Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pak Lah: Umno is not a bully

Pak Lah: Umno is not a bully PDF Print
Saturday, 18 October 2008 14:15
By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 18 — Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has refuted the idea that Umno bullies its partners in the Barisan Nasional.

“People say Umno is a party that likes to bully. I actually have no idea how to bully people,” the BN chairman said when opening the 55th MCA General Assembly today.

“This is the strategy used by the opposition to destabilise BN. The issue of Umno bullying components does not start from component parties.

“There is no such thing as bullying. Ask these people in the front,” the Umno president said referring to the MCA leaders on stage.

“If that is our way, a lot of components would have left. You think Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting or Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon want to be bullied?” he said, referring to the MCA and Gerakan presidents respectively.

“Ong is not a weak leader. He is strong and effective. Do not have the impression after he retires that he was a weak leader,” he added.

The prime minister also accused Hindraf of being a group that sought to discredit the MIC and its president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.

“That is their work, to give rise to dissatisfaction with our leaders.”

At a press conference later, Abdullah refused to elaborate on whether he was referring to an opposition influence behind Hindraf, merely stating that a decision has been made and the group should no longer exist as it is illegal.

Abdullah also said that the suggestion by MCA Youth to create a second deputy chairman post in the coalition would have to be brought up at the BN convention early next year.

He insisted, however, that the current practice is still a good one as it has not caused any division in the coalition after 50 years.

“This is a big issue, and must be brought to the convention, not just a supreme council meeting,” he said.

He also said that at this point no amendments to the Internal Security Act were being discussed and refuted any element of abuse of power in the use of the legislation.

“Other countries have similar Acts and some have created such an Act in recent times,” he said, citing nations such as the United States and Britain as examples.

Due to step down as Umno president in March, Abdullah said that at the moment he is concentrating on the three legislations he has promised to push through by then — the setting up of a Judicial Appointments Commission, an independent anti-corruption body and a Special Complaints Commission on enforcement agencies.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 14:24:34
UMNO not a bully?? Don't joke lah Pak Lah it's not funny anymore. To give you a few examples.
Your people threaten to burn down the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall.
Kerismuddin brandished the keris 3 times inspite of pleas from non Malays not to do so.
Najis threatened to bathe his keris in chinese blood, go ask him.
UMNO threaten May 13 every now and then if the non malays do not support BN.
UMNO Youth descend on Loh Senk Kok's door when he brought out issues in parliament about issues that affects his community.
There are much more but just the above you can draw your own conclusion if UMNO is indeed NOT A BULLY.
agree 114
written by krising1, October 18, 2008 14:24:48
Current practice is good. Let us keep it. We are abangs and you are adiks. Adiks are forever adiks! MCA that is your answer.
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 14:32:35
Go ask Koh Tsu Khoon if UMNO is not a bully. You can still see Khairy's footsteps all over him. I suppose UMNO don't even know why BN lost Penang if Ahmad Ismail's speech is any indication.
By the way Lim Keng Yaik said Gerakan were relegated to mere beggars in BN. Is this not proof enough?
written by chanatak, October 18, 2008 14:34:52

Hello Dummy

When you threaten everyone who questions you with retaliation with the law YOU ARE A BULLY

When you allow your people to tear down other's places of worship and NOT USE THE LAW RIGHTFULLY AGAINST THEM YOU ARE A BULLY

When your people stir up racial shit, and YOU ARREST THE VICTIM YOU ARE A BULLY

When your people steal others' lands and YOU TELL THE WHISTLE BLOWERS TO SHUT UP YOU ARE A BULLY

When you put people into jail FOR SPEAKING THE TRUTH YOU ARE A BULLY.

Denials don't make your bully image go away. It makes it worse.

written by Mee Udang, October 18, 2008 14:37:11
Umno = BAPAK BULLY
written by devious17, October 18, 2008 14:38:51
Deny! Deny! Deny! That is all umno is good for deny all that is negative and when they wake up tomorrow everything will be alright.

Talk is cheap ( just like umno/bn) MrPM,umno president! Grant the deputy Chairman to another component party then we'll talk! Amacam badawi umno/bn bully?? ada bola ka?? Ada cukup jantan ka?? smilies/grin.gif
written by willove, October 18, 2008 14:47:21
"People say Umno is a party that likes to bully. I actually have no idea how to bully people,” said BADawi.
True to the facts. "I have no idea how to, just bully as I like or get advice from the 4th floor."

“If that is our way, a lot of components would have left." said BADawi.
True also, "Officially they are still with us, although most of their members had voted for PR."

"...the current practice is still a good one as it has not caused any division in the coalition after 50 years..."
How true, there's no division, just dissent, grouses, and threats to quit at worst. Don't worry they have no guts to do so.

“Other countries have similar Acts and some have created such an Act in recent times,”
Even truer, we only select those parts of Acts that benefits us, and selects who are to be abide by those Acts.

Sorry, since Altantuya is not here anymore to provide professional translation services you'll have to live with this amateur one first.
written by Nunudada, October 18, 2008 14:52:22
Other countries have similar Acts and some have created such an Act in recent times,” he said, citing nations such as the United States and Britain as examples.

Our Petronas Twin Towers has not as yet been rammed ,and we have not had bombs exploding in public buses and train stations killing innocent people.
There is no justification in abusing a legal instrument designed for a state of emergency in the country.Umno only recognizes one terrorist group,and that too from within Malaysia.These are those collaborating with the opposition groups.This is also in accordance to UMNO constituitional thinking.
written by enzofei, October 18, 2008 14:54:46
Anything come out of this guy mouth is a lie la.Go ask people in the street la.Your time is already up la..dun bullshit us anymore.
written by kkselvam, October 18, 2008 14:57:30
“People say Umno is a party that likes to bully. I actually have no idea how to bully people,” the BN chairman said when opening the 55th MCA General Assembly today
Oh yeah! I believe you damn fool!Now, F@&% off.
written by 1six5, October 18, 2008 15:03:47
WOWWW....what a statement from the lying stateman. Here are the IFs if UMNO were not a bully pookee!!!

IF UMNO was no bully...then u wudda had a clean sweep in GE
IF UMNO was no bully...prices will still maintain for lower-lower, middle-lower income ppl to survive equitably
IF UMNO was no bully...then u wudda let ur NO.2 go to jail and have a fair-trial
IF UMNO was no bully...RPK wudda be released
IF UMNO was no bully...Teresa n journalist Tan wont have to be detained under ISA
IF UMNO was no bully...******* Ahmad Ismail wudda be thrown in gaol instead

NOW....if UMNO is no bully....LETS SEE HOW U BLOODY RESPOND TO OKT n MCA equitable pleas next week u piss-arse-lame-duck. PPL are cursing u n ur regime everyday...their fo-fo will make UMNO's life n family suffer deathly consequences. BELIEVE IT!!!!
written by JJFoo, October 18, 2008 15:07:17
I fully agree with Badawi, there is no bullying of the component parties, none at all.

You can only bully someone if the victim doesn’t want to bullied, but BN component parties like MCA, Gerakan and MIC want to be bullied, they have been abused and bullied all through the years and are asking for more by begging to stay in the BN.

This is not BULLY it is BULLSHIT.
written by onnetline, October 18, 2008 15:08:53
Badakwi,

You are just a ' shameless ' liar !
written by onnetline, October 18, 2008 15:09:37
Mr Flip flop a.k.a. liar !
written by SocratesI, October 18, 2008 15:09:53

I swear that everytime I read about what Bodohwi or All-Blur says, I end up being more stupid, and wonder if these 2 are aliens from outer space, from a far inferior and much less developed planet than Earth !!

Really out-of-this-world these 2 characters, and they are supposed to be our leaders (Ptui!) ?? By the way, USA and Britain enacted some laws akin to the ISA because of many terrorist acts in their country. Has Malaysia experienced any terrorists' attacks yet ?? Then why do we need the ISA ?? And why are innocent everyday Rakyat arrested under the ISA ?!!

Stupid old fool, Bodohwi a moronic imbecile All-Blur !!

written by AngryTaxpayer, October 18, 2008 15:15:53
"I actually have no idea how to bully people"
Well, if one is always being bullied by his own party members, obviously he doesn't know how to bully lah.......

Can't say the same about the others though...... smilies/tongue.gif
written by qwerty, October 18, 2008 15:22:51
written by macaufan, October 18, 2008 15:25:37
Bodohwi "umno not a bully BUT umno is a BIG BULLY ! so wat? kakakakaa....."
written by JJFoo, October 18, 2008 15:25:50
Please read in between the line.

Tongue-in-cheek, Badawi said “If that is our way, a lot of components would have left. You think Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting or Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon want to be bullied?”

It is a polite or politically correct way of saying,
“Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting and Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon want to be bullied, they cannot complain about being bullies, otherwise they would have left the component”.

So, my advice is, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting and Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon, better just to shut-up, otherwise risk getting kick in the balls again.

Sometime I really wonder can this people from MCA and Gerakan understand the word “SHAME”.

written by FFT, October 18, 2008 15:41:26
“People say Umno is a party that likes to bully. I actually have no idea how to bully people,” the BN chairman said when opening the 55th MCA General Assembly today.

Then again, perhaps we shouldn't be confusing bullies with inbreds.
written by ploon, October 18, 2008 15:47:41
Whether or not UMNO is a bully is not for UMNO to say. It's for the likes of MCA, MIC, Gerakan to say. Speak up, guys. Oh, never mind, you're history anyway.
written by Macrophage, October 18, 2008 16:23:23
Saya tidak percaya kenyataan yang dibuat oleh Encik Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
written by ez24get, October 18, 2008 16:25:31
For once I agree with Pak Lah!

When someone stands up to another person and that person intimidates him and puts him back to his position, that is called bullying.

MCA never stood up to UMNO at all; whatever UMNO says MCA merely agrees, remains silent or merely nodding his head up and down. That is not bullying. It is called master and servant
written by SamYap, October 18, 2008 16:29:44
Hello fellow Rakyat,

I am not an IT savvy fella, so if any one of you can do this, just a simple suggestion from me, please post all the photos with captions of the following incidents and send it to labisman to be published here in mt.m2day.org.
Examples of pictures:
1) as like the one above showing Hishamuddin rattling his keris
2) Ahmad Ismail with his grosteque angry face
3) the UMNO member tearing up KTK's photo
4) beruk Khairy shouting "Beruk, beruk"
5) Syed Hamid making his stupid statements about the recent ISA arrests of Teresa Kok and journo Ms Tan
6) Mahathir making inflamatory speeches during his roadshow to change the constitutional rights of the Nine Rulers
7) Masked police goons fully armed with automatic weapons arresting Anwar during the Sodomy I saga, when Anwar and his supporters were not armed nor did Anwar resist arrest.
smilies/cool.gif Pictures of the UMNO member who was kicked and heckled during the fourm at Hotel Singgahsana in Petaling Jaya, when he had suggested that perhaps UMNO should consider inviting Anwar back to UMNO after the March2008 elections.

The list is inexhaustive, but you get the idea. There is no point in writing about the all the abuses and bullying by UMNO, such as manipulative moves in education and business opportunities to favour the cronies and brow beating the rakyat. Just post the photos. As the famous saying goes: A PICTURES TELLS A THOUSAND WORDS.
written by Jan, October 18, 2008 16:30:11
A perfect picture of a bully this kerismuddin. But I understand he has repented and passed the baton I mean keris to either Mukriz of KJ.
written by SamYap, October 18, 2008 16:32:40
Errata: A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS.
written by Lim Lim, October 18, 2008 16:41:56
“If that is our way, a lot of components would have left. You think Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting or Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon want to be bullied?” he said, referring to the MCA and Gerakan presidents respectively

mca n OKT,the way this denial bodowi put it is,'u can f.uck off if u do not like it!'mca hav not pulled out becos u like to be screwed in the first place!simple,so do u see it??
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 18, 2008 16:56:03
Pak Lah, Pak Lah! Okay, you are right! UMNO is not a bully, BUT UMNO is, and always has been, a BIG fuking BULLY !

Just step out of your skin and observe from afar and you will see that plain as daylight! Besides being a big fuking bully, you will also see that UMNO is CORRUPTED to the core, RACIST, BIGOTRY, SARCASTIC, SADIST, and downright EVIL. But then, of course, if you are a donkey, you cannot see what’s wrong with being a donkey; right?
written by michael chick, October 18, 2008 17:06:14
written by Tompios, October 18, 2008 17:39:21
smilies/grin.gif UMNO is not bully party actually! but the fact is UMNO for 51 years bullying all other people in Malaysia.
written by alpha1, October 18, 2008 17:39:38
If UMNO is not a bully, who is, ME ah? Talking thru his ass again. smilies/cry.gif
written by What Nil Wisdom, October 18, 2008 17:43:46
we are not bullies, and we will beat you up to 'prove' it to you!
written by Fuminari, October 18, 2008 18:09:58
umno does not bully,but umno jus screw up big time on everyone in this bolehland!
written by truthbespoken, October 18, 2008 18:20:57
I don't blame Pak Lah for not understanding what is bullying. Otherwise, he will not be bullied out of office soon by Mahathir and his gang.

MCA and Gerakan and the other minion parties are in the same boat as far as UMNO is concerned. They get bullied all the time. And in due time, it is only natural for the weak ones to get out on their own or be forced out of the unequal party. No two ways about it. That's how life works.

It is already happening right in front of our eyes if you still don't know what I mean..

written by benny loh, October 18, 2008 18:26:58
MORE LIKE "TUAN"
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-lord.html
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 18, 2008 19:16:02
US and UK have introduced repressive acts to protect themselves from terrorists, not arrest their own people who criticize them. In Malaysia, which of these arrested under the ISA of late are terrorists, posing threat to the country? We are a joke when we try to compare ourselves with US and UK in how we execute the law. We use the ISA to "protect the safety" of people.
written by A MI, October 18, 2008 19:47:38
CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT
It looks like bullying
It feels like bullying
and it is bullying...enuff with your lies ler Bodowee
written by Alice, October 18, 2008 19:55:54
He also said that at this point no amendments to the Internal Security Act were being discussed and refuted any element of abuse of power in the use of the legislation.
Who needs your opinion?

An INNOCENT man RPK was unlawfully detained under ISA for 2 years!!!!!
smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif

If that's not called bullying then I wonder what you would call that.

WAS HE DISRUPTING THE ARTIFICIAL PEACE IN MALAYSIA??? WAS HE A TERRORIST?

WELL YOU KNOW HE SPOKE THE TRUTH AND YOU WILL PAY FOR IT!

WATCH OUT UMNO SOON WE WOULD SEE WHERE YOUR PARTY WOULD END.
written by Old Man, October 18, 2008 20:08:42
Oh yes UMNO is not a bully but every component party should NOT bark at the Master. Otherwise we shall defend our rights in the name of race and religion. The PM and DPM posts only belong to UMNO. At the most you can be offered the post of Deputy Chairman in BN but not DPM. That's in our "Oral Contract". Dogs should always obey the Master. No need to bully!
written by asguard, October 18, 2008 20:54:39
everyone on the streets knows what the PM say is total lie ... no bully.. in fact UMNO has use be custom to bully everyone ..including opposition... when it feel being threated by certain issues....
written by hanisma, October 18, 2008 21:20:43
' SIN has many tools, but a LIE is the handle which fits them all. ' - Edmund Burke
written by No nonsense, October 18, 2008 21:24:01
Bird awi is totally correct when he says Umno is no bully and I agree because umno is worst than a bully. Umno do not consult the coalition whenever they want to do something. They just do it and the other coalition partners have to shut-up so as to please their masters to get some crumps under their tables. When have we ever heard that the MCA and MIC speak out? Closed-door meetings are the best solution out. Every damn blooming things also they want and they get without question from anyone. Is this not bully? If this is not than tell me what it is?
written by hanisma, October 18, 2008 21:28:58
' SIN has many tools, but a LIE is the handle which fits them all.' - Edmund Burke. So Pak Lah, if you think that you are a good Muslim, stop being a liar!
written by lamakawan, October 18, 2008 22:01:16
If Lim Keng Yaik says Gerakan is relegated into beggars, you must believe him, because he never tells lies. He is one of the most down to earth members in the other component parties. We say here, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. The latest rudimentary behaviour of UMNO was the threat to Teresa Kok in a most degrading short story in Utusan. More and more threats will come out from the UMNO running dogs as we contniue to the countdown of badawi's departure.
written by JUST, October 18, 2008 22:41:39
Justice Bao? Father Of Reforms? Dream on ............

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!
written by InEffective, October 19, 2008 01:13:52

After coercing and then lucrative incentives to induce the component parties leader politicians to sell out the rights, liberties, freedoms and opportunities of their constituents, he talks about not knowing.

Well peoples, its pretty easy to induce your elected reps to sell you out.

Hindraf clearly called out the treacherous MIC leader for what he is accountable.
written by Wakeupmsia, October 19, 2008 03:20:25
I do not ALWAYS agree with Old Man but this time I do

"Shut up, Bodowi"
written by Aming, October 19, 2008 14:20:06
Pak Lah, God has given eyes and ears. Why do you choose not to see and hear?