Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No end to Umno-Gerakan tiff

No end to Umno-Gerakan tiff PDF Print
Thursday, 16 October 2008 09:16

BUTTERWORTH: It looks like the tiff between the state Umno and Gerakan in Penang is set to drag on as both sides are unwilling to resolve their differences.

A day after newly-elected state Gerakan chief Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan said Gerakan-Umno relations would not resume just yet, Penang Umno liaison committee secretary Datuk Azhar Ibrahim also shot down any hopes for an end to the issue.

Azhar said the state Umno would leave it to Gerakan leaders in Penang to decide whether they wanted to become allies again.

"It was Gerakan who severed ties with us and it should not look to us to resume relations.

"They started it first and they must make the first move now. We leave it to Gerakan to decide on its next course of action."

Azhar was asked to comment on Dr Teng's statement that Gerakan would wait for an olive branch from new Umno leaders before deciding whether it would resume ties with the party.

Gerakan severed ties with the state Umno following the controversy surrounding racial comments made by Datuk Ahmad Ismail, the former Bukit Bendera Umno division chief, during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

Some Umno members also tore down and stepped on the photograph of former Penang chief minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon at the state Umno headquarters here.

Azhar said Gerakan should not wait for the state Umno to make amends and the party had considered it to be a non-issue.

Stating that the state Umno-Gerakan relations were not even being discussed at the ongoing divisional meetings, Azhar said: "We have no time to think about it. We have other important matters to look into like the issue of Malay unity, strengthening the party and wresting back the four state seats that we lost in Penang in the general election."

Meanwhile, Dr Teng maintained Gerakan's stand on the issue.

He said the party would wait for an olive branch from the new Umno leaders and not rush into any decision.

- nst

written by Mark C, October 16, 2008 09:23:14
I'd say, once and for all, Gerakan should show some backbone and decency and leave BN.

What olive branch? even if they have, it's a fake olive branch made out of C4!
written by mountain man, October 16, 2008 09:23:55
Remember Ahmad Ismail is still advisor despite being suspended for 3 years, semua ini wayang, the real color of UMNO will NEVER change. Only naive people like Koh TK still believe in them, with a doctorate he should be smarter than that.
written by supplier, October 16, 2008 09:40:18
They started it first and they must make the first move now. We leave it to Gerakan to decide on its next course of action.

It was Penang madcow AI eho started the whole thing and also Penang UNMO for tearing up the photo of Gerakan president. If Gerakan has some principle left, get out of BN either remain as an independant party or join PR
written by Alice, October 16, 2008 10:36:40
SHAMELESS GERAKAN LEADERS. I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU GUYS .KTK USELESS,SPINELESS,NO BALLS.
written by Zapper, October 16, 2008 10:44:39
Gerakan...you fellas out there are totally shameless. Your mother will cry for you...how low can you go as a political party. Do you really need an eviction notice from UMNO??
written by ToeJam, October 16, 2008 10:50:02
"It was Gerakan who severed ties with us and it should not look to us to resume relations.

"They started it first and they must make the first move now.

...... Penang Umno liaison committee secretary Datuk Azhar Ibrahim

"They started it 1st" ..... My goodness. Does this sound like a leader talking or does this sound more like a small immature boy answering his parents when he was caught fighting???

Is this what this country has for leaders????
No wonder TDM is still in control!

Pls get UMNO out of our govt. UMNO is being lead by leaders who think and behave like little boys.
written by asguard, October 16, 2008 10:53:07
If you keep bilah...all the way...then is waste of time the public does'nt care whether you and umno are friends yes or no... it won't makes much differents... still in same boat...
written by MsiaCTzen, October 16, 2008 11:15:47
Gerakan is irrelevant to whoever and whatever.
For as long as they sit on the fence, their asses will forever be poke.
Gerakan make your stand now.Take your pick GERAKAN!.
Independant,UMNO,Pakatan Ra'ayat or disolve.
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 11:56:31

Mark C,

If Gerakan had any backbone and decency, they would not have sold out the voters when Lim Chong Eu took Gerakan to join Barisan Najis in the first place.

If it didn't have a backbone then, how can it grow one now when it is so old and decrepit and suffering from osteoporosis ??!! A bunch of spineless politicians trying to find a new direction and mission ... doomed to failure !!

written by InEffective, October 16, 2008 12:45:23

I think Gerakan should be made accountable for supporting and propogating racists on the malaysian rakyat.

Does anybody here know what incentives KTK has to continue inflicting racial pain and pressure on malaysians ?
written by Mark C, October 16, 2008 12:52:58
written by SocratesI, October 16, 2008 11:56:31

Mark C,

If Gerakan had any backbone and decency, they would not have sold out the voters when Lim Chong Eu took Gerakan to join Barisan Najis in the first place.

If it didn't have a backbone then, how can it grow one now when it is so old and decrepit and suffering from osteoporosis ??!! A bunch of spineless politicians trying to find a new direction and mission ... doomed to failure !!

how true....the founding members of gerakan would cry when they know that the very embodiment of the party has been sold off by the current generation of leaders...
written by Lembing, October 16, 2008 12:59:28
GERAKAN still trying to stay relevant. The leaders must have skins as thick as crocodile hide.
written by Daryl, October 16, 2008 13:00:39
WHO!!! Oh the opposition couple in Penang is having some type of marital problem. Do I really care.. not really go get a divorce if you want too.
written by Lembing, October 16, 2008 13:07:07
QUOTE:
"The best example is former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's "Malaysia is an Islamic state" declaration at none other than Parti Gerakan Rakyat's national delegates conference on 29 Sept 2001.

Had Gerakan challenged that statement, even in an agree-to-disagree manner, the out-Islamisation race between Umno and PAS would have somehow been checked. Instead, Gerakan leaders chose to spin for Mahathir"

GERAKAN leaders, you have consistently shown to be useless and spineless. Not only that you have demonstrated that you lot are just a bunch of ARSE-LICKERS, just wanting to be on the UMNNOOO gravy train. These are your true colours and characters.

SO JUST don't try to bullshittt now.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 16, 2008 14:57:32

A eunuch (IPA: /ˈjuː.nək/) is a castrated man, in particular one castrated early enough to have major hormonal consequences; the term usually refers to those castrated in order to perform a specific social function.........In ancient China castration was ....... a means of gaining employment in the Imperial service.

See the resemblence between the Eunuchs of Old and the Head Eunuch in Gerakan?

written by EUGTAN, October 16, 2008 15:48:20
Why is Gerakan in consort with a party whose next leader (and PM) has threatened to bathe them and one third of the country's poupulation in blood? Self interest. Everytime there is a toss, self interest thumps national interest. Being in the BN too long and being fed (small lumps, but lumps nonetheless)at the UNO table has corrupted the party. When UMNO says lie down, Gerkan says, How low? Well, it will soon lie so low as to lie flat. That will happen in the next GE.
written by CPY, October 16, 2008 16:02:21

A eunuch (IPA: /ˈjuː.nək/) is a castrated man, in particular one castrated early enough to have major hormonal consequences; the term usually refers to those castrated in order to perform a specific social function.........In ancient China castration was ....... a means of gaining employment in the Imperial service.

See the resemblence between the Eunuchs of Old and the Head Eunuch in Gerakan?

Man, you censor it! Thats right. Gerakan can't quit BN. The differences between an eunuch & Gerakan is Gerakan got 'that one' but do their dirty jobs.
written by No nonsense, October 16, 2008 21:42:59
Some Umno members also tore down and stepped on the photograph of former Penang chief minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon at the state Umno headquarters here.

Aiyoh yoh, who were the fellows who did all the stupid nonsense and still expect Gerakan to Kow Tow to you. Your people did wrong and you still want to put the blame on others. If any Gerakan people who offer an olive branch to Umno are the lowest pariah dogs in Malaysia. When have these idiots say they have done wrong and still apologise? Never. What they did wrong was because of others not them. Gerakan stupid fools, wake up and do the right thing for once. Dont be a disgrace to the voters in Penang. Save some face for yourself. Disband and join PR.
written by MyView, October 17, 2008 21:19:56
Hoi Gerakan minoriti. UMNO have more seats than you kat Penang laaa oooi.
Pikirlah sikit. You have no say at all at shut up your mouth.
Follow, swollow go low or lo loo.
You already loose the Island of Penang laaa.
Patut yu pikir how to joint effort with UMNO win back Penang.
You ceraikan UMNO. You takde seat cakap banyak konon.
Flight kite at Bkt Bendera lah lagi bagus. Piiii laaaa
written by MyView, October 17, 2008 21:21:26
BN no need Gerakan. MCA enough for the Chinese