Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia to ease investment rules

M'sia to ease investment rules PDF Print
Tuesday, 21 October 2008 16:37

KUALA LUMPUR: MALAYSIA plans to loosen investment rules to lure foreign funds and will review guidelines to ease rules on foreigners buying property, Finance Minister Najib Razak said yesterday. The government will also inject RM5 billion (S$2 billion) to double the size of a local fund that invests in undervalued companies to reduce the impact of a global slowdown.

'We have to make Malaysia more competitive,' Datuk Seri Najib said, adding that it is inevitable that the country's real economy would feel the impact of the financial turmoil.

While insisting that the country will not slide into a financial crisis, he said its economic growth forecast for next year will have to be cut from the current estimate of 5.4 per cent.

'Malaysia is not in a crisis and we will not go into a recession,' he was quoted as saying by Bernama news agency.

He added: 'Yes, our stock market is affected by the sentiments in other markets but I would like to stress that we are not in a financial crisis, and certainly we should not talk ourselves into one.'

Mr Najib said the government may also review its budget deficit targets for this year and next, and postpone some infrastructure projects.

Details will be revealed on Nov 4 in Parliament.

Mr Najib said some investments and property purchases may no longer require the approval of the Foreign Investment Committee (FIC).

Industry players say top foreign property buyers include Singaporeans and those from the Middle East, Britain, Europe and, more recently, China.

The government last liberalised the property market in April last year with measures including a blanket exemption on real property gains tax, the removal of FIC approvals for foreign ownership of houses costing RM250,000 and above, and unlimited loans for non-residents.

The measures paid off, with developers reporting higher sales, more than half of which went to foreigners, and prices in popular areas up too, said property consultant Ho Chin Soon.

Real Estate and Housing Developers' Association (Rehda) president Ng Seing Liong said that this time around, the government might further relax the rules on commercial or industrial properties.

Not many analysts were impressed with the measures announced, and some said the government needed to present more concrete economic policies.

Bank Islam senior economist Azrul Azwar said the measures would not provide the immediate results needed.

'The results of the liberalisation will be seen only in two to three years. The measures do not really respond to the needs of the hour,' he said.

Singapore Straits Times

written by ahmadneil, October 21, 2008 16:41:20
Even if you don't have any rules,the investors are not coming back becos the exodus have began since 308.Only when Anwar takes over then it will be reversed.
written by ahmadneil, October 21, 2008 16:46:10
Flight MH 21 from Paris landed on time at 6:30 am,KLIA.
Passed through customs and immigration speedily without any hassle.Inspect some of my wines bought in Paris hoping that I will part some to them but,shit ,they won't get a drop from me,parasites.
Push my trolley pass the crowd to where my good friend Kamal is waiting.
Nice to be back after a long flight.Now rushing to pass some wines to Marina and later to meet up with some friends at mid valley.
Michael Chick,you have done a good job regarding the picture.Leave a few rolls for next posting.
MT,##
# 'A Malaysian Murder Trial to Nowhere'.Good job!'Guys,will catch up with you all later.Bye.
written by Jan, October 21, 2008 16:47:30
If a foreign investor come in and sees the majority of the population cannot even stand on its two own feet and needs crutches from education, employment to business it will put him off immediately. How can this country compete when most of its people don't want to compete? Then there are those stringent bumiputra requirements, red tapes and corruption at every level, you would be put off before you even step into the country.
written by StevenO, October 21, 2008 16:49:16
The government will also inject RM5 billion (S$2 billion) to double the size of a local fund that invests in undervalued companies to reduce the impact of a global slowdown.

The head honcho of Umno robbers is going to throw in Rm 5 billion of Malaysian hard earn tax to save their cronies from going bust. See how this robber use our money to help themselves intead of pulling you out of poverty.
written by Mr Smith, October 21, 2008 16:55:13
I heard on Bloomberg that the benefits of these incentives will only be felt in 2 or 3 years time. In the immediate future its ZERO, what more with the political mess we are in.
written by Mr Smith, October 21, 2008 16:58:00
ahmadneil,
I find it difficult to believe you, even though I wish its true. You are giving away too much details about your identity and movements. A person in your position will move 'in the dark'.
Or you are distracting your enemies by giving false information.
written by Liberace, October 21, 2008 17:11:26
Not only investors not come, we want to get our money out before Najib loses it all in the stock market buying up shares in his fat cat buddies' companies.
written by ahmadneil, October 21, 2008 17:12:58
Mr Smith ,
You have the bull eye! That is the best answer so far.Distracting is the best words.
written by malaysian, October 21, 2008 18:19:09
Singaporeans already own a large part of Johor, and foreigers the stock market.

When will our lazy government get off their "Lawatan Sambil Belajar" world tours and start generating our own investments?!

Just get UMNOputras to withdraw their ill gotten gains from the Swiss Banks and we will have enough funds.
written by cheekhiaw, October 21, 2008 18:40:20
Those thieves want foreigners to bring in their money so that they can steal later.

written by clarity, October 21, 2008 19:42:17
Isn't it a bit late to relax investment rules after 25 years? That was the TDM era until now where BN thought they can survive without the outside world. Now even Indonesia has overtaken us. And how can Singapore being a tiny island attract so much investments. They also lend money to other countries while we have to borrow.
written by vineeth menon, October 21, 2008 20:35:21
Does any one think that the investors will come in at this movement due to the world economic scenario and most importantly with this totally unstable political situation prevailing here in the country?

Government is showing the figures of the FDI flowing in. Did anybody checked out the amount of FDI flowing out.

Present Malaysian politicians attitude is.. lets play politics.. i don't care on what happens to the country or its people as long as my family and my associates are safe.I got my investments out of the country.I put my money in overseas bank and my country will borrow from these banks.
written by angkasawan bocor, October 21, 2008 21:12:43
The RM5 billion should have been used to subsidize petrol and food. We the rakyat are struggling hard with the rising prices. The gomen does not seem to care for the rakyat.
written by cruzeiro, October 21, 2008 21:25:43
Hahahaha!!

Now the pirates can bail out after the price is jacked up with the people's money!!

Wonderful economics this man suggests .....
written by merchant222, October 21, 2008 23:16:00
I don't give a shit about your shit you are taolking about. Like I said a few days ago, when my foreign business associates ask me about investing here, I tell them this will be another Indonesia as in 1998.

We toil and sweat till our blood seeps through our sweat glands and thereafter BN putras take it all away. I now warn all that in my analysis of what our Statistics Department collects in their data from the various businesses every quarterly is detriment to our business.

Why? you ask. If your kind of business is profitable, in years to come BN government will ensure that their "new law" of having to "apply" for a license to operate your kind business is a requirement. The catch is, must have a 51% UMNOputra partner. Don't be surprised that even a trading company must also apply for a license...as long as The Statistics Department tells BN your kind of business can make 30% profit minimum. This country is no place for business, please relocate now.

Don't regret; after all, we pendatangs are like penumpangs and we can squat any where in the world to operate our business, no need to be in Malaysia. I'd rather pay tax to the government who can take care of our needs when we are retired, than let a corrupt government to use our taxes to go on holiday costing us at least RM100K per trip disguised as official "excursion".
written by cubi76, October 22, 2008 05:30:08
Do you notice not only foreign investors are pulling their money out of the country, in fact local investors too.

And, making Malaysia more competitive is NOT through property investment. More buildings wont make us more competitive. Stupid.

Making Malaysia more competitive is to spend money on infrastructure, education, research centres, improve business environment, cost structure, etc.

Our nation lacks even the most basic fundamental of democracy, so how to make it competitive?
-------------------------------
http://sustainablemalaysia.********.com