Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M: Study proposals carefully

Dr M: Study proposals carefully PDF Print
Sunday, 19 October 2008 10:14

PUTRAJAYA: Barisan Nasional must study carefully the effects of proposals such as direct membership to the coalition or having a deputy chairmanship for MCA before implementing them.

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said such a study would also have to take into account the role of Umno, MCA or MIC within the society, now that times had changed after the March 8 general election.

“Barisan is a coalition of various race-based parties. If it merely gives in to the demands of one race or party, then the others won’t be happy.

“The coalition needs the support of all races and parties. So if there is such a proposal, members will have to think about the implications whether it will further distance or attract the support of the Malays or other races.

“We are a multi-racial society so we have to be careful,” he told reporters after speaking at the Global Peace Festival at a hotel here yesterday.

Dr Mahathir said if the coalition should only decide according to the wishes of one race, this was likely to be the wrong de­cision as the Chinese population might have other grouses against MCA. “Whatever that is detrimental to Barisan is detrimental to the Chinese community.

“Barisan is a system that protects the interests of all races fairly.

“So, it has to think about this and get data before implementing such proposals,” he pointed out.

Dr Mahathir was commenting on MCA Youth’s call for the creation of a second Barisan deputy chairman’s post, which would be held by the party as the second largest component party.

He also agreed with Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin that the current campaigning period for the party polls was too long as both the Government and Barisan had to deal with winning back their voters and a looming economic crisis at the same time.

- The Star

written by InEffective, October 19, 2008 10:45:21

Barisan is a systems that looks after the interests of the politicians (including the non-bumi politicians who have sold out their constituents rights and freedoms for their lucrative incentives).

Who is paying the price ?
The politicians galactic successes are being underwritten by the rakyat.
written by justice, October 19, 2008 11:25:18
“Barisan is a system that protects the interests of all races fairly.

written by boeytahan, October 19, 2008 12:56:33
Mahathir,

Sometime ago, your memory was unstable and you forgot important things when inquired. Lately, your memory seems to be sort of perfect order. To me, that's senile.

Stop interfering in the country's policy making! You are expired just like shelf goods. You bad-mouthed all except your ownself.

Just stay put!

written by SiHangChai, October 19, 2008 13:03:27
Dr M should shut-up. He is no longer an UMNO or BN member. Stop meddling and let the new generation to ruin the country.
written by peter, October 19, 2008 14:13:38
I think that mahafiraun has forgotten that ALL the ills and problems - corruption, cronyism, police abuse of power etc, etc.., the bolehland govt is suffering from originates from him. I don't know why can't he just SHUT UP like other retired leaders.

Someone needs to tell him on his face: Nobody gives a damn about his opinion.

written by DreamLady, October 19, 2008 15:06:17
mahathir, you are no long with UMNO, but your voices are too loud. Jangan jaga tepi kain orang lah!!Biar badawi makes his own decision, even if it causes him bruises all over his body..

You have yet to be in the political arena, but you body and soul are already in. What an Arabian Camel with the Arab man on the Desert!! Disgusting behavior!!! Yu got to be ashamed of yourself, old DOG!!
written by allmenarebrothers, October 19, 2008 18:00:27
Ma Had Tail
We had enough of you. For 22 years you destroyed our country & you brought about misery, pain & suffering to the Rakyat, Judiciary, Opposition law makers, Lawyers, & many civil organisations. You also took away powers from our rulers.
You destroyed many of our democratic institutions. You took away many of the rights of the minorities. Your human rights record was the worst in Asia. You are no longer relevant. Please stay at home & cower in shame & seek God's repentence & mercy before HE brings you home.
Malaysia has enough of you & your evil & wicked designs & plans. HIS plans for the good of our country will prevail not yours.
written by Sabahfan, October 19, 2008 20:32:32
this proof that the Mahataik bin Mahafiraun is te defacto PM....

oiiiui Mahafiraun bin big nose MmmmmAk...

go home to the land of your ancestors... you bloody pendatang...

Mahadtaik had been preaching for 22 years, now u wanna you son useless Mukris to take over kah? Only your idiotic children has right to hold pm post kah??
written by archie, October 19, 2008 22:56:40
"Barisan Nasional is a coalition of various race-based parties".

In Dr M's mind, BN is only made up of UMNO, MCA and MIC.