Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Opposition group alleges corruption in report against Najib

Opposition group alleges corruption in report against Najib PDF Print
Tuesday, 21 October 2008 21:34
By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 21 – PKR Youth leader Badrul Hisham Shaharin led a group of five people in lodging a police report today against Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak for corruption.

The group claimed they provided the police with evidence in connection with a number of deals to procure military equipment while Najib was Defence Minister.

Najib has been at the brunt of a series of allegations since he became the front-runner to succeed Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi as Umno president and Prime Minister.

Allegations of impropriety have surfaced over the proposed acquisition of Eurocopter helicopters for RM2.3 billion and the RM4.6 billion Scorpene submarines deal.

The group which made the police report today calls itself the Sekretariat Anak Muda Malaysia (SAMM).

They claimed to have supplied police with 21-pages of evidence implicating the DPM, including documents proving the authenticity of several text messages between Najib and lawyer Datuk Shafee Abdullah.

A series of text messages, which purportedly implies the deputy prime minister had interfered in the police investigations into the murder of Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu in 2006, was published recently in jailed blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin's Malaysia Today website.

Shafee was then acting for Abdul Razak Baginda, Najib's close associate who was subsequently charged for abetting in the murder.

Today, SAMM demanded that police reopen the investigations on Najib's alleged involvement with the murdered victim to show whether he had abused his position and power.

"We filed the report so that the proper procedures can begin," said Badrul, the spokesman for SAMM. "Otherwise, the police will say 'without an official complaint, we cannot start official procedures'."

"We just want to help the police with their investigations. We are providing them some supplementary documents to give them a head start."

The other four, who co-lodged the report at the Dang Wangi district police station here, are Aiman Athirah Al Junaidi, the information chief for national Pas Muslimat; president of Gerak Ramlan Abu Bakar, blogger Amin Iskandar and Wan Anis Adnan.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by onnetline, October 21, 2008 21:46:23
Badrul Hisham & Group,

Your actions are indeed commendable !!!
written by Amicus Curia, October 21, 2008 21:47:17
I wonder what excuse Mr. Home Minister will come up with when the police fail to take any action based on the report. Maybe I shouldn't hold my breath as he is likely to take some time to reply given the fact that the size of his brain is no larger than a pea.
written by Hello Keithy, October 21, 2008 21:49:24
Come on people, let him go. He's only earning that extra ringgit for Rosmah to do some shopping in London, Paris and New York. We Malaysians are generous enough to help beggars like our DPM. Afterall, he hasn't got much time left on this planet. He has to go soon ..... very soon.
written by Spear Bing, October 21, 2008 21:50:34
Here comes the fearless ones......Let JUSTICE be seen to be done.

NAJIB must avail himself and be subject to full scrutiny to clear his name from all improprieties. It must be beyond any reasonable doubt with an absolutely clean slate. Only then he is worthy of his premiership status.

written by hanisma, October 21, 2008 21:56:43
SAMM, it is courageous of you to demand the police in reopening the investigations on the DPM's alleged involvement with the murder of Altantuya Shaariibu and on corruptions. Make sure that after filing the reports there must be some form of follow-ups. BTW I'm quite apprehensive of the consequences that might befall on the 5 of you. I'll pray for your success, InsyaAllah.
written by educationist, October 21, 2008 21:57:01
I will not hold my breath to wait for any police action. I think I'll be dead long before any police investigation will be initiated. Look at Anwar's report against the IGP and AG - nothing till now.
written by cheemengwong, October 21, 2008 21:57:12
Can the police arrest Najiss for his own protection against those who make the police report?
written by DreamLady, October 21, 2008 21:59:57
Najib, you cannot keep running, sooner or later you have to confront the ugly truth. Remember I have already shown you the way to have a smooth path to reclaim your throne as the next PM?

Just do what I said before, you shall be fine. You do not have to keep swearing on the Quran, cos' it is an indication of a guilty person.

Good luck to you, that is if you have any left !!
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 21, 2008 22:06:33
As usual,like the many previous reports, nothing will happen. All will be swept under the carpet.The police inaction is understandable. Only when the present regime is out of power will we see criminals within the government be punished. Anyway it's good to make police reports.
written by arifmr, October 21, 2008 22:22:36
wah! suddenly all the allegation become evidence it really come from nowhere or may i say from somewhere that sleepyhead's henchman now going full swing - i'm going down, let's go to hell together.
written by Spear Bing, October 21, 2008 22:27:16
Dear MT Admin/St. Low,

Martin Jalleh of Aliran has written an excellent article entitled " GAME'S UP, GANI, TIME TO GO"

Can MT post this article now?
written by Bosan, October 21, 2008 22:27:42
I have this feeling that Abdulla is going to use his power as a PM and also ministry of defence to arrest Naj.. to show the world that he is not 'lembik' and gain back some faces and support from Amno and BN members.Expect Naj.. to be arrested in the coming weeks.This is a good chance for Abdulla to act.
written by StoneRiver, October 21, 2008 22:28:39
RM3 billion we get one squadron of 18 SU-30 jet fighter.RM1.4 billion we get one squardon of 18 MIG-29. With RM2.3 billion we only manage to get 12 helicopters. Simple maths, can explain a hold lot of things ???????
written by Atheist, October 21, 2008 22:34:57
SHA, please throw the policemen who took the report under ISA for threatening national security !!! After all, that's how it works, doesn't it.

Since there are 5 people, let prosecute Najib in the Syariah court since we have at least 4 independent witnesses. He won't escape as the Syariah courts are far more credible than the other courts these days
written by Mawar Merah, October 21, 2008 22:36:29
Sekuntum Mawar Merah untuk setiap orang dalam kumpulan berlima itu. Teruskan usaha bravo anda sekalian. Bilamana perlu sokongan saya sepenuhnaya untuk tindakan adil saudara. Terima kasih.
written by arazak, October 21, 2008 23:08:29
This Najis has a very big appetite of stealing the rakyaats' money. After robbing us left, right and centre from the dubious military hardware purchases, he now wants to do wholesale looting of our hard earned EPF through government crony companies! If he be our next PM, we shall always remember him as "Bapak Perompak! I hope our children's history book will also recognise him as "Bapak Perompak" Malaysia in the future!
written by malgal, October 21, 2008 23:08:52
Kepada keempat ahli SAMM yang sedang bertunjuk keberanian dan semangat berbuat betul, saya dengan segala hormat ingin memberi sokongan diatas tujuan anda.
Thank you for your brave deed and may God protect you in your endeavour.
written by chiongguo, October 21, 2008 23:19:06
Once you have made the police report it becomes a public document. Could you please post it somewhere on the internet....

The rakyat have the right to know.

written by chiongguo, October 21, 2008 23:23:42
Once the police report has been made it becomes public. Do publish it on the web.

thank you.

written by macanhitam, October 21, 2008 23:56:23
from this week onwards, there will be more group filing suit against Najib and Pak Lah will cross reference it with RPK until Pak Lah got strong evidence thus sacking Najib. The portfolio switching is for Pak Lah to convince the army forces who had been staunch supporters of najib. When that was done, Pak Lah will began an onslaught. Finance Ministers are jinxed. Hopefully najib will not launch a reformasi movement like DSAI when he was ousted cos im sure no pure rakyat will support him but only corrupted goons like himself.
written by GeoGeo, October 22, 2008 00:50:58
That's the right thing man. Bombard the same reports to all the Police Stations in the country. Give them no excuse for slow or no action at all. ACA offices should not be spared too. After all the reports done, bloggers & medias; demand response from the Plice and ACA....good follow ups.

Good work Malasians

written by bexe, October 22, 2008 01:56:24
Great, more should come forward so that the Police and ACA will be inundated with these allegations (as it should be). Soon they will feel the weight of these complains and their resistance will collapse.
BTW I wonder what has happened to the complaint made by Mazlan Harun & Kadah Shah?
written by Sitora, October 22, 2008 06:37:49
Why aren't the Police taking any action against Najib after several reports had been made against him? Is he being given immunity to the law in Malaysia that he can do whatsoever but not subjected to any prosecution?
written by Dongra Dude, October 22, 2008 07:26:05
The Police Department has no guts over Najis. The Power and position protects Politicians. If the PDRM can function without Fear and Favour, the first one to be arrested under ISA will be the Great Mahathiue himself. Our PDRM is there to protect the Government Politician who are rich and Powerful. So Police report will be another piece of worthless paper only as far as the Police Concern. But to arrest opposition member, people like Saiful reports his Arse has been penetrated, the PDRM will be quick to response and act . This is the SOP of the PDRM. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MAMR, October 22, 2008 10:18:50
WELLDONE PKR and WELLDONE SAMM, on your efforts to expose the WRONGDOINGS regardless of POSITIONS HELD BY INDIVIDUALS concerned.This should set as an EXAMPLE TO THE RAKYAT OF MALAYSIA in their effort of pursuing PEACE AND JUSTICE and NOT JUST TURN BLIND EYES AND KEEP DEAF EARS FOR THOSE ACCUSED WHO ARE HOLDING HIGH POSITIONS.