Rulers: Do not question social contract PDF Print
Friday, 17 October 2008 07:48

(The Malaysian Insider) The 215th meeting of the Conference of Rulers, held at the Istana Maziah here, today issued a special press statement on several matters enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

Following is the press statement in full issued by the Keeper of the Rulers' Seal, Engku Tan Sri Ibrahim Engku Ngah. :

"Press Statement issued by the Keeper of the Rulers' Seal on the role of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Malay Rulers regarding the special privileges, position, eminence or greatness of the Malay Rulers, Islam, Malay as the national language, the special position of the Malays, and genuine interests of the other communities in accordance with the Federal Constitution.

"The Malay Rulers who attended the meeting of the Conference of Rulers conferred on the issuing of this special joint press statement today.

"The Malay Rulers hold the constitutional role to safeguard the special privileges, position, eminence and greatness of the Malay Rulers, safeguard Islam, Malay as the National Language, and the genuine interests of the other communities in Malaysia.

"The actions of certain quarters in disputing and questioning these matters, which formed the primary basis for the formation of Malaysia and are enshrined in the Federal Constitution, had caused provocation and uneasiness among the people.

In retaliation, several quarters particularly Malay leaders whether in the government or non-governmental organisations as well as individuals had expressed their dissatisfaction and anger against those who had made the statements and reports and organised the forums.

"Among the reasons identified for these to have occurred is the cursory knowledge of those concerned regarding the historical background as to why these provisions were enshrined in the Federal Constitution and the influence of their attempts to implicate the principles of impartiality and justice without regard for the historical background and social condition of this country.

Narrow political interests are also a cause.

"Unless this phenomenon is arrested immediately, it can lead to disunity and racial strife that can undermine the peace and harmony which has all this while brought progress, development and success to the nation.

"As such, it is necessary for the Conference of Rulers to emphasise and remind all quarters of these constitutional provisions besides giving emphasis to the assurance of safeguarding the genuine rights of other communities.

It has to be emphasised that each provision in the Federal Constitution has undergone the process of discussion, consideration, consultancy, sacrifice and compromise of the highest degree for what has been championed, discussed, considered, benefited from as well as agreed to by all quarters concerned, until the realisation of the provisions in the Federal Constitution which are known as the Social Contract.

It is not proper to dispute and question this Social Contract and more so to subject it to a review or change because it is the primary basis of the formation of Malaysia.

Therefore, it is appropriate for the Malay Rulers to remind that there should never be any attempt ever to test and challenge issues related to the Social Contract.

"Truly, the leaders of the pre-independence era were insightful - far-sighted. They brought along with them the Malay Rulers for the negotiations to claim independence.

The Institution of the Rulers was retained and legally enshrined in the constitution of an independent Malaysia.

The Institution of the Rulers was accorded eminence, was positioned at the apex of Government, as the head of the country and the states, as a protective umbrella, ensuring impartiality among the citizens.

The Institution of Rulers takes on the role of being a check-and-balance factor to untangle complications, if any.

"The Conference of Rulers also calls on the Malays to be united to safeguard the privileges, position, eminence and greatness of the Malay Rulers, safeguard Islam, Malay as the national language, and the genuine interests of the other communities in Malaysia as enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

It has to be emphasised that this agenda is more important and foremost than political or factional interests.

"Non-Malays should not harbour any apprehension or worry over their genuine rights because these rights are guaranteed under the Federal Constitution and provisions of the state constitutions of Malaysia contained in Article 153 of the Federal Constitution.

"It is hoped that with this emphasis, all confusion among the people regarding these matters can be contained and an atmosphere of peace, harmony and mutual respect can continue to exist among the people for the maintenance of order in the country."

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, attended the meeting today.

His Majesty was accompanied by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

The two-day meeting, which ended today, was chaired by the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah.

All the Rulers and Yang Dipertuas Negeri attended the meeting except the Rulers of Pahang, Johor, Terengganu, Perlis and Negeri Sembilan.

The Sultan of Pahang was represented by the Regent of Pahang, Tengku Mahkota Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah; the Sultan of Johor by the Tunku Mahkota of Johor, Tunku Ibrahim Ismail Sultan Iskandar; the Sultan of Terengganu by the President of the Regency Advisory Council Raja Tengku Sri Panglima Raja Tengku Baderulzaman Sultan Mahmud.

The Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan by the Regent of Negeri Sembilan, Tunku Naquiyuddin Ibni Tuanku Ja'afar; and the Raja of Perlis by the Raja Muda of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Jamalullail.

Also present were the menteris besar and chief ministers except the Sarawak chief minister who was represented by State Planning and Resource Management Minister II Datuk Seri Awang Tengah Ali Hasan.

The Keeper of the Rulers' Seal, Engku Tan Sri Ibrahim Engku Ngah, said matters related to defence, security, the national economy, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong scholarships, and proposals on the appointment of the Chief Justice, President of the Court of Appeal and Chief Judge of Malaya were discussed at the meeting. - Bernama

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by fergie, October 17, 2008 08:08:00
I am unaware of anyone questioning the Social Contract. All I know is that some minorities have pleaded to be given a better chance to improve their standard of living. Is that called questioning the Social Contract?
written by huanchoomooi, October 17, 2008 08:10:17
All my bags are packed
I am ready to go.
Goodbye and hello Australia.
written by indianputra, October 17, 2008 08:33:56
My respects to the rulers. Not to worry. The rulers will definitely come out with a brand new press release when Pakatan Rakyat takes over the Government.
written by Rashid, October 17, 2008 08:38:21
I can see some of my non-Malay brethren fretting here believing that the Rulers simply behaved ala Umno. Nope! Isn't that way my dear. For one, the statement is a Bernama statement and secondly, it is made by the government and thirdly it is instigated (its making, wording and questioning) by Umno BerUmno, oops, Bernama. Therefore, have less worries for we with us till the end. I'm a Malay and a Muslim and I don't feel pround that I can subjugate to you, humiliate you, spit on you or make you feel pain. I know you want to be helped just like others, I know you have orphans, widows, handicapped people, elderly people, diseased people, etc. These people desrve human dignity and a Muslim, I don't feel proud that I can hurt your feelings by making you wallow in pain. I want the best for myself and I desire the same for you. Being hospitable to you, charitable, dignified, hardworking and accomdative doesn't diminish me or my character, faith and humanity, Nay, it only augments them. Please don't misunderstand the rulers or don't hate the Malay people or Islam believing that we are less human, less sympathisers and less considerate. All the Rulers' statements are Umno made statements and they don't hate anyone, just like the majority of the Malays feel they need to be good Muslims by feeling the pain of others and taking care of their burdens. May Allah the Almighty guide us all and make us prosper together. Allahuma Amin!
written by ylcc, October 17, 2008 08:44:24
Agree totally with Rashid ... it is actually quite obvious!!
written by Mr Smith, October 17, 2008 08:46:55
Will they also make a statement against those in the corridors of power (UMNO) who are plundering and raping this country, who believe they are above the law, who claim to be a superior race, who misuse the ISA to safeguard their political interests, leaders who do not have a modicum of morality to lead this country, who are corrupted to the core, against newspapers that promote hate journalism, etc.
This country is suffering from a litany of ailments. These have to be addressed first.

written by truthbespoken, October 17, 2008 08:47:57
With due respect to all concerned, how can we Malaysians expect a fair and balanced 'Malaysian-Statement' coming from an almost(any)100% Malay gathering?

The Constitution of a country is THE Constitution. A contract is a contract, social or otherwise. They should not be mixed up for interpretaion or rather misinterpretation to the benefit of any party. The Constitution is a printed document and is there for all to define anytime when needed. But where is the so-called social contract? It has never been heard of before year 2000. Or is it now just merely a cooked-up idea by certain unfair elements to further oppress the feelings of the already agrieved and defenceless minority?

I want to but I really do not understand why it is increasingly becoming more and more difficult to feel truly Malaysian, Sigh.....
written by kanokporn, October 17, 2008 08:49:10
what can you expect when all the rulers are malays, cj malay,president malay, cjudge malay, pm malay dpm malay, ag malay, sg malay, igp malay, law minister malay. this country is only for the malays. we should get out fast as no businesses will come as it is now back to malaya not malaysia.even if 26million signatures it does not matter. pete you are the real hero
written by Alice, October 17, 2008 08:53:38
Can't take it anymore. Guess I have to think about migrating too smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 08:58:06

Knew it. The Rulers are also human and need to ensure the perpetuity of their Rulership, and the way they know best is to ensure that Malays hold the political power in Malaysia so the Malay Royalty will live on ... Naturally being human, they have to look after Numero Uno ... first.

We should not depend on petitions alone to the Agong and expect it to work miracles. We must soldier on and fight for every inch of ground that we can take for the universal values of Equality, Justice, Freedom and Civil Rights and not depend too much on the vagaries of human behaviour, whether Royal or otherwise.

Long Live Pakatan RAKYAT ! Long Live Malaysia Today ! Long Live Raja Petra Kamarudin !!

written by MalaysianUnited, October 17, 2008 08:59:03
kanokporn,

jangan buat2 terlupa..the fact is more malays in PR who fight for equal right..fight for the non-malay too..
written by JJFoo, October 17, 2008 08:59:34
Can someone please shed some light on this Social Contract issue –
1)What is it?
2)Was it the Federal Constitution?
3)Is it some form of agreement that supersede the Federal Constitution?
If not, the head line should read “DO NOT QUESTION THE FEDERAL
CONSTITUTION”
4)Was it just a verbal agreement of among our ancestors?
5)Should it be subjected to wide differing personal interpretations?
6)Could someone just come up or make up a copy of this Social Contract
and settle all this confusion once and for all?
I am not questioning the rights of Rulers or anybody else here, just need some answer.
written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 09:03:31

It is really illuminating to hear about the social contract from the Rulers and the fact that after 51 years of Independence, the Malays are still paranoid about their survival and still need crutches to hobble along ?!!

I don't think so ... I have numerous young Malay friends who are confidently holding their own against local and foreign competition (look south and see how high the Malays in Singapore hold their heads !!), and they know they don't need these crutches, nor do they want to be associated with the ne'er do well Malays who are all for Inequality and crutches and support the evil Barisan Najis regime because of that.

What an eye-opener for most this statement by the Rulers, but I have known this all along ...

written by harryo, October 17, 2008 09:04:00
Due respect to the Rulers. I understand how the laws are made by politicians in the Parliament but as an ordinary citizen I am not being able to understand the term "genuine interest of the non-Malays" except voting. Can anybody like lawyers help to list them for me and the ordinary rakyat. Also, really what are the rights of nons enshrined in the Constitution and how to understand other laws linked to these rights? All these quite complicated but as an ordinary citizen I just want peace and prosperity. All I know is that you as a Government help all irrespective of race, religion, creed or culture. Everyone contributed to the country's progress, I said everyone. So please don't discriminate agains anybody. So please help me to understand "genuine interests". HELP.
written by Newkidonblog, October 17, 2008 09:05:47
The Institution of Rulers takes on the role of being a check-and-balance factor to untangle complications, if any.

Untangle complications!!! May I presume there is none so far!? Everything is a OK!

Check-and-balanceWhere were you when we needed you most?
written by kanokporn, October 17, 2008 09:06:53
dear rashid,
feel really good to read your article.

dear malaysianunited,
i know and i appreciate it. just feel disappointed that the rulers dealt us all a fatal blow, they dont walk the streets but live in their ivory towers provided for by our hard work thats all.
written by avj, October 17, 2008 09:08:07
No mention was made about the several ammendment made to the original to accomadate TDM's needs.
written by alpha100, October 17, 2008 09:17:22
Social Contract?
It's invisible! It was made up to favour us!
It's not written in black and white!
It's an understanding that was made up over time! It expand to include everything to favor us as we encroach on territory of others!
It's difficult to clearly define and explain this social contract but it is there!
U have to accept it cos we make it! Its like that one!
written by sydput, October 17, 2008 09:17:28
Social contracts means nothing to those from Sabah and sarawak, who do not have monarchs in the first place. Who speaks for them?
The so called social contract also means nothing to those born after merdeka, like those from sabah and sarawak, as they are not party to the contract.
I would have thought that the rulers of the country, would come out with s statement that all are equal under the eyes of God, and justice, compassion, righteousness shold be emulated by all. Why can't we have that simple formula to administer this country instead of having race and religion all mixed up in the management of the country.
written by cruzeiro, October 17, 2008 09:52:09
A press statement released by the Conference of Rulers stated that:-
"It has to be emphasised that
each provision in the
Federal Constitution
has undergone the process of discussion, consideration, consultancy, sacrifice and compromise of the highest degree for what has been championed, discussed, considered, benefited from as well as agreed to by all quarters concerned, until the realisation of the
provisions in the Federal Constitution
which are "known as" the Social Contract."

Some may have been disappointed with the above.
Obviously, the racists and pirates would twist the words and
use it to propagate their fascist and pirate ideas,
so as to legitimize their actions.

"Known as" is the catch phrase here
- known to whom?
To those who drafted the Constitution pre-1957 or post 1963?
To the political parties who participated in the drafting?
To the post May 13, 1969 "unity Govt"/ "shotgun marriage" under Tun Razak?
Mahathir? Umno? MIC? MCA? BN?
Pakatan Rakyat? Bumiputras? All Malaysians?
Or Constitutional Experts?

If all parties agree with each other today on the "interpretation" of the Federal Constitution as a whole, with no dispute,
then "what is known as the Social Contract" is definitely acceptable.

What we have though, is a government that insists that
it is the only party that has the right to define
and amend the constitution as it sees fit
- and that is what the "Social Contract" is!
Look at what they have done - The judiciary is a mess.
And now, we have Zaki from UMNO - a JUNIOR judge,
fasttracked to become the the CJM!........................

==================================
Do Not Question "The Social Contract of The Federal Constitution"!!
Do Question That of the "Pirates"!

written by cruzeiro, October 17, 2008 09:52:56
Do Not Question "The Social Contract of The Federal Constitution"!!
Do Question That of the "Pirates"!

http://cruzinthots.********.co...ct-of.html
written by truthbespoken, October 17, 2008 10:00:08
Chezzter, You must realise that when any contract or some so-called contract is not in written form and used constantly as a sourcs of common reference, it is not done out of good intention other than to outwardly protect one's arse.

If it is really 'a document' in any measure through your narrow interpretation, it is now an abused one!
written by Ashleigh, October 17, 2008 10:02:46
The Rulers have spoken... but only about the Social Contract!! How disappointing!

What about the plundering by BN, corruptions at astronomical scale, endless racial discrimination, the very poor who needs help more than rich putera-puteri?? Can't the Rulers speak up for all Malaysians?

And then again, where is this "Social Contract"? If all are suppose to respect and have no question about it, then it should be published or made available for all to read. I thought the Constitution would have covered everything that was agreed upon when the people of Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak agreed to come as one?

Will we ever have royal families like that of the Thais'??
written by cruzeiro, October 17, 2008 10:03:49
This is a media spin designed to provide legitimacy to piracy!!

What the Rulers would have intended to say would have been,
"Do not Question The Federal Constitution". Period.

The spin Doctors would've added on the "Social Contract" part ...

I'd agree to that statement the day HRH Raja Azlan, HRH Raja Nazrin or any of our Constitutional experts say that
The Federal Constitution = The Social Contract.

Then all we need to do is Uphold the Federal Constitution - no ambiguity there.

Would they - the BN politicians?
I bet not!
written by cylee, October 17, 2008 10:06:27
why talk, discuss and argue so much??? all the non_malays, including the East Malaysia peribumi just surrender all yours wealth to the Malays. Surrender all yours daughter to the Malays, let them enjoy!! let them satisfy their desire. anyhow, they have all the special right to claim all this from yours. let all non-malays stop working,stop productivity,stop eating and stop ****ing, let all to be their slave and begging on them, hence they are the Tuan Melayu. By this only yours can please your master, why need those shit of social contract?? anyhow, yours are no say to this, yours don't even known which one of your Greedy and short-Sight Granny endorse this. So be surrender to the consequences of yours Granny stupidity.
And please remember, majority of yours are the one who vote them yours master.
so please stop fighting, stop go on the street, anyway yours are the group categorised as easily thame with simple food and money, don,t fight for yours freedom. Yours are only the slave of the Tuan Melayu, now and forever.
written by densemy, October 17, 2008 10:17:08
This is the last straw

"Unless this phenomenon is arrested immediately, it can lead to disunity and racial strife that can undermine the peace and harmony which has all this while brought progress, development and success to the nation."

But what do you expect from Muslims who spend their whole lives looking backwards.

The world has changed and if Islam wont change then Malaysia will have to leave it behind
written by densemy, October 17, 2008 10:26:04
I admired "the rulers" for not taking sides in the Anwar v Pak Lah confrontation

But this piece of writing whether its written by UMNO or not comes out over the seal of the Conference of Rulers

Its the same sort of rubbish that Malaysians have been fed for the last fifty years and its the same sort of rubbish which has lead to this country tearing itself apart

I'm ashamed of these guys, royal or not they are fools. And I"m disgusted by what they have said and the fact that they said it

written by FFT, October 17, 2008 10:29:28
"Among the reasons identified for these to have occurred is the cursory knowledge of those concerned regarding the historical background as to why these provisions were enshrined in the Federal Constitution and the influence of their attempts to implicate the principles of impartiality and justice without regard for the historical background and social condition of this country."

Oh my! Do I hear a "Daulat Tuanku"? Anyone? smilies/grin.gif

Looks like the Rulers ultimately know which side their bread is buttered and also by whom. And one of them just had a strong message delivered to him yesterday by the Special Court.

Perhaps the time has come for those who are fed up to move on. Leave these blokes with their special positions, social contracts, and the "historical background" and "social conditions" that necessitate the bastardization of sovereign institutions such as the judiciary and the legislative bodies.

Stand from a distance and then observe as globalization cannibalizes the whole lot of them within the next decade or two. We'll see how much the "special positions" work for them then.

written by truthbespoken, October 17, 2008 10:44:08
Come to think of it, correct me if I am wrong, the creator of that term "Social Contract" must have been none other than our famous spin-doctor Mahathir!

Who else could be so cunning as to spin out something so opaque and confusing to get all Malaysians to fight over it constantly? The Nation haven't gotten over Mahathirism, have we?
written by chezzter, October 17, 2008 10:46:32
To truthbespoken, thanks for pointing out.

"I am glad I was WRONG."
written by truthbespoken, October 17, 2008 10:57:35
Don't mention, Chezzter. I am glad we all want to be good Malaysians.
written by KC Chin, October 17, 2008 11:15:56
Now I am questioning myself. Should I respect the rulers? Hmmm! I will respect only the moral ethical ruler that respect all the Bangsa Malaysian. Perak, you have my vote.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 17, 2008 12:04:44
Enough of this nonsense! The only social contract that has to be in existence now is equality for all Malaysians irregardless of race, religion, creed or colour. All of us are bumiputras.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 17, 2008 12:10:44
Ketuanan my ass lah! No one owns me and I own no one.
written by InEffective, October 17, 2008 12:21:22

Time to bring the Rulers to account for supporting condoning and propogating a tiered-rights racist society.

Here's my answer - my allegiances to any authority in malaysia is conditional (and never ever guaranteed) to my rights my freedom, and my liberties, and freedom from racial and religious pressure and exclusion.

If you renege on that condition, you ain't getting anything from me. You will never get peace and harmony if me or my family is in pain. In fact, I guarantee you will be rewarded with disunity, disharmony, and racial pain.

written by renoir, October 17, 2008 12:21:33
FFT wrote:
>Oh my! Do I hear a "Daulat Tuanku"? Anyone?]]

Hahahahahahahaha!!!! As I'd written not long ago, people generally behave according to their own interests, and the rakyat can look to no one for help but themselves. Just leave these people alone.

It's also correct, however, to assume that the statement is devised by UMNO, and yes, when Pakatan Rakyat takes over, some people would be singing a different tune.

Readers here should be able to differentiate between a small group of the privileged class, whether from the royalty or the ruling party, and not condemn all Malays or Islam for what has been happening in this country. IF YOU'RE NOT A CYBERTROOPER, AND SINCERELY WORK FOR THE RAKYAT, REFRAIN FROM ATTACKING ALL MALAYS AND/OR ISLAM!!! Today's Opposition strength is based on the willingness of our Malay brothers to be fair and just to their fellow Malaysians. Without them, Pakatan is nothing. Time and again, when oppression hits dissidents, Muslims, many from PAS, had spoken out against the oppressors. Let the non-Malays and non-Muslims prove themselves worthy by giving up stereotypes. UMNO is not synonymous with Malays, and Islam belongs to all genuine Muslims, not to fake, corrupted ones.

written by temenggong, October 17, 2008 12:41:12
We may have misplaced our hopes on the royalty.

However nothing can stop the onward forces of the people desirous of change, and the rapid globalisation in its sweeping floods. Either change or be removed!
written by pixieface, October 17, 2008 12:58:34
"social contract". can someone who has a copy of the original federal constitution print out that paragraph for all to see. I'm sure the whole world is keen to see it too.
written by Sinewy, October 17, 2008 13:30:35
I’m born in this country in a low income family where we have to struggle to keep the family in a decent living condition in a small town. I have already lived through my 53 years in this country. For all this time, I don’t even have any notion about the social contract. I only know that I can only depend on myself to survive, even when the government put some ridiculous policies to render my path a little bit more difficult. I have no quarrel with the government but that does not mean I have to appreciate the government. I have no quarrel with my Malay friends in my everyday life. We talk to each other openly. I’m even assisting a hardworking Mara graduated technician to make his car repair workshop running because I appreciate his genuine effort to be competitive and be his own boss. It is the politicians who are raising the racial issues to secure their support from their own kind. I believe the government should provide a sustainable solution to assist the lower income group in the rural and agricultural sector of the country so that they can be economically stable and competitive in the long run, not just give subsidies! And for those who have attained economic competitiveness, why is it so difficult for them to treat all fellow Malaysians equally and fairly? Why can’t they have the decency to accept the challenge in the global world?
written by temenggong, October 17, 2008 14:04:43
"social contract". can someone who has a copy of the original federal constitution print out that paragraph for all to see. I'm sure the whole world is keen to see it too.

Sorry, cannot.

Only umno and the rulers know of its existence. The rest of us only know of the constitution which has been mangled beyond recognition since 1959 where many provisions were diluted or washed away.
written by harmanamri, October 17, 2008 14:37:39
The issue of a Press statement by the Conference of Rulers in this manner is unprecedented and, I dare say, unconstitutional. What are we supposed to make of such a statement if it includes points which are vague, unclear, disputed, or even wrong and misleading? Where is the forum to debate it? Who is going to reply to the objections raised? (Bar Council please issue a statement on this pronto!!)

As far as I am aware, there is no such document known as "the Social Contract" or an exposition of the terms of such a contract if it exist. The esteemed Royal Prof Ungku Aziz is on record as saying there is no such "social contract". So, pray tell me, what are the Rulers talking about?

By the way I am a Malay/Muslim, born in Malaya before 1957.
written by Old Man, October 17, 2008 14:53:25
Whatever Contract one may called it always has a time limit. Is charging Sir RPK for being an honest Muslim part of the Social Contract? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by densemy, October 17, 2008 15:06:07
enoir... you are still writing as though Pakatan, like the rest of Malaysia, is made up of Malays,Chinese and Indians

If you want a future for Malaysia then you have to force yourself to think of Pakatan as being peopled by Malaysians

Much of the evil that exists in Malaysia today has been committed in the name of Islam. The fact that what has been done and what is being done is non Islamic would seem to be irrelevant to the decision makers

As such its impossible to separate this illness from Islam. No matter how many good muslims there are the bad muslims are having a greater impact on this country and so everybody suffers.

And Islam itself it not speaking out about these abuses which is something that I find truly amazing and makes me wonder whether the 'voice of Islam' isnt more interested in power than it is in welfare

So the sooner we all talk, think and act like atheistic Malaysians the better off everyone will be
written by chiongguo, October 17, 2008 15:55:55
The so-called social contract was not found in the constitution. It was a term used by some academics. It was basically an agreement amongst the various races together with the British at that time to give the malays certain privileges in exchange for granting citizenship to the other races who was present in the country then. Those immigrant had a choice of becoming the citizen or to return to their native home. One of the other terms of citizenship was language. All those given citizenship was to past an oral malay test. Tengku at that time had accepted this "special privileges" but remarked that he could not foresee it as privileges in perpetuity. As he do not know what time frame was appropriate it would be best left to generations to come to decide.

The royalties were given the role to ensure that these "special privileges" were enforced and to determine the appropriate level of these privileges. This is on top of their other roles of defending islam and the malay culture.

Actually no one questioned the constitution but many, including large portion of the malay population, do question how these special privileges were implemented. Another noteworthy development was the fact that more than 1/3 of the malay today only came to malaysia very recently. These 1/3 immigrant malays are fast overwhelming the local malays in politics and they had artfully manipulated events to gain power and business deals. It is like Petaling street which was called china-town. Today when you visited the place you hardly could find any chinese. The indons and bangla had basically taken over. Most of these "new malays" are rich and well-connected and certainly do not deserve the 'special privileges' that will help the more marginalised rakyat.

Do these new malay immigrants more deserving of the privileges that many of the chinese and indian fore-fathers had helped built ?

What exactly were these privileges that we talk so much about ? Let's have a look at the constitution in Article 153.

The Agong is to ensure a REASONABLE reservation of :
a. positions in public service - more than 90% are malays
b. scholarships and educational places offered by FEDERAL GOVERMENT. This means this only applies to PUBLIC educational institutions.
c. licenses - almost ALL new licenses were given to malays. Many could not fulfil the licenses requirement and "rent" their licenses to the chinese and indians. Thus was borned the ali baba relationship.

These privileges were to be given WITHOUT DENYING THE OTHER RACES OF THEIR STATUS QUO. This means if a person has a contracting license, this should not be taken away.

Article 9 is very interesting in that the Parliament or the government CANNOT restrict businesses or trade solely for the purposes of reservations for malays. All the 30% share reservation requirement before listing in the stock market is allowed had actually gone beyond the constitution and is extra-legal or illegal.

What many people asked and LimKS had been asking for years what was the FAIR PROPORTION to be reserved ? 100% or something close to it is certainly, by any standard, not fair.

In fact I hope the Agong and sultans would intervene and really exercise their constitutional rights and set a fair proportion of reservation and more importantly MUST ENSURE that these reservations - such as licenses - were not opened to abuses by UMNO. If they are sincere and really would like to help the malays they must first ensure that these allocations be given to those who are deserving and not to those who were well-connected.

When one wants to assert one's right, one also has to bear the responsibilities that went with that right. Many malays had not blamed the sultans and Agong for the corruption and the milking of these 'special privileges' by UMNO because they had chosen not to intervene in managing these 'special privileges.'

UMNO had been grossly irresponsible over the past 51 years. It is perhaps time now for the Agongs to exercise their constitutional roles in managing these 'special privileges.' My hope, wish and prayer is for the royalties to exercise these rights fairly and judiciously and not to be used by UMNO for their own selfish agenda.

Talk to the malays in the street and not read reports of 'rambling' and then you will get the true picture.

written by lynn, October 17, 2008 16:35:54
WHO is questioning the social contract?

Show us, prove it because we don't like that threatening tone. We feel threatened by such utterances when the rest of us are not questioning Malay rights. We want the Malays to be taken care of, especially the poorer rural Malays. They shld be given all-round education, the best money can provide, to improve their command of English, to love reading, to acquire knowledge, to compete with other races. If more Malays are well-educated and smart, clever, skilled, non-racist in their outlook, a racist corrupt govt will fall.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 17, 2008 18:09:21
The Federal Constitution is a physical document. The "Social Contract" is just a verbal expression, an intellectual definition if you like.

There is no such document called "The Social Contract".
written by MalaysianFirst, October 17, 2008 18:15:23
The Federal Constitution is a physical document. The "Social Contract" is just a verbal expression, an intellectual definition if you like. The Federal Constitution should be upheld as it is worded and not simply "interpreted" according to vested interests. Any "reading between the lines" will give rise to abuse.

There is no such document called "The Social Contract".
written by Jit Dharma, October 17, 2008 22:58:40
Brother Rashid, thanks for the heads-up. The Malay people are equally victims of UMNO. UMNO feels that they deserve your unquestioning loyalty.The entire excercise sounds like a throwback to fuedalism.You can't force people to be loyal or demand it. You need to earn it.Anyway, I too do not wish to see any
harm come to any community in this country.The graciousness of the Malay people
is well known, I have been on the receiving end and so I can attest to it.
Brother RPK'S exploits and good deeds speak to this need to repay ones good fortune.We are truly all brothers and sisters.And can learn from one another.
That will make Malaysia a force to be reckoned with.
written by Tok Din, October 17, 2008 23:16:05
This is definitely another low for a nation vying to become an advanced nation by 2020. We should have unquestioned faith in the ability of our Malay rulers and its Ministers to bring us there.

Forget about liberty, justice, fairness, and equality. Ours is the best form of government and our leaders are wise to administer the country well as long as no one is questioning anything.

We speak ill of the British colonial rule yet we worship its "divid and rule" policy. Let us busy ourselves living in the past and if changes from external world bother us, let us erect walls to shut them out.

As for my non-Malay brothers and sisters, they must accept that as long as they live they can never be Malays. When things get difficult, they should be prepared to make more sacrifices for the right to live in this blessed land. If not, please XXXX off to another country.

Oh, last thing, do not complain too much when you are unfairly treated and arbitrary rules are applied on you. Remember the social contract and all that. Never mind, you don't know what are the terms.
written by pulaiman, October 18, 2008 00:06:30
SURELY THE STATEMENT REFERS TO NON BUMIS . SIMPLE DONT QUESTION UMNO AND UMNO GOMEN NON BUMIS DONT HAVE RIGHTS. RAJA PETRA SUPPOSE TO BE OF ROYAL BLOOD BUMI. IS IT RIGHT TO IMPRISON HIM UNDER ISA. UMNO CAN AND HAVE ABSOLUTE RIGHT TO KILL, MURDER , RAPE AND SWINDLE, WE CANNOT QUESTION. WHY? ARE NT WE ALL HUMANS?DOES UMNO BELONG TO A SPECIAL RACE?REPUBLIC, REPUBLIC.......................
written by MalaysianFirst, October 18, 2008 04:08:46
Wakeupmsia, you have obviously misinterpreted Tok Din's comments. He is on your side you idiot. Tok Din is anti-BN. Read again. Tok Din is poking fun at UNMO and BN.

Tok Din said, "We speak ill of the British colonial rule yet we worship its "divide and rule" policy. Let us busy ourselves living in the past and if changes from external world bother us, let us erect walls to shut them out."

Tok Din, please accept my humble apologies on behalf of our younger ones who don't understand English well enough to see your sarcasm.

Warmest regards,
MalaysianFirst