Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Eurocopter-How Much?

Eurocopter-How Much? PDF Print
Friday, 17 October 2008 21:20

I came across the letter written by Mentari Services Sdn Bhd chairperson Capt (Rtd) Zahar Hashim, comparing the price of 12 Eurocopter Couger EC 725 with Kazan –M172, amounting to about RM1.4 billion in terms of the price difference .

In a way, it’s unfair to compare an apple with a pear. You must compare an apple with an apple. Therefore, let’s compare the price of Eurocopter EC 725 ordered by both Brazil and Malaysia :

In June 2008, Brazil and France signed an agreement in principle for Eurocopter to build helicopters in the South American country via its subsidiary Helibras. Brazil ’s Defense Minister Nelson Jobim reportedly said that the country intended to buy 50 “Super Cougar” models, the first of which would be delivered in 2010. The deal’s value is reportedly around US$1.2 billion.

( refer to http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/Brazil-Signs-1B-Production-Deal-for-Cougar-Helicopters-04959/).

That is RM4.14 billion for 50 copters or RM82.8 million per unit. And we ordered 12 copters for RM2.317 billion,

(refer to http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/91215)  meaning RM193 million per unit! So, multiply by 12 units, it comes to a cool RM1.3 billion. Not a bad golden handshake.

T Gopal

Kota Damansara

Comments (45)Add Comment
written by June, October 17, 2008 21:30:25
Obviously Najis is a Daylight Robbery & Daylight Murderer!!! He should be sent to hell as soon as possible. He is not capable to become our PM.

agree 215
written by ahmadneil, October 17, 2008 21:36:33
But alas!Altantuya is not here to enjoy another bounty.
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 21:39:32

For the UMNOputras, we should implement "Guilty until proven innocent" as almost 100% of the time, they are guilty !! This Najis Rosak is a greedy Pig, as is that Fat Piggy Ros-p*k*-mah ! The money goes into their retirement fund, obviously.

Let us wipe out corruption by sentencing these despots to a lifetime in jail, and throw away the key too !!

written by justice6, October 17, 2008 21:54:54
we all should stop paying taxes... pay their salary and yet can't say anything.. worst case, money being spent like their grandfathers'... everyone in the govt and royals seem to forget where they get their salary... if we can't sack them.. let the company go bankrup.. no point we work like shit and they get to enjoy all the fruits..
written by Tompios, October 17, 2008 22:00:27
smilies/grin.gif minyak naik harga copters pun naik. Brazil beli 83 juta kita beli 193 juta. ini business banyak bagus punyalah. keturunan ke 10 pun masih boleh hidup senang-lenang!

Opps! bahan besi naiklah....copters pun naik. seluruh warga UMNO di Parlimen tepuk tangan tanda setuju dgn 2 reasons yang diberikan oleh Najib. Biasalah, paduan suara!!
written by SeriousLy, October 17, 2008 22:05:33
Ehhhhhh....Ehhh...Wait .....Where should I read regards to the "SOCIAL CONTRACT" because this "CONTRACT" maybe is linked to this eurocopter contract lah.. Ehhh..SeriousLy, I want to know this "CONTRACT"! smilies/grin.gif
written by ez24get, October 17, 2008 22:09:33
It makes a lot of sense that the most corrupt you are the most votes you will receive from UMNO members!

That is because less than 2,000 sharks (UMNO Division Heads) are responsible for the appointment of their Leader shark. After the appointment has been made, all the sharks will group together and then have a frenzy feeding off the spoils of the nation!

Our Prime Minister is not even decided by the ordinary malays and ordinary citizens of the country but by a small group of well patronaged, well fed and corrupt UMNO malays. It is no wonder that UMNO leaders are patronised by sons and cronies of ex-Prime Ministers rather than picked on their merits! Thus we have Mukhris, Hishammuddin, Khairy, Najib and the like being voted into power. It is just a rotation of a small group of people who have a perpetual dip in the honey pot. This goes round and round until the country is sucked dry or when the rakyat eventually wakes up and boot them out!

Do these UMNO division leaders care about whether their leader is upright? Are they concerned about the plight of the ordinary malays? No,they just care for themselves - they are like Ali Baba and forty thieves; their concern is to appoint a head thief who could share the loot with the rest of the thieves. Any one challenging on their ill gotten spoils will be branded as anti-malays or challenging the rights of malays and sent off to Kamunting or outlawed!

And, boy, this head shark is indeed voracious! Before he has been appointed to be the head shark, he has already been seen as having a voracious appetite - chomping on all the biggest and juiciest national defense contracts, public listed companies and Government linked companies! He has gotten rid of all his competition - Bala, Altantuya, Baginda Razak, Raja Petra and even Badawi!

I wonder what his appetite will be when he eventually becomes the head shark? No wonder, when he assumed the most sought after post of Finance Minister he has already indicated that all the fat, juicy projects proposed in the 2009 budget will be retained!
agree 116
written by biggun129, October 17, 2008 22:14:50
We still dont know who will get the contract, AAB's team or Najib's? Remember, who is the one that announce the issuance of 'Letter of Intent' to purchase!!
written by DreamLady, October 17, 2008 22:15:12
Where is everybody ? Do something, why is everybody talking and no action is taken? Where is ACA ? Where is our PM ? Has everybody gone into hiding? Oh,God, what kind of game are these people playing?

I am ashamed that the image of Malaysia is being smeared with shits at such a regular momentum, by our politicians....yet none of those intellectuals dare?to venture out from the cocoon to speak their minds? What then, is the purpose of acquiring so much knowledge and respect from rakyat, but chicken out the moment they 'smells' trouble ?
written by cheekymate, October 17, 2008 22:25:22
Great sleuthing Mr. Gopal. Spot on! No wonder our country is slowly but surely going bankrupt. Their pilferage and looting are becoming braver and more brazen. How many more billions do we have for them to put their hands into? I'm afraid not much more...don't forget in 12 years when oil runs dry, the cookie jar will be empty. As such, it is therefore a race to the finish line to see who can grab the most cookies before then!
written by savemalaysia, October 17, 2008 22:26:13
Corruption at its audacious best by Najis. How else can one explain the astronomical price difference between the Eurocopter's Cougar copters purchase by Brazil and Malaysia. Brazil paid RM82.9 million for each Cougar but Malaysia paid RM193 million for each.

This blood sucker of the worst kind is only interested in bleeding the nation to enrich himself and everyone can see his devious conduct. How on earth, in the name of their faith, conscience and morality can those UMNO warlords root for him to helm the nation next March. The only reason is that they are either blind or equally as corrupted as Najis.

Malays in this country should face reality and rise up to dump these scandalous UMNO's big shorts whose presence in politics is only to fleece them dry and bring more hardship to aggravate their grave suffering. You should see the Eurocopter's scandal as the last straw and tell yourself enough is enough. This greedy and immoral Najis has to be stopped before he empties Malaysia's wealth.
written by KC Chin, October 17, 2008 22:26:56
I worked like shit. I suffered day in and day out. I worked 7 days a week, 10 to 12 hours a day just to get by. I don't enough money to pay my tax. I have to keep my mother alive on dialysis. 3 times a week I am not alone in Malaysia facing all the stupid problems. I have enough of those BN's mother****er abusing everything in the book.
written by the saint, October 17, 2008 22:27:24
Is there no end to such plunderings of the tax payers' money ? What about the poor kampong folks and the poorer ones in Sabah and Sarawak ?

Greed begets greed ! And power corrupts ! Wake up Malaysians ! This is not a one man's fight, it is everyone's fight. Otherwise, just sit back and enjoy the show !
written by arazak, October 17, 2008 22:34:27
RM4.14 billion for 50 copters or RM82.8 million per unit. And we ordered 12 copters for RM2.317 billion, (refer to http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/91215) meaning RM193 million per unit! So, multiply by 12 units, it comes to a cool RM1.3 billion. Not a bad golden handshake.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
To see the impact of this wholesale looting look at this calculations: -

Brazil purchase of Eurocopter 50 copters for RM4.14 billion = RM82.8 million per unit
Malaysia purchase of same Eurocopter 12 copters for RM2.317 billion = RM193 million per unit

Difference in price per unit = RM110.2 million per unit
Najis and cronies are going to pocket = RM110.2 million x 12 units = RM1,322.4 million, that is RM1.332 billion.

imagine the amount of RM1.322 billion being overpaid by Malaysia. This is really wholesale looting! Imagine what this money can do to the poor rakyaat toiling on day to day basis trying to make ends meet. Hey, that is our money, it is the rakyaats’ money! Stop this robbery please.
written by palani, October 17, 2008 22:40:02
To all politicians seeking power and fame, please ponder a while what I am going to say: We came to this world without anything and when we die we don't take anything either. Why we are so greedy and amaze wealth knowing we don't take them with us when we die? Even animals attack and eat their prey when they are hungry. Once they are full they never disturb or harm other animals. Surprisingly when we are angry we scold others "babi dan anjing" and so forth. According to many religions, we are the highest creation of God on earth but the way we act and behave show that we are worst than animals? I used to wonder whether religion has failed to humanize human beings! Why can't we make others happy and by making others happy we also feel happy. Don't you think it's the highest virtue! To the people in the corridors of power, life is short and during this short period do good unto others and you will be exalted in the life thereafter.
written by krising1, October 17, 2008 22:41:01
UMNO backbenchers has asked you all to be robust in your defence of the warlords. Here are some facts which you would like you to use and defend them. Haha
written by Futurist, October 17, 2008 22:50:59
Every year, I pay up my taxes. Then, the following year I get a notice saying that I have back taxes to pay up. This has happened from the time I became eligible to pay tax. Now I know why the IRD have to dig the past to collect more tax. So that inflated prices can be paid for the purchases and also fill up their cargo pants that have a lot pockets.
written by Side Helmit Elba, October 17, 2008 23:02:23
Oh my god. Did they think about the poor rakyat. Have they seen the suffering of those poor Malay squaters in kampung baru, the poor indian squarters at old Klang road, those homeless soul around Chow Kit, those houseless chiness living on stilt houses beside the sea in Penang. Y r these poor soul left in our country and our beloved heads of goverment goes on a spending spree on this luxuries. RM1.3B can safe more than 10 thousands of these poor soul. What sort of goverment is this. if we the rakyat will still close one eye altitude than nobody could be able to safe this country.
written by biggun129, October 17, 2008 23:10:45
Next Week after the MCA assembly,'Sayorana' mark the end of the Honeymoon for BN component parties.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 17, 2008 23:35:18
Can Najib stand up in the scrutiny for Eurocopter? Will anyone dare put him into the spotlight? Will Najib be able to clear himself? He must and he must. But he is not yet doing it. More shit on the way?

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...s-faulted/
written by Richy, October 17, 2008 23:52:02
UMNO Dynasty and RAHMAN Theory - Rise and fall of "RAHMAN" Najib will fall but when?

read for details at: http://www.malaysianaffairs.********.com
written by shamadz72, October 17, 2008 23:57:22
Najib just need to swear and all will be OK. This is Malaysia we are talking about!
written by Steven Tan, October 18, 2008 00:33:50
Trust me, later they will BLAME the CALCULATOR or COMPUTER for wrongly calculated the price or worse come to worse they will say that it was different model of Eurocopter ......Denying culture already in their blood what......
report abusevote down
written by sabade, October 18, 2008 00:46:39
Its sometimes difficult to conclude based on price alone. The price of EC 532 also called the Cougar can be very much different from the EC 725 Cougar. However to select an helicopter without a test trial being done may be putting the lifes of our pilots in danger. Maybe MoD should reconsider and test the helicopter before issuing the Letter of Award as Eurocopter has only about 14 in number EC 725 in service since 2002. Read article below:

Marignane - In late November 2002, the SPAé (French Aeronautical Production Agency), acting on behalf of the French General Delegation for Armaments (DGA), notified Eurocopter of a contract for the supply of 10 medium-sized EC 725 helicopters to the French Special Forces. The contract, which is worth 271 million euros, covers the helicopters, general customization costs, and support services. Delivery of the first EC 725 is set for late 2004, with the follow-on deliveries spread out over 2005 and 2006. With this contract notification, the EC 725/225 order book now totals 18 machines.
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 01:00:31
You can only sleep on one bed, wear a suit, at a time. No matter how much money one has, you can't bring it with you when its time to go. You bring nothing with you when you come into this world and you can't take anything as well. Only your deeds count in the eyes of GOD. Why why must have so much money. Its only a symbol of exchange. If only people realise that. Sigh!!!

written by arifabdull, October 18, 2008 01:47:08
ALERT: Suaram activist arrested under ISA.
Terkini: Aktivis Suaram ditahan bawah ISA.

http://arifabdull.*********.co...aysiakini/
written by asiseesit, October 18, 2008 01:51:24
economy of scale. brazil buys 50 units compares to malaysia's 12 units. so france offered a 57% discount. so if malaysia buy 50 units, we can get it at the same price. or maybe buy 100 units and negotiate for a 80% discount. where is the government's negotiation skills? i think the only discrepancy in this deal is the government's failure to negotiate. we can't condemn them for this. but with an extra 88 more units, with each unit able to ferry at least 6 passengers in comfort, all MP's and even backbenchers can travel in style by copters to parliament. how about it?

let's be the first country in the world where our elected government representatives travels to all functions by copters.
written by LukeJr, October 18, 2008 02:26:44
CORRUPTED!

Where's ACA? No balls to sack him?
written by michael chick, October 18, 2008 04:18:01
written by Mik, October 18, 2008 08:49:06
aab signed the deal rite? najib negotiated it. who knows whats goin behind the closed door. probably the profit is part of retirement deal.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 18, 2008 09:07:29
"....multiply by 12 units, it comes to a cool RM1.3 billion. Not a bad golden handshake."

I think most Malaysians knows that and about other similar "deals".
Sooo??? What or who is anybody going to do about that??? The one person who can is DSAI, but lately he has been...hmmmm...pre-occupied with setting another dateline for take over of the government.

Apart from some of us bloggers posting "fanciful & wishful thinking" nonsense, anybody has any more substantiable ideas to tackle corruptions???
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 18, 2008 09:19:17
That is RM4.14 billion for 50 copters or RM82.8 million per unit. And we ordered 12 copters for RM2.317 billion,
(refer to http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/91215) meaning RM193 million per unit! So, multiply by 12 units, it comes to a cool RM1.3 billion. Not a bad golden handshake.

WELL, THE M*M*K DICTATOR HAS COME OUT IN DEFENSE OF HIS BLUE EYED (SNEAKY-EYED)BOY ACCUSING ALL THE RAKYAT FOR TRYING TO FRAME THE CLEAN, PURE AND HONEST PM IN WAITING, THE MINISTRY OF DEFENSE HAS ALSO SWORN THE WHOLE DEAL IS CLEAN, ABOVE BOARD, THE BN BACKBENCHERS ARE PROTECTING THIS POOR PM IN WAITING AGAINST ALL THE OPPOSITION ACCUSERS. SO LOOKS LIKE WE HV TO SUFFER THE INDIGNATION TILL GE 13.

written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 09:48:28
PAY ATTENTION MALAYSIANS. GLOBAL RECESSION IS HERE. IT COULD BE WORSE THAN 97/98.
ALL THESE IS HAPPENING DUE TO GREED. WATCH HOW YOU SPEND YOUR MONEY.
written by A MI, October 18, 2008 09:57:00
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 09:48:28
PAY ATTENTION MALAYSIANS. GLOBAL RECESSION IS HERE. IT COULD BE WORSE THAN 97/98.

yeah but Bodohwee speeded recession up for Malaysians with his sudden oil-price hike. Consumer goods just catapulted up almost immediately. Now the 10 sen and 15 sen reduction will not birn prices down.

Please include Bodowee as the Worst Malaysian Primister to date when writing the new Primary School History books--even Mahazalim did not cause so much pain to wage-earners. May God repay you in kind 10-fold for all the sins you have committed Bodowee et. al.
written by MAMR, October 18, 2008 10:38:13
I CALL FOR RETENDER OF THE COPTER TO SAVE RAKYATS MONEY ESPECIALLY DURING THIS DOWNTIME.
written by Kopi37, October 18, 2008 10:55:43
Before Najis cleared the foul linen of the submarine deal two years ago and before he pay back the commission to the Altantuya family, here is another big deal of eurocopters and billions extra is going to be earned! Our good tax money is going to be plundered once again!
When is this rule of jungle going to end and whether this is the so-called special rights for the Unmo morons to enjoy with impunity, despite they are doing all kind of misdeeds and never ending corruptions in practice?! When PR takes over, we the rakyat will demand that all these plunderers of national wealth should be judged by Court such as Taiwan Government is doing, to retrieve the absconded money and assets for national welfare!...........They are the pirates!
written by charli88, October 18, 2008 11:04:19
To me, it's not so much about UMNO or MCA or MIC or GERAKAN and other BN component parties. It's the unstoppable extreme corruption amongst the ruling system. These low life actions have deprived the basic needs of the Rakyat. See for yourself and hear for yourself. Eg. this gomen commit to some contract with private sector and burden - oh no, enslave the Rakyat for loooog-looong time. Personally I do not respect BN politicians especially not bringing their collegues into book. Hope these croooks have a safe trip to hell.
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 18, 2008 13:27:32
Dear LILIN,

You are a stupid bloody IDIOT!!! Based on your stupid argument, Malaysia should pay even less than what Brazil is paying because we did not buy over the technology. Brazil did not just buy the helicopters, they benefitted from the transfer of technology in the manufacture of the helicopters too. So without buying over the technology that EUrocopter has spent on R&D, Malaysia should pay even less than what Brazil paid for their helicopters. I regret the day your mother gave birth to you!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by ez24get, October 18, 2008 13:41:40
LILIN Wrote...Terrible! I checked the website that T Gopal provided. It is clear that Brasil is producing the copters and the Brazilian gomen is buying from a local company. Price is very different here when you buy from a third party or a different country. Malaysia do not produce such copters hence buying abroad with the services and technicians and el al will cost a bomb indeed. T. Gopal's argument is not valid since he did not take all these into consideration.

Brazil paid RM82.9 million for each Cougar but Malaysia paid RM193 million for each. Remember there is no excise duties or sales tax on national defense purchases. Even if one buys from overseas, is it justified that the cost difference is a whopping RM110 each or 133% for the same brand and make?

Even the whole government machinery has jumped in and supported the higher price. Nobody has the right sense to say, "hold on, let's check the prices and see whether we can get it cheaper elsewhere".

Come on, even a kid knows that there is gross impropriety on the defense contract!
written by HHKim, October 18, 2008 16:51:57
Is the government going to change its decision??
Both Najib and AAB set to stay put with their bloody decision.

Let's start a BLAVk WAVE ( like the Yellow Wave of Bersih) to protest this corrupted deal. Best still bring the BN down and remove them from cabinet.

We expect PDRM or ACA to commence investigation??? How about the Auditor General?? Finance Ministry?? All keep damn bloody quiet to allow this dirty deal to go through!!

This is our BN government. This is our country running by traitors!!
written by Nunudada, October 18, 2008 16:57:37
One cannot make direct comparisons like that.The units ordered for malaysia were to be specially fitted with radar jamming devices and other sophisticated electronic paraphernalia ,which no other country in the world has or utilizes its fleet.We are the best! We are the greatest! MALAYSIA BOLEH! MACHAM MACHAM PUN BOLEH!
written by anakperlis, October 18, 2008 21:07:03
Naik harga petrol, hisap darah dari seluruh rakyat kemudian beli eurocopter dgn harga menglangit tinggi, apa dah jadi, tau taulah sebagai arang Malaysia, takut aku nak terus terang tulis , sat gi kena ISA macam orang JB tu. ha.....ha....
written by Steven Tan, October 18, 2008 21:39:45
How about this.....

The price of the Eurocopter EC 725 which Malaysia going to buy is RM193 Million (USD54 Million) per unit BUT the same helicopter which Brazil going to buy is RM82.8 million (USD23 Million) per unit smilies/tongue.gif.

The price of the Sukhoi Su-30MKM which Malaysia bought was >< RM175 Million (USD50 Million) per unit BUT the same Sukhoi Su-30MKM purchased by Indian Army costing about >< RM140 Million (USD39 Million) per unit smilies/wink.gif.

Anyway it looks like the Boeing 737 Jetliner which can carry >< 150 people excluded the cargo is much more cheaper than Eurocopter EC725. The price of the Boeing 737 version is about RM175 Million (USD50 Million)

May be this joke suits the purchasing fomula used in Malaysia

Tenderer 1

Interviewer: Your bid is 3 million. How do you justify your tender sum?

Korean tenderer: 1 million for labour, 1 million for materials and 1 million for expenses and a little profit.

Interview: Ok. Thank you. Next!

Tenderer 2

Interviewer: Your bid is 6 million. How do you justify your tender sum?

Japanese tenderer: 2 million for labour, 2 million for materials and 2 million for expenses and a little profit.

Interviewer: Ok. Thank you. Next!

Tenderer 3

Interviewer: Your bid is 9 million. This is way above everyone else. How do you justify your tender sum?

Malaysian tenderer: 3 million for YOU, 3 million for ME, and we get the Koreans to do it for 3 million smilies/cool.gifsmilies/wink.gif.