Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia may be hit by recession

M'sia may be hit by recession PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 18:04
(The Straits Times) A PRIVATE Malaysian think tank on Thursday cut its 2009 economic growth forecast for the country to 3.4 per cent and warned of a possible recession if the US economy deteriorates.

The influential Malaysian Institute of Economic Research predicted the economy would expand 5.3 per cent this year after a strong performance in the first six months.

But it expected growth to slide to 3.4 per cent in 2009, down from its earlier forecast of 5 per cent, due to the knock-on effects of a flagging global economy. This was sharply lower than the government's forecast of 5.4 per cent.

Executive Director Mohamad Ariff warned that growth in 2009 may slump further if the US, one of Malaysia's top trading partners, goes into recession.

'There is a 40 per cent chance that Malaysia will enter technical recession in 2009, meaning two quarters of negative growth and a 30 per cent chance it could be a real recession lasting more than two quarters depending on what happens in the US,' he said.

The institute said the global credit crisis showed no signs of abating despite concerted interest rate cuts and massive liquidity injection by governments and central banks worldwide.

It said consumer and business confidence in Malaysia has dipped and warned conditions would worsen if the credit squeeze dries up funds for investment and household spending.

Mr Ariff said there are heightened concerns that the current global economic slump could drag on until the end of 2010 or 2011.

Given the economic pressure and declining oil prices, he warned Malaysia's budget deficit may exceed 5 per cent of gross domestic product this year and more than 4 per cent in 2009.

The government raised development spending in Aug which it said will push the fiscal deficit to 4.8 per cent of GDP this year and 3.6 per cent in 2009, from 3.2 per cent in 2007.

Finance Minister Najib Razak earlier this week said Malaysia can still grow 5 per cent this year but the government may need to revise its 2009 forecast. He has said he would announce a 'stabilisation plan' on Monday to prop up the economy.

Mr Najib, who is also deputy premier, is expected to take over from Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in March.

The quicker-than-expected transition follows the ruling coalition's poor election results in March and is aimed at thwarting opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's threat to oust the government through parliamentary defections. -- AP

written by LILIN, October 16, 2008 18:11:52
http://www.worldfutures.info/A...-Star.html

What about Nur Jazlan? Is he a future powerful leader on whom Malaysia can count? I think so..but!
written by zul4kulim, October 16, 2008 18:13:24
Spore has been hit and yet Msia is still on the moon with a lot of money to waste in ameno election http://1426.********.com/2008/...n-uae.html
written by Surich, October 16, 2008 18:17:48
What recession? Our economy is healthy. Only Singapore is in recession as you can see that Singapore $ is lower than our Strong Ringgit.

We have no AIDS problems.
We have no Bosiah problems.
We have no political crisis.
Our Universities are of world class.
We are a state of DENIAL.

written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 18:18:33

These economists should resign ! What "if" ?? The recession is going to hit and it will be almost as bad as the Depression of the 1930's though the financial system will survive, luckily for all of us !

Get ready and save as much money as you can and have them in different currencies, or gold if you can. In a recession, CASH is King !

written by Zapper, October 16, 2008 18:30:24
I am sure that our PM, DPM cum minister of finace would not agree to this opinion. The DMP and becoming PM within the next 6 months has said again and again that Malaysia is structurally strong. He also mentioned that we have diversified our export base to countries like China etc. Now, you are telling him that he is wrong!! Maybe somebody is lying here.

My mother tells me do NOT trust the politicians because they will sell their mothers if the situation warrants. Therefore, I am going to believe MIER.
written by No nonsense, October 16, 2008 18:34:27
The Finance Min. had said that our economy is very sound and can weather the storm. Why are you so worried? I am not worried but terribly worried.
written by ctchoolaw, October 16, 2008 19:04:28
This is the dreaded "R" word that the mainstream media did not dare report about. Why are they so afraid to alert Malaysians to prepare for any contingencies? http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by KC Chin, October 16, 2008 19:12:14
"A PRIVATE Malaysian think tank on Thursday cut its 2009 economic growth forecast for the country to 3.4 per cent and warned of a possible recession if the US economy deteriorates."

Flip and

"Mr Ariff said there are heightened concerns that the current global economic slump could drag on until the end of 2010 or 2011."

WTF are you talking about. I am not an economist. Malaysia with a reserve of USD100 - 150 Billions is nothing.
When recession hit the shore :-
1. If I am not buying or spending, then the manufacturer will start laying off workers.
2. The manufacturers will have a hard time of paying back the bank's loan.
3. As for the layoff workers, they just join the NBnS Club "No Buying and Spending Club" (where AMNO can ban it)
4. Those layoff workers begin to withdraw cash from their saving to buy foods(from wet market).
5. Now the bank start to feed shit, press those borrower(the manufacturers) to pay up or be sue.
6. Those layoff workers used all the saving and start using their "Easy apply credit card" to buy foods(from wet market, if possible).
7. The "Easy apply credit card" bank start calling, you have a outstanding of 2 months payment and if you don't make payment by xx days, we will terminate your "Easy apply credit card"
8. Because of the bank demand payment from manufacturers, the manufacturers have no choice, and they start selling their products at lower cost. Again, layoff some more workers just to cover some loan.
9. The "Easy apply credit card" bank send love letter to the ECCard users if you don't pay up by dd/mm/yy, bank will divorce you and see you in court.
10. New layout workers, goto item number 3.
11. NOW. 1st batch of layoff workers and manufacturers begin to fill bankruptcy.
12. Because of no cash coming from layoff workers and manufacturers, Those AMNO's bank start to fill shit and being ask to repay those International loans.
13. Bad luck hit on BN control federal government. Those reserve of USD100 - 150 Billions were RM100 - 150 Billions !!

BN, if you don't understand supply and demand, you can resign, fark yourself, and jump into Klang river. Especially AMNO, go to hell.

FREE RPK
FREE Hindraf 5
Reopen Pudu jail and send those BN there.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 16, 2008 19:41:10
"A PRIVATE Malaysian think tank on Thursday cut its 2009 economic growth forecast for the country to 3.4 per cent and warned of a possible recession if the US economy deteriorates. "

YOU NEED A THINKING TANK TO TELL YOU THAT MALAYSIA MAY BE HIT BY RECESSION, JOKING KAH? ANY TOM, DICK AND HARRY ON THE STREET CAN TELL THAT MALAYSIA IS ALREADY IN RECESSION!

written by cubi76, October 16, 2008 19:57:17
I remember since beginning of this year around January, many people, including silly me, had warned about stagflation. Time and time again people shouted and asked for certain measure to be taken for our people's welfare just in case the crisis ever happens.

Up to now, Najis still insists that our economy is strong and will not be affected by the crisis.

Well, I just need one explaination from our Finance Minister:

If our economy is so strong and the crisis did not and will not hit our nation, why did our equity market fell from 1500point to 900point, a drop of massive 40%?

Any explaination? Please pardon my stupidity as with my level of low intelligence, I truly find it hard to understand his reasoning.

Probably Najis, or TDM, or Shabery, will tomolo blame Soros for the sharp fall again? Attack from Zionist capitalist yet again? Ehh?

Again US is to blame for our people's suffering? The easiest way to get out isnt it? To point finger at US for whatever problem?

If US is to blame again, does it mean that US actually has the obligation to look after us? Take care of our welfare?
written by budakindia, October 16, 2008 20:07:53
Blame on Soros and Bush lor! How about take a step further by issuing the Detention Order ? Send both of them to Kemunting! smilies/cheesy.gif Come on Botak! Do it!
written by Hakim Joe, October 16, 2008 21:18:06
What do you mean by, "Malaysia MAY be hit by recession?"
Malaysians are already hit (solidly) by recession!!!
The question is whether the recession will turn into depression!!!

written by Dongra Dude, October 16, 2008 22:26:02
The one who is saying No Recession because he has tons of money (In Billions) commision from Scorpene, Shukoi, Eurocopter, TM Broad Band, Etc-etc. They sho at Harrods in UK dine at Paris Cafe. Their spouse can go shopping at the most expensive outlets in the worls , buy expensive watches for their Ass lickers, their children all study in UK and USA surrounded by white chicks. All theese money come from where? Your heritage money is nothing. You corrupted Goons telling us there is no Recession. F@#$ck Off Ba@#$rds smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Dongra Dude, October 16, 2008 22:28:00
Correction Shops at Harrods. Sorry for the spelling mistakes.
written by elmo world, October 16, 2008 23:02:30
i was told that recession will happen many months ago .

only abdullah & najib are living with their lies. why? so that ppl think that their leadership is good, & more ppl support them?

najib, pls follow abdullah resign!

written by The Hammer, October 16, 2008 23:42:01
Don,t worry Sugar Daddy Pinky Lips with his Billions is here.. to help Malaysian UMMo to go through the recession! Too bad for those who are not in his GoGO club. Even if this fail, Sugar Daddy will bring Master Ji from India and togather will perform special ritual- rolling in nude to shoo away the bad bad recession! (He had just completed the water ritual recently!) smilies/grin.gif
written by Ben, October 17, 2008 01:06:00
If we can recall, DSAI had warned of the impending economic crisis and said that it will be worse because of the sudden fuel pump prices. This is what we need in a leader with a vision so he can help navigate Malaysia out of stormy waters. Even if it is unavoidable, this captain must know how to steer the nation out of the storm.

Unlike what pm is asking consumers to undo whatever damage he has done by his wilful and frivolous reasons for increasing fuel prices. What an appalling difference.
written by gorshan, October 17, 2008 01:17:50
the recession hits us in 1997.we have not come out of that recession yet.and soon we will go into depression when the ripple effect of the world recession hits us.

anyone who disagrees is certified graduate certificate diploma holder of UiTM. UiTM is the best in the world . Barack Obama or McCain is small kids compared to our great leader PM and Deputy PM.

writing the above second paragraph makes me wants to puke. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by The Hammer, October 17, 2008 07:44:29
A smart move by AAB! Switch portfolio at the 11th hours! Now Naji is facing the worst economy downturn in history. Most probably will blame the God or Gods for all this mess!