Home arrow The Blogs arrow My Little Scrapbook arrow Wishing For An RPK Concert

Wishing For An RPK Concert PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 October 2008 15:04

There was such great reluctance among the RPKites to leave the vigil place last Sunday. Many suggested that the organisers plan a little programme.Someone (in fact many) suggested bringing in a guitar. Before you could say Free RPK, someone else chimed in wishing for a band. Another volunteered being part of the chorus line a'la Robert Palmer singers.

And so the idea grew and grew until in our heads, we visualized - yes! - an RPK concert. Don't ask me how but I so think it's too good an idea to dismiss.

So if anyone out there could strum a few chords, I might just muster my vocals and most of all my courage. And surely surely those lovely girls might just gather together as the glorious glamourous chorus.

What say you people? You sing, I sing. Now for the guitarist. Please come. Love ya.

Queenie

written by Cinakelate, October 15, 2008 15:16:19
That's a good idea. I can sing too but don't forget to bring your raincoat or umbrella! heh! heh!
written by teo siew chin, October 15, 2008 15:19:39
YM RPK will surely be comforted that many support his noble cause and try to fight the injustice the best way they know how. Many gather together (like a support group in times of misery) not only to continue championing his vision, his mission, but also to garner strength in numbers. In supporting each other, we support him. These are trying times, sad times but also a time to show strength and courage ... but breaking into a song & dance? smilies/smiley.gif So be it then, The Man is now elevated to a super-star!
written by Hello Keithy, October 15, 2008 15:48:35
They sang for all greats of the world. Remember they sang for Nelson Mandela, Aung San Su Kyi, etc. when they are under house arrests or in prison. RPK shouldn't be left out. The concert should go ahead. I'm all for it.
written by malgal, October 15, 2008 15:51:54
Rain or shine, it shouldn't stop the song, right people?
written by palani, October 15, 2008 15:57:21
Very good idea. We can organize it in a grand scale like Nelson Mandela's birthday celebration in UK. I am sure lot of local singers with their bands can provide volunteer service to grace the occasion. It will be an appropriate venue to popularize the vision and mission of RPK. Venue can be Kelana Jaya Stadium. Better to have it on Saturday night. We can seek the support of Selangor State Government to get police permit.
written by malaysianohope, October 15, 2008 16:08:01
Great idea!

Have the concert outside the Kamunting jail so that Abang can enjoy it as well.
written by justinlian, October 15, 2008 16:13:00
It is a very good idea to hold a small concert with all the candles light up..
An RPK concert.......................
written by samesamemam, October 15, 2008 16:16:25
invite the kijangmas fler from demi negara to this concert...he would love to cover this story...i can imagine he is writing his next review now in very good england language...
written by biggun129, October 15, 2008 16:36:43
I will bring along Syed Hamid, do it fast, before Syed Hamid is sacked !!!
written by tbsbidayuh, October 15, 2008 16:37:35
I am with you queenie.

But first, please make sure that there is no any Mat Rempit around or else the concert will be called anti-government concert. I will support with prayer. Good job.
written by mob1900, October 15, 2008 16:44:43

"I tak bagi!"
written by my oumrie, October 15, 2008 16:46:27
I volunteer to be one of the singers. I used to play bass and sing in a pop band, but that was many many moons ago.....!
written by DanielYKL, October 15, 2008 16:48:27
Great! Let me contribute this song that I've re-written, the YMCA song to Why I-S-A? Can imagine the crowd singing or shouting in one voice "Why I-S-A?" and "No I-S-A"

Check this out:
http://www.danielykl.com/blog/2008/09/28/abolish-the-isa-song-why-isa/

Cheers
written by keep it raw, October 15, 2008 16:52:36
laaaa ...gambar AAB dengan Afro lagi sedap....
written by huanchoomooi, October 15, 2008 16:55:20
Brilliant idea, queenie, yeah lets sing it outside kamunting, defintely YM RPK will remember this song.

On the shores beyond the tropical sea
You will stand to welcome me
On the shores beneath the sky oh so blue
All my dreams at last will come true.

Oh Malaysia lands of glory
Here I found my hearts true love
In the night so warm and tender
With the moon and stars above.

Guys and Girls if you are in your fifties can you recall this song. We were young then, innocent, idealistics and those were the better days in Malaysia
written by mob1900, October 15, 2008 16:58:59

80's pop veteren as Guest Artiste, what yall think?
written by Sen Zen, October 15, 2008 17:09:36
Someone already had the idea to have a Freedom Nite to honour our brother RPK as well as those still under detention. It was posted in Haris' blog a couple of days ago. See how great minds think alike!! Already a few songs have been suggested that are in line with the theme of FREEDOM. Way to go... I shall be glad to help out in whatever way I can. I can't sing to save my life but... well, I can help to sell t-shirts...!! Heheheh...
written by KKRAJA, October 15, 2008 17:35:42
Yap had this idea few weeks ago...and got a great idea when i was on haris blog...we could have a theme song for RPK n to save malaysia ...WE ARE THE WORLD by MJ you can get it of youtube the (USA-AFRICA) if we can edit this song it will be good....what do u think of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2W4-0qUdHY&feature=related

There comes a time
When we head a certain call
When the M'sia must come together as one
There are people dying
And it's time to lend a hand to life
The greatest gift of all

We can't go on
Pretneding day by day
That someone, somewhere will soon make a change (RPK)
We are all a part of
God's great big family
And the truth, you know love is all we need

[Chorus]
We are the world
We are the children
We are the ones who make a brighter day
So let's start giving
There's a choice we're making
We're saving our own lives
It's true we'll make a better day
Just you and me

Send them your voice
So they'll know that someone cares
And their lives will be stronger and free
As God has shown us by turning stone to bread
So we all must lend a helping hand

[Chorus]
We are the world
We are the children
So let's start giving
Just you and me

When you're down and out
There seems no hope at all
But if you just believe
There's no way we can fall
Well, well, well, well, let us realize
That a change will only come
When we stand together as one bangsa malaysia

[Chorus]
We are the world
We are the children
So let's start giving
Just you and me

smilies/cool.gif
written by KKRAJA, October 15, 2008 17:48:34
this will pull in more ppl to support RPK...couse i know many ppl that a afraid to turn up at a court, they feel that the gov will send them to ISA too n there will be water cannon ext ext ...but i dont blame them as this is what malaysia has become ppl are so worried to stand up...so having songs at the candle vigil n having a fredom concert it will surely help..... smilies/wink.gif
written by spliff_roller, October 15, 2008 18:00:51
Plan it and ill come with a guitar smilies/grin.gif
written by spliff_roller, October 15, 2008 18:03:56
Bob Marley - Revolution

It takes a revolution,
To make a solution.
Too much confusion,
So much Frustration.

I don't wanna live in the dark,
Can't trust no shadows after dark.
So my friend,
I wish that you could see,
Like a bird in the tree,
THE PRISONER'S MUST BE FREE

Never make a politician,
Grant you a favour.
They would always want to.
Control you forever.
written by Ben, October 15, 2008 18:21:49
Try this Eddie Grant hit, really inspiring....YouTube Music Videos 80s 90s Rock Pop - Eddie Grant - Johanna via Noolmusic.com
written by Ben, October 15, 2008 18:27:59
sorry, try this link http://noolmusic.com/blogs/You...anna.shtml
written by MalaysianFirst, October 15, 2008 18:48:00
WHAT A BRILLIANT IDEA!!!
No, don't just hold a concert. hold a CONCERT!
Have it at the Stadium Merdeka (meaningful venue).
Call it Freedom Night! Do it every Sunday! Get REAL musicians.
Sell tickets! Sell T-shirts! Sell armband, wristband, headband, sunband, rayban, whatever.. These can go towards any good cause after deducting costs.

JUST DO IT! DO IT! DO IT! DO IT! I'll be the first in the Q.
written by Farida, October 15, 2008 20:42:52
Hey Queenie,
I can't attend this Sunday but here's a song to the tune of 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star' which even kids can sing. Perhaps jazz it up if you think it is suitable?

We will, we will overcome,
We will bring Kamunting down.
People Power, yes, we are,
Together we’ll take our nation far.
And enter the future arm in arm.

Come, my brothers, sisters, all,
Will you step out when we call?
There’s no need to be afraid,
We have to be bold to move ahead.
We will bring Kamunting down.

Cheers,
Farida
written by malgal, October 15, 2008 21:23:20
i croaked your lyrics farida - they work! also, dont' forget to include Negara Ku. Esp if rempit/fuzz come, quickly strike up national anthem. All stand together shoulder to shoulder rempit armpit empit and all.
written by Janaka, October 16, 2008 09:37:53
wow! what a nice surprise!
I can play the guitar, keyboard and do singing too.
I will bring my guitar.
Please let us know what song to play so we can prepare for it.
Cheer! see you all there. smilies/smiley.gif
written by raybeam, October 18, 2008 14:13:15
My name is Alfred Ho and I'm a blind singer/guitarist by profession and I specialize in singing the old favourites. I sing mainly in english but can also sing in chinese, spanish and several other languages. I would be glad to offer my services by staging a solo concert to help raise awareness of RPK's detention under the ISA. Probably we could also start up a fund to help RPK and other ISA detainees. Please contact me if you wish to take up my offer. For your information, I have released 5 albums on CD and some of the track samples can be heard over my website. I wish also to inform you that I have given numerous public performances during my long musical career.

My website is as follows http://alfredhomusic.********.com

For contact purposes my phone numbers are as follows

House 03-789848560, Handphone 016-6359800, Email This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it