06:56
Patient,DSAI is in the process of finishing his new plot to overthrow the government.
written by DreamLady, October 22, 2008 13:20:31
My dear fellow supporters, please do exercise your patience. Anwar and pakatan people have not forgotten raja petra's plight.

They and their gang of professionals and intellectual personels are working hard for a firm strategy for a smooth transition without blood shed..

Raja Petra and the rest of the ISA DETAINEES are always on their minds, please be rest assured that they love raja as much as you do if not more....
written by palani, October 22, 2008 13:30:45
My heart bleeds whenever I read about our beloved RPK who is languishing in Kamunting cell. DSAI is our hope but how long we have to live with that hope? I am, like others, are really concerned about our RPK's health and we can't afford to go on hoping some miracle will happen to change the situation. At the same time we are helpless to do anything other than lighting candles of hope. Please be warned that during this interim period UMNO is slowly and steadily fortifying their forte and come March, if nothing happens, we are doomed. DSAI, please understand our torture of waiting for our hope to become a reality.
written by Sunnysoul5, October 22, 2008 13:33:50
On paper it is not difficult to get 31 BN MP’s to crossover to PR, but in reality it is not a simple and straight-forward arithmetic. However, it is a game of probability that all the 31 can cross over at the same time. The problem and doubts are in the mind of these MP’s of what if one or two of them decided not to jump ship. The consequences are possible punishments in any form by the incumbent government. The fear factor is there. More so when DSAI cannot deliver the mandate a number of times already, and these MP’s are likely to get cold feet by now especially when the leadership change is eminent.

While DSAI’s credibility and integrity are now virtually being questioned and doubted, the damage has already been done with RPK as the first victim of circumstances. The fact that DSAI is not ready to move a motion on the vote of no confidence on the PM as claimed by him can be a tell tale sign that something is not quite right with the number. It is time for DSAI to redeem himself before it is too late.

PR may have to begin the soul searching for some other first liner leaders in the event that DSAI fails to lead the charge due to unforeseen circumstances, given the current scenarios.

BN may be shaken at the moment, but given time if DSAI cannot deliver his claim of the ability to form the new government then the near future can be very challenging for this ambitious man.

The disclosures of all the tactics publicly may have back-fired because the enemies can plan ahead.

It is sad for RPK to suffer because of his personal loyalty to DSAI, and believing that DSAI can form the new government.

Politics are generally very dirty, and when the opportunities come knocking a good leader will seize it and move forward to consolidate the advantage. This situational leadership skill is sometimes lacking in the political leaders and they suffer the waterloo syndrome. In the art of war, it is important to advance without finding excuses when the road becomes treacherous.

There is something to be learned from the recent MCA elections when almost all the supporters of the previous leaders fail to secure the key positions. It was an impressive art of war at play.

In a political crisis like this, a hero will emerge to lead people to a better future.

written by cheekymate, October 22, 2008 13:48:05
I fully agree with Dreamlady.
Castles were not built in a day. It is instrumental that there must be a change of government bearing in mind there must not be casualties along the way.
DSAI failed to deliver his planned take over. We were all disappointed and our initial euphoria turned to disillusion. However, we must realise that he is faced with what seems like an insurmountable task, knowing that the warlords will fight till their last breath. Mind you, they are not in the least bit interested in serving us as our public servants, but indeed tremble and fear that their strong hold on the Fort Knox may soon come to an end.
Raja Petra opened a whole new world not only to us; I am very sure DSAI too appreciates and reveres him too. Where will we all be without this great man who fearlessly speaks his mind and selflessly sacrifices the comforts of his home so that the truth may be known to one and all?
written by ibabonma, October 22, 2008 13:48:47
I agree with you ahmadneil. Anwar is not only thinking of RPK; our nation is also at stake. Don't worry matters will be solved sooner than expected.

He has got the numbers but he too must satisfy our brother rulers. Lets come to our senses, we are playing with the numerical games and if the Malays representatives fall short of what is expected by the overall Malays and the royalties, in particular, then where are we heading?
written by ibabonma, October 22, 2008 13:55:45
indianputra, DSAI is not recruiting adhoc members to form protem AJK committees of a Surau or a kampung football club!
written by adan, October 22, 2008 13:57:27
DSAI CAN DO IT AND WE MUST HAVE FAITH IN HIS ABILTY AND STRATEGIES. WE MUST BE AWARE THAT HE IS FACING A FORMIDABLE ARRAY OF THIEVES AND CROOKS ,SCOUNDRELS AND MURDERERS, CONSPIRATORS AND OPPORTUNISTS ..ALL WITH TONS OF ILL-GOTTEN MONEY AND IMMENSE POWER -AND ALL READY NOT ONLY TO' FIX HIM UP' AND 'FINISH HIM OFF'... BUT ALSO ALL WHO MAY DECIDE TO CROSS OVER. ONE WRONG MOVE ON THE PART OF DSAI AND ALL THAT THE PEOPLE HAVE GAINED WILL BE LOST FOREVER. THE TSUNAMI HAS COME AND IT IS HERE TO STAY.. JUST WAIT FOR THE DELAYED BUT POWERFUL TIDAL WAVES TO SWEEP AWAY ALL THOSE...FILTH,DIRT AND SHIT..ACCUMULATED OVER THE DECADES. THE MOST DESTRUCTIVE TSUNAMI IS ONE THAT COMES WHEN ONE LEAST EXPECTS IT!!!
written by magickriver, October 22, 2008 14:08:15
This report raises hope that Syed Helmi may reveal himself to be a fearless upholder of the law and natural justice. RPK's other sedition charge is in litigation but it's a bailable offence and therefore it's important that habeas corpus be granted so our hero can go home and be thoroughly pampered by Marina and his darling kids.

More importantly, RPK's early release from Kamunting will take the intense emotional pressure off Anwar, who carries a great deal on his shoulders, more than anyone can imagine.

Those of us who are clamoring for DSAI to act fast and take over have absolutely no idea what goes on behind the secenes. DSAI and the Pakatan Rakyat leaders do have their ears on the ground and are privy to information that can't be published.

Just as an example, they may have been warned by someone in Military Intelligence that a few top-ranking generals are backing Najib for the PM's post because they fear investigation into their own financial shenanigans; add to this Musa Hassan's grip on a large faction of senior police officers who are in the same boat and have reason to fear humiliation and loss of their pensions when a new government (not controlled by Umno) takes over.

That already tells you that those with an arsenal at their disposal may have threatened to stir up major shit if Pakatan Rakyat does anything rash. As for the BN defectors, they are unused to living dangerously (or they would long ago have resigned from BN on principle instead of waiting till Anwar successfully resurrected his political career); many have been shown their SB dossiers and threatened with exposure if they cross over.

At the same time there is so much cash flooding into Najib's campaign that Umno can afford to make astronomical payouts to buy back "loyalty." This isn't just hearsay - Rais Yatim himself bitched about the shocking level of corruption that has marked the factional fights within the party.

When you consider the havoc that Umno diehards are willing to unleash just to save their own skins, you will understand why DSAI cannot, as a man who loves his country and fellow Malaysians, risk triggering Umno-sponsored violence on the streets. The traditional Malay values patience over audacity and Anwar is quite traditional in that respect.

I for one have not and will not give up our desire for finally getting honest, open-minded, responsive and responsible people in power.

Right now the ship of state is still in pirate hands!
written by fergie, October 22, 2008 14:09:02
DSAI n Co .. we have put our faith in you and hope you won't let us down. Meantime, RPK & Co are locked away and it's been far too long to be incarcerated for being innocent. We will be patient but we are not the ones suffering. It's RPK & Co and their respective families that are going thru hell.
written by kksam, October 22, 2008 14:10:51
Dear MT families, please be patience, there's a big chance ahead for the take over, but for now, we must all remain silent and patience. The plan now is to keep the tone down let the BN blinded by that, only then it will happens. It's not easy, but the biggest chance is coming (not so early, in months), and i'm very confident that it will take over.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 22, 2008 14:20:34
To all fellow bloggers who are getting the wrong message about DSAI:

We are all VERY patient, fully appreciate and understand the enormity and challenges facing DSAI in taking over the government.
Like I wrote earlier, DSAI sound the battle cry (with his confidence in MPs crossover numbers, followed by set datelines, etc) and made some poor suckers, like our bro Pete, to get all fired up and embolden to charge into the enemy (open confrontation with UMNO government) ALONE, while all along DSAI did not “meant to charge into the battle just yet”, but failed to pass that bit of information to poor old bro Pete.
written by Mee Udang, October 22, 2008 14:24:57
Dear MT fan,

I agree with kksam, you guys need to be very patience, this is high profile case involved high profile peoples. My hushband was a victim of "lock-up without trials" few year ago, it takes me 96 days to fight for his freedom. Its not an easy job......

To Marina, keep on fighting, you will see the light at the end of the tunnel....
written by Christ, October 22, 2008 14:35:29
Silently, I will not patronize Hotel Northam and Gurney in Penang. I do not fill up my car in a certain Shell Petrol station in opposite Gembira Shopping Complex in Penang when I am there. Nasi Kandar is struck out from my diet.

I do not fill up my car with petrol carrying the 'P' brand. I shall NOT donate to any charity house run by 'you know who' or to donate to any 'soon to retire' magazines or souvenir programs!

I will attend to any candlelight lighting gathering whenever I can.

I shall brief my family members about what I read here or any other alternative media which I feel is correct and constructive. I shall teach my children about the right thing to do.

I shall withdraw my EPF whenever I am allow to do so and make sure my family members do the same. I shall not at any time sign for any other petition because it just DOES NOT work.

I shall NOT at any day, buy the one-sided media.

I shall pray everyday for a better Malaysia and curse a certain 'bald' fellow who is an insult to intelligence. If millions were to curse, most likely it will happened ........

I shall pray that all Malaysians are able to see through the 'smoke-screen' where fuel price dropped and electricity charges and all other necessities prices remain the same.

I shall pray that one day, all the toll-booths will collapsed.

I shall pray for a new MALAYSIA without fail.

Silently and wishing the next general election will come sooner. Now, that is what I am doing ........
written by Hanif07, October 22, 2008 15:03:13
Keep praying hard guys for RPK...i know this judge Syed Helmi, met him sometime back. He's a fair thinking guy..far from bias..let hope and pray he still is.
written by SocratesI, October 22, 2008 15:15:36

Any fair-minded Judge worth his salt should release Pete, without fear or favour ! We need him out of jail as does his Family. He can contribute much more to nation-building outside of jail.

Let us pray that this Judge can resist all the political pressure from Barisan Najis and Najis Rosak, and free RPK forthwith !!

written by WandererAUS, October 22, 2008 15:21:08
To those weaklings with little faith in Anwar, please ask yourselves, what have you done?! I observe from the petition signing and candle light virgils held, there is nothing much to shout about, where were the wingers? Were you the participant?
I am not an apologist for Anwar, I am equally disappointed but, we need to be more understanding and determined, fighting for our cause...removing the scumbags from govt.
written by Desolated Malaysian, October 22, 2008 15:27:34
To Magikriver, Ahmadneil, Dreamlady, Cheekymate, Ibabonma and Adan,

We are poor helpless citizens in a dictatorship country and now there is DSAI whom can liberate us. Of course, without fail, we pledge our support to him. What happens behind the scene is absolutely not transparent to us and allow us to say our hearts, "we dont care". What we want is to see some changes but instead what what we know is that DSAI has failed us again and again. You can't just tell us to follow blindly.

Why Pete is so important to us, is that he represents people like us, supporting DSAI, fighting with him and of course go to jail in his cause. And now DSAI is not doing anything for Pete. It simply shows DSAI LIED to us in the case of 916. Period.

But being spineless and timid as citizens are, we could not help but to put our faith in DSAI and hope and pray that he does something. We just hope that he will not take his own sweet time, as a day in ISA for Pete, is another for us in ISA with Pete. It is just that symbolic, especially for readers of MT.

To Littlebird, AVJ, Bornfree, Indianputra, Rainbowseahorse,

Having said the above, are we willing to be like Pete? To fight openly with DSAI? Or willing to be ISA-ed for the sake of democracy? If yes, then stop writing comments and start doing it. Talk is cheap. Walk the talk. If no, then we have no other choice but to put our faith in DSAI, as he is one of the few whom has gone through hell and back in the name of democracy. In other words, we have no f**king choice.

We might be saying that DSAI is no angel or stuff like that, but right now, he is the next best thing. I am saying this because, I am like most of you, typing this comments from the comfort of my office and home. Spinelessly and cowardly, not willing to take any serious actions. Let someone else do it and enjoy the fruits together.

I know that, we do not know what is going behind the scenes and honestly, I do not think that any of that matters, just the results, right? Since we want results, there is only 2 way, like I have said above; Standup and FIGHT OR shut the hell up and give DSAI time and of course support him.

Guys,
To be brutantly honest, I do not like DSAI (for lying to us) but he is the next best thing there is. So like they say in Hokkien, "lan-lan" hafta support him lor.
written by temenggong, October 22, 2008 15:36:19
My understanding is Anwar has just about concluded briefing the rulers, armed forces and others to ensure a smooth passage.

But in view of the doubt and uncertainty amongst the impatient rakyat, perhaps its time for Azizah to make a statement on the Pakatan takeover.
written by Apek, October 22, 2008 15:37:23
Thank you Malik Imtiaz and Encik Azhar,

I watched you both dissect and speak on the matter and I am convinced that the Minister had either no jurisdiction to make the order, exceeded jurisdiction, claimed jurisdiction that he did not have or just basically made the order in bad faith. Such orders of the minister can and must be looked into by the Court in order for there to be no abuse of the laws. The Court cannot possibly shrug and say “I can’t help you” in light of the overwhelming authority from Malaysia and from the Commonwealth to turn a blind eye to the jurisdiction of the Minister when making such preventive detention orders with ouster clauses.

And for those of you who did come, I am sure you will agree with me that you can find no better an advocate as Malik Imtiaz and Azhar. Three cheers for them and three more (loud ones) for RPK.
written by oneofthesedays, October 22, 2008 16:05:47
Folks,

The idiots folks above who are questioning DSAI are similar to the soldiers that pee in their pants and surrender without firing a shot in a war.

They are the products of a BN government and will have to be saved from themselves. Ignore them. They are not helping.

Believe in DSAI.

DSAI will come thru in the end.
written by Wisdom above, October 22, 2008 16:25:16
RPK is not a 'Terrorist ' according to section 2 ISA 1960(1972).

RPK detention and all other detentions 1987 to 2008, were and are Ultra Vires the Federal Constitution 149.

RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

My salute to all Peacemakers

written by Dongra Dude, October 22, 2008 17:15:08
Wait patiently. Rome is not built in one day. So have faith in DSAI. If you cant wait patiently, please go to Syed Hamid Botak and replace yourself with Hindraf 5 or RPK at Kamunting. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by carribeanking7, October 22, 2008 17:38:31
It has been 4 hours since court adjourned for lunch...what is happening ?

written by ChiaCY, October 22, 2008 18:22:58
For those who shouted DSAI for giving false hope, have you done your duty to press your MP to support Teresa's private bill on repealing ISA?

Have you done anything, other than talking here and kopitiam that you are indeed supporting the changes?

RPK wants all of us to be united, stands up, and speak for ourselves. I dont think he wanted us to put all our hope on Pakatan then sit and do nothing.

I dare ask questions here, as I am working on my contacts in both ruling parties and oppositions, and explaining to people whom I know what RPK is fighting for.

Guys, please, we have to work ourselves. DSAI takes over, good, DSAI failed, are we all standing still waiting to be bullied?

Do what you can, help creating awareness. RPK wanted influence from the public that the ruling parties cannot ignore, and he wanted the influence not for himself, but for all of us.

If we start shooting each other here, where are we heading to?

Come on brothers and sisters, whether I am having doubts with DSAI is no a matter here. What's important is RPK will certainly hate to see we all dog fight each other, and the enemy is out there laughing.

Our enemy is corruption, injustice, cronyism. RPK opened our eyes, but are we going to just ignore all these and spot on to something does not really help everyone of us?

We want him out, no doubt, at the same time, a lot can be done from our side that we do not see people doing it.

Wearing T shirt, fine, go bald campaign, fine, vigil, fine.. we are creating pressure and visibility to those who dont even know what RPK advocates so far.

Can we do more than that? There's only one way the commoner can get authority's attention, it is when the number is big enough. Do we have the number?

Dont ask if DSAI has the number, even he consistently said he has. Ask ourselves are we strong enough?

What RPK wanted to see, whether he is deep in his lone cell in Kamunting, or sleeping sweetly in his home, is how we orchestrate, organize, and make ourselves a force that no political regime can just ignore our call and demand.

We as Malaysian, born and dead to be Malaysian, and this is the home for us and we ought to fight for ourselves. We cannot hope RPK, DSAI, Dollah, or any other person to do on our behalf.

We choose our destiny, decide our course, not anyone of them.

This I believe, and strongly believe, RPK will like to see.

Even if they can cage him in the cell, they will not be able to cage his mind. The spirit of RPK needs to spread, and we are the handful of fortunate ones here learning from him. Why cant we be his messenger?

Why can't we do what we are supposed to? than dog fight here?

Get down to work, friends, for yourself, for RPK, for everyone else. Summon or meet your MP demand them to support the private bill on ISA repeal, go in big group, be your MP from Pakatan or BN, tell them the message loud and clear.

Explain to your friends, talk to your neighbours, speak to your family members why we all need to do this, and why RPK's spirit is important to all of us

Stop spreading anger, it will not help the situation.

If there's one person who can save us all, must be ourselves!
written by mentora, October 22, 2008 19:27:00
Is the slogan 'Makkal Sakthi' an echo now? Regardless what happens, this is a war of attrition. It will be long and painful. It is easy to see things negatively cause that's how life is in Malaysia. But be strong everyone cause we have roughed through our daily lives these past years under the iron rule of UMNO.

Through fire and ice, all of us have journeyed to ensure security and a safe haven for our families. We, who have endured when there was nothing to look forward to are now at a very crucial crossroad that we could not have foreseen.

To say that this is a David vs Goliath is an extreme understatement. We had nothing, absolutely NOTHING to back ourselves except the conviction and faith that there are others who felt the same way we did and would do the same thing that we were thinking.

And that is to use the one power, the ONLY power that we had to our existence here in Malaysia. And we used that power in the 13th General Election. Although it was not enough to win, but it did tip the balance of power.

Victory does not come cheap or without sacrifice. RPK knows this well. I believe he knew it all along. It was just the matter of who.

All we need to do now is to be ever vigilant and resolute and dream of the Promised Land just as how RPK envisioned it. For it is through dreams that men have achieved the impossible.

William Blake quoted 'a fool sees not the same tree a wise man sees'. We know that we are no fools and we also see the same tree. Let us continue to watch it.
written by ibabonma, October 22, 2008 20:35:39
What I don’t like is DSAI dishing out dates and giving us false idea that the time is nigh in toppling the government and sending some of us, like poor old bro Pete, into open confrontation and getting into trouble with the government.
…………………†¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€ ¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â €¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â €¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦â€¦

I do not subscribe to such findings. Pete is a pundit on his own who does not tolerate bad governances. He does not subscribe to taking directives nor is he a blind loyalist of Anwar. Being a combatant he is, he went all out challenging the powers that be to correct things he feels erroneous at his own risk and surely not because of the promised made by Anwar on the Sept 16. Why pass the buck to Anwar? After all, most of us are true REFORMISTS in our own way! We fight at our own peril, kawan.
written by malgal, October 22, 2008 20:51:28
As for me (and my household) I will trust in the Lord.He will stumble the plans of the wicked, and uphold the righteous.
I will not NOT do anything. If it is my power to walk peaceably with my bros and sisters, I will do it. If brave ones stand together to find solace and strength in each other at candlelight vigils, I will be there. I will encourage the weak, praise the brave, and find my voice. I will ( though it gets harder each time) try to be patient with those who discourage, disparage, destroy my own convictions. Oh well, it is better than NOT do anything.
written by justinlian, October 22, 2008 22:33:43
Guys, Stop condemning others or dsai or whoever, I dont think RPK would like it that way for you guys to condemnin.
If it were to use legal ways, it always takes time to get up to the ladder unless someone stupid wants to do something else that is not advisable.
So, pls be patience and let it work, Im sure in a short while everyone will have different saying. Let the legal ways work.
As I have say before, no one is abandon anyone from the start.
written by Aming, October 22, 2008 22:51:59
I fervently hope the following scenerio would not happen:

-DSAI jailed for sodomy, thus PR is deprived of the unifying factor,
- PAS to split with a the Trengganu faction jumping to the UMNO ship,
- squabbles between PAS and DAP becoming too grave, affecting the united efforts of PR to aim for federal powers.

If any of

written by Sandy, October 23, 2008 01:21:16
Rainbowseahorse, give DSAI a break. Didnt he do s'thing? Look what happened. How many were sent to Taiwan? I think he did too much. He revealed his plan too early and was backfired. But then, who would expect the govt to use sush a dirty trick?

It's easy for us to critisize others. Both of them are muslims and I believe a muslim like him WOULD NOT desert his brother. Can we just be more understanding
and PATIENT? Stop criticising him! He knows what he is doing!

written by ChiaCY, October 23, 2008 07:47:34
I would like to share my conversation with DSAI and Kak Wan a few months ago. I have not make it public as I do not think it is necessary. I met them on the same day DSAI lodged a report with JAWI against Saiful.

I was posting a question to both of them, on whether Pakatan has the required to topple the Government.

both of them gave me the same answer: YES

I then asked, if Pakatan takes over, will it be a bloody? I asked as I told them I do not believe BN will give up easily.

DSAI said Pakatan is trying to do it peacefully, i.e. no blood. Pakatan will try all sorts to ensure the transition of power is peaceful. If there's any chance that the public safety is threaten, Pakatan will defer and hold on, until everything sorted out.

I got similar answer from RPK before I met DSAI, when I asked RPK why he anticipated the transition of power from BN to Pakatan an evolution rather than revolution? He was staring at me like I am an alien. And I knew that I've said something wrong.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 23, 2008 11:01:38
To ALL those DIEHARD & BLIND SUPPORTERS of DSAI :

ONCE AGAIN, I and others like me, ARE NOT ANTI-DSAI yah! As for our Bro Pete’s feelings regarding DSAI’s promises and open declaration, just re-read our bro Pete’s last posting entitled: HIGH-STAKES POKER GAME OR GUNFIGHT AT THE OK CORRAL? On 6/Sep/2008.

“Today, I received many phone calls from concerned friends who told me that the government is considering detaining me under the Internal Security Act ‘very soon’. If that does happen, then this could probably be the last article I write, at least until 16 September 2008. So I too need Anwar to succeed. If not I will be in Kamunting for quite some time to come and you will not hear from me over the next couple of years.

Yes, I too have placed, not only my money, but also my freedom on Anwar. And if Anwar fails to deliver his promise on 16 September 2008, not only he but I as well am headed for a fall. But I have confidence he will do it. And I have confidence that my stay in Kamunting will not be for two years but for a mere two weeks.

But if I am wrong…..well, then see you maybe in six or seven years time, because for sure Najib Tun Razak will not release me in 2010 when he becomes Prime Minister. What he would do, instead, would be to rollover my two-year detention another two years, and another two years, and another two years, until I am too old to think and write anymore.

Till we meet again, if we do meet again, take care and keep the flame burning. There is still a long fight ahead of us in bringing reforms to this beloved country of ours.”…

Now, tell me AGAIN, that our bro Pete did not put his FULL TRUST in DSAI to deliver as promised on 16/Sep/2008 which has since long passed, while our bro Pete is languishing in prison!
written by adamckteh, October 23, 2008 11:57:18
Let us all pray for RPK's health and early release and wait patiently for DSAI's appearance on stage. Please do not mumble or moan.
written by arnab76, October 23, 2008 12:29:07
Each time I launch my internet, 3 web pages that I go first for sure.

1) Malaysia Kini
2) Malaysia Today
3) Facebook

The reason I go to Malaysiakini every 2 hours is to hope for a better future for Malaysia and Malaysians. I am counting and looking for PR to take over and yet I knew its not going to be a easy move. The ACA needs to be independent as we know how MUCH funds they have. I pray that the innocent will be freed and the "smart chicken eggs" be caught. Resignation of the Malaysiakini reporter comes with a heavy responsibility and bravo should be given to her. Unlike others, hiding behind worst than a women and a baby. Mana maruah....dare to do dare to face the justice la....why scared?? if balls like guli then dont do
written by ibabonma, October 23, 2008 14:30:17
"Resignation of the Malaysiakini reporter comes with a heavy responsibility and bravo should be given to her."

arnab76, are you not assuming/considering that she might have been paid by Najis to leave? She must have got it from a source (Najis camp) but that source might have a second thought and chicken out!
written by Sandy, October 23, 2008 15:01:56
I love ChiaCY's comment. People like him or her are capabe of stopping criminals from committing further crimes. He is right. We shouldnt fight.

Rainbowseahorse, we are not blind but patient and understanding supporters of DSAI. We do symphatise with RPK. We can see clearly his sufferings, sacrifices, honesty, loneliness, you name it. One day, all these will be paid off.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 23, 2008 17:39:58
Sandy,

I and you and the rest of free Malaysians can and might even be willing to wait patiently for DSAI to make his “calculated” move. That’s NOT a problem for you, I, and the rest of free Malaysians.

How about for our bro Pete & his family? Is DSAI also asking them to wait patiently with the rest of us free Malaysians, while he (DSAI) is in “no hurry” to take over the government???
If the answer is “Yes”, then henceforth I am no longer a supporter of DSAI!
written by kksam, October 23, 2008 21:08:49
to those who shout here saying that Anwar had lied and whatever, can you all please send photos of you in candle vigil or photos with the "I AM WITH RPK" shirt? I believe many who makes noise here don't even have the guts to wear the shirt which i really can't and don't understand. Talk loud yeah action? If you think Anwar cannot help RPK, then what about you? Have you walk the talk? NO?
written by kksam, October 23, 2008 21:17:12
BTW, i've send mine in Sam's Walk With RPK. and i'm very proud of it