Activist expected to be released today PDF Print
Saturday, 18 October 2008 21:17

By FARIK ZOLKEPLI

JOHOR BARU: The female activist arrested for allegedly spreading false information concerning the demolition of a squatter colony in Kampung Baru Plentong Tengah is expected to be released after the police remand request was rejected Saturday.

The 26-year-old member of human rights group Suaram, who was picked up by police at about 10pm on Friday under Section 28 of the Internal Security Act (ISA), is expected to be released on police bail at about 10.45pm on Saturday.

Her defence counsel Norman Fernandez said that the police requested for the remand order but he objected on the grounds that she has given all necessary cooperation to the police.

“We argued that my client will also report to the police station as well as attend court proceedings should she be released on bail.

“We also argued that she only uploaded her police report to the Johor police Internet portal,” he said.

His two co-counsels are Mathew George and Kuna Nadeson.

Fernandez explained that Magistrate Nazri Omran then rejected the remand request and ordered his client to be released on police bail.

“We expect her to be released about 10.45pm tonight,” he said on Saturday.

The suspect was detained overnight in Pasir Gudang police station before she was brought to the Central police station about 9am on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Johor acting CID chief Asst Comm Che Yusoff Che Ngah said that police were trying to get a three-day remand.

He explained that the suspect was detained for spreading false information that police abused their power by using water cannons and vehicles from the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) to force people from Kampung Baru Plentong Tengah.

“We took the action under ISA as we believe that the false information was irresponsible.

“The information can also lead to public harm as people can freely access it,” he said.

He added anyone found guilty of the offence could be slapped with a RM5,000 fine or imprisoned for not more than three years or both.

ACP Che Yusoff also urged the public not to abuse technology such as the Internet to spread false information.

- The Star

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Dongra Dude, October 18, 2008 21:32:54
Does it really that serious offence to be arrested under ISA (Ikut Sukahati Aku) . Soon curi Ayam also would be charged under ISA. Well done Home Minister. Remain unpopular and stinks like shit.
written by malsia1206, October 18, 2008 21:33:08
I would not be surprised the Polis would resort to dubious tactics and re-arrest her on some other trumped-up charge. Maybe not under the ISA this time. Going by what our Polis is capable (or rather incapable), be prepared for this expected turn of event.
written by HHKim, October 18, 2008 22:05:18
Anyone knows the latest ststus of RPK? The last we heard about him was he is being admitted into Ipoh Hospital. Can anyone verify this? All Malaysians are concerned for his welfare. Hope that Puan Marina and RPK are in the best of health. The arrest of RPK reminded me of Lim Guan Eng when he fought for the rights of a malay girl - and saudar LGE was ISAed and jailed. But today, he is victorious as the champion of the people.

Likewise, RPK will be one of the heroes once he is released. All Malaysians wish him well and may God bestowed on him his guidance.
written by devious17, October 18, 2008 22:32:50
The interior ministry (read umno/bn), it's minister and the PRDM trolls has lost the plot totally! For all you know, in the near future, litterbugs will also be ISA'd so will those using mobilephones while driving,those caught peddling VCDs will not be spared from being ISA'd as well. Sikit sikit - ISA! Apa laa hamid botak! pakai la otak! Magistrate Nazri Omran! I salute thee for serving justice as it is!
written by budakindia, October 18, 2008 22:32:55
And Abdullah said UMNO is not bullying the people! What a liar he is! smilies/sad.gif
written by Malaysiaputra, October 18, 2008 22:49:07
The female activist arrested for allegedly spreading false information concerning the demolition of a squatter colony in Kampung Baru Plentong Tengah

======

What about Khir Toyol spreading false infomation about YB Teresa Kok asking the mosques to silence their azan ?. Why no arrest by the Police ?. Selective harassment ?.
written by michael chick, October 18, 2008 23:14:38
written by varvoom, October 19, 2008 06:17:14
Come on Mathew George, make Georgian proud of you by helping this angel sue the pants out of this despot gangster, call polis.
written by A MI, October 19, 2008 07:31:34
RPK in hospital? can anyone verify? May Allah shower his blessing on RPK and his family abundantly. Ameen. Wishing him speedy recovery.

BTW RPK is Melayu and he is Royalty. Just see to what legnth some power crazy fellas go to even torture their own kind.
written by palani, October 19, 2008 09:14:53
PLEASE SAVE THIS ANGEL, CHENG LEE WHEE. i humbly request the Bar Council (Attention: Ambiga Menon) to come forward and engage prominent lawyers to fight this case. It is very disturbing to see the police using ISA for everything as though there aren't any other laws in this country. We have to put a STOP using ISA unscrupulously. TO OUR LEADERS: DON'T WASTE ALL YOUR TIME JUST LOBBYING FOR POSITIONS IN YOUR PARTY. THINK OF OUR PEOPLE AND OUR NATION.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 19, 2008 10:02:44
Just for spreading "false information" about demolition of a temple also kena ISA!!!

Then the DPM Najib should instruct the police to haul in that blogger calling himself "Ahmadneil" (actually a Malaysia Indian) under the ISA for "going" to Paris to "investigate" Najid and Altantuya being there. That is serious business as it will put Najib in prison for murder, i.e...once 'Malaysia Kumar Bond"@ Ahmadneil" has completed his "investigation" and obtain solid proof against the second most powerful man in Malaysia.