Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow With All Eyes On The UMNO Elections, Whose Eyes Are On The Nation?

With All Eyes On The UMNO Elections, Whose Eyes Are On The Nation? PDF Print
Saturday, 18 October 2008 09:40

Do we give a dipstick on who would be the next UMNO president or VP? Does it really matter except the fact we kind of know, who the next PM and DPM would be since by pure default it has to come from UMNO? Does it really matter who gets the nominations to vie for the post (up for offer) in the coming UMNO convention?

In fact, if you really look at it; it doesn't really matter at all. When all eyes are turned to the squabbling of career politicians looking to secure their positions in UMNO, the state of the nation is not addressed.

Who is looking into the state of the country's economy? Who's going to put into place, safeguards to protect the populace when the recession hits Malaysia? While all these UMNO putra folks are squabbling over position and status, who is looking after you and me?

The American DOW JONES tumbled to its lowest level in 5 years yesterday. Governments in Europe are preparing bailout plans to save their financial institutions and these same governments are watching Asia. Markets all over Asia (and the world) are taking a tumble, Malaysia included. A few years back, Pak Lah used the KLSE as a barometer to gauge the health of the nations economy (that time we were riding high) and commented that Malaysia was moving along strong. Well, take a look today at our KLSE and with the current slide, the economy is headed for a heart-attack.

The economy is sliding down-wards yet the cost of living is going up. Why? Because the current BN government raise the price of fuel so drastically it took everyone by surprise. The populace cried foul but our BN MPs rubber-stamped the decision and told us to change our lifestyles. Was there not a decent brain in parliament at the time they debated the bill to increase the fuel price?

Raise the fuel price and traders will raise the price of goods. Simple logic, you don't have to be a "British trained economist" to know this. Then we get the announcement, the government will review the price of fuel on a month-to-month basis. They have since reduced the price of fuel twice and I'm expecting another price cut at the end of this month because the price of crude is hovering below USD90 per barrel.

Reduce fuel price but has the price of goods been reduced? No.

Even if the price of fuel returns to a point below RM2 per litre, the price of goods will remain where it is now. It makes pure business sense to keep it there. Business is about making the highest return on your investment, no business minded trader would want to lower the price of their goods when they are already making huge profits now.

So the BN government, in saving their subsidies, placed stress on the populace. Where is the rational in that? Did the BN MPs have that in mind when the bill was tabled in parliament after the fuel hike? So with Najib as Finance Minister and PM in waiting, will we see a reversal of all these "smart" economic decisions?

It seems a trend in Malaysia in recent years; if a Minister express discontent with a particular group then the police would investigate. This can happen even after the incident, then the police would step in, do some questioning and arrest a few people, and Minister happy, BN happy and people confuse.

HINDRAF would be investigated for unruly behaviour at the Raya event the PM had last week. Question-why weren't any arrests made at the time of the offence? The police were there, the press was there and the PM was there, yet no arrest for "unruly" behaviour. Why only now, a week after the incident, there is a call for the police to investigate HINDRAF and since when was "unruly" behavior at a Raya gathering threatening to national security?

This is a trend that needs to be checked and countered. It clearly shows the police agency under the influence of those in government positions and the directive seems to flow from these ministers. It should not be this way, the police have to investigate when there is clearly a crime committed and not on the perceived pretext that a crime was committed.

In the wake of all these things happening to our nation, the limelight is on the UMNO elections. Reading about who gets the highest nomination from the divisions is better than watching paint dry but what relevance does that have to me? I want to hear news about policies the government will put into place to counter the global crisis hitting our economy, which in turn will affect whether I can put food on the table. I want to know whether next year I can afford to put my kids into school as the cost of education steadily rise.

With all eyes on the UMNO elections, whose eyes are on the nation? (By MACLEAN PATRICK/ MySinchew)

written by ROBERTNGTG, October 18, 2008 09:48:14
Who is looking into the state of the country's economy? Who's going to put into place, safeguards to protect the populace when the recession hits Malaysia? While all these UMNO putra folks are squabbling over position and status, who is looking after you and me?

WELL WE ARE ALL ON AUTOPILOT, ON A COLLISION COURSE WITH ZIMBABWE WITH ALL THE
MEGA DEALING AND WHEELING
written by said, October 18, 2008 09:54:46
MY PREDICTION: NAJIB WILL GO WITHIN 6 MONTHS

OPPOSITION AGAINST NAJIB WILL REACH BOILING POINT SOON AND WITHIN 6 MONTHS, HE WILL RESIGN AS DPM OR PM OR BE DUMPED BY PAKATAN OR UMNO.
He will not be able to sustain fiery and crunching blows and Barisan or himself will have no choice but to step down or resign until investigations into his obscenities are completed by a squeaky clean judiciary (if they can find one). Revelations in court will shudder Malaysia if, yes……if investigations reach the courts. Of course if the same corrupted judiciary is involved in the investigation, rakyat will push and scream for them to be kicked out.
Everywhere amongst the men and women from every race on the street, in kampong and city, renowned intellectuals, all opposition MPs, some Barisan MPs, prominent writers, some Umno members, women, NGOs, momentum is building to kick out Najib.
Even amongst some sections of police and army- they are voicing their concerns. Some of RPK’s friends are in the army.
Any decent leader or MP would have stepped down or resigned in face of such ugly accusations-
killing a human being with help within the inner circles of govt., interference with judiciary in the Altantuya murder, shielding perpetrators of the murder and other murders, hundreds of millions of ringgit in arms deals, abuse in the use of ISA. My latest calculation estimates that over the years Najib has stolen at least 1.5 billion ringgit from fraud which is equal to 50,000 low cost houses at $30,000 ringgit each. He had been stealing-food from the mouths of every race and also other amenities for the improvement of our lives.
If Najib can get away with the obscenities, what hope is there for rakyat?
The smell of rot and maggots is in the Malaysian air. Tension is heating up and reaching past fever pitch. Some thing will happen and the stepping down or resignation of Najib
IS THE CIRCUIT BREAKER for the fiery atmosphere to slightly calm down.
Barisan will try to use ISA to detain more people and opposition MPs but educated and intelligent Malays like us and all other races-rakyat will respond with such great outcry that Barisan will tremble with fear. More police and army will join in this time out in the open.
I hope there will come a time soon with Hindraf or PAS Nik Aziz issuing an ultimatum for Najib to resign within a week and release ISA prisoners or face the wrath of rakyat and call for a huge demonstration against the obscene Najib.
My wish is for at least 1,000 Malaysians, especially Bumis to invade Federal Parliament and stay there until Najib and Badawi resigns for obscenities inflicted on Malaysia. Police and Army will also fear if they attack rakyat in Parliament.
The time for never ending talking, pleadings with Barisan is over. We Malays must physically act to end Barisan obscenities or our suffering will go on and on.
There will be injuries and maybe deaths in Parliament amongst us but Barisan will crumble very quickly. Some in the police and army will stand up to Barisan, no doubt about that.

Najib’s cousin, Muhyiddin will take over but he will just be as useless because of his illegal massing of extreme wealth from his time as Johor Chief Minister and his closeness with cruel mf…g Mahathir. Lots of swindling stories of him in Johor. He is in the top 10 rich list in Malaysia.

written by Sudahlah tu, October 18, 2008 09:58:36
umno kini akan dikuasai oleh rangkaian saudara mara sekeluarga....
orang Melayu yang akan dipermainkan lagi ......
amat dukacita melihat sebuah adat resam yang begitu mulia kini lesap di depan mata bangsa sendiri.
begitu akibatnya ,,memilih jalan singkat dalam hidup.
bukannya yang halang mahupun disaing oleh orang luar ..tetapi dikuburkan oleh sifat tamak orang sendiri.
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 10:05:47
GLOBAL RECESSION IS COMING TO OUR SHORE. WATCH HOW YOU SPEND YOUR MONEY. YES WE WILL BE ON A COLLISION COURSE WITH ZIMBABWE IF WE DON'T TAKE HEED OF WHAT IS HAPPENING GLOBALLY. THE GLOBAL CRISIS IS HERE. WE THE LAYMEN WOULD FEEL THE CRUNCH. HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN 97/98 TURMOIL??? smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by sonofmalaysia, October 18, 2008 10:18:42
Most UMNO politicians have low IQ and capability, many of them are without doubt even out-right morons.

If not this, those with higher IQ or capability will have no sense of morality or conscience !!

MAhaShit head, on many occasons, and in 1995 UMNO general assembly, even weeped shamely on stage, pleading with UMNO members not to engage in money politics, saying that money politics will destroy UMNO and Bangsa one day!!

Now that one day has come, we are seeing the full effect of destruction !! MAhashit head was the one who planted the culture of easy money through privatisation, awarding contract without tender and all sort of corruption. From then on, UMNO becomes a big organisation for contractors, a gang of Mafia, with big political power, and with bigger power for corruption . Mahashit head was the one who instituted that only the most corrupt, the most incapble, the most immoral got elected to be the leaders of UMNO, their bangsa and the country. Since then UMNO has been going down hill until what we we are witnessing today !!

Now, this evil, MAfia organisation has even designated, a well known highly corrupt politician, a murder suspect to be the next PM, no shame about that !!

Totally, utterly despicable and condemnable beyond belief !! Malaysia was screwed, MAlysians were screwed, the one that got the biggest screw was the MAlay !!

Only the UMNOputras benefit.

One has to take off his hat for this MAhashit head for having the thick skin, and shameless audacity, to make that pleading to UMNO members not to engage in money politics, with flowing tear to boot !! MAhashithead, instead of UMNO members following his advice and pleading, he just turn them into pirates, thieves and lanuns !!, the whole bunch of them !!

God saves Malaysia !!

written by Futurist, October 18, 2008 10:27:59
With such a number of accusations against the DPM, he should have stepped down multiple times over.
written by welldone, October 18, 2008 10:47:00
isn't it ironic that all the governments in the world are busy preparing for the worse and planning and taking drastic steps to try to whiter the recession.

Our politician here in our beloved country is busy with their politic survival...god bless us when recession comes
written by SocratesI, October 18, 2008 11:04:17

I don't give a shit who is going to be the next UMNO president ... as long as he is the head of the Opposition ;o) ;o) ;o) !! I just cannot accpet Najis Rosak as Prime Monster of M'sia, (maybe he can buy an island somewhere with his ill-gotten gains and be Prime Monster of the Boh-sia) !!

At least our present Opposition (soon-to-be our Govt.) is bringing up the Budget for discussion and trying to table something more sensible than the Rubbish Bodohwi put forward !!

Pakatan Rakyat to form the Government, the Rakyat's Choice !!

written by *********, October 18, 2008 11:10:41
Our ancestors may have walked here from Australia many millions of years ago or they may have arrived here by ship or overland from India or China or as far away as Arabia, Turkey and Europe.What difference does it make? Were the Malays here before the Melanaus or the Ibans? The Ibans, in fact ,migrated to Sarawak from Kalimantan or Dutch Borneo in the 1600s.Didn't some Chinese come here some 500 years ago even before some Indian Muslims? More http://*********.********.com
written by justinlian, October 18, 2008 11:10:56
There is still one possibility of reducing of food price for everyone if the govt is willing to reduce the biggest neccessities like electricity, rice , cooking oil, water.
Im sure these are the main concern of all traders.
No point just to reduce petrol only as this wont help much after everything went up.
written by jargon, October 18, 2008 12:39:12
"Whose eyes r on the nation?" It's our eyes ,the rakyats' teared filled eyes on the nation.The c'try is on auto cruise and we are watching and calling for changes to be made...yet govt doesn't hear us.And if they do hear us,we are charged under ISA...so how now?

If only next GE were tomorrow...a change of govt wud be good...a new lease of life for M'sia and M'sians...

I pray GOD for somebody ,who can push for this change to happen,takes over and drives this nation manually into a much calmer safe zone.

At present ,it worries me to think that with all this, Najib/Muhiyuddin etc cud be the drivers...

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 18, 2008 14:02:37
Agree with writer. What matters to the Rakyat is what hits us in the pockets as well as the freedom, peace and equitable treatment to all Malaysians. Alas, inflation will remain high regardless of the government playing with the fuel prices. The damage is already done and irreversible.

Did the government naively think that pleading to reduce consumer prices will get the prices down? Once the price is up, nothing will come down. Why didn't the government tell Tenaga to lower the power prices? They were amongst the first to raise prices after the historic fuel price hike in June. Even water prices have gone up due to fuel price hike excuse. Based on these two, everything affected by them will have their prices remaining high. It can't come down.

Our government is either naive or dreaming that prices will come down because they are now reducing the fuel prices. When the fuel hike took place, global crude prices were at US$120 going up. Now hovering at US$90, it has not come back to the old level. Matter of fact, it won't. Subsidy will be reduced, inflation remains high, consumer prices will not come down no matter what the government hopes.

So who cares for the Rakyat again???

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...s-faulted/
written by denkoh, October 18, 2008 14:03:19
no one ever gives a shiit! It was always abt themselves..remember? malaysia was never a country. just a private limited company. MalaySia Sdn Bhd smilies/cool.gif
written by denkoh, October 18, 2008 14:07:11
woohoo... we are all employees of Malaysia Sdn Bhd, we get our bonus at age 55, if there are still any left.
written by willove, October 18, 2008 14:07:16
Malaysia has been on auto-pilot for too long a time! It's time we raise issues on our daily lives!
Heated debates & comments are here and there on political parties, be it PKR, UMNO, MCA, DAP,...

Time has come for us all to also focus on the super corrupt, malpractices of PDRM!
They are supposed to be free of any political motive and is entrusted to protect and maintain a peaceful society.
In recent times, they have done almost everything but anything RIGHT.

Malaysians can no longer live in safety with all the robberies, thefts, rape cases, murders,...
Whistle blowers are being charged or detained under the ISA...
The commoners' experiences with the PDRM are mostly bribery...
High profile criminal investigations into obvious wrongs went silent...
Simple investigations into simple facts by non-wrong doers have been super efficient...
Selective investigation, selective prosecution, selective detention,...

Need I say more? We can't even live peacefully while the political parties slug it out for power!
Believe me, this is the worst a nation can get. Without petroleum money, we'll be worse than Zimbabwe.
Please, I beg all political parties especially PR to fight for reform of PDRM in the Parliament.
Fight for power all you like, BN & PR, but please let us live and vote in PEACE.

Guns away on PDRM, guys!
written by benny loh, October 18, 2008 14:07:37
GOOD RIDDANCE...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...oudly.html
written by kkselvam, October 18, 2008 14:35:23
This time around our economy is going to be worse than 1997 economic crisis and yet the moron ABdullah and Najis squabbling over PM position and bullshitting the rakyat that our economy is so strong and can weather it.
I am so sick with these UMNO bas^#*ds. Hoi Pak Lah! Stop the nonsense and let the PR take over the Government..MORON!!!!
Free RPK!!
written by AngryTaxpayer, October 18, 2008 15:22:06
Whose eyes? God's Eyes folks....for onle He can save us from sinking any further.

And don't think I want any of the UMNO eyes to be on the nation's coffers at the mo...think we've suffered enough when they were doing just that for that last few decades
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Ironside, October 18, 2008 18:37:24
PM dah cakap Semua nya OK.Dont't worry,lah.
written by asguard, October 18, 2008 20:49:35
UMNO GOONS ARE BUSY PLAYING MUSCIAL CHAIRS WHO GET WHAT WHO GET THAT... while the economy pillars of the nation don't look that good... anf those goons will say that economy is good condition ... that is total lie... what we have day after day lies.. being put in newspapers and TV stations... it should be read just the opposite of what the goons say... the economy condition is not that good in general...
written by lynn, October 19, 2008 00:13:17
said,
thank you for yr piece - i heard from someone close to some powerful fler just two nights ago, Anwar definitely have the numbers. Anwar will be our next PM, not najib. sorry i cannot disclose that powerful fler's name. don't want to rock the boat. hope you all understand. we want RPK free ASAP and that's our top priority, besides change of gomen.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 19, 2008 00:18:47
We remain in a state of denial of what the government wants us to believe. But what is the truth?

Nobody has time for us. And leaders are telling us everything is OK when they are not. State of denial... sigh!

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...of-denial/