REFORM IS AN ABSOLUTE NECESSITY PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 20:30
UMNO claims to be a democratic party in a country governed by a democratic Constitution. UMNO's legitimacy as a political party is based on this claim. Under the terms and conditions of its constitution, and in compliance with the Societies' Act , UMNO must abide by free and fair democratic elections to select its leaders. UMNO's leaders are legitimate only if they achieve their positions fairly and democratically.

But the entire world can see that UMNO is no longer democratic. Its leaders have pre-empted its own democratic processes with the backroom deal of a "transition plan." After they have established that plan, Umno's incumbent leaders will then seal that deal with money rained down on division leaders and delegates. UMNO is about to undertake the most 'expensive' party elections in national history. UMNO's leaders make "transition plans" between themselves to ensure that the there is a "done deal" as to who is President, and therefore who is Prime Minister, well before the rank and file members get to have their say in party elections. This subverts the party elections.The results of the coming elections will largely be determined by the handing out money, positions, contracts. This puts in question the validity of the results of the party elections.

UMNO now relies on deals and money, not elections, to install its leader.

Can we rely on UMNO in its present state of disrepair to find the nation a leader through such means? If Malaysians are agreed on one point, it is that our country is in desperate need of reform. Our key institutions: the judiciary, the police, the education system and the civil service have degenerated to such a point that they may soon be beyond repair. The stabilizing authority of the Rulers, which required their independence and immunity, has been undermined by a previous Prime Minister and President of UMNO.

Our race relations are at a low point and are getting worse. We are slipping relative to other countries on comparative rankings of corruption, transparency and the performance of our schools and universities. Our courts were recently found to be less independent than those of the Philippines.We are missing the boat in the global economy while capital flees, inflation soars and our economy is stuck in a low growth rut. Our best people are leaving us, and we are poorly prepared for a global financial slowdown.

Unless we aim to degenerate into a Third World Country reform is a do-or-die mission for us. It is not a job to assign to a man who had, say, risen to power over a lifetime of backroom deals, patronage, backstabbing and money glossed over by a family name. A man who had not had to face an open leadership contest in his entire life.  Whose greatest achievement in decades of public life had been that he has been highly efficient at channeling public money to himself and to people who support him. This, in Umno today, is what it means to have "a strong base."

He would be exactly the wrong person to lead reform. Such a person would be the servant of the deal makers,  a slave to the money that installed him, and implicated with everyone he has bargained with or bought off.  A man with allegations of such serious crimes in his name would also pose a security risk to the nation if he were to be our chief executive. Evidence of misdeeds, especially of a sexual nature, is a common way for intelligence agencies to have a hold on someone.  Imagine negotiations over disputed territory, for example, with a neighbouring country if that government's intelligence agencies possessed certain photographs or records. 

Yet, to the horror of many Malaysians, we seem poised to follow like sheep behind UMNO's warlords in appointing such a man.

After the Prime Minister's recent announcement that he would be stepping down, our mainstream news media, our political pundits, and the leaders of some component parties have been falling over themselves to treat his appointed successor as if he were already there. The mainstream media will now act like this man's public relations office to improve his image. Wait for the fawning Joceline Tan article on him and his wife to start the process.

I am not saying we go against the principle that a person is innocent until proven guilty. The man may very well be innocent as an angel despite thirty years of rumours of sordid deeds. There may be no fire although we are choking on thick clouds of smoke. But we are not talking about a trial. We are talking about how we choose the next national leader and whether we can afford someone as our leader who had a reputation that would have killed his political career six times over in any normal democracy.

For the role of Prime Minister, reputation matters a lot.  At the very minimum, our next leader must be someone of undoubted good character, with a solid reputation. See how each candidate's character is probed and tested publicly in the US Presidential Elections. In contrast, our mainstream newspapers and  leaders feign ignorance about the reputation of the Umno man they are holding up as our next leader. We need to end this hypocrisy before it is too late for Malaysia.

- Leo Ujang

written by Hakim Joe, October 16, 2008 21:11:44
"Can we rely on UMNO in its present state of disrepair to find the nation a leader through such means?"

Absolutely not. Even if a leader of distinction do somehow get elected, he will be tainted by the other members of the clique.
written by avj, October 16, 2008 21:15:13
UMNO Bahru will only dance to the tune of pipe piper TDM who is going to lead them all to where they belong. The buttom of the sea.
written by KC Chin, October 16, 2008 21:17:18
Once reform from UMNO to ONMU, same all shit. Only New Malay Untung(ONMU).
If AMNO can't take it, fark off.

Sorry, no offence to non AMNO's malay. Most of my Malay friends are Non UMNO and UMNO.
written by cubi76, October 16, 2008 21:31:57
Think about this - Our PM is elected not by the People of Malaysia, but by the 2000 Amno delegates. Worse, Amno is full of $$££ politic.

What kind of rationale is that? Democracy?
written by lamakawan, October 16, 2008 21:47:40
Reform can take many forms. There are many ways to go about it. The most important agenda is the election of the Barisan national leader. The leader must be elected by the majority of all the members of Barisan and not merely the majority within UMNO. And the prime minister must be elected again by another process, by the majority in the whole Barisan camp, and not as it is presently adopted to be from UMNO again, because it is a majority party within Barisan. let us take a look at how the US presidential candidates are selected and the democratic processes they are going throuh before the final election of the president.
written by lamakawan, October 16, 2008 21:50:02
in this way we will not see the big fish swallowing the other smaller fishes, that is majority party bullying the other smaller parties in the component of Barisan. there are about 10 parties in the BN.
written by lamakawan, October 16, 2008 22:03:14
The most important issue on reform is the reform of BN in selecting a prime minister from all the members of BN, rather than selecting it from a majority component, in this case UMNO. In this regard, any component member of BN, from any party other than UMNO, will never bave a chance of becoming a PM. Forever the biggest party will enjoy the premiership as long as BN wins any election. What is the meaning of grouping in such a group, when all other parties in the group cannot lead the country because it is a smaller party in the prouping.
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 16, 2008 22:04:50
UMNO claims to be a democratic party in a country governed by a democratic Constitution.....but it's a step behind the Communist Party of North Korea.
written by lamakawan, October 16, 2008 22:06:35
The BN as it is today can only benefit one party , i.e. UMNO. No other component party can lead BN. What is the meaning of joining a club when we have no say in the running and the leadership? We are forever the slaves of UMNO, these minor parties in BN.
written by fdqn, October 16, 2008 22:24:38
Wake up!wake up! wake up!oui!after 51 years of all those treatment!still want to let your future generations suffer worst then us ah?mana bolih?Please God/Almighty,where are you?Malaysia needs you now!Help! smilies/shocked.gif
written by 1351, October 17, 2008 01:01:37
"Our race relations are at a low point and are getting worse" - Leo Ujang

If I may Leo, race relations and its division in Malaysia is no better or worse at any point in time. If we were to take May 13th, 1969 as a low point - truth be told - it wasn't a case of unmending race relation but rather a division in class that exist till today. Such a divide in class and disparity of income occurs in any society but we must all be aware, it is only UMNO that uses such a divide as currency to advance their politics. Take that away, UMNO cease to exist and their legitimacy lost.

To cut and long story short, we will soon rid ourselves of this evil that has us as a nation in perpetual hold mode. Come the 13th General Elections, UMNO will be but a memory. If Dollah Badawi lost the 2/3 majority during his tenure, then Najib Razak is on course to seal UMNO's fate. That point on, Malays as a race would be free from debilitating physical/mental slavery imposed by their evil masters.

Hidup Melayu, maju dan makmur Malaysia.

written by SocratesI, October 17, 2008 01:39:00

With this present Govt. in power, and Najis Rosak to take over, there is no chance for Reformasi ... in fact things have been going in the opposite direction ... the return of Maha-Shithead, the abuse of the ISA on RAKYAT of Malaysia, the racial slurs coming from UMNO, and UMNO rags, the appointment of this Zaki as Chief Justice will ensure no JUSTICE for the RAKYAT !!

However, we must take heart, for we have survived the last 50 years and after March 2008, we have NEW HOPE and should prepare ourselves for a long fight in the trenches against this bunch of DESPOTS, whether DSAI and PR manages to take over the Govt. or not, we have to keep on fighting for our FREEDOM, EQUALITY, & JUSTICE !!

written by lynn, October 17, 2008 17:52:35
Gosh, Malaysia is already so fcuked-up, how much lower is our descent when this guy takes over?

This possibility of him taking over renders one needing sleeping pills in the past few weeks. So think AAB is flippy-floppy and useless? The next one is going to be our walking nightmare. Once he is installed as PM, there is NO WAY anyone can stop him or his fat wife.... to do ANYTHING they want in this stupid bolehland. Scary.
written by Tornado, October 17, 2008 18:25:36
no more reform for umno. only R.I.P