Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Humourless propaganda to maintain hegemony

Humourless propaganda to maintain hegemony PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 15 October 2008 17:01

OCT 15 - The short story (cerpen) "Politik Baru YBJ" by Chamil Wariya published by Mingguan Malaysia on October 12 has kicked up quite a ruckus in the political arena as many allege that it is a thinly veiled threat against MP and Selangor Senior State Exco YB Teresa Kok.

Apart from that, the cerpen is so boring it will never win any literary award in our lifetime. It lacks creativity and imagination but it excels in its simplistic and direct intent -- the stoking of racial fires.

It is also very clear that it reaches out to a very specific group: the rural folks, those who believe in the supremacy of a race and the likes.

The message in the cerpen will stir up emotions to good effect and any claim of it being a purely creative piece a la Salman Rushdie's "Satanic Verses" cannot be justified.

To the DAP and other opposition parties, it simply incites racial disharmony.

"Politik Baru YBJ"represents the thinking of the average Umno supporter -- a Malay who reads Utusan Malaysia, watches TV3 and is influenced by his circle of friends and family.

Their source of information is limited to that range and scope and they do not see the need to look out for more information, research or even try to understand the opposition's views.

Apparently, this group represents the bulk of the Malay vote bank ie the typical Malay voter. This is exactly the group that did not vote PKR, Pas and DAP in the March 8 general election. This vote bank ensured Umno survived the political tsunami while their counterparts MCA, Gerakan and PPP were crushed.

While all other media - English, Chinese and Tamil -- became more open and critical, the opposite is true of the Malay media led by Utusan and TV3. They have become very racist and divisive. Utusan and TV3 is a very powerful tool for Umno to retain the loyalty among their voters.

These powerful opinion-makers in the Malay community will constantly provoke the thoughts of this vote bank as in the case of this particular cerpen.

This vote bank for Umno has been a loyal and unwavering lot. The mindset of right-wing nationalist prophecies run in their vein. The final paragraph of the cerpen sums up the intent :

"Sewaktu pemeriksaan dibuat ke atas mayat anak muda yang tidak dikenali itu, terselit sehelai nota yang ditaip rapi, ditulis dalam bahasa Kebangsaan.

Ia berbunyi: YB Josephine adalah ancaman terhadap keharmonian. Lebih baik riwayatnya ditamatkan supaya masyarakat berbilang kaum boleh tinggal aman damai di negara bertuah ini. Saya berkorban untuk masa depan."

The end result that Chamil Wariya and many other Umno spin doctors are hoping for is loyalty towards Umno. More of this "politics of fear and hate" will fill the pages of Utusan and news items in TV3. This is to be expected as long as Umno's Malay supremacy doctrine remains.

However, DAP stalwarts who have taken offence towards the article ought to do some reflection on their own. It is to the advantage of Umno for them (DAP) to be portrayed as anti-Islam and anti-Malay. If DAP can remake their image to project a friendlier face to the Malays, they might be able to turn it around to their advantage.

All in all, this cerpen goes to show the narrow-mindedness and desperation among some Umno leaders and its spin doctors to maintain the status quo. They want to maintain their hold on the Malays. Most of all, it speaks of the power that is slowly slipping away from their hands.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 17:05:19
I'm posting this at Eiffel Tower internet cafe.My source have told me he will get his friends who is working in the first class lounge at Charles de Gaulle airport to ask about Altantuya's companions.I have given my source the photo of Altantuya ad he will ask around the lounge.For sure he will get me something becos with Altantuya carrying the branded bag like Hermes,which cost a few thousand $US,and wearing designer's dress,with that botak boyfriend in tow,sure all the staff in the first class lounge will be staring at this awkward couple.Now I have to break off becos I need to E mail Labisman to report some urgent matters regarding postings the receipts,invoices etc.Merci buku!
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 17:09:03
Paris...11am..I feel so free in Paris,not like in malaysia.Paris is so romantic,no wonder Altantuya boyfriend likes to bring her here.I bet even the street scavenger knows this awkward couple whose boyfriend is older than her grandfather.This 'old man' loves to seduce Altantuya on the streets of Paris when they goes shopping in Rue de Opera.Being paid with the 500 million commission,of course he have every right to throw that money around,showing off to her beautiful Mongolian model that every second spent with her is money well spent.WOW, I love that gold Rolex he bought for Altantuya.Damn it,I rather be a beautiful girl in the next life and by God grace I will meet that 'Murderer we call mahathir's puppet'.
written by gyyr, October 15, 2008 17:20:42
ahmadneil, you are hillarious Never fail to surprise me with your humour. Sounds so believable. smilies/wink.gif
written by Sinewy, October 15, 2008 17:23:31
In Chamil Wariya and Utusan, playing politics are part of the game, not ethical journalism. They are masters of the BTN program. Racial harmony is the least thing in their mind. They pride themselves to be so-called protector of their race and religion when no one is attacking. Creative provocation is their play to incite disunity for their own sake, not the country. Utusan continously publishes articles that instigate negative racial sentiment among the people. Is this the type of work to unite the people?
written by SocratesI, October 15, 2008 17:25:09

These Union of Malay Nazis Organization is bankrupt of ideas and long bankrupt of morals and soul, and the senseless ramblings that sound so much like the gruntings of a PIG, that emanate from Da-Dog Chamil speaks volumes on this !!

Expected TRASH from an UMNO RAG !!

written by karenleehs, October 15, 2008 17:33:05
Dear Marina and friends,

Have anyone of you watch RTM 1's 1.30 am news? Goodness, i saw it once and i was totally disgusted by how racist the news was reported.

It was about the Perak's pakatan government giving a 80% discount off the premium to landowners who converted their land from leasehold to freehold. Rightfully speaking, it was really noble of them to do that all races benefitted from such move. However, the news was reported in a way where the interviewees all voiced their diagreement over the policy with claims that the move only benefiteed the non Malays, pakatan government are not helping the malays, giving away malay land rights to the non malays.

Come on. imagine if the rural folks were to watch such news. it's so loop sided and it's no wonder if they felt so angry and upset over the non malays. Can we bring RTM"s personally to court and put them under ISA for inciting hatred towards other races?
written by malaysian, October 15, 2008 17:38:18
UMNO's to do list:

1. Lancarkan 'Projek Sodomy II'
2. Lancarkan 'Projek Peristiwa 13 May II'
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 17:38:59
Paris..11.35 am..The next posting will reveal Altantuya and her 'grandfather'boyfriend,that's what they call him in Paris,patronizing the Hippo Restaurant in Champ de Elysee,their favourite food and drinks.So many things to do,super admin,can you lessen my burden,please!
written by Jan, October 15, 2008 17:39:55
I find these people who incite racial hatred extremely evil. They all will be sent to hell on their judgement day.
written by kc kua, October 15, 2008 17:58:02
So, are Utusan going to receive the show cause letter from KDN??? Are the writer going to lock up under ISA....just compare three of the scenario between now, RPK and also during our Terresa Kok incident.

We will now open up again our eye on who is talking non sense.
written by kc kua, October 15, 2008 18:01:19
So, is Utusan going to receive the Show Cause Letter. Syed Hamid, please answer! Is the Utusan writer going to lock up under ISA. Botak Hamid, please answer! Don't wait for your Boss (PM) he will just kick the ball back to you! If you just keep silent mean maybe you are all blind people without knowing to read or maybe you are an idiot!
written by samson, October 15, 2008 18:30:44
Ahmadneil....are u for real? What an imagination....seems a better write-up than
Chamil Wariya's.
written by Sagaladoola, October 15, 2008 19:32:31
Is this Chamil Wariya, the writer of the cerpen's website?

I can't confirm

Link : http://chamilwariya.com/index.html
written by Amicus Curia, October 15, 2008 19:35:51
I am a Malaysian of mixed parentage. My brother married a malay girl. I am married to a chinese girl and my mother is Indian. I just can't understand this racial card that BN is always playing. Can't thay see that we are MALAYSIANS first then only comes our ethnic origin.
written by Sabahfan, October 15, 2008 19:40:29
No need to create images. real and sincere one Angel Teresa did not visit sick moslems and participate in hari raya festivities just to create a friendly image. if Teresa converts and wears tudung UMNO PUTRAS will always find faults or create fictitious ones..

the silent majority just withdraw your support. no more. enough is enough.
written by educationist, October 15, 2008 19:44:14
I beg to differ - it is not just humourless propaganda.
It is a very vicious attack on Teresa Kok, although clothed in literary latitude.
The matter is now before the courts, but my heart has a heavy feeling when I think of the state of our judiciary and the revelations from the Lingam videos.
So, I can only wish Teresa all the best and pray that her case will come before another one of those brave souls that can still be found in our judiciary system.
Justice Komala comes to mind.!
written by harmanamri, October 15, 2008 19:45:48
Sagaladoola,

Yes that's him alright.
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 19:48:28
Dear MT faithful,
I ahmadneil,is not bullshitting!My trip to Paris is to get all of these as instructed.
1,All the branded luxury goods receipt that was sign by Altantuya or her 'friends'.
2,Ask for proof of any sightings of this awkward couples in Paris high end shopping centers by showing Altantuya's photos to the shopkeepers.
3,Ask the officers in charge at Charles de Gaulle airport whether there is persons of such names checking in or paying overweights excessively.
4,Restaurants at Rue de Opera are to be put under microscope hoping that there might be le***.
5,Hotel that they stayed( already found).
6,Places of attraction where if show photos to he stalls owner will get some reliable informations.
Hope I can finished this job for RPK at the earliest, failing which will resulted in a heartbreak.
written by Taufique, October 15, 2008 19:54:28
I would like to know where does Mr.Rocky of the Bru stand on this matter?

dont sue utusan? pull a C4 on them much better!
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 20:01:20
Another hour to my next appointment,a important one which will reveal who Altantuya was traveling with when she fly out of Paris.steady guys!Patients is the essence of success.
written by smeagrooo, October 15, 2008 20:03:42
Cocky Bru u mean? I lost my respect for this imbecile for one stupid writing simply becos he didnt use the brain God gave to him wisely. So much like an UMNO idiot. I hate idiots.
written by ahmadneil, October 15, 2008 20:04:05
I saw in internet now that Hindraf is declare a illegal society.So does that means that Hindraf is a terrorist organisation?My God, all it's followers are terrorist including ahmadneil.
written by fdqn, October 15, 2008 20:07:26
Hiaa!dont you all get it ,that chamil wariya fella porposely want people to cari pasal nia, luckly,people nowadays are not that stupid cos they knows how to check the facts and compare notes before any actions is being taken,pity those kumpung folks nia loh.after 51years still so backwards and still being taken for granted.
written by asguard, October 15, 2008 20:45:47
Always findings faults for the opposition parties...assume that they never did any wrong...in fact ...UMNO is worse party...mother of all disunity and rule and divide policy...
written by Kotadamansara73, October 15, 2008 21:41:30
Utusan Melayu will not bring any progress to the Malay race. Utusan Melayu only cares about power and power only. Utusan Melayu don't mind puting all Malays in the caves so that they continue to hold on to power.

Utusan Melayu is a racist pig.
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 15, 2008 22:03:15
More and more people are boycotting Utusan Malaysia from Kelantan folks to the city dwellers of KL and Penang because it is Full of SHIT!

At this rate, I believe Utusan Malaysia will soon be given away free of charge. However, even if Utusan Malaysia is given free and delivered right to my door step, I will NOT read a single page because the news stinks like shit. Instead I will straight away use it as a shit pan for my cat to collect its poo. Shit news begets shit. Utusan Malaysia National Oppression please go to hell!
written by cahaya, October 15, 2008 22:17:49
While all other media - English, Chinese and Tamil -- became more open and critical, the opposite is true of the Malay media led by Utusan and TV3. They have become very racist and divisive. Utusan and TV3 is a very powerful tool for Umno to retain the loyalty among their voters.
These powerful opinion-makers in the Malay community will constantly provoke the thoughts of this vote bank as in the case of this particular cerpen.

Racist propaganda also on Warta Perdana on RTM 1 tonight, to discredit the good work that Pakatan is doing in Perak. A misleading report about Perak land (tanah untuk “satu kaum” di bandar baru) gave the impression that the new govt was “giving out plots of land of high value to only one community”. What RTM did not report was the fact that title deeds were finally received by the rightful land owners (whose families were settled there a few generations ago). The report began something like this: “PAS leaders are busy in the mosques. PKR leaders are busy drawing attention to themselves. DAP leaders are busy giving out land”??? Hopefully, the Perak govt (and Pakatan leaders) will take note of the inaccurate reporting and misinformation.
written by Jit Dharma, October 15, 2008 22:52:13
We need to reach out to these very people.I do not believe that they harbour ill will to anyone. The Utusan has cynically ( Tun Kutty I'm sure-who else?) decided to turn them away from the Opposition by making it look like the "ungrateful" pendatangs are out to destroy the Malay people.We must convince them otherwise. That's the challenge.Speak out now.Tell anyone who needs to know...don't believe even a single word they say.
written by Wisdom above, October 15, 2008 23:54:29
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's Pray for a Spiritual Break-through.

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by Daryl, October 16, 2008 03:00:53
What if the suit against the Utusan Malaysia or Utusan UMNO judgement is for the MP. Than she use this to help the poor Malay, Indian and Chinese. Will this make it more acceptable to Malays?

Also, who is this guy Chamil Wariya? IS he a Malay or Indonesian or just Melayyu celup?
written by zonefinder, October 16, 2008 04:33:06
Just ****** the shit spinner and you'll see this mug face. Maybe one of you computer genius can put up this mug on the thread for dart practice.
written by scottthong, October 16, 2008 08:58:29

From http://scottthong.wordpress.co...rocky-bru/
written by shamadz72, October 16, 2008 14:23:22
For those who is quick to condemn on the YB J fictional story (this also includes saudara LKS), I would like to ask you guys some questions. Do you think the government is right in banning Zoolander movie? So what is the different between you guys and those BN chap in power?

What is next? Are we going to ban Jay Leno, David Letterman and Jon Stewart too? Come on you guys, aren't we trying to fight for a free and open society?

As much as we want PR to take over the helm of our country, we must at the same time try not to support them blindly. We as the voters must support them when they do the right thing and at the same time give them a nice kick in the butt if they do something wrong. We must ensure they are not going to turn out to be another BN. Just look at how LKS running the DAP affair all this while with his iron fist grip. Where any vocal dissident voice will be squash without any mercy. Is that how we want them to do one they take over our country?

In this particular case I am with Rocky Bru. We should allow free media and creative writing and at the same time, those reporters who report wrong fact must also remember that they are not immune legal action and should be responsible for their writing.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 16, 2008 14:28:27
Breaking News..............

Pulitzer Prize for Udursan Malaise

to be presented by hitler.

written by shamadz72, October 16, 2008 14:47:58
For those of you guys who is quick to vote me down due to my earlier statement, I would like to ask you guys (including to Haris 'the so called people parliament blogger'), what do you guys think when you see some one posting a picture of Putrajaya PM resident under attack (as posted in this RPK website not too long ago)? If I am to take the same line like those of you who is quick to jump on the YB J fictional story, I would also condemn that. But if I am not mistaken those kind of tasteless picture got a very high vote. So why the bias?