Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Cops, court to decide on action against Hindraf

Cops, court to decide on action against Hindraf PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 15:35

PUTRAJAYA: The Government would let the police and court to decide on the action to be taken against the banned group Hindraf, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said Thursday.

He said the police would carry out a thorough investigation and it is up to the court to pass sentence if it is found guilty.

The Government would not tolerate any “extremist group” regardless of race or religious background as the Government had taken action against Al-Arqam, Al-Ma’unah and Kumpulan Militan Malaysia in the past, he said.

“The Government’s priority is to protect the security of Malaysians,” he told reporters at his office, here.

He reiterated that Hindraf activities had consistently broken laws, and their illegal demonstrations turned violent and incited racial hatred.

The Government banned Hindraf Wednesday for contravening the Societies Act 1966.

The latest incident involved Hindraf allegedly causing a commotion at the open house hosted by the Prime Minister and Muslim cabinet ministers at the Putra World Trade Centre on Oct 1.

“They disseminated messages that could cause racial and religious tension. They created fear among the people. They even threatened people’s lives,” said Syed Hamid.

“Although the Government is willing to listen to the people’s grievances and even utterances of unpleasant words, it cannot tolerate groups that propagate extremism and stir up racial and religious tension.”

He said the Indian community was not neglected in this country as they were quite well represented with 14 Indian members of parliament, 21.4% in the legal fraternity, 18.4% in the field of medicine and their overall income was 1.2 times higher than the income of the Malays.

With regard to those living under the poverty line, the Indians comprised 2.9%, Chinese 0.6% and Malays 8.3%, he said.

Syed Hamid added that there was a ratio of one temple to 149 Hindus and one mosque to 2,300 Muslims in this country.

Asked why the Government is only now banning the group, he said the Government had to first carry out a thorough investigation.

On the timing of the ban prior to Deepavali on Oct 27, the Home Minister said it was the duty of the Government to protect peace and stability in this country at all times.

- Bernama

written by Rundukon, October 16, 2008 15:42:35
Talking about Indians in the government: Notwithstanding Samivelu, former PM Mahathir is Indian, former Minister Sheik Fadzil Kadir is Indian, and so does Shahrizat. The 2nd Finance Minister is also Indian and many others. I believed Khairy is also Indian.
written by Rundukon, October 16, 2008 15:44:34
The next Ketua Pemuda UMNO will also be Indian as Mukriz and Khairy are both Indians.
written by Sword of Justice, October 16, 2008 15:48:28
In 1987 UMNO was declared an illegal organization. However none of the Barisan Component parties distanced themselves from UMNO. By what Syed Hamid is asking the public to distance itself from Hindraf just because the Home Ministry says so, then all Barisan Component parties back in 1987 should be charged with contemp of court for associating with an illegal UMNO.
written by michaelT, October 16, 2008 15:52:18
The bloody Home Minister is a pain in the neck. Why ban Hindraf NOw.What treat does Hindraf create. It is all bullshit. I tell you what...come next GE the rakyat will wipe out BN in total.Why cant the rakyat grieve if the MIC Chief is not doing anything to uplift their suffering.Syed Hamid you better state precisely what trouble Hindraf created at the PM open house. If they are unruly why did the police allowed them to greet PM. You are condemn for discrimination. Samy Vellu you have to say something on this ban. Dont hide behind UMNO back.
written by avj, October 16, 2008 16:10:10
What is there for them to decide? You have already set the guidelines for them to follow.
written by CPY, October 16, 2008 16:20:55
In 1987 UMNO was declared an illegal organization. However none of the Barisan Component parties distanced themselves from UMNO. By what Syed Hamid is asking the public to distance itself from Hindraf just because the Home Ministry says so, then all Barisan Component parties back in 1987 should be charged with contemp of court for associating with an illegal UMNO.

In that case, the Malays should distance themselves from UMNO, Chinese from Mca, Indians from MIC. Even the Malays in Penang does not trust UMNO anymore. Even Ah-mad rhetoric will not convince them because all the bumi contracts goes to MCA's Alibaba.
written by Thiru, October 16, 2008 16:21:10
It is said that he who holds the ladle serves as he likes.So does syed hamid and what arrogance and swiftness of action, ruthless lier and this is the mark of syed hamid, absolutely.

Then again anyone can hold the ladle too. Just wait for the turn, man.
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 16:23:48

The DOGS of WAR are going HINDRAF-bashing, while the dogs' masters are trying to extricate themselves just in case there is future blame to be apportioned !!

Yellow cowards, this Barisan Najis electorate ...
written by budakindia, October 16, 2008 16:36:11
Why not just line them up and shoot? smilies/grin.gif I just don't get it! Bring teddy bears, flowers and greeting cards are national threat? smilies/grin.gif Maybe Botak should explain how that could threaten the security of this country? Shouldn't we buy bigger teddy bears to fight those instead of Scorpene submarines, jet fighters and helicopters? smilies/grin.gif
written by Concerned Malaysian, October 16, 2008 16:37:44
Hamid..Hamid....

He said the Indian community was not neglected in this country as they were quite well represented with 14 Indian members of parliament. Hamid don't you know that could be because of Pakatan Rakyat and not during BN. Check your factslah so called Minister.

" 21.4% in the legal fraternity, 18.4% in the field of medicine is not because of the government help but by the indians themselves parent who sold their property to educate their children unlike other race. Their overall income was 1.2 times higher than the income of the Malays; how did you get this data and is it Malays or bumiputera? Get your facts right before you make any statement, why bother as it a pinacle of stupidity.Keep it up as it may not have evenue to speak after the chnage in government soon.

written by beijing, October 16, 2008 16:38:54
It was malaysian duty to Ban Barisan National especially UMNO. It was malaysian duty to send then to hell...
written by hakuna, October 16, 2008 16:44:13
This is Great. Have an OPEN house at taxpayers expense and charge people for attending it.
These people have their husbands,fathers,friends, relatives and Malaysians placed under ISA and you expect them to come and kiss you as well as wish you.
An inhumane government by all its actions.
Sincerely wish something drastic happens to them and their loved ones, then maybe it will be an eye opener for them.
written by Concerned Malaysian, October 16, 2008 16:44:14
Hi MichaelT,

Semi value has no...you know what to takes to be a man. He has been a running wow..wow for you know who. How can you expect someone to speak up whom has sold the entire community's future! Its OK Mike, we'll chart our own path.No worries, Hindraf is not a organisation...but a spirit in everyone of us.Winds of change coming soon.
written by ahmadneil, October 16, 2008 16:46:03
“Although the Government is willing to listen to the people’s grievances and even utterances of unpleasant words, it cannot tolerate groups that propagate extremism and stir up racial and religious tension.”
Hey,Antu Syed,I didn't do that.I'm saying nothing but the truth.What I and Michael Chick are doing in fact is promoting Hinduism and relaying the truth to those who are ignorant of what is happening to Altantuya.She have done so much for our country,helping to conclude a deal which helps Najis to make 500 million in just a short time,acting as a translator for malaysian businessman visiting France, acting as a private secretary for top government officials , staying at cheap hotel like Hotel Malaysia, to avoid charging the malaysian government high travelling expenses etc.But unluckily she got kill and we didn't spent a cent for her funeral.Would this be alright for you Mr Antu Syed.
written by joeawk, October 16, 2008 17:14:46
Malaysians are waiting for Ahmad ismail and Toyo to be charged with sedition. Do one at a time, charge the barua from Bkt Bendera and the bangsat ex MB of the Selangor frst before you look at Hindraf.

If the cops and court cannot be above political manipulation, why don't the earth opens up to just swallow them, one and all. Why be a pain to malaysians.
written by renoir, October 16, 2008 17:34:43
>“The Government’s priority is to protect the security of Malaysians,” he told reporters at his office....He reiterated that Hindraf activities had consistently broken laws, and their illegal demonstrations turned violent and incited racial hatred.]]

One thing I find difficult to understand is why Syed Hamid would waste time saying things that even he doesn't believe in. Let's take just three examples:

1. Illegal demonstrations: the mob that prevented the Bar Council from holding their forum on religious conversion by threatening to storm into the Bar Council auditorium. The police, instead of stopping the illegal demonstrators, apparently went along with the demonstrators' ultimatum. What has been done about this and other similar illegal demonstrations?

2. Inciting racial hatred: the extremist remarks of Ahmad Ismail, the Utusan Melayu unfounded accusations against Teresa even when after the authorities from the designated mosques came out in her defense, the recent shameless act of intimidation against Teresa in the form of a so-called "short story" that alluded to the assassination of an MP - these are real and serious incitements of racial hatred. What action has been taken against the culprits?

3. Commiting Violence: What is more violent than throwing molotov cocktails at the house of an MP? Has the culprit been caught? Is there ANY attempt at all to catch the culprit(s)?????

These incidents will not simply go away from people's memories. They will remain with them till the next GE, when a suitable reply would be anwered at the ballot box.

So don't waste your time and energy, dear Minister. You fool nobody, not even yourself.

Hindraf, which is an expression of a marginalized people, is not this country's enemy. Neither is RPK. If you've any ounce of decency left, you would free RPK and all other ISA detainees. Then apologise to Indian Malaysians and the entire rakyat for all the wrongs done to them during UMNO's 50 over years of misrule.

written by hiro, October 16, 2008 17:48:51
Well folks, you know something's seriously wrong with the UMNO leaders of this country when a full page is dedicated on investigating Hindraf, and just a few lines dedicated for Najib to say it's a private message.
written by msiaman, October 16, 2008 17:59:51
Going by his arguments, there should not be anymore affirmative policies as I am sure the statistics will show that the 'bumiputra' segments are controlling the economy well.

Talk about morons using statistics to shamelessly lie and oppress.
written by riversnail, October 16, 2008 18:29:20
Every Malaysian knows that Semi Value doesnt have the balls to stand up against his UMNO masters.And why should he open his shit mouth to give comments or support Hindraf?He does not represent the Indians anymore.He may be still dreaming that he is the "leader" for the Indians....well we cant blame him...it is his right to dream right?
Anyway MIC will be wiped out in GE13!!!We will make sure none of the MIC fellas will win any seats!!
As for the UMNO,you may ban this and that,arrest ppl under ISA and talk shit....and we will show you again the POWER of PEOPLE-Makkal Sakti in GE13. smilies/angry.gif
written by supplier, October 16, 2008 20:47:56
The Government would not tolerate any “extremist group” regardless of race or religious background

The only extremist group that I know of is The UNMO gang
written by Futurist, October 16, 2008 21:48:36
Indians comprise 2.9% of the poor. So, you will need another 2.9% of the population to be in the police force so as to be able keep watch on all of them. Happy Hunting!!!!
written by angkasawan bocor, October 16, 2008 22:37:27
Hindraf is different from Al-Arqam, Al-Ma’unah and Kumpulan Militan Malaysia.
Hindraf is unarmed, the others are armed.
Hindraf's aim is to help the Indian community. The others' aim is to topple the gomen.
Hindraf does not threaten the nation's security.

The empty botak head cannot even differentiate the simple difference.
written by chiongguo, October 16, 2008 22:51:23
It was rather amusing to watch the farce (or rather fart) of Sad Hamid's righteous indignation of preventing extremisim, hatred and violence. The BN gomen went to down to create a bogeyman/strawman/demon of HINDRAF by inciting hatred and contempt. Once the ground had been prepared they just banned them. Such strategy would have been workable a few decades ago. But today with the freer flow of information the song and dance ritual that they normally do before taking action against someone or an organisation had become somewhat comical. I have to grant that Syed Hamid is certainly getting better with his righteous indignation bit. Keep it up and maybe after he retired there will be a role for him in TV3.

The real violence is against the rakyat. After so many years of "producing shit" daily he still doesn't realise that all of us are so inter-connected that whatever he did it to one of us rakyat he did it to all of us. Whatever happen to the country affects all of us. Whatever happen to one group will in turn affect another. Nothing in life happen in a vacuum.

I stand corrected.....nothing does happen between syed hamid's ears

written by Jit Dharma, October 16, 2008 23:16:29
Nice statistics Albozo, try this one...How many durians can you shove up
your Yemeni butt...answer 3.42. You got a big butt.
Death to All tyrants.
Hindraf Vaalge!!!
written by Jit Dharma, October 16, 2008 23:21:28
Look at all the rakyat that you've hurt with your cruelty and violence...ISA...water cannon...tear gas..Anwars black-eye
and you call US the terrorists??
written by awakened, October 16, 2008 23:30:46
STUPIDITY OF THE HIGHEST ORDER. THE MORE I READ OF THIS BOTAK'S WORDS, I WANT TO PUKE (VOMIT FOR PROPER ENGLISH). THIS MAN MAKES ME SICK!!!
written by KweN, October 16, 2008 23:42:15
can someone list umno as an illegal political club

they do all kinds of shit and still gets a way with it.
written by InEffective, October 17, 2008 00:00:38

Looks like our ministers now have verbal and mental diarrhea.

They've lost control of their brain and the capacity to think - any doctors out there who can rehabilitate our ministers ?
written by mikewang, October 17, 2008 08:13:59
Take a lesson from UMNO.
Go form Hindraf Baru.