Home arrow The Blogs arrow My Little Scrapbook arrow The Accidental Tee-shirt Peddler

The Accidental Tee-shirt Peddler PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 15 October 2008 22:27

I sauntered into the PJ Sessions Court on the first day of trial at 8.30am proudly wearing my brand new black "I AM WITH RPK" t-shirt to be assailed with "Wah ... nice t-shirt, got sell ah?", "Eh ... where can I get one ah?", "Got red colour meh?".

My mind whizzed to the 8 t-shirts which was acquired at Gus's the night before, folded nicely in my jeep waiting to be delivered to my friends and thought, "What the heck, might as well give it to them first since they braved the traffic to be here to lend support to THE MAN".

8 lovely people walked away proudly wearing the various messages "I AM WITH RPK", "NO HOLDS BARRED", "FREE RPK", "SAY NO TO ISA"; happy, ready and unafraid to spread the message. I had a mission too, that is, to bearhug RPK, which I have been longing to do since I failed to accomplish that when we visited him in Kamunting the week before.

I hope he felt the love, admiration and support accompanied by that one hug from me and all the good people of Port Dickson!

Second day arrived with reinforcements in the shape of a 6-footer baby son with 50 tees in bag and a tupperware of egg sandwiches. With his help, we sold them off along with suggestions of "Make baby-tees lah, more flattering mah", "with collar also nice, can wear to work, golf, etc ....", "Eh, with spaghetti strap can wear to go clubbing", "cap-sleeves", "v-necks", "shorter", "longer", "bigger" ... aaargh! Queenie Khoo, please take note!!

I have to apologise to one gentleman though; he admonished me for not having enough t-shirts and when I told him more will be coming, he gave me one hour to produce them. When that one hour was up and no t-shirts turned up, I cabut with son and Sarah to A&W to escape His Royal Crankyness. Sorry Sir, am new at this but I gather all was well when eventually, Gus arrived. *phew*

Hope you're wearing it proudly when you're drinking your coffee at the kopitiam, downing your beer at your local, marketing with your lovely wife or to the playground with your cucus to tell those people out there there's nothing to fear. It's only a t-shirt with a justifiable message.

For me, husband says he prefers me without any t-shirt on but he will have to wait until RPK is freed.

Looking forward to meeting all you lovely people again.

SAY NO TO ISA!

- Rodi

end

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by malgal, October 15, 2008 22:46:09
Looks like we have a major marketeer in the making. First the court, then da world. (And ya man, he who is afraid of a little tee - get a life, grow up,grow a beard.) You ace lah baby.
written by Caramel, October 15, 2008 23:10:49
I am wearing my t shirt not everyday as it need to be cleaned. How can I get hold of those CAR STICKERS
written by Ben, October 15, 2008 23:57:53
Caramel, I still have some car stickers, if you want email me This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by The Hammer, October 16, 2008 00:47:49
Soon these T-shirts will become "collector item".
written by wildboar, October 16, 2008 08:21:15
Please help me ! I need the T shirt desparetly ...How can i get some here in Sabah and Labuan ...Try to buy it from the net but no response , Anybody helpppp. We in Sabah and Labuan will support and be by your side dear RPK sir,
written by Simha, October 16, 2008 10:54:55
It's a branded collectors' item. So RM20/- is damn cheap. If you buy a branded t-shirt, it costs you around Rm 60-99/-. Hope Mr yeak or whosoever please bring some purple colour for "NO HOLDS BARRED" m size and black for my friends this coming Sunday candle-light vigil. I have already collected red, orange and black. Thanks. smilies/smiley.gif
written by kksam, October 16, 2008 11:16:38
Hi wildboar, i can try my best to help you. No guarantee here, but i will be going to the weekly event at Amcorp mall, so see if i can get one for you then i'll post it to you, but then last week the t-shirts was selling like hot cakes!!!! Only limited size left. BTW, which design and size you want? Email me at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it . Again no guarantee but i try my best.
written by LEYMAR, October 18, 2008 16:24:41
hmm. i just ordered the t-shirt today... there is a car sticker??? we fellas in kedah are not gettin any of these... pls where can i get d car stickers..ben u still have it?

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009