Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA wants deputy BN chair

MCA wants deputy BN chair PDF Print
Friday, 17 October 2008 15:20
By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 17 — The MCA will continue to back Umno as chairman of the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition.

But outgoing MCA Youth chief Datuk Liow Tiong Lai says a deputy chairman’s post should be created for the party.

Liow is running for a MCA vice-president’s seat.

“We support Umno to chair the BN. But we can add another deputy chairman so that one is filled by a leader from the MCA.”

He said this in his speech at the opening of the 45th MCA Youth General Assembly.

Stating that the March 8 general election showed that voters wanted political stability and racial harmony, he said that the BN needed to revise its structure.

“The structure must ensure that the position, importance and representation of all component parties are suitable.

“We understand the desire for reforms among voters. The ‘siege mentality’ that has always existed is no longer suitable,” he said.

Liow, who is running for vice-president in the party elections, added that the MCA has worked with other BN component parties since independence and has always contributed to the spirit and principle of multiracial cooperation.

His stand appears to be a reflection of pressure from party grassroots for a more assertive MCA within the BN framework.

The pressure towards a more vocal MCA stems from the party’s poor performance in the March general election.

Reform has become the catchphrase in the party’s election campaign, and various candidates have been scurrying to represent such a goal.

At a press conference later, Liow was asked if he was suggesting two deputy prime ministers as well.

“Let's reform BN first, then the government. One step at a time,” he said.

Quizzed on whether this would result in other parties such as the MIC or those from Sabah and Sarawak asking for a deputy chairman’s post as well or a rotation system among BN component parties, he clarified that his suggestion was aimed at starting reforms and other suggestions could be studied later.

“Based on the components, the MCA is the second largest party in the BN,” he said to explain this first step.

MCA deputy president Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy, who will be retiring tomorrow, said the suggestion was “appropriate and timely” as “there is no hard and fast rule that says Umno must take up all the senior posts.”

He added that the suggestion was not without precedent, citing Tan Sri Michael Chen’s tenure as secretary-general when the BN was founded in 1974.

“The top leadership in the BN should look at this seriously if they want to have meaningful power-sharing,” he concluded.

BN and Umno Youth chairman Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein accepted that the suggestion was made in “the right spirit” of wanting to revitalise the coalition but that it needed to be discussed by the top leadership.

“There have been a lot of suggestions but we must ensure that the understanding and respect between components is maintained,” he told reporters after attending the opening of the MCA Youth General Assembly.

“It is not for BN Youth to decide,” he said, adding that this was the first time he had heard such a suggestion.

Also present was his counterpart from the People’s Progressive Party, T. Murugiah, who said he supported the suggestion “100 per cent”.

“But I would like to further suggest that there be three deputy chairmen,” he said.

He explained that one would be a Bumiputera, another a Chinese and the third one from the Indian community.

He also used the term “deputy prime minister” in describing his suggestion.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by indianputra, October 17, 2008 15:23:04
At least MCA has the guts and balls to ask. MIC will be shitting in their pants before even thinking of asking.
written by cheekymate, October 17, 2008 15:23:41
Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, Stop dreaming. It is only 3.22pm in the afternoon.
written by CitizenBodohland, October 17, 2008 15:42:34
MaCAi umpama sida-sida yang gila kuasa. Bukak rantai anjing kat leher korang dulu barulah cerita.
written by ctchoolaw, October 17, 2008 15:57:07
Somehow, we cannot see MCA having any real respect from UMNO. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...ebate.html
written by Simha, October 17, 2008 16:01:39
Datuk Liow, you are talking somthing that is impossible. Just look at your MCA boss, what he can do? We don't need a chinese to fight for any chinese. We need someone like RPK to do justice for the poor malay, chinese, indian, kadazan, penan all others minority poor. We still have many poor non chinese and yet you still want to fight for the rich chinese towkays who are supporting umno who use ISA at their fancy to clamp down on those who fight for the poor. Liow, I am a chinese but I don't need you unless you get out of BN.
written by asguard, October 17, 2008 16:26:09
Well...servant..don't think that you demand that post for you and you shall be getting it ...the real answer is no not even a single....thing...don't dream...
written by fireduck, October 17, 2008 16:34:55
Sorry, bud. Don't really see the relevance there. So what if you get a glorified seat as Deputy. Same old toothless tiger, just occupying a better chair.

And it just goes to show the sort of mentality Liow and MCA have. They are using this as a condition for their continued support, perhaps. But what exactly is the nature of the request? How does it benefit the interests of the rakyat? Look at Yong Teck Lee and SAPP. They were laying it on the line for the rakyat of Sabah's interests. But Liow seems to be doing it for himself and MCA buddies. And what happens when big bro UMNO says 'No!'? Then you will slink back to your kennel with tails tucked between your hind legs? Don't just ask and make noise just because your party election is here.
written by AuntyG, October 17, 2008 16:39:43
MCA - your demands are too little too late now. You want the sit in the deputy chair in BeEnd to watch the curtains fall in TheEnd, like that also 'syok' meh?
Anyway, you can be wanting any chair, but we dont want you - period.
written by zandi, October 17, 2008 16:45:05
I agree to that 100% too! Hahaha ...But if you think UMNO will agree to such wishful thinking by MCA, then you got another think coming. But just for the fun of it, if BN agrees to a 3 deputy chairman: Malay, Chinese, Indian, then as sure as the sun will rise tommorrow, other races such as the kadazandusuns, bajaus, dayaks, ibans, etc. will demand for a Deputy chairmanship for each and everyone of them. Btw, don't even think UMNO will allow the Malay quota to be called Bumiputera simply becos that will dilute the supremacy of ketuanan Melayu! (UMNO will scream bloody murder!...What u want our supreme race to share the bumi quota with all the numerous strange races from Sabah and Swak???!)
written by tuahjebat, October 17, 2008 16:51:20
Why ....MCA,......die....MCA, keep on dreaming along, 51 years of shit, working for the corrupt regime...you gonna die old alone. So we will say...Why...MCA....die...MCA...
written by Stupid me, October 17, 2008 17:15:06
Fat hopes and best of luck. That will be the day !
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 17, 2008 17:41:41
Party elections just around the corner so nothing stops political opportunists from voicing their views and visions. After the elections everything returns to normal. The truth is these party bigots only care for their power, nothing else.

Why only go for the deputy chairman? Don't MIC, Gerakan, PBB and PPP too want to go for the posts? So create as many deputies as possible? Don't you all have a better idea? Why not dissolve BN and form a single entity? In there you all can compete among yourselves who should be what. And there you can proof yourselves to be true Malaysians.
written by jgerard, October 17, 2008 17:42:37
As reported by Malaysiakini:

"In a related development, Hishammuddin told reporters that he was open to discussion on Liow’s proposal as he saw it as part of the effort to reform BN.

However, he said the final decision should be left to BN chairperson Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Najib to decide."

Hello... Hishammudin. Why should it be decided by only BN Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson? Wake up lah. It should be decided by all Presidents of BN component parties. You are not sincere lah. How to reform like that???
written by allmenarebrothers, October 17, 2008 18:03:33
Dear Boh-Liow,
All your sound & fury signify NOTHING! You talk BIG only. ARM-NO don't care a damn! With UMNO, MAC, Gerakan, MIC etc Malaysia is not not a nation yet. The country is still very much divided by race with the unfair rules set by the ARM-NO.
Boh-Liow when can we be a true nation worthy of its name? Fifty one years of disunity still isn't enough? Ask Ling Long Sick, Pharoah of Malaysia, Samy Velue or Dr Lim for their views.
written by Hello Keithy, October 17, 2008 18:29:08
These MCA and UMNO 'make-believe' ties is really getting unreal. Please if you want to act, don't do it in front of millions of Malaysians. We know it will never work. One word will stop in its 'joint-venture' track - "SENSITIVITY". Do not touch on issues regarding the Malays' rights and Islam. And we know these has to do with a lot of issues when it comes to nation-building. So you tell me - how will things improve if you have limitations.
written by Bentoh, October 17, 2008 18:58:26
Oh wow... then what about Gerakan MIC PPP and the East Malaysians?
written by No nonsense, October 17, 2008 19:00:42
The only chair that Amno will give you is the Electric Chair. Go ahead ask and beg for one cause you guys surely deserve one and it will lead you to a quicker death. It will save your agony faster this way. May You idiots get one fast.
written by Kyle, October 17, 2008 19:08:00
If you ask any Chinese in Malaysia, everybody will tell you this should have happened long ago.
But why now only the self-proclaimed Chinese leader are voicing out when their influences are dwindling and the election is just around the corner ?

You think the shitty UMNO will 're-distribute' their power when the party is full of power and money hungry ghosts.

I say let PR heads the govt and then perhaps Malaysia will see a fairer policy.
written by Kyle, October 17, 2008 19:09:56
Is it too much to think that after the election, MCA will go back to its
'eunuch' style ?

I am more than happy to be proven wrong !
written by Siapabohong, October 17, 2008 19:12:44
No point to have a Chinese DPM or any other terms if the person can't do much for all Malaysians, just because he is a Chinese, so what, the person himself will benefited not the whole Chinese citizen of this country. I believe the majority of Malaysians can accept any body as the PM or DPM as long the person can do justice for all, can represent all, fair to all, fight for all, stand for all, that's what most important. To get a Chinese DPM or anything else but can do muich for all then better don't have, what the point to have a Chinese DPM just for the name sake or community sake but do nothing. Instead it will create infighting among the MCA leaders to grab the post.
written by hill69, October 17, 2008 19:57:47
its like, the dog is barking to the master....asking for a better cage. lol !!!
written by ez24get, October 17, 2008 21:24:57
What is the use of an additional BN chair when you sit on it you kept just nodding yes to whatever UMNO says?

You don't need a chair! Better stay on the floor where you it's easier to use your knees to kowtow to your master!
written by Aming, October 17, 2008 21:54:16
Give this Liow fellow a chair from Ikea. Where he wants to place it, is entirely up to him.
Stupid talk. Remember the case of Gerakan's media frenzy as to who should be CM after the March 8 GE? Count the chicken before they hatch.
Comes next GE when BN would be reduced to a minority opposition and MCA candidates all but wiped out, this Liow fellow would bury his shit-head in the mud of shame.
written by chiongguo, October 17, 2008 23:23:05
“The top leadership in the BN should look at this seriously if they want to have meaningful power-sharing,” he concluded.

Power can never be shared. Either you have it or you don't. It is very much like a eunuch. Either you are one or you are not(maybe you can have 1 of the balls still intact smilies/grin.gif ).

Instead of been determined and controlled by whatever "power-sharing" pact I would rather see the various parties coming together, determined and controlled by basic universal principles. This means having the basic humility and deep acceptance of the spiritual laws that pervade all of life and nature. There is then basic and mutual respect for one another. If there is such respect then who is right and who is wrong is less important than what is right and what is wrong.

Do the component parties in BN have such maturity ? As I see it MCA will always play second fiddle to UMNO. Interestingly I also see this in my 3 dogs. There is one who always show deference to the other two and would only eat after the other two have dug in. The other two always bully this third dog ; even biting off the skin/hair on the head. It seems that the 3 dogs after coming together for a short time know where their place is.

MCA after 51 years of "house training" will always know its place. A deputy chairman post merely confirms it.

written by inoi, October 18, 2008 00:10:00
liow tiong lai and mca speak like championing chinese cause,but reality he talk shit.
written by hakuna, October 18, 2008 00:44:47
They just want seats to warm their ass. What difference is it going to do - NOTHING. Shit these politicians should be hanged by their testicles.

Just serve the people instead of serving yourself.
written by Siapabohong, October 18, 2008 02:06:48
Soon after the statement from our brother Liow there were already negative statements from those fellas. Just wait for tomorow more 'teruk' statement from those more 'teruk' guys. And comes March 2009 just see the way they debate the issue, may it be another 'hell broke loose'? What say you mca fellas and especially OKT and his kutu? So talk it loud 7 hours from now and in front of the lame duck PM, may be the future PM be there also. Talk it out loud and show you guys really have the guts to speak out and sandiwara it that you really want to show to all the cinakui you represent them and wait and see what's the reaction from your most 'genuine partner' (the new mca youth chief said it) fellas react from that.
written by arifmr, October 18, 2008 03:17:13
I pun tak paham why ini MCA punyer congress masih ramai lg cina attend; buta hati betul..

ini bukan hal baru.. sudah lama.. berpuluh tahun dulu.. baru sekarang mahu cerita kah? ptuii..
written by arifmr, October 18, 2008 03:21:45
cerita banyak tak guna.. tak puas hati.. jalan laa..

noo.. i'm not talking to Liow & other MCA leaders..

I cakap sama luu cina MCA semua.. jalan laa.. tunggu apa lagii..
written by FFT, October 18, 2008 06:20:41
I've got a better idea...why dont they creat a Deputy Chairman position for every BN component party minus one.

Then you play musical chairs every 5 years like that circus Mahathir created for the Sabah CM position.

All will have to compete for the seats, except for that party of inbred half-Malay Tuans a.k.a UMNO. Due to their extreme retardation, they get a permanent handicap seat.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 18, 2008 08:33:18
Where the bloody hell are Sabah & Sarawak Politicians???? Are you all so ‘bloated’ with corrupted money & power that you are content to be lumped-up and be classified under West Malaysian “Malays”??? For fuk sake, don't you know we have major races of KadazanDusun & Ibans in the Federation of Malaysia too.

Our Malaysian Chinese & Indians are asking for their RIGHTS. What the fuk are you waiting for??? Stake our claims and ask for two Deputy post in the BN. If you are scared shit to do that, or if UMNO do not want to recognize our two races as separate from the West Malaysian Bumiputra shit pile, then abandon the BN and join the PKR.
written by Siapabohong, October 19, 2008 00:49:50
Alo arifmr, lu tak tau kah apa pasal dia orang masih mau attend itu kongres, macam jugak dalam perhimpunan parti terbesar itu la, mau tunggu ada projek cari luit la, tak ada luit siapa mau tunggu, luit datang dari mana, dari projek-projek itu la....