Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hakam: Rulers message is for all Malaysians

Hakam: Rulers message is for all Malaysians PDF Print
Friday, 17 October 2008 14:44

Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

National Human Rights Society (Hakam) president Malik Imtiaz says that people should not misread the special press statement issued yesterday by the council of rulers on Malaysia's social contract.

“It is not a caution to non-Malays but a statement to everyone,” said Malik. He emphasised that the rulers were merely reminding the rakyat that the Federal Constitution provides guarantees for all races and not only one particular race.

“I think it is a fair statement because it places equal emphasis on both Malay rights and non-Malays rights. You should not read what they are saying as supporting the NEP,” he advised, referring to the much-debated New Economic Policy introduced by second premier Tun Abdul Razak in 1971.

“I think the discussion on pluralism is not inconsistent with Article 153 of the Federal Constitution.Their Highnesses are not saying that we should not discuss pluralism, but to remember what the Constitution has provided,” he elaborated.

Speaking to The Malaysian Insider from Singapore, Malik said the exploitation of racial issues by certain “political actors” in the last few months has reached a worrying level, compelling the rulers to make a clear stand.

“The rulers felt it necessary to say that because they are merely trying to quell any possibility of any outbreak arising from escalating tensions. The rulers see that if the situation is left

unchecked, it will get out of hand,” he rationalised.

“What is being spun out by the media is suggesting that there is a disagreement by the non-Malay groups with their constitutional rights. That is a spin. That is not exactly what is happening,” he stressed.

“For example, the politicians who are trying to suggest that there is a move to abolish Malay rights, they should keep in mind that there is no such move to amend the Constitution. So don't create trouble on both sides of the division. Nobody is saying other than  ‘Let's all be fair’,” he concluded.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 17, 2008 14:45:13
Paris..8:44 am .french time..After a long train ride I'm back in Paris again.It's a nice cool morning and I headed straight to meet Mr Louis at Hotel Ritz situated at Place Vendome.He was there already when I arrived and we proceed straight to the lounge. He show me what exactly what I expected,3 rooms that Altantuya and the entourage were staying at Ritz Carlton Hotel.The invoice carbon copy were sign by Altantuya to acknowledge the total amount before paying.It was paid with American Express Platinum card.This rich Mongolian beauty must have good back up to hold this charge card.I ask Louis how many were staying and by going through the invoice he said there are 3 people altogether .I ask him how sure are you and how do you come to this conclusion that there are 3 persons.He answer is very simple,just look at all the initial at the bill that these guys sign when they order their individual food.Great! I have to rush to Hotel La Concorde for another appointment late in the morning.Meanwhile, I thank Louis for all the trouble in helping me to get all this documents.I insist on buying him a breakfast and in the end he reluctantly agree.After running through all the documents to make sure that I get the correct things,I bade him goodbye.I jump into a mercedes taxi and I'm off to my hotel.Lovely morning!C U guys.
written by jargon, October 17, 2008 14:54:32
Ahmadneil..there u are...worried ...thought the bad boys got u....Hope you're trip is fruitful...missing your wise cracks in earlier topics....bye...
written by Sunnysoul5, October 17, 2008 14:59:18
Hi Ahmadneil,

Is it good to let people know in advance what you are doing about the Altantuya affairs? Maybe you should be like James Bond, Pink Panther and all those spies and investigators by quietly collect enough concrete evidence before revealing the details.

PR leaders made the blunders by announcing the intention of taking over the government and see what happened to DSAI now. He is so quiet now and has no intention to caste a vote of no confidence on PM. Anyway, he may have something else up his sleeves. Just have to wait and see.

Best of luck to your dangerous missions. Be careful.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 17, 2008 15:01:34
“Ahmedneil”, you obviously have not read my earlier posting to you.
I think you have some wild imagination there spinning your yarn about ‘investigating” Najib in Paris.
For your info, some “quarters” (as a safety precaution in protecting ‘someone’) are taking an interest in your “investigation”.
Watch your steps, yah! We don’t want another case of “ahmedeil” missing in action like Bala!

Remember that these are ‘delicate’ times and even people like our bro Pete (with royal blood and all) are not exempted.
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 17, 2008 15:05:08
On another note:

Pemuda MCA hari ini mahu kedudukan dominan Umno dalam Barisan Nasional dikaji semula...
======================================================= ====================

MCA is UMNO stooge. Stop the crap an leave BN. If all BN components take actions rather than talk UMNO wouldn't be swollen-headed.
written by Jan, October 17, 2008 15:06:32
Ahmad Neil, if I am reading you correctly you may have on your hands incriminating evidence of our DPM's involvement with the dead Mongolian girl? Since the DPM already denied having met the girl then your evidence will surely finish his political career for good.
written by kent chong, October 17, 2008 15:07:10
Glad that now we have people investigate Najis... get more detail and summarised it and post to MT (once everything finalize) . Meantime, Ahmadneil, dont disclose too much your movement. We waiting your good news.
written by Sinewy, October 17, 2008 15:10:17
For all my struggle in this homeland for the last 53 years, I only know that I have to depend on my own to survive, even when the government policies render some difficulty in my path. My thought is based on the logic, fairness and correctness of the issues involved and not on emotion which devoid of rationality. There are many conflicts in the world today, and why is it so? One key issue of these conflicts is the fear of different groups not able to get equality and fairness in the land they call home. It is all bread and butter issues. Is it so difficult for human being to recognize the need to be fair and equal? Conflicts arise because of resentment generate by the discrimination and suppression handed down by the ruling government to certain group of people on purpose. People can accept the suffering in the face of the open challenges in the world but it will be hard to swallow if the suffering is caused by action as a result of the enfrocement of discriminating policies by the government towards its citizens. Where in the world would you find a country who will try very hard to deprive its able citizens from being successful? If the ruling government is fair, honest and compassionate towards the poor in general, then it will be a government that would be cherished by all citizens. Sure we must not simply criticize and oppose but when we find that the issue lack the rationality, then it should be debated and opposed for the sake of welbeing of the nation and its citizens. A lot of ordinary citizens in malaysia have to struggle to make ends meet and save the lives out to provide for a better education and future for their children. They knows that they have only themselves to depend on. They don't have the luxury to ponder about fighting for the so called right. The issue of right based on race is a political game by the politicians to garner support from their own race. If we, the citizens of malaysia, are color blind towards race, then there will be less debate on this issue. If there are people in this country who are in the lower economic strata, then the compassionate government should do the necessary to find a sustainable solution to uplift their economic competitivenss and not hand-outs. Those who are in the competitive economic bracket should learn to stand on their own and be an equal to their fellow malaysians. Is this so difficult to achieve?
written by ellyna, October 17, 2008 15:10:56
Ahmadneil so reminds me of the Pink Panther.....Rainbowseahorse, so you think he is spinning a yarn too? Hmmmm...am still confused. At times he is so convincing.
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 15:11:59
If that is really what the Rulers meant, then good for them ! That was not the impression I got anyhow ! Let us see.

Come back and expose this Najis Rosak who would be our next Prime Monster, Ahmadneil, and let us bury him six feet under, politically !!

written by indianputra, October 17, 2008 15:19:43
Hello!!!!! the topic here is the statemnt by the Rulers..... not Ahmadneil!!!Don't get distracted.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 17, 2008 15:25:28
“ellyna”, all I know at this point in time is that some “quarters” are also interested to know the extent of “ahmedneil” “investigation”.

Another “Bala” case in the making? Hmmmm, we shall see!...Fellow bloggers might be kept busy holding more candle light ‘vigil’ for another fellow blogger, I guess!
written by ellyna, October 17, 2008 15:26:38
Relax la indianputra. You seem to be quite stressed.
written by hiro, October 17, 2008 16:14:35
I disagree with Malik. Diplomatically correct as it may sound, I cannot help but sense that the Conference of Rulers have been brow beaten to issue a statement of this nature.

Remember the context in which the statement was made - Malay right under the Constitution is being challenged, THEN there is reaction - which stirs tension. This connotes that the blame primarily falls on the non-Bumis for raising certain issues in the first place.

If this is not taking sides, I don't know what is. With all due respect, one is left wondering if the Conference of Rulers appreciate the difference between the more limited rights under the Federal Constitution and the larger claim on Malay rights by UMNO far right wingers in the form of an NEP/Malay Supremacy.

The Conference of Rulers would have done greater justice for all Malaysians if they have made that clear otherwise what they said will merely be used as another point of contention between UMNO and the rest of Malaysia.
written by Admiral Tojo, October 17, 2008 16:19:29
The Ruler's message is especially for UMNO, the likes of Ahmad Ismail, Utusan Melayu and those who play the race card. It is also aimed at Syed Al Blurr. UMNO is trying to put the rulers under the same pressure as during Maharzalim's time, when they portrayed the ruler as only good fun loving playboys. Does anyone wonder why all of a sudden, the case against the Yang Dipertuan Negri Sembilan is given prominence in Utusan and all Government control press? This is what I call subtle pressure.

Yes! The Rulers are sending a message to you UMNO and all racists.

written by ellyna, October 17, 2008 16:24:45
There has been considerable silence on the part of the Rulers concerning many issues. And when they do issue a statement, it almost always sounds like a subtle reprimand to the non-bumis. This is not the first time. And I don't think they are doing it on their own free will.
written by BORN FREE, October 17, 2008 16:50:12
Hey Ahmedneil, R u real with the investigation or R u just imagining or in fantasyland? I just read in another blog that u r an engineer in Singapore.
Well, anyway, if u r real with the P.I. work, thumbs up to u ! hope to hear
more of your P.I. news ! Cheers!!
written by JongJ, October 17, 2008 17:06:14
We don’t need democracy by the Royal Tag...we need republic system now! Republic! Republic! Republic!
written by jereylow, October 17, 2008 17:08:03
I think Malaysia should be a republic. There is nobody to check the royalties as far as their words and actions are concerned. They behave as if they have the divine intellect and immune from the laws.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 17, 2008 17:18:09
Isn’t it obvious why the Sultans are so pro absolute power to the Malays? It’s because they are all Malays and need their support (and UMNO of course) for their very survival. Non-Bumi power are their death sentence, and they know exactly which side of their bread is buttered! Without strong Malay support, Sultans will become an extinct species.

If Sultans are protector of all races, they would have been more vocal in advocating less racial discrimination against non Bumis and, at the very least, step in to intervene where injustice have been melted out at non Bumis and even Bumis (i.e. Teresa Kok, HINDRAF, our bro Pete, etc.).

So, the questions which should be raised is: “What good or relevancy are Sultans to present ‘democratic’ Malaysia?”
written by kl_wong, October 17, 2008 17:24:50
JongJ go to Singapore.
and jereylow, the N9 king just got sued to pay the bank, they are not above law. Learn how to respect.

Learn from the Thais, their respect their King is no question at all.
Be it republic like Singapore, what is the point as KY Lee is almost the self rule king there...it is the same. Why must be republic then? Then what is the point of democracy if the country can be rule for 51 years by the same party? Better be communist isnt it?

For my King as long is good and taking care of their rakyat, I will always respect my King. Daulat Tuanku!
written by cruzeiro, October 17, 2008 17:42:55
Nowhere in the statement, does it state that the ISA, UUCA, PPPA, NEP, "legalised subversion", twisted racists' interpretations/manipulation, calling others "pendatang", creating ethnic divide, race politics, subtle religious persecutions, religious bigotry, hate politics, Kris waving, "Chinese" Bloodlust, threats of May 13, subtle death threats in Malay MSM in the form of "cerpen", socio-economic apartheid, economic sabotage of opposition ruled states, gerrymandering in elections or the 600 amendments to the constitution
is part of what is known as the "Social Contract of the Federal Constitution".

Who's "questioning" and subverting the Social Contract of the Federal Constitution, now?

So far, the Pakatan Rakyat has never sought to subvert, but only to UPHOLD the Constitution. They have only questioned the racists'/ bigots' interpretation
and subversion of the Spirit of the Social Contract enshrined in the Federal Constitution!!

You do not have the luxury to pick and choose parts of it, so as to twist its meaning and subvert the spirit in which it was drafted. We the people call upon our Federal Goverment to Uphold The Supremacy of The Federal Constitution! It is what the Rulers and the people demand!!!

Do Not Question "The Social Contract of The Federal Constitution"!! Do Question That of the "Pirates"!
http://cruzinthots.********.co...ct-of.html
written by jayenjr, October 17, 2008 18:45:23
"“I think it is a fair statement because it places equal emphasis on both Malay rights and non-Malays rights. You should not read what they are saying as supporting the NEP,”
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry Malik. I appreciate what you're trying to do by allaying the fears of non-Malays etc, but I just read the statement for what it says, at face value, & not for what I hope it would say.

The impact is not so much in dissecting the Statement per se. The notion of what the Rulers have in mind, in my opinion, is seen from the end result of that statement - and that is the appointment of Zaki to the CJ position. Whilst what they say in the Statement may sound fine and dandy to all, it doesn't obliterate the fact that justice is being screwed up with Zaki being at the helm.

So, what good is the statement then, other than to serve UMNO's continual hegemony?

This is very sad, for at a time when true leadership is called for, for this nation, the leaders continue to fail us. Time and again, the aspirations of the majority Rakyat continues to be trodden upon - the potential outcome? Well, didn't anyone learn anything from the French Revolution?

Sad, cos for a moment there I really did think that His Royal Highnesses, esp from Perak and T'gannu, would do something to address our many social imbalance, but, alas, as this statement proves, they prefer to remain impotent.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Malaysians of all races, religions, and geographic locations need to believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that they have a place under the Malaysian sun. Only when each citizen believes that he or she has a common home and is working towards a common destiny, will he or she make the sacrifices needed for the long haul.”- Raja Nazrin
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, how do we reconcile what Raja Nazrin said with the the former?
written by talk3talk4, October 17, 2008 18:46:50
OK, don't read too much into this press statement. Fair call.

How should I/we interpret 'em if we look at everything in totality/whole?

UMNO Zaki is now the CJ, all our memorandums end up in Twilight Zone and eetc..
I can only recall the Perak royalty saying something on behalf of the Rakyat.
What say you?
written by Sabahfan, October 17, 2008 19:05:47
Hellow... HELLO.... Rulers...Sultans...

YOUR warnings should be directed to UMNO and BN alone...

Otherwise I have to tell you that we the people will DISMANTLE THIS social contract..... CAN YOU SHOW US THE DOCUMENTS to see if MY grandfather agreed to all the conditions in the social contract?

Some racial leaders did agree to it in the past, but their understanding of its content... AND HOW UMNO has interpreted and abused these conditions have now gone millions of miles apart... for example..

1. The rulers and sultans have to come from Malays and must protect Islam..

fair enough... NOW SHOW ME...

WHERE DID WE AGREE THAT THIS SPECIAL POSITION GIVES UMNO APPOINTED LITTLE NAPOLEANS AND JOSEPHINES to impose islam laws to the rest of non moslems... hey hey for example all those CORPSE SNATCHING... telling people which religion to follow.... DOESNT THE CONSTITUTION SAYS.. we all have the right to chose our own religion INCLUDING not having any religion.... not tell me which part of the social contract says. non moslem must be discriminated to 2nd class citizens??

I clearly remember in 1963, our parents told us that on helping form Malaysia, our independent country shall have all the various leaders free to 'MASING MASING ADA AGAMA SENDIRI...."
Now how come suddenly we have the religion in our IC are decided by the little Napoleans appointed by UMNO in NRD making decisions on what religion to put inside our MYKAD?? common lah umno and rulers.... show us the clause in the social contract that says so..

2..The special position of Malays..... Now tell me where in the social contract says people like your AHMAD big nose pendatang ISMAIL can stoke racial sensitivities.... and dont have to go to jail, instead a lady MP has to go to jail for 7 days and be fed DOGs FOOD???

pLEASE show me where is that written in the social contract...

3.. Special position of Malays.... now where in the social contract gives previlieged to a Datuk CHAMIL to write in newspapers suggesting political assasination of non-Malay leaders at a mainstream news, while bloggers in internet goes to ISA???

4. Where in the social contract says that all non Malays and even bumiputras like me in Sabah shall be discriminated from getting scholarships and promotion in govt service just because I dont belong to UMNO club???

5. where in the social contract says that matters of laws and religious choices must be decided by SYARIAH court, which is biased for the benefit of malays has jurisdiction over Non moslems..???

6. where in the social contract says all govt appointments must only be Malays and moslems while the rest, chinese, Kadazans, ibans etc must forever be second class citizens for eternity???

7. Where in the social contract says.... PM shall be malays for eternity...
and yet.... MAHATHIR who calls himself a malay registered himself as Indian in Singapore...

8. where in the social contract says.... the polipines and indun illegal immigrants shall automatically becomes a malay, so longs as they pretend to profess as Islam, and vote for UMNO???

7... WHERE in the social contract says, IT IS OK FOR KERISHAPPUDDING AND NAJIS BIN C4 to threaten all non malays with a stab of your stupid Keris??

Dear malay rulers and UMNO..the time has come to destroy your "social contract" not because we dont want to respect it....BUT ...it is YOU who have DESTROYED THE ORIGINAL contract by virtue of ABUSING AND ABUSING and VIOLATING AND VIOLATING the very same social contract for the past 50 years..

SORRY OUR TOLERANCE LIMIT has been breached...

we advise you, stop crapping about your bullshit social contract because now it is not applicable.

UNLESS YOU WANT TO HAVE A BIG REVOLUTION IN MALAYSIA... and every blood shed will be the sins of all the UMNO leaders..

DO YOU HEAR ???
written by Proarte, October 17, 2008 19:38:50
The Rulers with due respect must respect their limited role in the governance of Malaysia. They are constitutional Monarchs and do not have absolute power or self styled 'greatness'. The People shall be the judge of their 'greatness'.

They should be careful not to encroach into the political domain. Their rightful place is in the Palace.
written by Sabahfan, October 17, 2008 19:51:08
where in the social contract states that an Iban or a Kadazan who is also a moslem cannot become prime minister??
written by bexe, October 17, 2008 19:55:58
I am so sad to note the tone or racialism in the Ruler's support for the Social Contract. That contract (if there was one) smacks of racialism and is unjust.
They being the highest body to uphold our law should instead de-emphasize such discrimination and be more neutral. It confirms our status who are non-Malays as pertumpangs.
Additionally, I don't think it was particularly necessary for them to raise the heat on this controversy. Their direct particiaption in such a political issue may backfire on them.
This is indeed a sad day.
written by Motherchell, October 17, 2008 21:47:42
Sabahfan,jayajr and bexe-- completely agree with you .

Very vaulting in your reasoning Sabafan ! so so sad at the nature of the press release-- Yes! jayanjr its absolutely smudged from the silver lining Raja Nazrin painted. and i cannot understand why the Rulers want to appease the Napoleans and tribal goons upholding UMNO ?? and as cruzeiro put it aptly-- time to question the pirates!!
Justice is at ransom in Malaysia! Zaki is the undemocratic melted icing on the fungied butter cake !!!!!!
written by Kuku Burung, October 17, 2008 22:30:21
Dear SabahFan,
You couldn't have said better! You spoke my mind! So, please, those who uphold the social contract, explain. You have conned us for far too long. You can fool the kids and your own kinds, but you cannot fool the intelligent people like us.
written by densemy, October 18, 2008 10:31:48
A statement of this importance should be written in a way that there is NO POSSIBILITY of it being misread

Personally, I dont think its possible to misread what the Conference of Rulers had to say... Unfortunately
written by Nunudada, October 18, 2008 17:19:03
The statement by the rulers is biased and does not address anything.To say that Malay rights and previleges is guaranteed and GENUINE grouses of non malays will be addressed just does not go anywhere to redress the situation.I would have appreciated a statement like "All citizens of this beloved land shall be cared for equally" Thats enough-We do not need paragraphs,and someone else to explain the meaning to us.