Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow New global campaign to free bloggers

New global campaign to free bloggers PDF Print
Friday, 17 October 2008 15:33

There is a new global forum for democratic legislators called the e-Parliament. At an e-Parliament hearing on democracy held in Indonesia last December, it was decided that a key role for the e-Parliament should be to enable democratically-elected representatives to speak out together for free expression on the Internet.

Thus began the call for e-Freedom, supporting everyone's right to express their views online, and calling for the release of the 100 or so individuals who are known to be in prison because they did so.

This call was first distributed among the legislators in the e-Parliament's database and has now gathered the signatures of over 50 democratically-elected politicians from over 20 different countries. This is published  at http://www.e-parl.net/efreedom.

Now, e-Parliament is keen to have it signed by members of the blogging community. If Raja Petra is not there, then it's time you joined the e-Parliament to lobby for his inclusion.

Click here to participate.
Click here to read the invitation letter from Graham Watson MEP.
===

--
Daniel Chandranayagam
http://pottedplot.com/

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 16:30:44
Let us hope this e-Parliament will help us! The more global pressure that can be brought to bear on our Barisan Najis Govt. the better! I don't know if anyone followed up on my idea to nominate RPK. If RPK wins the Nobel Peace Prize, it would bring heck of a lot of pressure to bear on Barisan Najis and hopefully result in his freedom at least!

written by panca, October 17, 2008 17:36:37
RPK for Nobel Peace Prize? Why not, Absolutely!
written by michael chick, October 17, 2008 17:53:05
written by ahmadneil, October 17, 2008 18:23:08
Paris..As I sat here alone quietly ,looking across Arch de Trompe,pondering over all the things that I have heard about Altantuya and her trips to Paris with her malaysian boyfriend,wild thoughts crossed my mind.Things like how she walked together with her boyfriend,holding hands,kissing whenever their eyes met,rubbing cheeks when hugging,childishly rubbing his palm on her buttock and playing hide and seek along the streets of Rue de Opera.Watching in a distance and helping to carry all the shopping bags full of branded goods,designer dresses,shoes etc,is that 'guinea pig' who is now languishing in Sungei Buloh Prison.Pity him ,after been promised a few dirty ringgit,he act as a 'unlicensed aid de camp', arranging for all of Altantuya's trips abroad , shopping and dining with her boyfriend.Goosh!The sudden ringing of my handphone ended my wild thoughts.I have to order another pot of coffee becos mine ones have turn cold after my thoughts wander off.Ya,can't help thinking of that kind hearted mongolian beauty becos she have touched the hearts of practically each and every malaysian,perhaps the world also,not forgetting her countrymen and women.Oh! my guy Mr Ritchie from Yves Saint Laurent boutique is honking. Sorry ,I have to end abruptly,which is quite rude in France,becos I have some very important person to meet.I have another few days to go before my trip ended.C U .Merci Buku.
written by ahmadneil, October 17, 2008 18:25:54
Mickael Chick,I hope this is not a doctored one.Good job!Latest thai and cambodian are friends oledi.
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 21:21:10

Ahmadneil,

Of course it is a doctored picture, putting Najis Rosak in place of Hitler in the picture ! Merci beaucorp, for sharing your diary with us. Most revealing and interesting !

written by Futurist, October 17, 2008 21:29:11
The one standing on the left should be SHA.
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 00:33:23
Ahmadneil, we waiting anxiously for your return. Please watch your back. Please be very careful. God bless. Oh how i love paris. but so expensive lah!
written by michael chick, October 18, 2008 03:41:47
Damn!!! That's it ! I'm changing suppliers. This guy must be working for the Malaysian Police. They make up such lousy "False Evidence". Fortunately, I only bought him Kopi "O" at the roadside khmer "mamak". Cost me 800 Riel for it.

No big deal. Will the real Nazi, I mean Najib photos please surface soon. Watershed theorists, please show us some real evidence. (other than the ones hidden by RPK)

AhmadNeil, ceasefire? Really, The papers said they are having heated debates, drawing the border-lines all the way to the Gulf of Thailand, coz that's where the oil is. Cambodia will be a Super Power if they have it their way, with the amount of oil near Sihanoukville. About 16 times what Malaysia has in Borneo. Why do you think Malaysia is still contesting the other island (stone outcrop according to our idiot sore-loser minister) just off of Vietnam????
written by CPY, October 18, 2008 10:59:14
Global campaign sounds good, but they may have their domestic problem to solve, therefore we may be alone. However, if possible, try not to get the West to help us. These ppl may have a hidden agenda, so be careful. Raja Paling Kuat will suceed in bringing down the corrupted government in a short time! smilies/smiley.gif