Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow UMNO General Assemblies for the Meeting of the Minds and not of the Clowns

UMNO General Assemblies for the Meeting of the Minds and not of the Clowns PDF Print
Monday, 20 October 2008 13:20

By Mansor Puteh

I was fortunate to be able to cover two Umno general assemblies when they were held in more cordial and informal surroundings and not at their new headquarters at PWTC.

The ones I attended to cover for the paper I was writing for in 1977 and 1978 were held at the main hall on the sixth floor of the old Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka building and the Nirwana Ballroom of the former Hilton Hotel now known as the Mutiara Hotel in Jalan Sultan Ismail, respectively.

Unfortunately, not much has changed in the way the subsequent general assemblies were held till now. And this is where Umno should concentrate on, since what happens in their general assemblies seldom reflect the attitude of its leaders and more so on its members; and nothing special or of substance had come out of them.

How is this so?

First, the general assemblies have never been used adequately and properly or intelligently, to become the place for the meeting of the minds.

From what I and everybody can see, they have become nothing more than the meeting of the clowns where every other delegate wants to be heard, and also to hurt the feelings of others, including those of other races and of their own kind.

This is unfortunate, as it gives those who have the brains to bring new ideas into the party which can benefit their members and those of the race which they claim to represent are missed.

The Umno general assemblies have become a meeting where those who wish to attract unnecessary attention to themselves are given a lot of space to do so.

The motions that they bring to the assemblies have never been beneficial. If they were of any importance to the community and the country, these could have easily been forwarded to their respective leaders who hold important posts in the ministries, without them having to wait for the assemblies to voice them out.

In the end, those who can attract attention to themselves by creating jokes and get the loudest laughs and applause will be able to enhance their personal standing and be seen to have ‘leadership’ qualities when this is not and is never the case.

Whereas, those who are thoughtful and more intelligent and better qualified are often dismissed. They may give views which are better and more qualified than those that the other delegates can ever think of. But, these views are never debated and approved. Those that are debated are often not the most pressing or important ones. They are basically grouses of the delegates.

Umno can reshape its own destiny and become a more important political party to represent the Malays and Muslims if they can start to use these assemblies properly by attracting those who are better trained in all fields, instead of attracting only those who are vocal, yet senseless or unreasonable.

And they should not be used as a meeting for clowns but be treated more like a congress, where the delegates and office bearers of the party listen more than they speak. After all, haven’t all of them been doing this for the last one year?

Why then do they need to say anything more when they have the necessary platforms to do so?

Umno should invite qualified and professional Malays to present their ideas and more importantly, their findings, on which new industries that the government should create in order to create new jobs which the Malay university graduates, especially, can go into.

And how they can further improve the well-being and economic standing of the Malays in the country and abroad.
These cannot be found from the delegates who do not have proper specialization. They can only come from those who have it.

And if this trend becomes an Umno tradition, surely, those who can and want to clown around in the assemblies in the future will find themselves to be out of place and the ordinary members of Umno will not be eager to support them to represent them in the party and the assemblies.

In the end, there will be less politicking in Umno. This is how they can get rid of the unnecessary intra-party bickering and misunderstandings that now seem to happen almost everyday even when the party elections are not around the corner.  

written by Mr Smith, October 20, 2008 13:30:13
"Umno should invite qualified and professional Malays..."

Unfortunately these breed of Malays, who have strong ethics or morality, have shunned UMNO. They are either apolitical or aligned with opposition parties.
Over the last decade we can hardly find any such 'qualified and professional" Malays joining UMNO.
Little wonder we see the same old clowns like Syed Hamid in the cabinet.
written by Zapper, October 20, 2008 13:46:11
Professional Malays know better than to be drawn in and be used. To transform UMNO, the leaders need to understand that there is no supremacy in any race in this world. There is no place for such narrow thinking either in Malaysia or other parts of the world. If you are smart, you need not advertise...people will know and be drawn to you. The underlying message of all TDM writings and speeches is about ketuanan melayu.

Look at how Hitler fails...putting a bullet to himself..that is the supremacy of nazis.

To all Malaysians who know better...think rationally. This is nothing about fairness...My parents never tell me that the world is fair but just make good use of what you have and everything is in God's hand.
written by malaysian, October 20, 2008 14:05:55
Which right thinking, true Muslim Malay, would want to go near an UMNO assembly? You'd have to put 'fairness' and 'equality' outside the door, and take up 'corruption' and 'racism' instead!
written by ibabonma, October 20, 2008 14:13:43
PERHIMPUNAN AGONG UMNO - kilang untuk megeluarkan pendapat2 supaya orang Melayu dididik untuk menjadi lagi bodoh (bersekongkol dengan BTN)... "Siapa memerintah pun sama juga ...korup juga, Nik Aziz lagi korup! Rafidah makan duit apa salahnya, Melayu juga kaya, lagi pun dia kerja siang malam...sapa nak bayar?" Bingung punya Melayu UMNO.
written by indianputra, October 20, 2008 14:21:10
I am impatiently waiting for the UMNO General Assembly either in March 2009 or December 2008. Will there be the Keris Show? Will there be superiority speeches? Will there be 'down/out with pendatang' speeches? Will it be held during Christams? (Last year it was held during Deepavali!)
written by taishan, October 20, 2008 14:24:45
UMNO GA is an R RATED event.

A time for open display of RACISM.
A time for bad jokes, equally RACISTS speeches and keris waving.
A time for discussing RIOTS.
And mostly a time for RASUAH.

written by SocratesI, October 20, 2008 14:53:32

As The Prerequisite to enter the Unscrupulous Moronic Nazi Org. is to lose your mind, how can the UMNO General Assemblies be for the meeting of the minds ?!! Mindless people meet and engage in mindless chatter/ twitter and it is more a meeting of the Clowns/ Badut !!

written by densemy, October 20, 2008 15:08:42
UMNO has not been a gathering of minds ever since Big Brother took over and gathered around him a non competitive, mindless pack of sycophants

To change from the present scenario will take generations... all the grass roots members of UMNO have one aim in mind... self profit... rather than the welfare of the country

UMNO has forced the young professionals away from politics through their ill thought out Universities Act. So there is no way that angry young intelligent Malaysians will become interested in UMNO
written by carribeanking7, October 20, 2008 15:30:09
I find it highly amusing and ironic that the likes of Mansor Puteh who writes an article condemming Teresa Kok suing Utusan likening it to"ISA of the opposition" Then going on to defend the lies spread by Utusan as "press freedom"
suddenly lamenting about the lack of "malay Intelligentsia" at UMNO general assemblies.

He is no less a clown than those he condemns.

The thinking Malays who are fed up have allied themselves with Pakatan Rakyat.
You could scour UMNO for intelligentsia the length and breadth of the country and be hard pressed to fill a minibus.

written by whlau, October 20, 2008 15:41:19
Very well said, Mansor Puteh!

This is the very essence of their assembly,isn't it? The fault lies at the top of the leadership. They are the ones who encourage the clowns to entertain them, just like the court jesters of old.

Can you imagine if the top leadership were to encourage the best minds to contribute their ideas to the party, their powers (the leadership) will be curtailed and they will not be as powerful to do as they please. How else do you explain the unending problem of corruption without any slightest end in sight. In fact it has gotten a lot worse these few years.

So, to keep the status quo, it's business as usual with the clowns entertaining year in year out without fail. Heaven forbids if anyone were to rock the boat during the assembly.
written by mob1900, October 20, 2008 16:13:12
Encik Mansur,
You must have been abroad(AFP: Away from planet) or in slumner for the last 25 years on what AMNO GA's been cooking. You sounded like you just woke up from being frozen in time since your last coverage of AMNO GA. Everyone knows AMNO GA is about BIG-MAKAN, TOKOK and BLAME-EVERYTIME-ON-THE-CHINAMEN(about to change, due to these being repeated every year). Wake up, AMNO have proves this is what they are and there's not a damn thing you and the rakyat can do anything to separate them from their FOOD and having the most relaxing time sleeping on the air -conditioned auditorium while their 'Masters' blabbles away.

written by ASK4u, October 20, 2008 16:16:58
The title should read: UMNO General Assemblies for the Meeting of the Minds mindless and not of the Clowns.

Anyway, no brain chemistry la Manses Puteh. The topic you post has got no Ummph! Who cares about UMNO. The intellectual Malays will never be anywhere near or be associated with anything to do with UMNO. Period
written by cruzeiro, October 20, 2008 16:20:22
Mansur,
It's about time you decide - which side of the fence you sit!
You write this when you claim to be an "artist/ intellectual" begging for "handouts" in aid!
This pseudo-intellectual posturings don't make your "profound" wisdom stink any less, after being an apologetic for Utusan/ CW's cerpen (while denying that you "support" UM) .....
Get a shower & Make a stand!

If I'm not mistaken, the word used to describe it is Hypocrisy or Denial
(In Malay, they also call such people "Lalang")...
written by cruzeiro, October 20, 2008 16:23:25
You write this when you claim to be an "artist/ intellectual" begging for "handouts" in aid!

======================

Sorry - what I meant was,
You write this after lodging police reports, becos there is a lack of handouts due to missing funds!
Isn't that how things work with these guys?
written by Sinewy, October 20, 2008 17:09:14
The great Hitler proclaimed the Supremacy of the German race and brainwashed his fellow citizens about it so that he can motivate them into a millitary force and laid seige onto others.
The Japanese brainwashed their youngs about their supremacy to rule others so that they can make them share their resources which they lacked in their homeland.
This proclamation fo race supremacy has done untold injustice and suffering to the human race.
Why should a human being wants to proclaim that he is being supreme to others? What sort of crooked idealogy is this? What more when such stupidity is manipulated by a future leader of a country to secure position and power for him to rule. A great race and a great leader do not need to shout supremacy against others and instead they should demonstrate great humility towards others. They should show others about their great wisdom and respect on human dignity and liberty. They should show others about their great human achievement and not human suppression like apartheid rule. So what is the purpose of shouting race supremacy to your own kinds in a time when everybody is looking at a world without boundary for survival?
written by cahaya, October 20, 2008 17:23:41
From what I and everybody can see, they have become nothing more than the meeting of the clowns

Probably due to all the money politics in UMNO, a common practice for the past two decades. Below from an AFP news report:

KUALA LUMPUR - A VETERAN leader of Malaysia's ruling party said Monday he had been asked to pay for votes in an upcoming contest for top posts, and warned that money politics would destroy the organisation.

Foreign Minister Rais Yatim said 'the majority' of United Malays National Organisation (Umno) members were more interested in making money out of the election than in voting for the right person. 'The majority of Umno people want to look for money and not for good leaders,' said Dr Rais, a member of Umno's decision-making committee who is vying for the vice-presidency. 'We have been approached under the cloak of assistance and cloak of contribution. (But) I'm not a player so you don't see my marks going up very high. If you want to be a good player, you have to say yes (to vote-buying),' he told reporters.

Dr Rais, who has been with Umno for over 33 years, said the problem of money politics within the ruling party should be eradicated or it 'will surely kill the party'. Umno, which has ruled Malaysia since independence, is holding meetings to nominate candidates for party posts after suffering major losses in polls this year. It will hold party elections next March. 'If Umno cannot curb this practice, Umno's future is done for because this has been (talked about) for the past two decades and it has not been curbed,' he said.

In July, Umno asked the country's anti-corruption agency to help it battle vote-buying ahead of the heated battle for top leadership positions in the party.
Dr Rais has only garnered five nominations of the 19 needed to contest in the party polls. -- AFP

written by Sabahfan, October 20, 2008 19:35:59
kah kah kha kah kah smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

MEETING OF MINDS ALRIGHT...

BUT THESE ARE THE MINDS OF FASCIST, DICTATORS, RASCIST, AUTOCRATS, PHARAOH, TIN-POTS, CORRUPTED, ARROGANT, ..........LUCIFERS....

Malaysian people should keep tabs of all these MORONs and blacklist them out of their lives...

every vote you give to any of them is worth a million pounds of stupidity..!!!
written by Futurist, October 20, 2008 19:45:51
Superiority breeds ignorance of others. They blow their own trumpets, because no one else would do it.