Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow A Malaysian Murder Trial to Nowhere

A Malaysian Murder Trial to Nowhere PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 21 October 2008 09:41

By Jed Yoong 

Two years after Mongolian translator Altantuya Shaariibuu was murdered, her accusers continue to sit in a courtroom

Last Saturday it was exactly two years since a 28-year-old Mongolian translator, Altantuya Shaariibuu was executed and blown up with military explosives in a jungle on the fringe of Kuala Lumpur. And, despite what looked like a routine case in which abundant physical evidence and one confession would be enough for a guilty verdict, the trial of her three accused murderers has been droning on for nearly 18 months.

As the trial grinds on as it has for months, the elephant in the courtroom remains the deputy prime minister, Najib Tun Razak, who along with his wife, Rosmah Mansor, has so far escaped questioning or being called as a witness despite two statutory declarations and other evidence linking them to the dead woman. The questions over Najib’s involvement, or lack of it, are growing in urgency because he is now on track to become the country’s prime minister after Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi designated him last month as his successor.

The three standing trial are Abdul Razak Baginda, a 48-year-old former advisor and close friend of Najib’s, and two of Najib’s bodyguards, who were part of an elite unit specializing in protecting top political figures.

The latest twist is a set of text messages between Najib and Shafee Abdullah, who was represents Razak Baginda, according to an October 11 report on the website Malaysia Today, whose editor, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, currently is standing trial on sedition charges for accusing Najib of being part of the plot to kill Altantuya. In one piece, Raja Petra accused Rosmah of having been present when Altantuya was murdered. She has denied the charge and offered to sue Raja Petra.

One message from Shafee to Najib said: "We provided (the police) everything, including old PDAs and notebooks and a couple of bills. Nothing incriminating." Malaysia Today said the exchange raises questions if anything "incriminating" was kept from the police.

Malaysia Today also suggested that that the message exchange may indicate that Najib had abused his powers as deputy prime minister to interfere with the investigation. Najib subsequently denied that he had abused his power, told reporters the messages are "private" and refused further comment.

"Why do I need to comment? There is no abuse of power," the deputy prime minister told local reporters. ""Why should it be of major concern? The important thing is if there is abuse of power and, if you read it carefully, there is no abuse of power, period."

In any case, whatever the new revelations may be, Najib and Rosmah have remained above it all, gracing functions and appearing in feel-good articles in the government-controlled local media, dishing out platitudes on unity, friendship, integrity and economic management.

Those who exposed the more gruesome aspects of the trial like Raja Petra Kamarudin, editor of Malaysia Today, and P Balasubramaniam, a private investigator hired by Baginda to keep watch on Altantuya, have come under scrutiny. In addition to the sedition charge, Raja Petra is facing charges of criminal defamation for publishing articles on the murder while Bala has gone into hiding after being pulled into a police station to hurriedly retract a statutory declaration which, among other things, claimed that Baginda told him that Najib introduced Altantuya to him in a diamond exhibition in Hong Kong and that she enjoyed anal sex.

Local bloggers are the most vociferous champions of Altantuya. One wrote a gruesome fictional first-person account of how Altantuya may have experienced the murder.

The local media, on the other hand, have buried stories on the murder trial to the inside pages and commentaries calling for justice are rare.

The usual reason given for editors for shying away from the issue is that it is subjudice although occasionally photographs of Najib holding a machine gun or detonating a bomb, and Rosmah aiming a rifle are published in relation to stories on the Defence Ministry, which Najib also heads.

Najib has been widely reported to have been involved as defense minister in a series of unsavoury purchases of submarines, jet fighter planes and other armaments on which individuals close to him, including Razak Baginda, and the United Malays National Organisation earned vast “commissions.” There is strong circumstantial evidence that Altantuya was the translator on at least one of the series of transactions involving the submarine purchases.

There are other questions over how somehow Abdul Razak was allegedly able to involve Najib’s bodyguards in the murder without Najib’s knowledge. Abdul Razak reportedly spoke with Najib’s chief of staff to ask for someone to “do something” about Altantuya, who was harassing him for money after he attempted to end their affair. One of the two bodyguards confessed to the murder, but the confession was stricken, allegedly because the statement wasn’t cautioned. Numerous amounts of other evidence have been tossed out in the marathon case, raising suspicions that the proceedings are being drawn out to prepare for either acquittals or diminished sentences for the three, perhaps to keep them from pointing the finger at Najib.

Now the former premier, Mahathir Mohamad, has come to Najib's defence. He told The Star on Oct 18, that there is a "concerted effort" to demonise Najib. "“I faced all that before. I was labelled many things and was accused of everything," Mahathir said, referring to the countless allegations levelled against him, including fomenting judicial corruption, since he retired.

- Asia Sentinel

written by gx27, October 21, 2008 09:54:28
hello Mahatiu,
just shut up lah will u?
malaysians had enough of you lah.
we are interested to know whatever you faced. you are just like a mad dog now.
worst still, promoting someone scumbag to become the anmo president.
that shows your integrity and morality as a person.
you are disgrace to all the mamaks.
written by lamakawan, October 21, 2008 09:55:49
Someone please pass a motion in Parliament and subpoena Najib and his wife to testify before Najib is declared as prime minister. this must be an emergency meeting because the country is at stake. The prime minister of the country cannot be holding a bagful of allegations of crime. This is urgent.
agree 123
written by krising1, October 21, 2008 09:58:14
The sad thing is that how do people with these type of allegation hanging over their he*** manage to sleep with a good conscience. Not only that. They also aspire to become PM of the country. What kind of respect will this country and the leaders get from other leaders?

Good work Jed. We have to keep the issue alive with this type of write ups. We have to let the perpetrators of such heinous crimes that they will get away scot free so easily!
written by biggun129, October 21, 2008 10:19:32
Its real murder!!! Its not Concert!!! Mahathir say is 'Concert', plese stand in the withness stand in the court and repeat the kind of words, Mahathir should be charge 'PERJURY', and sentence to jail!!!
written by Susanna, October 21, 2008 10:22:08
God cannot be mocked! The real jokers are those accomplices who think they can fool God ... help cover their tracks with more and more untruths to help them get away with murder!
written by Hello Keithy, October 21, 2008 10:28:49
This is the law of Malaysia - "law of the jungle". The judiciary is hand-picked by the PM and court cases are just buying time because we Malaysians "mudah lupa". In the case of rape and murder of Cannine Ong (God rests her soul), the murderer (May Allah shit on him) found guilty and sentenced to death is still enjoying life in prison. Who knows he may have been back to his kampong for Raya. In the case of Altantuya's murder and blasted to pieces, high profile people are involved and this may even drag longer. This is Malaysia for you.
written by Counterpointer, October 21, 2008 10:36:07
There is no abuse of power

Najib, to back up your statement, can you please locate this missing person above and his family, set up a press conference to let the world know whether you speak Najis or the truth?
written by Dongra Dude, October 21, 2008 10:37:24
Don't worry, all the three accused will be freed when Najis takes over as PEE Em on Technical ground. The Court will delver a verdic saying " The prosecution has failed to establish a Prima Facie case against the aqccused. A T.K.O is likely to happen. Malaysia Boleh. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Spear Bing, October 21, 2008 10:48:12
His reputation is tainted with scandals after scandals. His character is flawed.

Why does he wants to become PM in waiting? Why does want to bring the nation to shame and ridicule? He has more than sufficient riches, properties etc inherited from his late father, besides his own investment, that he could not even finish in his lifetime. Look at his multi-millionair brother in CIMB.

He can continue to galavant if he remains as a private citizen, free from the glare of public scrutiny.

He cannot and must not be the PM for Malaysia. The Court of Public Opinion must continously raise what will be future repercussions of top government leader whose hands are soiled with such controversies.

Beyond any reasonable doubt, he has to prove himself to come clean, deserving of a prime minister. Otherwise, the nation and its rakyat will suffer.
written by adan, October 21, 2008 10:54:53
DR.M. 'I WAS LABELLED MANY THINGS AND ACCUSED OF EVERYTHING "

WHAT HE DID NOT SAY IS....' NOTHING HAS HAPPENED TO ME AND NOTHING WILL HAPPEN TO ME AS LONG AS THE SYSTEM OF LAW ENFORCEMENT AND THE JUDICIARY I HAVE LEFT BEHIND IS KEPT INTACT. THIS IS WHY I WILL SUPPORT AND CONSPIRE WITH ANYONE WHO STANDS AGAINST ALL REFORMS.'
written by DreamLady, October 21, 2008 11:06:08
Mahathir, which side of the fence you are in now? I remember you said recently najib can never be a good PM because of the scandal, why the change of opinion?

old man, what is actually brewing up yours sleeves??? Tell all Malaysians who bundled Anwar and his supporters into the cells?? who gave out instruction to give Anwar a black eye? Who was the one who framed anwar with 1st sodomy???

IT IS YOU!! you choose to believe the 2nd sodomy is true. Use your head and your common sense, How could a man of 63 with severe back injuries to force on a strong young to perform anal sex???

By the way, it was you who are responsible for his bad back,your igp gang trashed anwar with heavy object on his back and someone in your circle put poison in Anwar's food while he was in prison. It was due to quick thinking of the doctor that anwar's life was save....

You have no business in Attantuya's murder court case. you have no business to say good things about najib unless you have an axe to grind....
written by raven1958, October 21, 2008 11:10:05
Chua Soi Lek says....if Najib can....I can....
written by DreamLady, October 21, 2008 11:13:33

Kenapalah you sebok sangat, nak hantar anwar balik ke penjara lagi ke? I fail to fathom the brain you have, kenapa nak aniayai orang, kalau tak suka tengok muka orang itu, tak payah tengok lah, kenapa harus guna kekerasan menindas mangsa?

Kamu adalah iblis of the highest order in disguise !!

YOU ARE PURE EVIL!!!

written by ROBERTNGTG, October 21, 2008 11:16:55
"Why do I need to comment? There is no abuse of power," the deputy prime minister told local reporters. ""Why should it be of major concern? The important thing is if there is abuse of power and, if you read it carefully, there is no abuse of power, period."

SO IN MALAYSIA, JUST BECAUSE THE ACCUSED SAY HE IS INNOCENT, DENY ANY WRONG DOING, HE IS FREE?? THIS IS THE KIND OF JUSTICE WHERE RPK AND HINDRAF LAWYERS ARE DEEMED AS TERRORISTS AND MUST BE LOCKED WITHOUT TRIAL?? AND THE BLOODY PEEM IS WILLING TO SELLING HIS SOUL TO VOUCH FOR THIS NAJIS?? NOW THE M*M*K DICTATOR HAS FINALLY FOUND A PERFECT SPECIMEN WHO WILL INHERIT AND BECOME HIS CLONE FOR THE NEXT 20 YEARS TO INSTILL FEAR, HATRED AND IMPOSE HIS WILL UPON THE WHOLE NATION. TOGETHER, THEY WILL REIGN SUPREME. DSAI, YOU ARE DOOMED.
written by MAMR, October 21, 2008 11:22:03
I hope Paklah has enough courage to direct Royal Commission to INVESTIGATE ALL ACCUSATIONS against DPM.At least it will clear DPM's name as I !! STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT HE IS INNOCENT !!
written by Daryl, October 21, 2008 11:22:36
You call it a TRIAL and I call it a MAGIC SHOW with important people disapperaing from the magic show. Bala is one of them...
written by malgal, October 21, 2008 11:27:15
For someone who continuously `dishes out platitudes' on do-goodness, there seems to be a complete lack of concern for a young lady supposedly murdered on our country's soil. Not even a gesture of sympathy to her relatives who had come to see justice for their loved one. Sad.
written by admiral Tojo, October 21, 2008 12:02:40
Najib and Rosmah are guilty as hell of being accomplices to MURDER. This, the people's collective conciousness has judged.
Salaam
written by Braino, October 21, 2008 13:17:56
If "passing motion" is so difficult, I think we need "Laxatives" ...lots of it1 hahaha!

The gretest jokes can be found in Malaysia!
written by oct, October 21, 2008 13:34:27
In other countries esp the developed countries, the head of state must be a person with impeccable conduct. No skeletons, no baggage, no taints. This person represents the country in all matters. We have read that some he*** of state chose to disqualify himself/herself if there is a slight element of misconduct. Well, that is other developed country. This is Bolehland. So any boleh person can become the boleh head of state in Bolehland. In Bolehland there is no shame on the head of state. If one day, real evidence surfaced and implicate him, then Bolehland will be known to have a imperfect head of state. Bolehland will become the laughing stock in the world. So, Rakyat before we are made to be laughing stock, please and please bring out the real evidence now and block his move to become the Head of state. This is the least we can do to prevent a disaster and humiliation in the world!!
written by zandi, October 21, 2008 13:38:21
All evidence point to Najib and Rosmah as the murderers of Altantuya...

Right now, I simply cannot understand why the Agong and UMNO, hence, the Malays in Malaysia simply standby to allow and are electing (respectively) a murderer like Najib to be Malaysia's next Prime Minister. Only God can save Malaysians now!
written by SamSan, October 21, 2008 14:05:48
I agree with Che Det.There has been a concerted effort to demonise our dear Najib and his beautiful and demure consort Rosmah and earlier on, the same was done to demonise Che Det by implicating his highest and impeccable intergrity in the V.K. Lingam Judge fixing scandal. I fully agree with Che Det until Dec 21, 2012 when the Golden Age ushers in and after which only Truth can prevail. So after Dec 21, 2012 I stand to reverse my stand.
written by DontPlayGod, October 21, 2008 16:27:45
The trial will be like a huge merry-go-round. It will be going on for a few more years!! UMNO will now have their own chief justice to ensure that this is so. After a few more years of this merry-go-round, everybody will get so sick and bored with this trial that they will lose all interest in the outcome. That is exactly what UMNO is hoping for! Yes, the perpetrators and murderers will get away scot free. After all UMNO is controlling the judiciary.

Such a scenario can only happen in Zimbabwe, er, I mean Malaysia.
written by SocratesI, October 21, 2008 16:31:46

If ever Najis Rosak gets to be PM, the Opposition can move a motion of no-confidence against him for his role in the MINDEF purchases, and his role in the Murder of Altantuya, and vote him and Barisan Najis out of office immediately.

Maha-Shithead is exactly just that, a Maha-Shithead, and therefore will have only biased opinions, and rose-tinted glasses on his nose, that will filter out all the unpleasant facts about the Maha-Shithead's 3rd Reich and Najis' sordid past ! Another term for it is selective Amnesia ...

written by Futurist, October 21, 2008 16:55:22
I'm not guilty. I've sworn over the HOLY BOOK.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 21, 2008 17:02:39
We all know this trial is a sham. May the curse of the people of Malaysia nad Mongolia be on the perpetrators of this sham trial.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 21, 2008 17:09:01
LETS SEND THE MURDERERS OF ALTANTUYA TO HELL!
written by Limau, October 21, 2008 18:05:19
It has been the trend in our Country to forget things after sometime, so they are just buying time so as we will forget the whole matter. Ooi, we are the new generation of Malaysia, we are not like our forefathers to forget things or to forgive without punishments, we are all out to see the outcome and to make sure the culprit to face the tune soon, we will never let go at any cost. Right my frinds?
written by Aming, October 21, 2008 20:33:21
Isn't Malaysia being proposed by Pak Lah to be the Hub of Arbitration? This murder trial should be the very basis of their judicial bench mark as this is going to be the coveted case law of Malaysia to show-case to the international legal fraternity.