Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ka Ting wants end to Bumi equity rule

Ka Ting wants end to Bumi equity rule PDF Print
Saturday, 18 October 2008 14:16
By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 18 — The MCA has called for the abolition of the 30 per cent Bumiputera equity requirement.

“Economic policies should be further liberalised and equity restrictions which limit business development should be abolished so companies will be more competitive in this challenging economic situation,” party president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said in his opening speech at the 55th MCA General Assembly today.

“There are businesses already running but are suddenly told orally that they must have a 30 per cent Bumiputera equity and then given a year to meet this requirement. If not, their licences will not be extended. It has happened and is still happening.”

He said the policy was causing capital flight and that “the implication is when investors flee, these outlets will be empty and operators of office buildings and shopping malls are Malaysians. So there is a chain reaction.”

The outgoing MCA president said the implementation of policies was not consistent with the thinking of the Cabinet and national leaders.

“I have no problems with our leaders, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Datuk Seri Najib Razak, with their role in the Cabinet and Barisan Nasional,” he said of the BN chairman and his deputy.

“The problem is not the leadership but people on the ground.”

He cited the “prejudice and narrow-mindedness” of government officials in the handling of licences and tenders as an example.

“Before, it did not matter if a supplier was Bumi or not for projects and contracts below RM50,000.

“Suddenly at the end of 2006, a circular said this was only for Bumis under the Government Procurement and Services Policy. But I thank the PM and DPM for correcting it when it was brought up in the Cabinet.”

Ong, however, stressed that “we need a solution, not fire-fighting”.

“At the structural level of the government, this has to stop. We must put in place a system of monitoring where the private sector can reach authorities quickly to correct these shortcomings.”

He also said the public was “disgusted with politicians in the BN who make extreme racist statements or threaten other races”.

“Among them are those who have amassed great wealth soon after holding positions in the party or local council.”

Ong highlighted the issue of religious freedom as the government has given guarantees of freedom of religion as enshrined in the constitution.

“When a non-Muslim converts after marriage and then divorces, the authorities do not deal with issues such as custody of children and family estate according to the principle of religious freedom,” he told the 2,378 delegates present.

The former Housing and Local Government Minister also called on the government to have an adequate allocation for vernacular education.

“The MCA can no longer go around collecting contributions. Do not wait for us to make noise and then consider a new allocation so parents will not scold the MCA or MIC.”

In praising Abdullah’s plan to introduce reforms before he steps down in March, he added that the people were living in a state of fear due to the rising crime rate and the cost of living.

“We have seen the price of fuel drop. But how come the prices of goods do not drop as well?” he asked.

He said that all these issues created a “perception problem”.

“Umno is seen as being far more dominant and decides on important policies, then other parties must defend these policies in the name of ‘BN spirit’.”

“The power sharing is sincere from leaders but the perception is that it is just lip service.

“This must be addressed by BN and corrected. If not, component parties can do everything but people will not be convinced,” he said.

But Ong said he trusted the “wisdom of our leaders" to carry out the necessary “amendment of laws and even the constitution” to address the negative perception of the BN.

Comments (71)Add Comment
written by krising1, October 18, 2008 14:21:15
YOu are a brave man OKT! How come we never heard you speak like this before especially when you were a minister?
agree 126
written by chanatak, October 18, 2008 14:38:01
Wonder how long that UMNO will keep quiet over this demand?
written by jargon, October 18, 2008 14:38:23
OKT now u speak , when you're leaving. no use lah. too late. you're MCA Youth Chief braver than u.
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 14:44:10
Ong should have said this long time ago and not now when he's leaving. In fact past MCA presidents should have said this from the beginning and the Malaysian Chinese and Indians would not have to suffer so much discrimination from big brother party who said he's not a bully.
written by Mee Udang, October 18, 2008 14:47:02
Atheist,
Pls don make racist remark here!!! If you want to learn something, learn smart, don't wait for people to "SUAPKAN NASI KE DALAM MULUT KAU". If you don't understand this proverb, go ask any char koey tiao apek, they can explain to you!!!!
written by Caesar, October 18, 2008 14:52:07
Saying this is an important 1st step, but make sure MCA leaders do the correct thing ! MCA has an alternative (PR) now, which it did not have previously. Don't sell out the Chinese again...if not you & MCA becomes history.
written by mucking fuddled, October 18, 2008 14:58:15
“There are businesses already running but are suddenly told orally that they must have a 30 per cent Bumiputera equity and then given a year to meet this requirement. If not, their licences will not be extended. It has happened and is still happening.”

He said the policy was causing capital flight and that “the implication is when investors flee, these outlets will be empty and operators of office buildings and shopping malls are Malaysians. So there is a chain reaction.”

The outgoing MCA president said the implementation of policies was not consistent with the thinking of the Cabinet and national leaders.

“I have no problems with our leaders, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Datuk Seri Najib Razak, with their role in the Cabinet and Barisan Nasional,” he said of the BN chairman and his deputy.

“The problem is not the leadership but people on the ground.”

He cited the “prejudice and narrow-mindedness” of government officials in the handling of licences and tenders as an example.

“Before, it did not matter if a supplier was Bumi or not for projects and contracts below RM50,000.

“Suddenly at the end of 2006, a circular said this was only for Bumis under the Government Procurement and Services Policy. But I thank the PM and DPM for correcting it when it was brought up in the Cabinet.”

mr ong, you are such a naive twit,
have they ever, ever, ever reprimanded THOSE people on the ground?
written by willove, October 18, 2008 15:01:25
Atheist, answer these:
1. If you work hard on your own and loan money to start a business, are you a businessman or a philanthropist?
2. If your business needs license to operate, are you not forced to include a Bumiputra?
3. If the Bumiputra refuses to learn or work, don't you still need to pay salaries or director fees?
4. If you are a legitimate business, do you pay tax to the government or not?
5. Is it your duty, or the government's to ensure there is equitable distribution of wealth?

Sorry, I think you are the SNAKE.
written by roadbarra, October 18, 2008 15:01:46
it is so sad that you decide to voice out now which should've been done long time ago, however better late than never. i admire your courage to speak up to your master.
written by willove, October 18, 2008 15:06:33
Be aware of this Atheist guy. He is either a hired poison-pen or another UMNO moron.
Anyone is free is voice out and comment in MT, however our eyes are wide open for people like you.
written by ahmadneil, October 18, 2008 15:08:38
Are you trying to bark your way into history books?Go back to your kennel.
written by takbolehtahan, October 18, 2008 15:10:18
Well said Mee Udang, Atheist is probably one who doesn't believe in learning the ropes, he's just like umno, prefers to only take.
written by Hakim Joe, October 18, 2008 15:11:20
Hey Atheist, why should the Chinese teach you how to get what you have always gotten for free?
If you think that you don't need the other races, then why do you want to "learn" from us?
Use your brain-lah a bit...oops! I forgot, you have no brain cells at all.
What happened? Your IQ still hovering at zero?
Is that why you called youself "Atheist"? No brain, No religion, No nothing.
All you want is people to "teach" you for nothing.
Hey man! Beg me-lah. I might really really "teach" you (a lesson)!!!

written by SocratesI, October 18, 2008 15:21:45

2 issues here. The apparent one which OKT has highlighted - the 30% bumi equity of companies is how the UMNOputras Rob the hardworking Rakyat and target the successful ones, for a share of their hard work and efforts. This has been on-going since Maha-Shithead's time and Damn Zainuddin was a master at this UMNO game.

He would award projects on stringent terms to companies, whose owners would celebrate when they get the awards and "reward" Damn for it, little knowing that Damn has made sure these companies cannot deliver on the projects and then Damn will play the part of a good Samaritan and offer to take over their companies, and as if by magic, the terms are re-negotiated and the Damn companies can deliver the projects after all !

Issue No.2 is more important here. This is not bravado on the part of OKT. This is a repeat of 1998 of the start of Operasi Lallang where at that time, Najis Rosak and Lee Kim Sai were the 2 actors raising racial temperatures to a crescendo so that Maha-Shithead can declare emergency rules and chuck 100 people under the ISA.

This is a repeat by OKT on the MCA side, and someone on the UMNO side will "take offense" and repeat 1998 and Najis Rosak will copy his Puppet master Maha-Shithead and get our Opposition leaders arrested under the ISA !! Let us ignore OKT and not fall for such a dastardly trick ... bankrupt of ideas, Barisan Najis, trying to use old ones that have worked in the past !!!

written by george3, October 18, 2008 15:23:29
Moron Atheist Anjing,

You forget is the `snake' who feeds from womb to tomb?

How? There are chinese businessman who so happen are crook and you can call them snake, but not all chinese are crook and you cannot call all of them are snake! The crook snake could be chinese, Malay, Indian and make huge money and government will collect tax and then after after that using the balance money to they feed you..So you know how the snake feeds you! you should thank you to the snake who feed anjing like you!

You are very shallow minded, moron and racist and act like anjing, (anjing tersepit). So i call you only anjing who behaves like a pig and moron mind!

RPK will cry and may commit suicide if he knows that you are a malaysian with such a narrow minded and shallow thinker like `katak bawah tempurung` and make this racist remark!

U SHOULD BE DETAIN UNDER ISA!

written by ASK4u, October 18, 2008 15:25:08
Why only now? I thought MCA was lobbying for a non-race base party (Couple of months back, they were contemplating opening up MCA to non Chinese). If UMNO is their big brother as they claim, why did they forget about their younger brother, MIC. Can also ask for 3 deputies for BN, one from each race. Anyway, this is not my point. MIC can rot in "hell" for all I care. I smell something fishy. MCA is leveraging on PAKATAN RAKYAT's strength (and their threatening rhetoric of taking over Govt) and is holding UMNO ransom by the b@lls. What an opportunist MCA is. How to trust this fellows when in difficult times they send a 'subtle' msg of breaking away from BN if their grievances are not heard. MCA, you can join MIC in "hell" too. People won't fall for any of this trick anymore. Come GE13, you will also be wiped out into oblivion.
written by Dongra Dude, October 18, 2008 15:30:25
Kudos OKT, firing your last salvos at BN Leadership. Voicing this kind of remarks should had been practiced from the day you took over the MCA Leadership from the Corrupted Goon Tun @#$%LLS. The BN Leadership would shun off and pay no attention to your remarks because they are getting a new MCA President today and he will be well taken care off and will be in their secret payroll. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by SocratesI, October 18, 2008 15:30:38
Atheist,

You sorry excuse for a human being. We Chinese compete and kill off one another's business and other races business just the same, for your info. join any Chinese-run company and you will find out there is no such thing as special discounts and "pakat-ing" amongst Chinese companies, Fool !!

Why should we teach you or anybody else what we learnt through our hard work and bitter experiences ?? Go to Hell, Atheist. Go and work an honest day's work and learn by yourself !! We don't owe you a living !!

For your info. the sleeping partners the Chinese, Indian and other companies (including many a multinational) have are those who just want a share of the profits without having to do any work for it. Easy money for lazy people ... like you, Atheist, son of a snake !!

For your information, I have worked in many a bumi owned company before who hire mostly Chinese and Indians employees and then have Phantom "employees" on their payrolls just to maintain their bumi status for their companies.
Eat your heart out, Atheist Loser !!
(Edited by st low for racist comment)
written by Dongra Dude, October 18, 2008 15:36:01
Kudos OKT, your firing of last salvos at BN Leadership quite remarkable. But it should have been from the day you took over the MCA leadership from the corrupted Tun @#$ck LLS. Anyway your fiery remarks and comments would be shunned off by the BN leadership cause you will be replaced by a new President today and he will be well taken care and he will be silent untill he enrich himself. Happy retiring OKT. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by FFT, October 18, 2008 15:38:14
Nothing but a sad wayang kulit by Ong $$Ka-Chiing$$ to entertain the MCA morons at the General Assembly. After his speech, he will go back to his masters in UMNO to lick their boots, and maybe be a bit susceptible to bending over for Najib.
written by Dongra Dude, October 18, 2008 15:39:20
Kudos OKT. Your last salvos mean nothing to BN Leadership. You bark at the wrong Mountain. Your new President will be well taken care by the BEE EN Leadership not to bark at the boss.
written by ASK4u, October 18, 2008 15:43:41
Socratesl wrote:

Issue No.2 is more important here. This is not bravado on the part of OKT. This is a repeat of 1998 of the start of Operasi Lallang where at that time, Najis Rosak and Lee Kim Sai were the 2 actors raising racial temperatures to a crescendo so that Maha-Shithead can declare emergency rules and chuck 100 people under the

george3, pls take note. A point to ponder. My humble request. I know you're hurt and so am I. Kindly refrain from profiling and racial slur. Guys, try to be magnanimous. Don't fall into the trap. Take note. Remember what RPK said, don't fall into this dangerous trap. Cheers.

written by Heaven8402, October 18, 2008 15:51:00
Get a real life, Atheist!
As Chinese sayings; Don't blame the floor is not flat if you can't dance!
Yours is a case of "ENVY". The Chinese work real hard in this country. We don't get special discounts, treatments, etc...
You ought to blame the goverment today for "creating" a person like you but first and foremost, blame YOURSELF!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by benny loh, October 18, 2008 15:55:53
So this is SHOUTING LOUDER (when leaving)
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-lord.html
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 16:03:04
To people like Atheist the non bumiputra companies must all run like welfare organisations then only they are satisfied. Non bumi companies must give and give and the privileged recipients sit on their fat asses contributing nothing except with their grubby paws outstretched and their mouths wide open.
They do not for one moment think how hard it is for the companies to be successful with all the hard work and risks taken. They just want their pound of flesh! When they don't get it they get arrogant and wave kerises and use licences and permits to force it out of us. Then they demand we shouldn't even question their actions because it's their birthright. So under the cicumstances do you think the non bumi companies can prosper especially under a slumping world economy? Under the circumstances do you think the non bumi companies will want to stay and continue to pay taxes and contribute to the local economy?
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 16:12:08
st low, you shouldn't have edited atheist's post. This debate here gets too one-sided if we run out of people like him. We are all matured people and should debate like one.
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 16:22:47
atheist, I can understand your predicament. You should not depend on anybody esp the govt. Depend on yourself, work hard and you will be recognised.
No chinese company will want to hire me if I can't prove myself and neither do they give me any advantage over the bumiputra.
You seem to have a wrong perception of the non bumi companies, remember all they care is to make a profit for their shareholders and they are not charitable companies, not to the bumis and definitely not to non bumis either.
written by Kyle, October 18, 2008 16:43:22
I bet he has 'gathered' enough $$$ and since he is leaving with nothing
else to lose, and in order to get some extra votes for his elder brother,
he is doing what he and other leaders should have done long ago -
Ask for JUSTICE for ALL MALAYSIANS !

It's too late and not better than never.
No matter how true, it's plain useless.
Does anyone really expect there'll be a change under shitty BN ?
Even the Rulers have issued a statement 'ordering' the Rakyat
to maintain the status-quo. (The way I see it.)

It should be One Nation, One System.
Not One Nation, Two Systems !

written by A MI, October 18, 2008 16:49:34
Hang on people!!! Before you jump with joy with tears in your eyes for the "bravery of OKT" or before you send more kudos messages to OKT.

This is just a an AMNO ploy and being an obedient servant OKT is doing his job to stir malay anger and hence they will unite againts all Indians and Chinese. AMNO tried it with HINDRAF, it didn't sprak off an street violence that AMNO wants so badly, who seem to be exercising some restarint thus far. MANO is banking on malays uniing in the name of race to keep both Indians and Chinese in chek..

DON'T FALL FOR THIS SCAM!!!!!

If you watched yesterday's news on TV3 you will have observed how Main stream media has already been ordered to begin subliminal programming - with visual messages trying to stir people's emotions. How was this done? visuals of people demonstrating and protesting in various countries were shown..what other reason than for this than to fan discontent into protests.

EXCERSISE RESTRAINT..don't trust any BeeEnd member....

wonder what Semivalue will be doing next...they are all only interested in one thing- saving their backsides.

written by george3, October 18, 2008 16:50:07
Athiest, so now you understand that why BN particular UMNO,MCA MIC wouldnt help you when you are trouble?

It is not your fault or your ex-company's fault.

If you can think the problem rationally and logically, it is the BN lead government's fault!

Who is causing the:-

1. Malaysian university not even in top 200?
2. Malaysian per capita income < USD 4000
3. Malaysia car price one of the highest in the world?
4. Graduate salary now is slightly more than their peers 15 years ago
5. Cost of housing is 2-3 times compare with 15 years ago

Ask the minister of finance, minister of education and the most important the PM why Malaysian is a fail nation?

So do u think that the race issue is still relevant in Malaysia? We have the other issue which is more important than the race issue...

If we can get away from racial based education,financial,business etc,our country will be very much properous with our rich natural resources of oil from the ground (petrol) and oil on the ground (palm oil), rubber, etc

I suppose Athiest you would be so helpless `despite having presented engineering papers internationally for Malaysia.' I understand your situation as i m a graduate from Malaysia but our degree now not not being recognised by overseas, you tell me why?
written by george3, October 18, 2008 16:55:25
written by Atheist, October 18, 2008 14:30:12
The Chinese are really a snake .....

Edited by st low - Please do not re-post racist comments. It is enough that people know the gist of it. MT does not agree with spreading racism.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 18, 2008 16:58:21
If we say about competition, i think we should change from race competition to national competition..time for Malaysian conquered the world!! smilies/smiley.gif

We can emerge small companies from bumi and non-bumi..we should combined it. of course if the owner want too..
written by george3, October 18, 2008 17:17:48
Athiest quote `What I said came out of my experience from working in and for certain companies which abused their employees, especially me, subtly.'

If the company exploited, abuse and fired you, just report to the work ministry department and make them transparent and let us know the name of the company and we can boycott them! I dont care is a Chinese or Bumi company? If they are wrong exploiting you, they are wrong, but not all chinese are like that...But dont make a racist remark on the people who belongs to a particular race who exploited you..

`When you have a family to feed and new born children, one cannot help getting emotional when certain quarters abuse you, call you incompetant, a fool, useless etc despite having presented engineering papers internationally for Malaysia.'

You have to ask yourself, are you competent? Just a simple question, if you are a doctor, will patient come to you because you are good (understanding,caring,passionate) or competent? or just because the patient wants a doctor who is the same ethnic with you? For me, i will choose the best doctor, if the doctor is good (competent and with kind heart), i will choose him, i dont care whether he is a chinese, malay or indian or foreign doctor...

Ask yourself, are you really globally competitive and competent, hardworking? Dont fall into emotion, please!
written by alpha1, October 18, 2008 17:43:33
Atheist, i must apologise if i got your thoughts wrongly interpreted. Thought you are one of the racist. We are Malaysians ok! Chill.. smilies/wink.gif
written by HHKim, October 18, 2008 17:44:16
I tend to believe the incoming MCA President will be ballless also once he is in cabinet. He will probably say this - resolve all issues behind 'closed doors'. That's it. This is MCA now and in the past, and that is why MCA lost in last GE. MCA has been quiet on all corruption issues raise d by RPK and DAP. Dirty jobs let the opposition party do it, easy job like window dressing are done by MCA. What a pathetic party??
written by george3, October 18, 2008 17:50:00
You had apologised. For your our racist remark? Or the statement which make most MT reader uneasy? At least you are very brave compare with the politician Ahmad, Khairy etc...

But the root problem now is that are you still convinced that you cannot judge people from their race?

It is no point that you can apologise now and later make the same mistake again!

I doubt you will because people cannot be changed overnite, especially thinking...

This basic question to test whether you are true Malaysian or racist is by answering the below questions:-

1. Do u have any close friend other than your own ethnic friend? Do you take efforts to understand their culture?
2. When people from different race quarrel, do you think is a race issue or their personal problem?
3. When you choose your leader, is race your criteria/s?
4. When you buy certain products or services, you based on the product or service quality rather than race of people behind it?

If you have a close friend from other ethic, try to understand their culture,and do not feel offended when your race involved in quarrel with other races, choose leader based on leadership not race based, buy product or service based on the quality and after sales service, I believed at least you are TRUE MALAYSIAN! Correct me if i m wrong! Please
written by banzai, October 18, 2008 18:20:15
During the Jap Occupation you see Chinese RUNNING DOG.
What's the different now???
written by bananachinese, October 18, 2008 18:47:29
Hey,

Live blogging on MCA election here:

http://mylivingwall.com/v3/ind...-of-Blogs/
written by Tsunami08, October 18, 2008 18:52:43
Here's the next item on the script: UMNO would say, "Jangan cabar hak istimewa Melayu. Bukan saja 30% tapi 70%!!". I remember some UMNO moron said it during a convention once. And then OKT, OTK, MCA etc will heel and shut up.

Because UMNO is not a bully, be grateful that we will not kick MCA out. Now lick my boots.

Are we to believe that MCA is a backbone of the GOVERNMENT if they have to rant about this in their annual convention? What are cabinet meetings for? Morons indeed.

Sound familiar?

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Panca Indera, October 18, 2008 18:55:19
You lot NEVER LEARN ! or is it you are all showing your true colours!

OKT mentioned that the 30% quota be abolished and everybody jump on the bandwagon to defend or attacked the issues as Chinese, Malays and nobody give two hoots to the Indians who were Malaysia Cheap labors for decades.

AS long as we see the issues from racial lines and try to solve it through those eyes we will NEVER BE TRULY MALAYSIANS!

Can't you people see the future for our children and their children as Chinese, Malays and Indians or as Malaysians? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by yellowwoman, October 18, 2008 19:15:37
Dear Atheist,
The Chinese may be everything you have said but they're not stupid. Due to the quota system, every Chinese company is LOOKING OUT for quality BUMI workers. If they can find one, it is like striking the Big Sweep lottery! If you were a top quality worker, they will treat you like gold. Because then, you will be part of 30% BUMI employees that is part of top management.

Are you sure it is not YOU, but everybody else around you, that caused you to have "certain quarters abuse you, call you incompetant, a fool, useless etc despite having presented engineering papers internationally for Malaysia.... and for "nobody helped me but only chose to exploit me when I was down and out."

Were you truly a star employee but still got exploited, abused, ignored because you believe you were a bumi in a non-bumi company?? You never abused your sick leave? emergency leave? Never abused your employer's time by doing non-work related stuff? Never ever did anything to warrant your employer's displeasure??? Never?
written by A MI, October 18, 2008 19:37:08
Chill people it is just wayang by a BeeEnd-behind licker...OKT is setting the stage so that AMNO can come out and yell loud enough to get Malays to freak out thinking they are losing their rights..and then they will unite behind the alleged criminals in power.
And for heaven's sake be united here; don't slur each other. ok?
written by Old Man, October 18, 2008 19:47:29
An out-going running dog who barks with his tail in between his hind legs!
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, October 18, 2008 20:16:59
He also said the public was “disgusted with politicians in the BN who make extreme racist statements or threaten other races”. “Among them are those who have amassed great wealth soon after holding positions in the party or local council.”

OKT should have spoken earlier on all this and made a loud noise which would have prevented all the shit that we are not in. Malaysia is going nowhere. BUT he too already made his $ as all the MCA leaders and other component parties. I have reason to believe that they are also corrupted but they know when to resign. So much for their smartness, there are those who are hanging on and still want top positions. Hopefully it is out of genuineness to serve and not "I want my share". So sad . Still not too late. Leave BN and join the opposition and remake our country. Try it.
written by lynn, October 18, 2008 20:57:41
Atheist, can u call yourself some other name here?

Don't give other Atheists a bad name with your racist utterances.

You don't like Chinese? Well, quite a lot of Chinese are Atheists too. Change your name now & advise us accordingly so we know.
written by merchant222, October 18, 2008 20:59:05
As far as our group of Malaysians are concerned, we don't give a damn to what the Bn government wants to do. In comparison between Maamaak and Badawi, the latter has been more righteous in seeking a country for all.

So, when my Thai, Chinese, Honky and Singaporean business associates ask me if they should invest in Malaysia in their relocation plan or in setting up new factories, I say; forget it cos you are going to see another Indonesia of 1998 financial crisis here when the UMNOPUTRAS don't earn enough from their big fat commissions. Not only that, they will take your shares "legally" at the end of the day. We toil and sweat, they just come in with their leather arm-chair instructing you to sweep the floor, make coffee for them and make sure you sign their pay-check, director fees, bonus, dividends and 'ENTERTAINMENT" expenses.

Am I patriotic???, Do you think I give a damn when BN rule is detrimental to our well-being and against our livelihood? Why is MCA TALKING KOK NOW???
written by No nonsense, October 18, 2008 21:45:11
Ong Kow Thing, Ong Kow Thing dont you see it is already too late for you to say anything. When you were in the Cabinate your master dont care two hoots about you and you mean to tell us he is paying attention to you now? You are truly the Ong Kow Thing everyone know. Please save your last breath cause you will need it very soon. In the mean time dont act good now cause you have never been. We saw through you idiots the last 50 over years. Please disappear from the scene please. we dont want to know how good you are cause you have never been and you never will.
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 22:16:06
Look who's talking. on the way out and now speaking for the chinese indeed. playing the race card. who really cares if mca no.2 in bn.
written by angkasawan bocor, October 18, 2008 22:38:40

Seperti Anjing Menyalak Bukit.

The dogs have been barking for 51 years, but does the "Bukit" move even a bit?
Expect things will be different from now onwards? Dream on ...
written by sydput, October 18, 2008 23:08:25
A malay guy has no idea what a business is? when they see somebody making tons of money from a business enteprise, he wants part of it. and it goes on and on.what the malays did not realise is that their own industries have been wiped out. All the makan stall/restaurant are tom yams and increasing number of nasi padangs.the malay kampoung house builders have been obliterated. nobody can build a malay kamoung stilt house anymore although there may be a demand for it. What about silver and bronze ware that used to be exhibited in olden malay house? Gone. Nobody makes them anymore. The crafstmen simply disappeared and their skill did not pass through to the younger generations. Same with boat builders etc. Paddy farmers? nowadays they simply lease their land to Thais as their sons are busy racing motorbikes or taken by the govenrment to furhter their studies and work in govenrment agencies.
KPDNHP, the ministry of domestic trade wants the supermarket guys to sell 30% of their stake to bumis. But the owners, especially Giant, owned by Taipan Jardine matheson, can't be bothered. Reason, they cleverly sold their hypermarket buildings to EPF. That is Taipan skill put to work in Malaysia. Take the british example. They sold their football clubs to foreigners, let foreign players in and it still benefits them, while malays put barriers to businesses by insisting on bumiputra's 30% stake.
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 23:12:58
The Chinese business people are only interested in making a profit and they wouldn't give two hoots who works for them so long as they contribute to their bottom line. One group of people whom they hate most are people who think the whole world owes them a living and who sits on their fat ass doing little to justify their salaries. If you belong to this group you should by now realise why you are "discriminated" Don't blame the Chinese, to them there's no such thing as a privileged race, you have to earn your keeps whoever you are.
written by denkoh, October 19, 2008 00:18:47
i tell my friend to invest oversea cause in malaysia, they have to give away free share to "mau duit, tak mau kerjo" ppl hahahahaha smilies/grin.gif
written by denkoh, October 19, 2008 00:24:08
Bumi mana boleh dapat free share?

bumiputera!!!!! yeh!!!

betul...jawapan muktamad

actually the more efficient system is to Tax Vincent Tan kau kau... then distribute it to the poor bumiputera who really needs it.. but don't distribute to any political-linked members..eg. BN.
written by denkoh, October 19, 2008 00:30:40
Don't blame atheist. He is a victim of the system.
Anyway Atheist, the real ppl who took your rights from you are ppl like mahaatir,indonesian like khirr toyol, rafeedah, not to forget, these ppl have many many more proxies working on their behalf who took what you thought you can get. Seriously, cina buat business, tax tak boleh lari punya(takut lesen gantung) kecuali underground business..mana itu duit tax pigi? you fikir sendiri la. smilies/cool.gif
written by Jan, October 19, 2008 00:40:57
Let's face it the Malays are generally not a business minded people.
They can go on forcing the 30% equity out of the non bumiputras but they can never succeed if they do not change their attitude. As a people they lack the propensity for sheer hard work and this coupled with a very indulging govt that gives out crutches freely makes them less inclined to take risks.
The govt did not fail for lack of trying in fact the govt has done everything to help them, APs, permits, licences, contracts and even loans but they still fail. Why? Because they simply take the easy way out and pass whatever contract they got to the guy who can do it for a fee.
Then they blame their failure on the Chinese for not teaching them. Working hard is an attitude and taking risks is something you acquire thru years of experience, it's never taught.
Therefore to go on like this is going to cause the country to lose its competitiveness if it's not already lost. The world economy is at a very fragile stage and demands every citizen to stand up and compete not wait for handouts to fall from the sky. If the bumis can't do it, just stand aside and let others do it or at the very least not to put obstacles to an already very difficult environment.
written by InEffective, October 19, 2008 01:09:44

The perpetrator of racial nationalism seeks some popular relevance.

I think all us malaysians (all races) should boot these buggers out.
Directly accountable for creating a tiered-rights society.
written by The Hammer, October 19, 2008 01:18:50
Aiya so simple lah, all Chinese people should get involve in any business that deals with this GOD created beautiful fat creature called PIG! Yes, this animal will do the trick. No need to provoke the imbecile, oxynoron, UMMO soper race Olang BUMIPUTRA! WHY! Want to create another backlash! Want your funny looking picures to be ripped! No offence to the police in general (PIG)
Do you this animal is very SMART! Smarter that a dog! Yeah go and buy BABE! and enjoy the show; pass a copy to them as well. Who knows they too may want be involve! Semua boleh in BOLEHLAND!
written by Sinewy, October 19, 2008 01:38:32
Let me share my experience. I'm a malaysian of chinese ethnic. 20 years ago, I helped a malay entrepreneur to set up a bumiputra engineering company. I struggle day and night to train up a group of malay management and technical staff and get the business going. For an initial RM 300,000 investment, the shareholders got back RM 16 million. I was not rewarded in any way and instead I was asked to hand over the ship to a malay because this was required by the government policy. Was I bitter then? Yes, very bitter. But life goes on and I started off on my own with no regret.
Now I got to know a Mara vocational graduate who has started a car repair shop. He is a hard working guy and wanted to be his own boss. He rented my premise but initially find it hard to keep up the rental payment. I help him to sort out the financing and some technical problem and now he is able to get the business running in the open market. I told him that he has to work very hard and give a good impression to the market on his workmanship and follow-ups with the customer and not to worry that he is a malay. I say to him that his sincerity is very important to the market and not his race. From this experience, I find that I can ignore my previous bad experience of racial discrimantion and look at people as another fellow malaysia who want to his life worthwhile by working hard. As a malay, this young chap is prepared to make use of his skill to compete on equal terms in the open market. May God bless him.
written by chipon, October 19, 2008 03:03:29

Let's face it. Chinese feels being treated unfair. But Malays feel that chinese abuses fairness. Bagi betis..nakkan peha pulak.

So..how do we solve it?

There's no other way than to help each other.

Yang Melayu jangan lah malas.

Yang Cina pulak janganlah kedekut ilmu bisnes sangat.

Chinese might feel that their business knowledge and skills is their right. But Malays feel that every inch of this land is their right. So kalau takder give and take then sampai bila pun takkan selesai.

So please..let's give and take with tolerance.

If we want to have a prosper mix race nation. Then do mix in everything prosperly. Period
written by chipon, October 19, 2008 03:08:47

The 30% requirement is good. The problem is that the UMNO Gov't requires that that 30% to be of UMNOputera..not just any Malays. UMNOputeras are known for their laziness..but not opposition Malays. Opposition Malays has never been treated fairly, even more than chinese. Just look at Kelantan
written by denkoh, October 19, 2008 03:39:19
Got to make it clear with reference to "bagi betis, mahu paha"
Siapa yang bagi adalah penting. Siapa yang akan ada kalau tidak dibagi Tuhan.

please... nobody owns anything on earth
written by george3, October 19, 2008 08:32:14
ST, it is not fair at all!

You had deleted the racist remark by Athiest...by right you shouldnt...other MT readers wants to know...

What is the wrong with me reposting the `racist' remark?

but you all have the right and licence to post that news that are consider `controversial' or racist by the main media..

I believe RPK spirit is dead already and incarcerated in Kamunting too!

Thank you so much for `protecting' ..but i m not scare to be even detain under ISA....so i can meet RPK in Kamunting

I believe our MT reader should be mature, wisdom and far sighted and they are looking for a freedom of speech, corruption free and racial free TRUE MALAYSIA!
written by samyraj, October 19, 2008 09:13:19
That is why the lazy Malays get thier money..all this because of the stupid Mahatir. He is the one spoiled the whole thing...he made the Malays is a spot where they don't respect the non-malays. In-each and every Govt department you don't see any more non-malays in the top position. All this 30% equity is just wanted make the Malays rich...look at every way...the Malay have everything...most of lazy Malay once-upon time in the Kampung now driving big cars...where they did they get the money...all because of the ****ing govt....giving everthing to the Malays...

All Malaysian should be treated equal....there is Malay % or Bumiputra %....alll Malaysian born in Malaysia are bumiputra and therefore all should get the same respect and treatment....
written by MalaysianUnited, October 19, 2008 09:18:09
chipon,

agree with u bro..

Hanya orang2 dari parti UMNO bolot project2 kerajaan..saya ingat satu ketika dahulu kalau nak dapat projek, kena jadi orang UMNO..

written by MalaysianUnited, October 19, 2008 09:26:21
Samyraj,

yea, we Malays and bumiputera are lazy..we dont do anything..just 'goyang kaki'..that what a Malaysian will say when he or she committed to live only with their own race in this multiracial country.

Remember samyraj, without bumiputera lands..where do u think ur so good and perfect race can opened business??..
written by DreamLady, October 19, 2008 09:30:01
Ka Ting, I have no respect for those who claim they are all-knowing but could not perform well at the end of the race.

The Chinese as a whole desperately need people who uphold morality; dedication; intergrity; perseverance; and most importantly, the love and undivided attention for their own people's needs and woes..

ka ting, let's face it, you have failed the chinese badly. STOP BULL-SHITTING FURTHER!!!!
written by Bigjoe99, October 19, 2008 09:46:14
Frankly all this talk of UMNO bully and equity rules etc. is besides the point. All of it does not compare to the opportunities lost because of the govt is doing too many inefficient and dumb things. When the planning of everything from transport, schools, labour, busineses are uncompetitive, the opportunities lost is many many more times bigger than the issues raised here.

The point should be that the managed solution of UMNO-BN has expired and living on borrowed times. We need to move to transparent and accountable process of govt. which means competitive one. As Sdr. Lim said, we have a out-of-control crime problem but our IGP is busy trying to get mega-contracts for his retirement? Its just ridiculous..