Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia Bans Ethnic Indian Protest Group

Malaysia Bans Ethnic Indian Protest Group PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 16 October 2008 15:39

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia has banned an ethnic Indian group spearheading a protest movement demanding equal rights for minorities in this Muslim Malay-dominated country.

The Hindu Rights Action Force, or Hindraf, was "detrimental to public order and security," Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar said in a statement late Wednesday (15 Oct).

The group repeatedly organized gatherings without permits and tried to get international support, tarnishing the country's image, Syed Hamid said.

The organization says its struggle to end discrimination is peaceful, and applied last year to become a legally sanctioned group. But the ban, effective immediately, means it no longer has any hope of receiving legal status.

Anyone who joins activities associated with the group can be prosecuted and faces up to five years in prison for involvement in an "unlawful society," said N. Surendran, a lawyer who frequently represents its supporters.

"It's a way to criminalize Hindraf... with the aim to stamp out the movement. They are trying to make things more difficult," he said. "It's not going to work obviously. It will anger not just the Indians but other Malaysians because most don't view Hindraf as a threat."

The organization shot to prominence last November when it led tens of thousands of ethnic Indians in a rare street protest calling for an end to government policies that favor ethnic majority Muslim Malays in education, jobs and business opportunities.

Following the demonstration, which was quelled with tear gas and mass arrests, five of the group's top leaders were arrested under a strict security act that allows for indefinite detention without trial. A sixth leader fled the country and now lives in exile in London.

The rally was seen as a watershed moment in the country's politics. It emboldened Malaysians unhappy with the government, strengthening opposition parties that made spectacular gains in general elections in March.

Syed Hamid said the organization threatened fragile race relations between Muslim Malays, who account for 60% of the population, and mainly non-Muslim, ethnic Chinese and Indians, which make up a third.

"I feel that if we don't rein in their activities, they will continue to jeopardize security and public order, and our country's sovereignty, as well as upset the harmony among races," Syed Hamid said. (By JULIA ZAPPEI/ AP)

written by ibabonma, October 16, 2008 16:07:03
What's wrong with you, Arab Botak gila?
written by avj, October 16, 2008 16:15:09
Ghandi was a tremendous threat to the colonial British government in India.Can you seethe parellel?
written by CPY, October 16, 2008 16:17:39
The Hindu Rights Action Force, or Hindraf, was "detrimental to public order and security," Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar said in a statement late Wednesday (15 Oct).

They forgot to subsitute 'public' for 'UMNO' & 'Umno' after security! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by budakindia, October 16, 2008 16:24:37
How does a group bringing teddy bears, flowers and greeting cards could be a threat to a nation? smilies/grin.gif Err what about Ahmad Ismail, Utusan that clearly provoke and pinpointed people? Even hinted murders? That's not dangerous? I think I know why you lost your hair already! smilies/grin.gif
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 16:29:26

We should BAN Shit Hammered All-Blur, for being a threat to national security, since he opens his big yap before thinking through something, and everytime he opens his mouth he puts his foot in it !

Going by his logic in Tan Hoon Eng's detention, he should be BANNED, for his own safety, and placed in Kamunting under the ISA.

written by beijing, October 16, 2008 16:34:31
One thing have to make sure that Malaysian have no objection of HINDRAF but the government of malaysia is again it. So dont blame the people if there is another 5-13.. "BLAME THE GOVERNMENT OF BARISAN NATIONAL"
written by hakuna, October 16, 2008 16:47:15
This is Great. Have an OPEN house at taxpayers expense and charge people for attending it.
These people have their husbands,fathers,friends, relatives and Malaysians placed under ISA and you expect them to come and kiss you as well as wish you.
An inhumane government by all its actions.
Sincerely wish something drastic happens to them and their loved ones, then maybe it will be an eye opener for them.
written by sltemp, October 16, 2008 16:55:02
BN, specifically UMNO, don't realize they can't stop a group that has nothing to lose. Every action against Hindraf makes them more determined and stronger. The government forget that not only Indians support Hindraf but also Chinese and even Malays. Instead of engagement, the government only know to use brute force. Continue to do so and BN only speed up their own downfall.
written by michaelT, October 16, 2008 17:35:54
MIC,MCA,GERAKAN and other component parties should by responsibilty come out to say something to support or reject the banning of Hindraf. Dont just keep quite and let the rakyat blame poor UMNO. Dont be coward especially MIC and PPP. Come election you seek Indian votes and now you keep quiet. Common show your courage to the UMNO MASTER
written by HamChak, October 16, 2008 17:46:01
AnehNeh,that's right.
Keep on fighting those clowns.
Yes, we should ISA Syed Hamid bin atang to
protect him from Hindraf, since Hindraf is such a
Dangerous Group.
written by JJFoo, October 16, 2008 17:54:10
To all minorities, the ban on HINDRAF (a peaceful non-violence organization) served as a warning, an URGENT wake-up call. An unmistakable sign of FASCISM in the making.
written by Simha, October 16, 2008 19:10:30
Botak's cops scared of crooks in the lorongs of Chow Kit and contagious diseases so police base have to close down. But they go and bully the defendless Hindraf guys. He better equips with robot cops to do the lorong roundings.
written by talk3talk4, October 16, 2008 19:46:43
When Malaysia Today was ban/blocked, mirror websites popped up everywhere.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Good time for repositioning bearing in mind your supports comes from all segments and facets of society not just one racial group.

Hindraf, Malraf..........hopefully we don't have to end up with Dandruf
written by AngryTaxpayer, October 16, 2008 20:45:35
Excuse me...I think if we were to ban all those elements that threaten the security of this nation, the first to go would be Ahmad Ismail and his poster tearing buddies.....erm.....might as well include all the keris wielding AMNO politician smilies/wink.gif
written by told u, October 16, 2008 23:04:37
UMNO "Under Mahathir Najib Organisation"Vision 2020 towards fall of Malaysia. DSAI Malaysia "Dalam Suasana Aman Indah" menuju wawasan Bangsa Malysia, Kami menanti-nanti kehadiran "Mu" menerajui negara Malysia secara Aman Damai daripada diliwat.Golongan yang kini memerintah Malaysia dan yang akan memerintah pasti memusnahkan nama dan bangsa kemurnian yang sedia ada. "OH MALAYSIA KU". restulah DSAI supaya tunggak kemeriahan Malaysia di perintah dengan saksama di antara kaum.Menangisnya KU kerana tiada insan yang sehati sejiwa seperti "MU" DSAI.EVERY STEP YOU TAKE MAKKAL SAKTHI WILL BE 100 STEP AHEad.
written by agadam magadam, October 17, 2008 00:13:06
Botak says Hindraf is tarnishing the image of Malaysia overseas... What image, lah Botak, has Malaysia left, under monkeys like you...??

Whatever, said and done, HINDRAF is well know Internationally already, we have already made an impact, Nobody outside of our boundaries even knows what UMNO or Barisan is..But they know what HINDRAF is all about...
Don't touch us..., understand..?? Biadap Botak..!!
Berambus... !!!!
We're not alone anymore,, All right thinking Malaysians, not Indians only; are with us..
Once again... JUST GET LOST, BOTAK... You are cursed for generations to come..