MCA ELECTIONS: Reform before it's too late, says Jui Meng PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 18:16

DATUK Chua Jui Meng, 65, is making his second successive bid for the presidency of MCA this Saturday says in an interview with theSun he is offering his wealth of experience to try and save MCA from becoming political history.

Ng Kee Seng, The Sun

Q: In the March 8 general election, we saw the Chinese voting for PAS and Malays voting for DAP and PKR. Do you see this as the beginning of an end to racial politics in Malaysia?

Chua Jui Meng

A: March 8 can be viewed as a turning point for Malaysia. 600,000 new voters entered the political landscape and sent a very strong message to the Government that they were not buying into the race-based policies of the past.

Furthermore many voters turned to the Opposition because they felt that Barisan Nasional (BN) was not looking after the needs of all the communities fairly and equitably.

Malaysian Chinese in particular were upset with the MCA for not speaking out on their behalf and perceived MCA to be weak in political will. So when the Opposition parties galvanised and promised to uphold their rights, abolish the New Economic Policy (NEP) and tackle the worst excesses of the Government, these voters immediately swung in their favour and delivered them Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor.

The very sad fact is that in 2004, BN won a landslide victory, 90% of Parliamentary seats, because we promised changes and reforms to the rakyat.

We promised to tackle corruption, to be more sensitive to the needs of all the different races that make up this nation.

We sowed the seeds of our own destruction in 2008 by failing to keep the promises we made in 2004.

Q: If elected MCA president, what is your single most important task?

A: To make the MCA relevant to Malaysians in the 21st Century. Back when I was fighting for the party presidency in 2005, I wrote a letter to party members warning that our party was in need of renewal, and that whomever they voted in as president then would determine the acceptability of our party in the future.

Bear in mind I wrote this on the back of the stunning election victory BN won in 2004. I wrote that letter because I knew then, even as I know now, that unless the MCA reformed itself to adapt to the maturing needs and expectations of the rakyat, the changing socio-economic landscape of Malaysia in the new millennium, we would very quickly lose all that we gained in 2004.

Sadly, I was proved right on March 8. I now predict that if the MCA does not transform itself within the next three years, we will face an even worse defeat come the next general election.

So once again, I am offering myself for the party presidency, once again hoping the party will give me the privilege and the opportunity to revitalise the party.

Q: How would you go about revitalising MCA?

A: I have planned a roadmap built on three ideas which have become the motto of my campaign: Rebuild the Party, Return to Relevance, Realise Vision 2020.

In Rebuilding the Party, I intend to address the internal issues plaguing the party. I want to transform our party’s mindset of a subordinate that prevents us from playing a more active role in formulating and deciding key policies that impact our nation.

I also wish to move the MCA away from the public perception that it is more interested in social welfare projects. I intend to make politics the main priority of the party’s central leadership.

We must be a political party, first and foremost. We must focus on major issues, on national policies. Enough of being heroes of small issues! I also intend to promote transparency in the party by publishing the Huaren Holdings accounts and limiting the powers of the Disciplinary Committee so that it cannot be used to silence legitimate dissent.

It is my belief that a transparent party leadership will lead to a transparent government. I will undertake a nationwide exercise to locate all our 1.3 million members and explain to them our efforts to reform and return to relevance, to say sorry for not hearing them in the first place.

I want to share with them our renewed focus on the political issues of the day and of how I intend the MCA to be the guardian of their rights as enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

In Returning to Relevance, I will pursue a policy of re-engagement with the community. To that end, I will conduct a nationwide tour in the first year of my presidency to hear the views of our community.

I will institute a practice for all our divisions to hold community hall meetings with the leaders of their community, to help us pick up on common threads of concern throughout the nation that can be discussed and debated openly in the General Assembly.

Hopefully, from such debates, we can come up with policy ideas that can later be tabled to the BN leadership to formulate legislation and government policies that will move the nation forward.

MCA will also play a proactive role within the Barisan Nasional to develop a clear and consistent agenda that explains our vision for the nation and our mission to create one unified Bangsa Malaysia.

And thirdly, in Realising Vision 2020, I intend to move beyond Party Building to Nation Building. MCA will take on the role as a guardian of the Federal Constitution it helped write in 1957.

We will work towards reviewing and re-basing all governmental policies on the foundational rights of the people promised by the Federal Constitution. Amongst other things, I will ask for the government to convene the third National Economic Consultative Council (NECC-3) to review and replace the social restructuring prong of the NEP with a new national policy consistent with the rights of all Malaysians as defined in Article 8 of the Federal Constitution.

What Malaysia needs now are policies that guarantee equal participation in a free market economy, legislation that mandates fair access for all educational and employment opportunities, and plans to unite all our communities into a Bangsa Malaysia.

Q: Previous and the current MCA president have always said the best way to resolve issues is behind closed doors. Is this also your stand? Should MCA be more vocal?

A: My election pledges do not give me the luxury of keeping silent on issues. That being said, there are seasons for speaking out and seasons for quiet negotiations. What we cannot afford is being extreme in either direction.

The president must exercise wisdom and good judgment in choosing when to exercise each option.

Ultimately what matters to the rakyat is that they see the MCA fighting for their rights and delivering the results.

Q: How would you rate Datuk Ong Tee Keat as a leader?

A: I don’t believe either of us could have been considered viable candidates for the MCA presidency if we did not have our own sets of accomplishments and leadership qualities.

Q: You were supposed to have a live telecast debate with Datuk Ong Tee Keat on Wednesday, organised by NTV7 and Nanyang Siang Pao, which he did not attend. Any comments on this?

A: I'm disappointed he couldn’t make it. I believe it's important in a democracy for aspiring leaders to put forward their vision and ideas in open debate with one another so that the voters can see and judge for themselves the quality of their candidates. However, I’m even more disappointed with the Government’s decision to ban the live telecast. Until today, we have yet to see the debate between Datuk Donald Lim and Datuk Dr Chua Soi Lek.

They allowed the live telecast of the debate between Datuk Seri Anwar (Ibrahim) and Datuk Shabery (Cheek). They allowed the live telecast of the debate between Lim Guan Eng and Tan Sri (Dr) Koh Tsu Koon.

Yet they have not allowed the live telecast of debates between MCA leaders who are seeking to inform the public and the central delegates why each would be a better candidate? Why the double standards? Why is an Umno Minister interfering in the democratic election process of the MCA? Who benefits?

Q: If you win, is that the end of Datuk Ong Tee Keat’s career in MCA?

A: If I win, I certainly hope that Datuk Ong Tee Keat will offer me his aid in achieving my vision for the party.

There is enough room in MCA for any leader who wants to serve the nation, and I could use a capable man like him on the team.

Q: MCA is often plagued by factionalism, including factions-within-factions. Would it be naive on your part to think that you can overnight rid the MCA of factionalism?

A: I would never be so naive as to think that factionalism will ever cease to exist in any political party.

For so long as we have the right to hold our own ideas and opinions, we will have factions.

However what is important is that we must agree to disagree, and still unite behind the ideas and vision that propel the party and the nation forward. Hence why I want MCA to return to the Federal Constitution, it’s a document that unites all of us, all Malaysians.

Hence why I want MCA to work towards Vision 2020 and its call for a Bangsa Malaysia that is progressive and fair.

These are the ideas that will unite us as a party and unite the nation as a whole. This is why I will make politics the primary focus of the party and its leadership.

This is why I will initiate programmes to reconnect the party with the rakyat. I want us to hear all their grievances, all their complaints, all their hopes and dreams. I want us to hear all that.

This is why I will work with Umno and our BN coalition partners to end policies that divide us, that disadvantage the nation.

I will work with the BN to formulate a consistent agenda to unite Malaysia, liberalise our economy and achieve Vision 2020.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by Zapper, October 16, 2008 18:21:50
It is the same story everytime the MCA election is around the corner. All presidents hopeful will roar like a lion in front of the delegates BUT when he is elected, he will purr like a pussy cat in front of UMNO. No matter what promises these jokers give, just take it with a pinch of salt and laugh about it. Nothing new in their promises...just new players acting the same scene.
written by cheekymate, October 16, 2008 18:27:14
Datuk Chua Jui Meng,

You can talk till the cows come home.
The Rakyat are not stupid and will not allow you to take us for yet another ride anymore.
What did you do for the Rakyat when you were in power?
Can you give an honest answer without your nose growing longer, Pinocchio?
written by Lembing, October 16, 2008 18:28:29
""DATUK Chua Jui Meng, 65, is making his second successive bid for the presidency of MCA this Saturday says in an interview with theSun he is offering his wealth of experience to try and save MCA from becoming political history.""""

DATUK CHUA JUI MENG...are you telling us that for the past decade, you have not used your WEALTH OF EXPERIENCE in MCA....is that the reason why MCA is now drowning. Why didn't you used your WEALTH OF EXPERIENCE in MCA for the past 2 decades?

Why is now that you decided to offer your services? Have most of your funds dried up in the recent stock market collapsed?
written by hiro, October 16, 2008 18:29:17
This is my message to MCA delegates:

Najib in power appears to mean blatant corruption and curtailment of civil rights.

Our economy is tanking, and even if you are aligned with current incumbency, there won't be much money to trickle down to you.

Also consider this. There is no hope in UMNO reforming the judiciary, ACA or police with Najib in and Badawi out. We may even be called an Islamic State again. And they will not hesitate to raise the Chinese bogeyman so that all Malays continue to be scared and to behold UMNO as their perpetual saviour. Billions will continue to be wasted to corruption of a few.

Is this the Malaysia you want your children and grandchildren to grow up in? I hope not, because otherwise you're all already perverted and blinded by greed.

It's time to do the right thing. Politics are all dirty, but please choose to lesser of the two evils.

Make sure Jui Meng and Soi Lek become your new President and Deputy President.

Otherwise, you, the MCA fish, won't be swimming in any water soon, the voters will make sure of that.
written by carribeanking7, October 16, 2008 18:46:24
Quote-
Yet they have not allowed the live telecast of debates between MCA leaders who are seeking to inform the public and the central delegates why each would be a better candidate? Why the double standards? Why is an Umno Minister interfering in the democratic election process of the MCA? Who benefits?

Quote-
This is why I will WORK with Umno and our BN coalition partners to end policies that divide us, that disadvantage the nation

Do you see the contradiction here ? the key word being WORK.

written by No nonsense, October 16, 2008 18:51:52
Previous and the current MCA president have always said the best way to resolve issues is behind closed doors.

MCA and Gerakan are so-called closed doors parties for the past 50 years. What have they done for us during their 50 years in power? NOTHING. Do you still think we trust you s****holes anymore. You s****holes have wasted all our time hoping you will represent us for a better future. You and your families are secured but not the man on the street. Amno glued your mouths for 50 years and you all are coming out to tell us the same old story that you are fighting for us? Shit to all you S***holes. I for one will never believe in you anymore. NEVER.

written by user1001, October 16, 2008 18:54:01
I am fed-up with MCA d. Please dun play any tricks anymore. MCA from ages since Dr.Ling Liong Sik time until now acted like a doggy style only. As I said previously, no matter what you guys (MCA) do, there wont be any chance for you to get full voted in the next elections. MCA cant give full confident to people anymore. Unless you do something really good to your people and voice out loud to acheive for your people and dont act like a dog anymore.. but I dun think you guys can do that!!! Me "Pei Si" MCA. Show me your guts! Free all the detainees and RPK now if you can! "Phui"
written by user1001, October 16, 2008 18:58:16
Add on... Dont talk about vision 2020.. coz vision 2020 is your MCA own beneficial plan only.. If you dare enough, lets talk about the present! Show us something that you can archeive for us! Free the RPK now! Drop the pertol price back to RM1.70 now! Drop the price on goods and food now! Then only talk about vision 2020.
written by Joelim, October 16, 2008 19:19:57
Jui Meng, you can talk till the sky falls down, nothing will ever going to change the rakyats' mind. You can have a road built on 1000 ideas it will still not work. Don't kid yourself by believing that you still have 1.3 million members. You are lucky to have even 1% of that.

To put it simply to you, the people don't want a race based party anymore. We don't want to call ourselves "Chinese Malaysian or Indian Malaysian or even Malay Malaysian." We are "Malaysian" period. Now tell me how do you propose to change the party to reflect what the people want. If you run out of idea here is one for you. Change the abbreviation MCA to "Multi Cultural Alliance" and open the membership to all Malaysians. The leaders must be willing to put their heads of the chopping block when it comes to the crunch.
written by Hello Keithy, October 16, 2008 19:20:12
Datuk Chua, you can't talk to a bunch of ball-less ar**-holes fatso's. Reforms for MCA ? It's all set in by the biggest of all ball-less men, that Ling fella. Yeah, the one who wastes airtime when being interviewed and he has two sons who think that politics is a heredity thing. Datuk Chua, Leave MCA now and join PR. People who dare to act and talk are needed in PR. Don't stay with a bunch of short and ugly men.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 16, 2008 19:37:36
Q: In the March 8 general election, we saw the Chinese voting for PAS and Malays voting for DAP and PKR. Do you see this as the beginning of an end to racial politics in Malaysia?

DO YOU KNOW WHY? BECAUSE THE MCA DIVISION IN BAKRI OPENLY CAMPAIGNS AGAINST THEIR CANDIDATE, THE CHUA DIVISION IS NOT TOO HAPPY WITH THE ONG CLAN FOR PUTTING ANOTHER GUY INSTEAD OF HIM.

FOR THE PAST 50 YEARS, NOTHING IS DONE FOR MALAYSIANS, ONLY SELLING OUT THE TRUSTING MALAYSIANS FOR CONTRACTS AND SCRAPS, AND NOW THEY TELL YOU THEY HAVE WOKEN UP AND THAT CHANGE IS NECESSITY FOR SURVIVAL; DO YOU STILL TRUST PEOPLE LIKE THESE WHO OPENLY SABOTAGE THEIR OWN PARTY AND WHO SELLS OUT MALAYSIANS???

AND THEY ARE ASKING YOU TO TRUST THEM.

written by AngryTaxpayer, October 16, 2008 20:29:15
The only way to save MCA is ....*drum roll*.......DISBAND!!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by JUST, October 16, 2008 20:42:16
Reforms? Dream on....... for another 50 years!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!
written by Hakim Joe, October 16, 2008 21:14:32
Just one thing...can we still trust MCA? I think not!!!
written by No nonsense, October 16, 2008 21:21:39
Ah Pek Chua, the only way to reform is to join REFOMASI and nothing else. Understand?
written by onnetline, October 16, 2008 21:30:39
Talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk only !!!!!!

We are almost impressed.
written by cheekymate, October 16, 2008 21:57:05
We are better off without this sweet talker
After his mishandling of Nipah virus outbreak resulting in innocent people dying, you still want to trust him?
written by Commonsenses, October 16, 2008 22:28:44
Jui Meng, Before we MCA vote for u, please clarify how deep were u involved in the FOMEMA deal together with TDM's son. That could be the reason why u were dropped as a BN candidate in the 2004 election. U were not clean then and still is.
written by fdqn, October 16, 2008 22:45:40
Eh!Hello Uncle Chuah!Please lah, dont waste your saliva and our time lah,go home and talk to you love ones better,If you still got time to spare,then you can talk to TDM loh.All the uncles are history liau,dont you get it?time changes people,once bitten twice shy.got it? smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by InEffective, October 16, 2008 23:24:25

Need to make the MCA politicians also accountable for perpetrating racism on the Malaysian rakyat.

Their support and propogation for racial nationalism also makes them accessory to the crimes of racial pain, pressure, and strategic exclusion.

Bring the rotans out - theses self-serving politicians need to understand some pain.
written by Daryl, October 17, 2008 05:19:03
Malaysian Chinese in particular were upset with the MCA for not speaking out on their behalf and perceived MCA to be weak in political will. So when the Opposition parties galvanised and promised to uphold their rights, abolish the New Economic Policy (NEP) and tackle the worst excesses of the Government, these voters immediately swung in their favour and delivered them Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor.

Do we still need you if we have a Government, PDRM or judicial that will protect our right regardless of race? That is what we want and would like to achieve. Not at this moment as I am Chinese I am expect to go to MCA to get my request push through the government. So, you say reform I say complete destruction of the BN setup and than rebuild. If not you guys are 50 years behind.
written by JUST, October 17, 2008 05:57:45
Justice Bao? Father Of Reforms? Dream on...... smilies/grin.gif
written by ylcc, October 17, 2008 09:16:28
Looking around at the MCA candidates, I think if MCA is to exist, then I personally will go for Dr. Chua Jui Meng as President and Dr. Chua Soi Lek as Vice-President. Can anyone claim of being pure and holy? A lot of us seem to be good at talking (or writing) big and critizing ... yet when it came to signing up for a simple petition on the Rulers' decision on the new Judge of Appeal .... ONLY 25,000 signed up! What is Malaysia's population? No point scolding, complaining, berating, and bad-mouthing others - when the people themselves have not done their duty to the nation and to help themselves. Who are the brave ones that you have allowed to let them go (or die) alone? - RPK, the HINDRAF leaders, etc. It is easy to sit back - AND DO NOTHING BUT CRITICIZE. Since when was the last time you people supported a candle light vigil for RPK? Action speaks louder than words.
written by chiongguo, October 17, 2008 09:49:14
Analysis weak, perception narrow and synthesis and program formulation unfounded. Perhaps politician should realised that the media is a double-edged sword. Speak too much and you gave the public enough rope to hang you with. Speak too little you leave room for suspicion and speculation. The adage that it is "better to be thought a fool by keeping quiet than to remove all doubt by speaking" is certainly sound advice.

When the real problem is not known, whatever solution proffered will always be a problem. While we may even give the impression we are solving the problem. We fool no one but ourselves.

The main reason why the chinese rejected MCA was not because MCA had failed to speak up for the rights of the chinese. Yes there was a lot of unhappiness over the unfairness of the government policies but what really riles the rakyat, regardless of race, was the tacit acceptance of corruption and cronyism in BN. BN had succeeded in corrupting the various democratic instituitions. Noteworthy was UMNO's program of infiltrating all levels of government, corporation and democratic instituitions.

Truth and justice was what the rakyat was clamouring for. Many could see that this was the foundation stone for a fairer, more equitable and harmonious society. Without this all the glorious proclamation and programs looked like a patch-work quilt.

With UMNO corrupt to the core could MCA function within the BN to bring about the reform ? The only way if Chua JM is sincere about bringing about a better malaysia is to leave BN. Guilt by association will be to MCA's downfall.

written by ylcc, October 17, 2008 10:20:08
Chiongguo "Main reason why the Chinese rejected MCA was not becos MCA had failed tospeak up for the rights of the Chinese".

I believe in a Malaysia for Malaysians and I am a supporter of the opposition. To be fair to MCA, they believe that they can be more effective being in the coalition (n.b.: subject separate from corruption pse!!). If I can recall (and I am much older than most of you), Dr. Chua Jui Meng had never been popular with UMNO as he was speaking up and standing up to them. That was the reason why he lost in the last MCA elections. He did not have the "right" backing. Too bad he is not a "yes-man". Wish he would leave BN too.
written by cheemengwong, October 17, 2008 10:26:36
MCA what....?

MCA should have evolved and become MALAYSIAN COMMUNITIES ASSOCIATION rather than just representing the Chinese! Who are they trying to kid?

Partisan politics
Race based
Narrow and Selfish Ideology based
Corruption and Nepotism based...

the are all out of fashion for a long time already. Only the MCA, MIC and UMNO guys are all but out of fashion lah

written by DontPlayGod, October 17, 2008 10:51:16
Jui Meng, those are brave words, but MCA has for so long been UMNO's lap dog, that it is impossible to change. There's no way UMNO will allow MCA to act like a bulldog, since UMNO has for so long been used to MCA being their lap dog. The only way out for MCA, as I see it, is to leave BN and ally itself with Pakatan.

To be elected as President of MCA, you must first obtain the approval of UMNO. Without that you will remain a lame and powerless President of a powerless and lame MCA. Get it?
written by allmenarebrothers, October 17, 2008 16:25:39
Ah Meng & Ah Keat, Ah Chuan, Ah Lek, Ah Donald, Ah Yen & all your fellow slaves.
MCA is now in its dying throes. Gasping for its last breath. It is too late to save MCA because all you slaves are slaves for life & can can never be emancipated. Abraham Lincoln & William Wilberforce are long dead & gone.
So NOW is the time to bury MCA. Make it a grand party for it is also the right time & moment to bury Gerakan, MIC, PPP & all the fellow slaves, beggars & mandores.
MCA RIP. And all of you will henceforth be freed. The Lord is a great savour isn't Ah Meng. We have heard this in your sermons. Praise be to HIM for bringing MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PPP to his house.
written by HHKim, October 17, 2008 17:00:41
MCA has in the past not performed as expected by both past and present leaders.
Most of the times, they have kowtowed to the UMNO war lords. All issues against the community were so called " sensitive" and "must" only be discussed " closed doors". Ong Kah Ting is damn good at this concept. And that is how they are hiding behind this failure of MCA.

I wonder if MCA can reform under present circumstances? What are the driving qualities of leadership the Malaysian chinese are looking for? I believe all Malaysians are looking for common traits in leadership:

1. Principled leadership
2. Open and non-corruptible
3. Sensitive to the needs of raayat
4. Champion fairnes and equality for all people
5. Walking The Talk
6. Never Be Arrogant, Be Humble
7. Never Abuse Power
8. Put Nation's interest first
9. Practice democratic principles
10. Be bold and courageous, but be positive
11. Right attitude and aptitude
12. Good communicator and proficient in his job

No amount of efforts can save MCA if none of the leaders are capable of reforming the BN and UMNO when many wrongs are committed. When UMNO make mistakes, we expect MCA, Gerakan and MIC to demand explainations. By keeping quiet meaning you are condoning for your own benefits at the expense of the raayat.

This is where the MCA, Gerakan have failed miserably.
The present bunch of MCA leaders are not qualified because they don't meet these criterion of the common people. They are viewed as the YES Man to UMNO.
written by anakdesa, October 18, 2008 00:34:26
There's nothing much to say already. IT IS ALREADY TOO LATE! You people had been taking the rakyat for a ride for too long. Giving you all chance, will make us a fool! Rather being a fool, we may as well not give you the another chance. 51 years is way too long. MCA, UMNO and all BN are bygone.
written by HHKim, October 18, 2008 17:30:35
MCA is asking for No.2 post?? What for?? You can't even perform now with your present position and you are asking for No.2?? Where is your brain, Liao??

It is not the position in the BN. It is what type of prionciple and political ideology MCA is carrying??

Now Ong Tee Keat hopes to get this No. 2 position? I hope AAB and Najib will reject this request. Even the Malaysian chinese will oppose this stupid idea.

written by MalaysianFirst, October 18, 2008 18:27:06
To me, for any political party in Malaysia to succeed today and maintain that success tomorrow, it must be guided by the "Country above Race" philosophy no matter whether you're a member of the ruling coalition or a member of the opposition coalition. If a party or a member of a party finds any government policies, existing or due to be legislated, are against such philosophy, then that party, or party member, must vehemently oppose such policies. If such policies cannot be challenged, defeated or neutralized, then the party or party member must leave the coalition. (We have recently seen two prominent politicians, one each from Gerakan and MCA, leave and joined PR as a consequence of this phisolophy).

Having said that, I find that NONE of the BN members subscribe to the philosophy of "Country above Race" even though some component parties are multiracial. There are simply no two ways about it. The current buzz word is "Country above Race" must be the foundation of a party or coalition. A non-race based party, by admitting, or associating with a race based party, is wrong in principle no matter how you argue your case. While race based parties may have served their purpose during the formation of Malaya, it is no longer practical. Those days are over. Finished. Dead.

The future of Malaysia in now in the hands of Malaysians. It no longer belongs to Malays or Chinese or Indians or Kadasans or Ibans or Bajaus or Penans etc. While it is true that UNMO, MCA, MIC, and some other race based parties continue to rule the country as a coalition, they are losing ground rapidly as more and more young Malaysians understand and embrace the philosophy of "Country above Race". MCA, UNMO, MIC and others are continuing to peddle a philosophy that continues to divide the races, ignoring the dire consequences that come with it. To MCA, I'd like to say this - We now have an alternative. That alternative is called Pakatan Rakyat.

Disbanding is your only option. It is not a choice.
written by Sylvia, October 18, 2008 23:52:00
I fully support DonPlayGod's comments...Now that Jui Meng didnt win the president's post it strongly prove that even Umno is behind MCA's elections..Jui Meng being such a strong critic should be the president to fight for the chinese. He treid his best in the past when he was in MCA, but as usual like what the former president said earlier, MCA was actually being "bullied" into keeping quiet and all their demands not met with that resulted in the failure in the 308 crisis.
Lets hope now that Tee Kiat and the new team wont be easily led by the nose as much as OKT/MCA was in the past...and Tee Kiat, please be brave enough to voice and fight for the chinese(even if it means the risk of being kicked out of BN) if MCA wants to win back the chinese votes in the next GE., otherwise bring MCA out of BN and stand by itself as a strong party fighting for the chinese or join others like Gerakan and DAP to form a strong party for the next GE.
written by marbl3s, October 19, 2008 14:59:37
As long as MCA is still part of BN dictated by UMNO, that party is still useless. Or should i put it this way... Any party belongs to BN coalition that is dictated by UMNO is still useless.

http://marbl3s.********.com
written by Abajawi, October 19, 2008 18:38:57
The MCA has only itself to blame if they fail to get the 2nd Deputy Chairman's post in the BN. What is the point of remaining in BN forever if you have no say (I mean significant say) in the running of the govt. Why so sentimental about the BN?

Just because the MCA has been with the BN since 1957 does not mean it has to remain this way forever. Stop complaining when you don't get what you want. Just leave the BN and join the Pakatan Rakyat. This is where the future of Malaysia lies--not the race-based politics of the BN.

It is a tragedy that the MCA members, with so many intelligent members within it, still cannot make the ultimate decision--to leave the rotten BN and bring about change to Malaysian politics. Think like an Obama, not like a McCain! Be progressive and conservative. Go for change -- it's now or never!

Don't wait for Najib to take over as PM for he will bring back Mahathirism to this country. He is prone to be a 'Mugabe' rather than a 'Mandella' for Malaysia. What is the MCA afraid of? Losing a few ministerial posts in the Najib cabinet?

If that has to happen, so be it. This is a small sacrifice to make for a brighter future for your children and grandchildren. The Chinese are known to be great risk-takers, but when it comes to politics, none in the MCA is willing to make any sacrifice.

Then, please stop whining and groaning--just look at Ong Kang Ting at the MCA general assembly. After that explosive speech, he simply succumbed to PakLah's bully return speech. It was shattering to see the MCA's pathetic show of timidity at the assembly.
written by JohnQ, October 19, 2008 19:21:13
Cukuplahm reform slogan only applied for my seat during party election. After that, cowtou spitit takes over !!!

But anywhere i still wish you willl win! As to drive the party or all racial parties; for that matter, into oblivion faster !!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheemengwong, October 19, 2008 19:23:27
Why you lost....rather why MCA lost a long time ago..... here is my story..

When asked whether MCA would leave BN, Chua said how can it leave. It is akin to a marriage....

I said Fark.

Still never learn MCA! The grassroots wants MCA out 20 years ago in 1986. 20 years down the road, MCA still did not get the message. Fark.

All Farkers..
written by JohnQ, October 19, 2008 19:26:37
With najis as pm, i will join politics to enrich myself, as i missed the Dr M era of moneyism!
written by Taiping60, October 19, 2008 21:22:33
Wake up. Malaysians are not interested in racial politic anymore as it cause so much damaged to country and unity of the people.

Malaysians are sick of Barisan Nasional for not willing to reform. So please if you think you can revalise MCA, you are outdated. We want UMNO, MCA, MIC and all other racial parties to be dissolved and merged into one single multi-racial party. We want REAL reform and not LIP reform. We want all corrupted politicians to go on their early retirement.

Unless this is done, whatever you do within UMNO, MCA and MIC will only be a complete waste of time.
written by Wisdom above, October 19, 2008 22:52:01
MCA should be renamed as Multiracial Citizen Association.If not,it is doomed!

Pray for "Peace From Above" to sweep through the whole Nation.
Let's continue to Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Remember to Pray for RPK and all ISA detainees.
RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by Rozlan, October 20, 2008 09:05:34
Haiya..Too late alleady la..Instead of choosing a clean vice president they opt for scandal tainted CSL...I guess PR will have a field day blasting BN..Moreover UMNO it seem will choose a scandal tainted President also...Man, I believes futue Malaysia political scenario will be very exciting..Dont forget lots of ISA will be issued to us the rakyat who try to be more vocal
written by sueteh, October 20, 2008 14:07:59
MCA plus GERAKAN..no balls.
written by Msian Idol3, October 23, 2008 09:53:29
We don't want MCA to be around. You guys are there to enrich your pockets & to sweeten UMNO's claims of multi-culturalism. Think Msian first. If you can't understand this basic fact what chance we have as Msians.