Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Author of 'Politik Baru YB J' responds

Author of 'Politik Baru YB J' responds PDF Print
Tuesday, 21 October 2008 09:36

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

KUALA LUMPUR, 21 OCT 2008: Datuk Chamil Wariya, author of the short story Politik Baru YB J in Mingguan Malaysia, said the piece was a fictitious account about racial politics and was not specifically about Seputeh Member of Parliament (MP) Teresa Kok.

The veteran journalist told The Nut Graph in an exclusive interview that as a fiction writer, he could explore "all possibilities unimagined in the real world."

He said he aspired to be a novelist, and writing short stories was a start. He said he chose to write about a political topic as he was familiar with the subject.

Chamil, who is currently Malaysian Press Institute (MPI) chief executive officer, said the YB Josephine protagonist in the story bore no resemblance to Kok.

"YB Teresa can be vocal at times and disliked by some for her style of politics, but generally she is a responsible politician and responsive to her constituents. YB J is not.

"YB J is a manifestation of politicians who politicise race issues and have no respect for the rights of all communities," Chamil said in an e-mail interview.

He said his goal in writing the story was to call for moderation in political views, and to remind politicians not to incite communal feelings.

Chamil's piece was published in the 12 Oct edition of Mingguan Malaysia, the Sunday edition of Utusan Malaysia. At the end of the story, YB J is shot dead by a Chinese youth who shoots himself after killing her.

The short story as published in Mingguan Malaysia

The suicide note found on the youth's body states that YB J was a threat to racial harmony, and the assassin sacrificed himself for the sake of preserving peace among the races.

Chamil (pic below sourced from MPI) has been heavily criticised for the close resemblance in his story to the real-life events involving Kok in the run-up to her detention under the Internal Security Act (ISA) on 12 Sept. Kok was released a week later.

Kok has declined to comment on Chamil's short story as she has filed a RM30 million defamation suit against Utusan Melayu (M) Bhd and its editor on 9 Oct over an article titled Azan, Jawi, Jais, UiTM dan ba-alit-ba-ya, which is thought to have triggered her ISA detention.

DAP Youth and the Cheras Wanita DAP have both lodged police reports against Chamil and Utusan Malaysia for tarnishing Kok's image. They have alleged that the Malay daily and the writer were instigating violence against the MP.

Chamil has worked 36 years in print, radio and television journalism, including in the Utusan Group and in TV3. The following are his replies to questions posed by The Nut Graph.

TNG: What motivated you to write the cerpen?

Chamil: Since I retired from journalism at the end of 2007, I have set a target in my writing career, which is to venture into fiction writing. My burning ambition is to be a novelist one day. So writing cerpen is an apt start. I have chosen a cerpen on politics as I think this is a world that I know pretty well. Hence, Politik Baru YB J was written.

But I have also completed two other cerpen, also on Malaysian politics. One is about power struggle in a political party, while the other is on a highly ambitious politician realising his dream to grab power just like the Prince.

Was your story based on the events involving Teresa Kok? Why is the cerpen so similar to her case?

No, cerpen being cerpen is not about real life; and specifically, it is not about any particular politician, alive or dead. Cerpen are fictitious in nature, in which the author is allowed the freedom to explore all possibilities unimagined in the real world. YB Josephine was a made-up character that has no resemblance at all to the Seputeh Member of Parliament. YB Teresa Kok can be vocal at times and disliked by some for her style of politics, but generally she is a responsible politician and responsive to her constituents.

YB J is not. YB J is a manifestation of politicians who politicise the issues of race and have no respect for the rights of all communities.

The setting of the cerpen is the ups and downs of racial politics in Malaysia since Merdeka, which is viewed as a zero-sum game by YB J.

What did you hope to achieve with this story?

Generally, the cerpen is to enrich the Malaysian literary world, especially with regard to political short stories, which are lacking at the moment. So what I am trying to do is use my little knowledge on Malaysian politics to enlighten Malaysians through short stories. In Politik Baru YB J, indirectly, I just want to share my thoughts that racial politics, if you take it to the very extreme, is bad for Malaysia.

I am advocating moderation in one's political position, be it on the part of the government or opposition, so that the country can benefit from political harmony. Failing which, the country could end up in turmoil, as can be seen from routine news items in a number of Middle-East countries.

I don't want that to happen here. The cerpen is also a reminder to politicians not to incite communal sentiments in the name of politics, and not to take racial harmony, unity and peace for granted.

Were you ordered by anyone in Umno to write it?

Penning the cerpen is my own initiative, in line with my ambition to migrate to fiction writing. Nobody ordered me to write it.

How do you justify the violent end of the story, where YB J is shot dead? Is violence justified under the name of creative license?

Do not see the ending of the cerpen in a straightforward manner. View also what is tersirat (implicit), not only tersurat (obvious). I must stress what was murdered in the cerpen was not a politician per se, but extreme ideas, no matter where they come from.

The violent end in Politik Baru YB J must be seen in that context. But if one chooses to see otherwise, then there is nothing much I can do. Each of us has our own predispositions, depending on one's ideology, mindset and preference.

Do you think the cerpen incites people to act violently?

Definitely not. If the cerpen incited people to act violently, by now we would have witnessed a lot of political murders in this country. The fact that there are none prove that the cerpen has no negative effect at all, as far as inciting violence is concerned.

Cerpen readers are smart people who are able to differentiate what is real and what is the imagination of the author. They may disagree with the author's way of concluding the story, but I suppose they accept it with an open mind, noting that it is just a cerpen, after all.

While certain quarters take offence at the storyline and make issues out of it, the majority who read the cerpen take it positively and rationally. I am glad there are so many rational people in this country, and this is a good indication to move forward with more political cerpen in the future. 

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by MsiaCTzen, October 21, 2008 09:46:51
**** U
written by loosecannon, October 21, 2008 09:50:06
Slime ball. If you really want a good story to write, how about one about a beautiful Mongolian woman who got murdered in Malaysia because she knows too much? Now that is a damn good story that will make you famous. Why, they might even give you free boarding for live at Kamunting.
written by truthbespoken, October 21, 2008 09:51:03
Chamil is not fit to be the CEO of MPI. No matter what he says now, damage has already been done.

The story was not written in good faith. The people are not fools not to be able to tell what or who he infers to. His words now are words of dishonesty!
written by ellyna, October 21, 2008 09:55:09
Oxy Moron!!!!!! You know what you can do with your cerpen!!!
written by BennyG, October 21, 2008 09:57:00
Chamil, why don't you write a fictional story about a dominant political party led by a murderous big size woman and her gutless husband controlled by a mad man. How the ending of their demise is for your creative mind to decide.

After publishing, any knock on the door will scare you off your rocker.
written by gungadin, October 21, 2008 10:16:12
Datuk Chamil, we believe every word you say.

Do you believe us?? If you do you are even more gullible than you think we are.

written by kislean, October 21, 2008 10:30:26
Good Grief ! This fella has no balls to admit what he did and we'll accept his explanation that it isn't about YB Teresa. So it defeats his main purpose of writing the fiction and we'll accept his denial. Period !
written by Debbie, October 21, 2008 10:30:40
I am a rational person like one of the millions in Malasyia who are following your article. I am a rational person to say that I have freedom of speech and freedom of thoughts......so this is my rational expression...my middle finger..pls feel free to stick it up where the sun dont shine.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 21, 2008 10:31:34
Chamil, what do you take the Malaysian public for ? Fools ?. Your lame excuse is unacceptable.
===

"written by loosecannon, October 21, 2008 09:50:06

Slime ball. If you really want a good story to write, how about one about a beautiful Mongolian woman who got murdered in Malaysia because she knows too much? Now that is a damn good story that will make you famous. Why, they might even give you free boarding for live at Kamunting. " unquote

How about writing another "Cerpen" like our friend above has suggested " . I dare say you will have no balls to write such a cerpen.
written by Zapper, October 21, 2008 10:34:08
Malaysia do not need writer like this moron. It is a great shame that Malaysian Press Institute has this moron as their CEO. Such shallow, narrow minded person. Something must be really wrong with this country.
written by arazak, October 21, 2008 10:39:01
His balls just shtank after the police reports and possibilities of law suits!

Now he is trying to wriggle himself out of this sticky situation. No way, I hope those people effected are not getting him off the hook.
written by Foong, October 21, 2008 10:41:44
The face of a racist "Pig" with total dishonesty in words.
written by wes wong, October 21, 2008 10:41:48
As a retired journalist he should realize the what the meaning of responsible journalism is!!! Such a sensitive topic should not be touched upon during this period
written by Dongra Dude, October 21, 2008 10:47:35
Charmil Wariyah Bald Headed Bafoon, please stop writing short stories instigating racial conflicts, instead use your good brain and imagination to write stories for close integeration of various races in Malaysia. Bahlol. smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by jeffrey3005, October 21, 2008 10:52:58
Heloo do you think we are suckers and fall for your story...moreover your lame excuses may fool the goons running the country but not us the rakyat ..
written by Alice, October 21, 2008 10:55:10
smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif

Such lame ducks
written by gorshan, October 21, 2008 10:55:51
dear chamil,thank you for your clarification. your cerpen is a work of fiction and has no resemblance to reality or any politician. you also clarifies that as a fiction writer, you could explore "all possibilities unimagined in the real world.". thank you for that clarification too.

i now look forward to more cerpen from you. and i have a suggestion or idea for your new cerpen titled "politik baru YAT" ( YAT = yang amat terhormat ) in which this politician and his cahoot frustrated the effort of a certain communities,refused to allow them to voice their frustration,will not listen to their grievances and balks at the idea of equal right to this minority community and even went to the extreme of declaring officially illegal this minority organization and insinuated this organization has links with international terrorist network. a sympathizer,not of the minority community but of the same community as the YAT,determined to be a suicide bomber, then hatched a plot to garland this YAT with flowers garland hidden with c4 explosives at a prominent political function.this sympathiser believes he is a patriot and believes that this YAT is a disgrace to his own religion has gone against the teaching of his prophet of not discriminating against those of other faiths and race.

but of course this will be a work of fiction and has no resemblances whatsoever with real politic or politicians in this country. if you write this cerpen it will catapult you into international recognition you so craved for. thank you,God bless you and may you win the Pulitzer award. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Counterpointer, October 21, 2008 10:59:01
Kee Tuan Chye interviewed RPK in his new book under the chapter titled - What are your balls made of?

While RPK has already proven many times over that he indeed have balls of Steel, this sad sorry excuse of a cerpen author has just proven himself to be at the other end of the scale, his balls are made of nothing but SHIT.
written by Daryl, October 21, 2008 11:28:38
I am a Malaysian and voted for BN for the past 50 years. So, I deserved all these lies, excuses, corruption, bias judgement, weak PDRM, robberies, loan sharks, kidnapping and lots more. Come next election I am going to vote BN again.

Now you wonder why these politicians are so daring in making a mockery out of rakyat. You ask for it.
written by Ray, October 21, 2008 11:33:42
Muka Chamil ini macam puki tahi, nak berlagak pula.
written by Sinewy, October 21, 2008 11:44:14
May be the people have to give Chamil Wariya a chance to develop his reitrement career as a cerpen writer to Utusan. At least he can still earn some money for his twilight years. As for honesty, ethic and human dignity, what is that?
written by SeriousLy, October 21, 2008 11:47:32
What the hell? All the Non-Malays want UTUSAN in ISA! If the POLICE do nothing, I personally promise BN that they'll be history by GE13 or I'm leaving this country! I have never been soooooooo angry..What the ****! NIAMAH!
written by Admiral Tojo, October 21, 2008 12:48:22
I am currently penning a fiction about an author of a cerpin that ended up being hit by a truck in Bangsar for what he wrote. It is merely a fiction and should not worry anyone. Almost finished and will publish soon.

written by teohchye, October 21, 2008 13:06:17
Is this guy for real? Where did his datukship come from? He should write cerpens about a senile 82 year old man and his dreams as a come-back kid; or an aspiring national leader and his many adventures in Mongolia, Spain, France and Russia. Cerpens about a short fat lady with balls and expensive shopping habits should also make interesting reading. What about short stories on slime-balls and scumbags in power? Korek, korek, korek ah! I could go on and on and on........ Porah!
written by Henry, October 21, 2008 13:10:53
Actually this son of a bitch Chamil is trying to incite violent and should be detained under ISA !!!
written by Kamikaze, October 21, 2008 13:45:50
I have a funny dream last night. It was just a dream...

"The author of Politik Baru YB J had a nightmare. He was attacked and brutally assasinated by the supporters of YB J... That nightmare was so frightening that the author suffered heart attack and died..."
written by joeawk, October 21, 2008 14:20:46
he has a slimey look.
written by disgruntled, October 21, 2008 14:32:26
Listen you Chamil, I see your sarcastic face here in MT. You just don't write such provocative stories again. Such stories will not portray you as a good literary writer. I believe you have an ulterior motive when you wrote the story. From the look of your face here, a stranger will tell you you are out to find trouble once your story is published in Utusan. Take this a a first and final warning for yourself. Malaysia does not need such literary genius like you.
written by Susanna, October 21, 2008 14:43:37
Loosecannon is right! Alantuya murder makes better cerita. Why no write?
Enough of people macam ini trying to take us rakyat as fools!
written by Sinewy, October 21, 2008 14:45:18
Chamil is just trying to earn some extra from Utusan during his retirement years. He won't give a damn about what is being said to him. Neither would he give a damn about ehtic, honesty, human dignity and humility. He has just turned himself into a propaganda writer for UMNO. Just ignore him and move on.
written by lamakawan, October 21, 2008 15:13:50
In your interview as stated above, you said you wanted to be a fiction writer. But do you know you must have a very good imaginative capacity in order to write fiction? Your story in Ututsan is a direct result of what you have read in the papers regarding Teresa. there is no doubt that this story of yours is NOT FICTION. Please do not try to blough us ordinary people. we can understand what we read in the papers. Stop telling more lies and go ahead to try to develop yourself, and see if you can have that capacity to be a fiction writer.
written by ryan giggs, October 21, 2008 15:16:45
Charmil....looks like this fellow is another indon like khir. Amno dogs !!
written by disgruntled, October 21, 2008 15:30:54
A thought came to my mind. Since you aspire to be a novelist soon, there is hell of a lot of fodder for you to gather from your old comrade Mahathir a/l Kutty. He also has retired, and like you he is very keen to write all sorts of stories during his retirement days. You might get good training from him. .

written by advocatusdiaboli, October 21, 2008 16:49:45
Hmmm....Chamil Wariya, is this a malay name? Does not sound malay to me. Anyone care to clarify?
written by Sabahfan, October 21, 2008 21:53:21
DATUK SHAMEL WARIYA...

you live by your name... full of shame or shameless.......

you can go on lying as you like, but you cant fool the majority of people...