Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Muhyiddin moves to finish off PM

Muhyiddin moves to finish off PM PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 17:54

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

Buoyed by the overwhelming lead he has secured for the deputy presidency after the first week of nominations from Umno divisions, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has moved to land a fatal blow on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Under the latest, and what many thought was the final version of the transition plan, Abdullah announced that he would not stand for re-election in Umno and hand over power when the party’s annual congress officially elects its new leader in March.

Following Abdullah’s announcement, as planned, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, is cruising towards an uncontested win with no one else managing to secure a nomination for the top post thus far. For many in Umno, it is already a foregone conclusion that Najib and Muhyiddin will be the next leadership pair of the party and government.

But until now, there was also widespread acceptance for the postponement of the party congress from December to March in order to give Abdullah some time to finish his promised reforms. It seems that even that is now under question.

When met by reporters today, Muhyiddin said that the campaign period was too long and that this would affect the official work of ministers and deputy ministers aspiring for posts in the party.

Reading between the lines of Muhyiddin’s statement is a clear move to oust Abdullah earlier.

Muhyiddin has been at the forefront of the campaign to get Abdullah to resign after the March general election which initially resulted in the 2010 formula, and then when Muhyiddin felt that he could push it further, he succeeded in orchestrating calls for an earlier handover which finally led to the March 2009 agreement where Abdullah would step down as Prime Minister after the party congress.

Now, Muhyiddin is at it again. Perhaps confident that he has no real challenger for the deputy presidency considering his nearest rival, Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Ali Rustam, is trailing far behind in nomination numbers, Muhyiddin is now going for the kill by appealing to Umno members to exert pressure once again on the leadership to bring the date of the congress forward and hence get Abdullah out quicker.

The move is calculated to give an advantage to the current frontrunners who are all perceived to be aligned to the Najib-Muhyiddin ticket — vice-president aspirants Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, and Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir who is leading the race for the Youth leadership.

The quicker the congress, where delegates will elect those who make it past the nomination stage, the better the chances are for these frontrunners. If the congress takes place in March 2009 as scheduled, sentiment can turn against those who have taken an early lead.

However, the main point behind Muhyiddin's latest move is that it is designed to cut short Abdullah's extra time in office. It is possible that the latest round of political attacks on Najib has created a sense that the transition must happen quicker before any more damage is done to the incoming premier.

Many Najib supporters feel that he will be better able to handle the accusations if he is already the Prime Minister and that March may be too far away. For Muhyiddin, an earlier Abdullah exit will also see him appointed as Deputy Prime Minister quicker.

Muhyiddin's latest statement comes a few days after a telling photograph was published in a leading Malay-language daily of him, Najib and former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad sitting together at a Hari Raya open house.

For political observers, the photograph spoke not just a thousand, but a million words. Dr Mahathir wants nothing more than Abdullah being booted out of office sooner than later.

It seems Muhyiddin is about to deliver that for the man who has come out in vocal support for him as Najib's deputy.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, October 16, 2008 18:09:59
Najis-Boohydin racing against time.
Failure is not an option as, nice first class accomodation waiting for them in Kamunting.
We will see them wield their wrath against anyone who opposes them.
Therefore, failure is not an option for us too.
Fight them to the end!
written by No nonsense, October 16, 2008 18:12:09
Dont anyone see that this Mu shit bin fellow want to be the DPM in the shortest time and the next step is the Pm post. If Najis will be the Pm it will not be for long with all the shit on him. The next person will have the chance to move up. Dont you see the game plan. He is smart and cunning all the way only Bird awi didnt see it coming cause he was sleeping. Serves him right.
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 18:16:09

These DESPOTS know that the end is nigh, and Muddy Assassin is trying to prove to his master, Maha-Shithead, that he can implement what the puppet master wishes. Pakatan RAKYAT is poised to take over any time now, and more and more exposes are being run on Najis Rosak, and his gang, on all their corruption and crime against the RAKYAT.

The Evil Trinity is plotting to take over as soon as possible so that they can take draconian measures against the dissenting RAKYAT without any possible interference from the Bodohwi camp.

Long Live Pakatan RAKYAT ! Long Live DSAI ! Long Live LKS ! Long Live Nik Aziz ! Long Live RPK !!

written by HamChak, October 16, 2008 18:20:37
Aiyoo, don't be like Mahathir, ma.
Badawi already jatoh di longkang (monsoon drain)
You some more want to kick him (Badawi) arr.
Not very good lorr, You better be a gentleman, lah.
Don't be like your Evil SeeFu, lor
written by avj, October 16, 2008 18:22:35
Muhyiddin's latest statement comes a few days after a telling photograph was published in a leading Malay-language daily of him, Najib and former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad sitting together at a Hari Raya open house.

For political observers, the photograph spoke not just a thousand, but a million words. Dr Mahathir wants nothing more than Abdullah being booted out of office sooner than later.

A diabolical trio.They need to be stopped in their tracks.PR, speed is of the essence here. Delay will be costly and catastrophic.Need to change gears here PR.
written by hiro, October 16, 2008 18:22:40
News out that new Chief Justice is Zaki, ex UMNOputra.

The sooner Najib is put in power, the sooner DNA bill is pushed through, we are potentially looking at Anwar's incarceration, in perpetuity. There will be absolutely nothing whatsoever left by way of Badawi legacy, and Khairy will be completely wiped out. And I suspect that thereafter, reformists in MCA elections will fall as well, and candidates aligned to the incumbency will continue to work hand in glove with UMNO. Hindraf disbanded, MIC will try to once again claim a stake on Indian votes.

The critical question is assuming this worse case scenario happens, can Pakatan remain intact and continue to carry the aspirations of Malaysians, with Anwar behind bars or worse?

I dread we're heading towards the Myanmar regime's way of dealing with democracy. And why not, with our economy failing as well. The dark side is very strong. Never underestimate UMNO's power of incumbency.
written by Dongra Dude, October 16, 2008 18:29:44
OOI mujahiddin! sabarlah sikit. Kill your boss AAB softly and dont finish him off fast, cause AAB got public mandates to accomplish. You tak sabar lagi mentang-mentang line clear nak jadi DPM. Your well wishe M@##$ir's instruction to finish off AAB quickly inorder to save Najis to be Pee EM so he can quash all the allegation and accusation mounting daily from public especially from MT. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by asiseesit, October 16, 2008 18:38:02
at least one controversy a month so that the judiciary reform plan by Badawi will have more impact and support of the people including all NGO's not to mention the opposition.

october - sms & eurocopter
november - RPK & S2
december - NS
january - NRD
february - TK suit
march - election time

by the time they get to march 2009, there's literally nothing left of UMNO. that's why they need to oust him sooner so that the situation can be contained. if ISA is already overuse, then it will be OSA, and they're all SSSSSSSSS'es.
written by chiramjeevi, October 16, 2008 18:51:52
Who is the
JACKAL ? M...
LION ? N...
PREY ? A...

This came from the tradition that the jackal will sometimes lead a lion to its prey. In other languages, the same word is sometimes used to describe the behavior of persons who try to scavenge scraps from the misfortunes of others.

When the lion dies the Jackal feed on him.

Good luck to the Jackal if the Lion 'dies' faster after 'killing' the prey.

God saves us from the Jackal.
written by DreamLady, October 16, 2008 19:00:19
Do you guys still remember the story of the Arab man and his camel? This is what exactly is happening infront our very eyes.......................

Muhyidin, adalah pagar, dan pagar makan padi....
written by krising1, October 16, 2008 19:02:35
It does not mean that when Najib and Muhyiddin pair take over the leadership everything is going to be fine. There will be more teams. Tun Maa..maak will still be sniping from the outside because he is going to feel left out. Maa..maak will always feel left out if he is not PM. Khiary will also be sniping at the leadership until he moves over as caretaker of the cemeteries in Rembau or Kepala Batas. So we will wait until GE 13 and give them all the boot.
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 19:06:50

Never underestimate God's power and overestimate man' mortality, too ! We shall ALL outlive Maha-Shithead, and hopefully, God will send him to Syaitan's den sooner rather than later. For all their riches on Earth, nothing but FIRE & BRIMSTONE awaits them in HELL !

Is that the worst case scenario for us, or for them ?? One wonders, eh ...

I vow to live to the day when TRUE Democracy will hold sway in Malaysia, and to be part of the team that works towards it, too, in spite of all and any setbacks that may occur !

We must NEVER give up the fight for Equality & Justice !!

written by boeytahan, October 16, 2008 19:40:59
Badawi would still be PM comes March 09. That's y Muhyiddin is rushing-up to topple Badawi under Mahatir's directive. Muhyiddin is the real puppet of Mahatir. Both of them knows that Najib would be the shortest PM in our history. He had too many scandals to be easily evicted from the PM's seat and the next in line would be Muhyiddin.

The theory to rush for Abdullah's exit is for Najib to be PM. Otherwise, when Umno's election comes March and Najib is ousted before being PM, then Badawi would have a good excuse to carry-on longer due to an inexperience DPM whomever he might be.

So Mahatir is spinning the golden cotton in the backyard.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 16, 2008 19:58:03
wASN'T IT JUST NOT TOO LONG AGO ALL THE UMNOGOOLIES DECLARE THEIR UNFALTERING LOYALTY FOR BADAWI? SO SOON ALL FORGET LIAO AH?

LOOKS LIKE DOG EAT DOG TO ME.

written by Fuminari, October 16, 2008 20:09:16
there is no way for one to expect that a scumbag contains clean stuff!
written by merlin2001, October 16, 2008 21:50:08
AAB must never give in to Muhyiddin. If his late wife were to be still alive ( God bless her soul ) she will say fight , fight and fight them to the end.
Thus I it is important that you stay on course with your own agenda and not give in to those hungry animals.
written by Fairminded, October 16, 2008 21:53:00
UMNO is an immigrant party, run by indians, Chinese, Yemenis, Indonesians, arabs and non describe etc. How the heck that they claimed that they are more Malays than the Malays or any of us born and bred Malaysians. DM is a second generation Indian and his daughter in law is Chinese which meant that his grand Children is only a quarter Malay. Why the heck they still play the racial game. So it does not matter who is leading UMNO it will be the same game. Vote BN out!
written by Hitenwolf, October 16, 2008 23:56:28
Mud-yiddin, don't try to be a smart Alec or rejoice too early. The heap of corruption scandals that you accumulated when you were the Menteri Besar of Johore are about to upfold by your enemies very soon. They will have the last laugh while you will be scrambling for lame answers to defend yourself and in the end, you will be just as clueless as your corruption ring leader Najis.
written by Taiping60, October 17, 2008 00:35:32
Muhyiddin openly said he did not force Badawi to resign.

It is so obvious to most people that Badawi was forced out. I let Malaysians decide who. As for me, it is so obvious who were involved.

Why cant he admit that. If such obvious incident was denied by him, how would him expect Malaysians to trust what he said in future.

Poor Badawi been play out by people whom he trusted previously. Welcome to reality of politic MR PM. I hope you realise now that you need to be yourself and do what is good for the country.

written by ENCIK NASIR, October 17, 2008 10:44:08

About this attempt by so-called Conservative UMNO to oust Pak Lah:

A classic case of pointing the guns, shooting and kept shooting until the opponents are down & out and continue kicking and dragging in public to humiliate and continue with writing smear into history books long after the opponents gone. The opponents are cursed perpetually.

Kinda remind me of the backlash unleashed on the Pazzi conspirators by the Machiavalian Medici during italian renaissance era.

If Abdullah's camp decides to fight back Tit for Tat, it would be damn interesting to see what happen in the end.
written by jargon, October 17, 2008 12:17:14
bengali kunday.....Anwar very quiet becos nobody asking him any questions...all asking 'your' Najib questions until he dare not attend parliament...so ask small time MPs to answer for him...if anyone shud feel useless...it's 'your'
Najib/UMNO/BN...

The day will come when he must have "face off" with PKR...can't hide forever...

written by sydput, October 17, 2008 15:04:45
Muhyiddin use state to acquire land from private owners and sold it to his friends(Albukhari fame I believe) for peanuts. trouble is, He did not help malays, he helped Bumiputra Yemenis. If Osama had used a malaysian cave to hide, he would be declared a bumiputra and given UMNO membership immediately.
written by lynn, October 17, 2008 16:31:48
Just look at Indonesia & Philippines & their majority ppl living in extreme poverty for decades. Look to be that way for many more decades to come. Both countries ruled by suharto & marcos respectively. Instantly, corruption, nepotism & cronyism came to mind.

Malaysia is competing to be same level as these two third-world countries. Am sure we will reach there pretty soon.

We still hv oil & gas, but that won't last forever. Don't be fooled by the BMWs & Merz you see on our roads. Most belong to the super-rich so just because these rich cronies live ostentatiously in our midst, does not make the rest of us "rich". Don't be mad and stupid like that 50% bn voters.

Malaysia desperately needs a change of federal govt. There is no other way.
written by pixieface, October 18, 2008 01:29:07
GOD PLEASE HELP MALAYSIA.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 18, 2008 09:32:14
It seems Muhyiddin is about to deliver that for the man who has come out in vocal support for him as Najib's deputy

SO, THE M*M*K DICTATING TO THE TWO WANNABES AND TOGETHER, THEY BECAME THE 3
MALAYSIAN MUSKETEERS. LOOKS LIKE DOOMSDAY FOR THE RAKYAT. WE HV TO SOMEHOW SURVIVE TIL GE13.
written by Eskay Lim, October 18, 2008 14:07:46
Doesn't anyone smell a rat?
I do so, in the form of Muhyddin who has been working extra hard to kick out PM Badawi asap, so that Najib & himself can become the nation's No.1 and No.2. He has gone the extra mile doing the dirty work for Najib with an ulterior moti ve i.e. to be installed as the next DPM an a successor to Najib; knowng fully well that Najib might not be warming the PM-chair for a long time due to his many unsettled controversies & scandals.
He wants to get himself into position for that eventuality.
written by palani, October 18, 2008 17:21:21
Yes, everyone in UMNO is damn scared Pakatan will takeover the government and that's why Muhyuddin and Mahathir want Pak Lah to exit early. Pak Lah, please don't ever succumb to their scheming and stay put until March 2009 as agreed. Meanwhile do something worthwhile before your departure so that you leave a legacy. You have tried but people around you never allowed you to carry out what you have planned to do. Whatever happens I feel Pak Lah must be given a dignified exit rather than pushing him out early.
written by goman2k3, October 20, 2008 03:55:18
UMNO is against the malay culture and do not respect their elders. They just discard their elders as soon as they are no longer in power. What do malay call these type of disrespectful people, biadap?
written by sueteh, October 20, 2008 14:36:17
goman2k3, correct it is called BIADAP, KURANG AJAR. Do not care about Pak Lah, do not care about Muhidin, do not care about KJ, do not care about Najib do not care about things going inside itu Tkgt 4 Putrajaya.
written by ibabonma, October 20, 2008 14:43:00
Jawa sombong, serupa dia punya abang Aziz Yassin....dalam satu kapal terbang Pengerusi Pineapple Board (Kebetulan masa itu Mammmak Kutty orang baik!) duduk ekonomy class tetapi Executive Director duduk First Class)! Tanya itu Mammak.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 21, 2008 00:32:41
BACK STABBED BY NAJIS AND MUKIDIN AND BABITHIR..
JUST LIKE HIS FATHER RAZAK..BACKSTABBING TUNKU

DOLAH...YOU KENA MAIN JUST LIKE ANWAR....
written by JohnQ, October 24, 2008 23:42:13
Fir the purpose of conveniently seating the 1 & 2 posts, he and najis pact to finish him off earler. As simple as that, Then they will lose sights of running the country for the sake of robbing the coffer handsomely yet easily.... PUKE!!!!!
written by JohnQ, October 24, 2008 23:44:01
We should called them a bunch of hippo maniac!
written by rams609, October 25, 2008 10:52:16
What is there to be afraid of TanSri Muhyiddin. If I were you I'll finish it right now.

After all Mr. Incapable has already talking about cabinet reshuffle at this very late hour. As if he can bring changes to the country.

If he sacks you, the more the people will hate that fella.
written by mahendra5, October 25, 2008 22:40:36
AAB should get his manifesto reforms implemented this minute itself. Don't delay. Once these 3 import reforms are passed, get all the so-called Corrupted Great Guys and put them behind bars. Freeze all their assets. The Rakyat would support you 100%. You can still be our PM. The Rakyat feel that Anwar seem to be a better fellow than these so-called champions who are scheming to make the billions when they come into power.So AAB dont let them take you for a ride.
They are taking advantage of your softness by pushing you against the wall.
Spring back, like the cat which is cornered to a wall. Teach these guys a hard lesson in the history of UMNO. We still want you to be our PM.

Fendi
written by rams609, October 27, 2008 11:13:46
Fendi/ Mahendra5,

The big question is: IS YOUR PM CAPABLE? I DOUBT VERY MUCH!!!!!!

he was given 5 years to manage the country. And I do not want him around anymore.

The door is wide open so....you can have him at your homes lah..
written by magickriver, October 30, 2008 10:35:17
GE13 may well happen sooner than you expect - perhaps in early 2009, not 2012! smilies/wink.gif