Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow How about an NEP for all Malaysians?

How about an NEP for all Malaysians? PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 17 October 2008 15:24

OCT 17 — Whenever I write about the racism non-Bumiputeras suffer in Malaysia, I meet with the same reply: but what about the discrimination the Bumiputeras suffer from the Chinese business community? Shouldn’t the government be doing something about that? Undoubtedly.

John Lee is a second-year student of economics at Dartmouth College in the United States. He has been thinking aloud since 2005 at infernalramblings.com.

But the answer to racism can never be more racism. I understand the rejection a Bumiputera must feel when she cannot climb the corporate ladder because of her race. But does that justify, in turn, rejecting a non-Bumiputera trying to serve his country, just out of spite? If we want to be fair, we must prioritise economic development as a national, not racial, problem.

The problem with the New Economic Policy is not its implementation; at its core, the policy itself is wrong. How can you assume that the only community deserving government help is the Bumiputera community? I challenge you, today, to go down to a new village or a rubber estate and to tell the impoverished subsistence workers there that they do not need their NEP too.

Poverty and economic backwardness are not problems unique to any one race; they are problems which the whole country must address, because they are problems which will drag all of us down if we do not tackle them.

Few things get on my nerves as much as non-Bumiputeras who become so busy pouring scorn on Malay racism and bemoaning government discrimination that they wind up blind to the very real fate of many Malaysians, Bumiputera and non-Bumiputera alike.

Does anyone still remember that story of the boy from Penampang, Sabah, who hung himself last year after he couldn't afford to buy a snack at school? His family of six was living on RM70 a month from the Welfare Department; after he hung himself, their dole was upped to RM150. Now, that boy was a Bumiputera, but I don’t think anyone gives a damn about what race he was; the point is that as long as you have families literally starving to death — who feed themselves on less than RM1 per person per day? — you need to do something.

Our ultimate goal must be to ensure that every Malaysian, no matter who he or she is, has the same chance as any other Malaysian to make the most of the innate talents God has granted them. It is just as wrong to deny a Bumiputera his chance to start a law firm as it is to deny a non-Bumiputera the scholarship he needs to become a doctor. It doesn't matter whether the discrimination is from the government or a private entity; in both cases, it is wrong, plain and simple.

What disgusts me is how many Bumiputeras justify government discrimination against non-Bumis, rich or poor, because the well-off non-Bumiputeras discriminate against them. And equally disgusting is the notion amongst some non-Bumiputeras that a “pure meritocracy” can be fair to everyone, even though poor Malaysians are clearly competing at a disadvantage. Both sides claim to be fighting for justice; they refuse to confront the fact that two injustices don't cancel each other out. Fighting unfairness with unfairness only makes things less fair; it only makes more people worse off.

Now, a very real fact in this country is that many Malaysians, mainly the Bumiputeras, have much less chance of ever captaining a large corporation than the typical Chinese Malaysian. They do not have access to the educational opportunities, business mentors, social networks, or capital which they need to get going in the commercial sector.

But how does this justify at all denying Chinese Malaysians — some of whom come from as impoverished backgrounds as many Bumiputeras — access to these same necessities, just for the sake of a Bumiputera, who for all we know is the scion of a rich "towering Malay" family who clearly does not need any help to get ahead? Even more importantly, how does this justify calling non-Bumiputeras pendatang asing and squatters who can be kicked out of the country at a moment's notice?

And on the other hand, how does the clear failure of the NEP to uplift the majority of Bumiputeras out of poverty invalidate any sort of policy which will level the playing field? A pure dog eat dog world isn't a just world — it's anarchy. The biggest obstacle to lifting people out of poverty is ensuring they have access to basic opportunities for them to lift themselves up by their own bootstraps. When you live in fear of starvation, when you have to drop out of school to feed your younger siblings, when you can't afford to go to the doctor, how can you ever make the most of the brains and muscle God gifted you with?

It's time to stop being selfish. It's time to advance economic policies which give all Malaysians a fair shake. The poor of Malaysia need their NEP — they need their chance to get the things we in the wealthy suburbs take for granted. When Indian kids in the estate can't go to school, when Malay children in the kampung drop out because they can't see a future for themselves, when Chinese in the new villages think “DVD seller” is an ambition, it’s all of us, Malaysians, who lose. When we try to solve these problems by refusing non-Bumiputeras scholarships, or refusing to even lend deserving Bumiputeras a hand, we only worsen them.

The power to change this is in our hands. We can tell our politicians we want something different, something that works for all Malaysians. Why don't we do this? Why do we continue to rant about the stupid politics of Pakatan Rakyat or Umno? Every potential doctor, every potential lawyer, every potential entrepreneur that languishes as a lorry driver somewhere because he never got the skills he needed is a real loss to us, and a far bigger problem than the petty politics we would rather whine about.

John Lee thinks it’s better to teach someone to fish than to take fish away from other people for the sake of being “fair”. He writes at http://www.infernalramblings.com

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by indianputra, October 17, 2008 15:29:07
but it will only be after PR takes over the Government.
written by mightywill, October 17, 2008 15:31:53
If all the ruling politicians have a mind and ears like this, we won't have what we have today. They are simply shut out from the world except for the $$$.
written by cheekymate, October 17, 2008 15:37:14
John,
Your article if given an opportunity to be executed, reflects the views of many, regardless of colour, creed or race. However, realistically speaking, we are still amidst a turbulent era of possible political change and thus, the road ahead is full of uncertainty. We can only pray for truth to prevail one day.....
written by Newkidonblog, October 17, 2008 15:40:30
Dear John

Oh, how I hate to write! Have you ever try to snatch food away from a hungry and greedy dog? They bite! Woof! Woof! cries UMNO canines.
written by penangboi, October 17, 2008 15:44:32
Of course this is a noble idea. Any sane and logical person can see its fairness and justification. But we are not dealing with people who are sane and rational. We are dealing with a government which is populated by leaders who are only interested in preserving their own selfish agenda, their own political survival which also translates into creating personal wealth.

BN consists of 3 main racist parties, chief of which is UMNO. UMNO's very survival and existence depends solely on the NEP. Take away NEP and UMNO will fall. Take away the Ketuanan Melayu you'd take away the very foundation of UMNO.

Just imagine if you can, if UMNO does not use race as a means to garner support, there won't be any more Malays who'd join the party. And since UMNO is the party that is controlling the govening of this country, do you think for a moment that it's going to champion for a NEP for all Malaysians?
written by zul4kulim, October 17, 2008 15:45:37
NEP was originally for all with emphasise on Malay rural...until umno elites realise that NEP is for them to loot as they like under ketuanan http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...khriz.html
written by xiaubauu, October 17, 2008 15:52:14
What makes you think PR government will magically be just and non-corrupt. I have a fear they they will be more corrupt and worse than BN. Look at the history of Taiwan, when KMT goes down, MJT and the Chen come up, all they care about is taking money.
disagree 28
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 16:01:02
NEP for all ?? You might as well say it out loud and clear and backed by a suite of Laws enacted to forbid discrimination of any sort, be it race, gender, age, religion, culture, creed, etc. This way it becomes a level playing field for all, and may the best person win! Simple, & straightforward!

written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 16:02:54
xiaobauu, Stop whining! If you want to stick with Barisan Najis, that is your problem. It's so bad now, most of us want to give Pakatan RAKYAT a try. At least they have a clean slate. The BN slate is so mussed up, no way am I going to plump for them !

written by admiral Tojo, October 17, 2008 16:04:46
John Lee,
I totally agree with your suggestion. The word here is UMNOPUTRA. Do you know that there is a policy that all Government Jobs are given to Umnoputra contracors? If you are Malay and with the opposition, you will never get these contracts? There exists in all Ministries Special Officers appointed by the Minister and their job is to vet contractors for their political correctness (fron UMNO's point of view). So, in a nutshell even the Malays are subjected to these discrimination. The word is, I repeat, UMNOPUTRA. They are strutting around behaving as though they are the government when in actual fact they are only a political party, in which their relevancy is fast diminishing. The people have voted in March and recently in Permatang Pauh, to rid the government off this gangsterism.

Yes, let us take care of all citizens in need, irrespective of their colour, race or creed.
written by Newkidonblog, October 17, 2008 16:05:58
zul4kulim, you're back on the same side! How nice, glad you still see the evil side of UMNO! Zul for equality and fairness. God bless you!

written by lamakawan, October 17, 2008 16:07:58
Yes its time not to be selfish John, its easy to say. Its time that we help the poor and the young. Its time we give employment to all our graduates, irrespective of color or religion. Its time that we give work out to everyone irrespective of their social standing. Who are the people that are applying discrimination for all these? The UMNO dogs of BN. They say, reserve 30% of houses for my kampong folks. They are fed up of wooden houses. Reserve 30% of university places for my clique. Reserve the multi million contracts for my uncle. These are all the demands emanating from the BN dogs all these while. And they are getting all these specialties for the past 50 odd years. and they say this is not enough. They want another 50 years to do what they like., simple because they can't get 2/3 in Parliament , and they cry foul. we are not getting what we used to.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 17, 2008 16:24:05
Any ideas that make it good for ALL Malaysians will certainly do well for the country. But there are many who feel that this is not good at all. When we first started, Malaysia was at par with S Korea, Taiwan, HK and Singapore. Now we are way behind. The inward looking government policies are holding back the progress of the country, harping the same issues for 50 years. If 50 years can't fix it, nothing can and perhaps those are not as important as the government has made it out to be. A smokescreen perhaps?

Anyway, time will overtake all of these backward thinking and time will overtake our country's progress. 2020 is the target date for being a developed nation. Unfortunately, such policies or some argue the execution of such policies have put the brakes on the country's progress.

http://proud2bmalaysian.wordpr...ed-nation/
written by clarity, October 17, 2008 16:26:00
John, you are rather naive. Our politicians will tell tell you ' but that's polititics! If we do every thing that you suggest, we aould not be needed and the opportunity to corrupt would be gone'. Another reason why your suggestions are not practical is the population factor. Team A is prudent. The no. of children he has is limited by his pay while Team B just goes on multiplying regardless. Take a drive around mix housing areas and compare the no. of different races of kids running around. How do you justify NEP for everybody when one team keeps on having more mouths to feed?
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 17, 2008 16:35:38
“…The power to change this is in our hands. We can tell our politicians we want something different, something that works for all Malaysians. Why don't we do this?.....”

Nice sentiment supported by most, but since when did any politicians, after being voted into power, listens to any ordinary voter anywhere? Our power to change is to keep on voting one politician after another…year in and year out…only to discover that the “nice, sincere, & honest” politician we have voted sprouted horns within the month.

Change the government completely and install professional politicians…but then, that’s rather asking a lot our of our Malaysian politicians, isn’t it? Well, we still have hope that we might just get that one day! Meanwhile, we all keep on trucking…oopphs…I mean voting!
written by Sinewy, October 17, 2008 16:37:26
I don't support race based politics which is a tools for the ruling party to harp on ketuanan and racist supremacy policies to deny a fair and equal treatment to all citizens of this country. It is a tool for the ruling party to strike fear among its own kind that their race and religion are threatened by others so that they will continue to support these warlords in the ruling party for protection against imaginary enemy. Politics should be free from racist elements and should be based on issues of interest to the nation and its citizens. Nobody will disagree to have policies to help the lower income group in the rural area and the agricultural community to attain a better economic competitiveness in the country. But the race based politicians have hijacked such noble deed to become a racial right issue to enable their warlords to manipulate the tax payers' money in the national coffer for the benefit of their elite group. In the private sector, there would be biases but not necessary race based. Are you sure that any non-bumi who starts a consultant firm will manage to get jobs in the market straight away? I can say that you are dead wrong if you think so. There is such thing as "guangsi" in the business world and irrespective of your race, if you don't have it with that company, most likely you won't get the job. This difficulty is faced by all people in the private sector, not just the bumi. I have faced it for the last 25 years of my business experience. But then I have to accept it because it is a free and open market that does not play by any rule. So you have to start with something or some area where such biases is less and progress from there. Even if you go into MLM, you have to be thoughtful of where to start, isn't it? You don't cry discrimination in the open market. Same thing in climbing the corporate ladder. If you don't have the "guangsi" it may be tough. And we have a saying that if you are resourceful, hardworking and capable, try elsewhere if this is not the place for you. Again you don't have to cry discrimination because no one wil hear you in a private enterprise, it is not a government institution. Therefore the way of discrimination through goverment enforced policies is totally race based favouring a particular race whereas the biases faced in the private sector can be faced by anyone irrespective of race. It is not a "apple to apple" comparison.
written by nylong, October 17, 2008 16:56:59
Maintain Status Quo for another 10 years?????

It is human nature to be reluctant to give up what they already have. No Matter how much logic and reasoning, right or wrong, it does not matter.

Let's Face It......
1.) The non-bumi have accepted the idea of NEP, though some grudgingly, for more than the last 30 years.
2.) The non-bumi also accepted the noble idea behind the concept of NEP.
3.) The non-bumi only find it hard to accept in the poor NEP implementation.
4.) The non-bumi totally find it UNACCEPTABLE, on the abuses in the name of NEP.

Why don't BN & PR both accept NEP for say another 10years. Both party should compete on How they can ensure a fair implementation, true to the spirit of the NEP In this way, no party, bumi or non-bumi, should feel threatened. No need to raise, racial sentiment, since the NEP is still in progress.
Just An Idea fellow Citizens.
written by red1, October 17, 2008 17:13:25
The dichotomy is not good but its part of a social contract. Can we turn back time? We can't and neither are certain parties giving it up. Mostly politicians are using this issue to play to the gallery. In the end, its doing no one any good.
written by AngryTaxpayer, October 17, 2008 17:16:51
John, yes, most of us here are just about thinking along the same lines......

However, do be careful, when this govn has run out of people to be made scapegoats of, in their greedy quest for power, they may just come looking for you.......muahahahahaha smilies/tongue.gif
written by ChotS, October 17, 2008 17:47:11
Dude, I understand what your writing bouts,I'm a malay guy whose father working as security guard and he work so damn hard to make sure all his 4 children to go for Universities.My point here is that we can't depend on NEP whatsoever,we have to depend on our own two feet.After I graduate I can see some company that is racial basis.But its not a reason to say that we as a bumiputra can't survive outside of the government.Find your place.Now I'm working at one of big japan company in the world.And I have a lot of chinese collegue.So just take away the excuse and strive hard.Trust me nowadays people are more matured.They see you as who u are.And hopefully the Panampang Sabah story will never happen again.

Go PKR.For a better Malaysia
written by bigben, October 17, 2008 18:12:12
The whole system in Malaysia is geared towards raping the country by the BNputras. Ministries run by UMNO will give contracts to UMNOputras, MCA to MCAputras and MIC to MICputras etc. They are all in it together for the money. Fairness should be based on universal values with no exceptions.

The NEP does not benefit the ordinary Malay or Bumiputra. It only does the BNputras. I would like to add to the analogy of "it's better to teach someone to fish than to give him fish". In Malaysia we have moved one step forward. Having run out of fish to give, the BN has now resorted to giving out licence to their UMNOputras to take fish caught by the nonbumis. This is even more dangerous than any one can imagine. A time will come when no one will be spared when the pie gets too small or when the nonbumis stop catching fish. Whose fish will they go after then?
written by Malaysiaputra, October 17, 2008 18:23:54
on the other hand, how does the clear failure of the NEP to uplift the majority of Bumiputeras out of poverty invalidate any sort of policy which will level the playing field? A pure dog eat dog world isn't a just world — it's anarchy. The biggest obstacle to lifting people out of poverty is ensuring they have access to basic opportunities for them to lift themselves up by their own bootstraps.

-----

I hear with my own ears and see with my own eyes, how the Umnoputras are abusing the NEP.

A simple example which I came across many times . When I meet these simple , poor kampung folks and ask them why their children are not in school, their reply was that they could not afford. I next asked why they did not see the HM to apply for financial assistance from the govt ?.

The answer is that they did but the che gu said their children did not qualify but some other teachers children got the scholarship. I was dumb founded.

When I asked why they did not protest they just retorted, "what is the use, we are poor people".

Yes, the NEP started out with a noble objective but it is hijacked to benefit the supporters of a particular party mainly. This applies to govt aids to the poor in the Kampung too. I have heard enough stories about abuses to the NEP. The NEP is used to garner support and as reward loyalty to a particular political party.
written by Tornado, October 17, 2008 18:24:19
Don't forget history, our PM said..

But who forget history. NEP created by past government. NEP mission and vission are clear. NEP created to :-

1. Fight poverty..
2. Reconstruct & restructured race based economy activity..

This has be told to us past, present and future. This has be told to us during our primary, secondary, high and universities studies...

But, what happen now not compile with the real NEP mission & vission. Not just other poor races, malays itself also has been left behind.
written by ez24get, October 17, 2008 18:29:30
But what about the discrimination the Bumiputeras suffer from the Chinese business community? Shouldn’t the government be doing something about that?

The fact is that chinese business community DOES help the bumiputras! Whatever profits that the chinese community makes, it set aside 27% of it for taxation and pays that over to the Government. The Government is supposed to use this money to help the less fortunate bumiputras. This is how the system goes universally. The chinese community (and other community also including bumiputras) set aside a sum of money to the Government and trust the Government to help all less fortunate bumiputras.

The business community can't be doing the function of a government like giving aids, scholarships, etc. If they do so they will have to close shop as their cost of doing business would be prohibitive. Imagine your business having to pay taxes as well as giving aids, scholarships, etc, to the deserving. Not every non-bumiputra businesses have the good fortune of businesses as those of Petronas, Tenaga or Telekom.

But somewhere down the line, these money collected from the chinese and other communities have been hijacked through various means - inflated prices for Government purchases, commission for Eurocopter, submarines and defense deals, sending astronaut to the moon, buying mercedes cars, crony bailouts, financing mega white elephants projects, etc, etc. The intended help has not only not trickled down to the less fortunate bumiputras but the UMNO scoundrels, in concealing their ill-gotten gains, have put the blame on the chinese that they are ones stealing the money from the bumiputras. Thus, UMNO creates imaginary bogeymen and all these racial tension among the peace loving Malaysians.

Please put a proper perspective on who is the biggest culprit to be blamed on the sufferings of the less fortunate bumiputras - the chinese business community or the squandering UMNO bumiputras? The chinese business community does help the less fortunate bumiputras but the perception given is entirely different because someone has to take the blame for the hijacked money!

Malaysia is blessed with so much natural resources. For the past 50 years and with the current high prices of petroleum, natural resources such as palm oil, rubber, tin, aquaculture, forestry products, etc Malaysia’s coffer should be brimming with money. The money should have been used to build highways, schools for every race, reduce tariffs on cars including national cars, reduce prices of utilities, road taxes, personal income taxes, food, school fees, etc.

There should be enough money for NEP for every Malaysians without having to fight among ourselves. If we have to fight, it should be with the squandering, well fed UMNO leaders!
written by Shimshon, October 17, 2008 18:32:40

"Hindraf = a Secret Society" they say???

Nope! the NEP is a secret society -- that made trillions through the decades (mostly unaccounted for) - to enrich the Malay-Muslims.... creating money out of thin air, making overnight millionaires, multimillionaires.

The NEP allows the UMNOputras to do many things off record, and illegally -- very much like secret societies!

The NEP allows the high productivity of the nonMalays (includg. natural resources rich Sabah-Sarawak) to be siphoned and passed on the the Malays & UMNOputras -- a pure case of "Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama!"

If young Khairy Jamaluddin became a billionaire during his father-in-law's premiership, what about the other more "senior" UMNOputras??

And the New Economic Policy was from 1971-1991 -- and hence not "new" anymore!

Let's more openly call for the ban of this illegal, immoral, this "very secretive" NEP!!!

written by shamadz72, October 17, 2008 18:41:16
Even if you go into MLM, you have to be thoughtful of where to start, isn't it? You don't cry discrimination in the open market. Same thing in climbing the corporate ladder. If you don't have the "guangsi" it may be tough.

-----

Sinewy,

How about we start with job advertisement like "Chinese Only" or "Chinese Female Only" that can be blatantly stumble when you go to any shopping mall around Malaysia? The worst job advertisement I have seen is "No Indian".

Ho John Lee is right here. Racism is not only condone by BNPutra but also widely by us all Malaysian. We only shout 'Racism' when we are the one been discriminate but when we are the one benefit from that policy (or advertisement in this case) we will simply close one eye. How many of you Chinese feel disgusted when you see the above advertisement? And what do you do about it? Have you try to boycott those establishment? Or you are the one who has been benefited from that policy and even got a job which has been advertise in such a racist criteria? Ask yourself honestly these questions.

How I wish once PR is in power, they will look into this issue seriously. Probably by making it against the law to discriminate any races at from any job at all.
written by tkahyap, October 17, 2008 21:41:22
well..good point. now mca and dap, please speak up against these advertisements. you will make umno red in the face because of their utterly racist attitudes. and oh yeah..that kedah MB Azizan too for creating housing quotas. now my uncle's company may have to close. thanks but no thanks!!!
written by coolandy, October 17, 2008 21:48:55
John,

What you articulate is absolutely correct. The main problem is that those who have hijacked the NEP feel that it is their inherent right to continue getting special favors just because they belong to a certain race no matter what their economic standings are.

We are the masters and you are just tumpang.

Sad but true. The rakyat just can't wait for the next GE.

NEP should be for all deserving Malaysians irrespective of race or religion.

written by harryo, October 17, 2008 23:01:04
NEP? Foget about it for another generation. Nothing is going to change in the Bolehland. But tell ways for me to fish for my daily porridge of my non-Bumi families and friends, please. I know I am going suffer more and therefore I am going to work harder for my pittance of earning and survival. Instead of NEP, I turn it to become a PEN to write to the world my part of the story of suffering heart, just may be. Sigh.h.h..h..h....
written by pixieface, October 17, 2008 23:30:49
NEP for the bumis. No..for the umnoputras you mean. What are the Sabahan politicians doing??? Oh yes, making their own state bankrupt which was once one of the richest state in the country. The remote rural areas are so so poor, you
wouldn't believe it. And you know what, sabah forest is now BOTAK. In whose hands, I leave that to you my dear watson to think it out. Yes Raymond Tan, go form another bn party. Why don't you declare your truthful assets. And that goes to the rest of the bn politicians as well who drive big cars and have palatial homes.
written by Sinewy, October 18, 2008 01:31:18
shamadz72

All my family members speak converse in english and well verse in bahasa. My son face a lot of language obstacle when applying for jobs in the private sector, especially those advertise for the need to speak mandarin. I have no problem with such advertisements because I think it is the prerogative of the owner of that business to understand what he wants and best to suit the post. Of course I have told my son to learb up the mandarin as soon as possible to be more marketable instead of moaning over such a situation. In a free market, we make ourselves to suit the need of the situation and not the other way round. This is the way to survive out in the open.
written by CPY, October 18, 2008 10:50:25
The present NEP has made the UMNOputra the richest ethnic group in Malaysia. Some of the wealth 'owned' by non-bumi are actually owned by UMNOputra. Its obvious if we want to beat countries like Korea, we need to make sure the majority of our ppl are well off. However, the thing pissed me off is that the UMNO uses Article 153 to justify Apartheid like policies when Article 153 does allow sufficient help for Bumi without alienating the non-bumi.
written by Jit Dharma, October 18, 2008 16:19:46
You are right Bro.John, pure meritocracy will be as racist as the NEP.The poor
will always be the most disadvantaged.One assumes in such cases that those who
are disadvantaged will be taken care of. But the present mentality of those who already " have a leg up",( whatever the race) shows no evidence of having any
inclination, besides token charity, to help the disadvantaged.As an example,
Ananda Krishnan, reputed multi-billionaire, has done bugger all to help the
poor in the Indian community.He certainly could...but he won't. The real problem would be the greed and selfishness prevalent in all human beings. We need to create and promote a new culture, not of privilege and ostentation but one of sacrifice and service. This is the hardest thing to do but by doing this we will earn the right to say we have achieved Greatness.Malaysia would then have done something to move the whole World.
It hasn't been easy for us here but that's a good thing. The answers to our problems require a great deal of effort from us. Are we equal to it? Or are we going to just limp along as usual?
written by Jit Dharma, October 18, 2008 16:43:09
By the simple act of riding in the third class, Mahatma Ghandi, the most Radical Revolutionary that ever has and will ever live, stamped his moral
authority on a word blinded by greed and cruelty. Mahatmaji, you have in one step arrived `at the place where the human race must eventually arrive. Only they will need to be bullied, cajoled,courted and perhaps seduced into going
there. God rest and bless your weary and Great Soul.