Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Not in support of Utusan Malaysia

Not in support of Utusan Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 October 2008 12:04

Defamation Suits - ISA of the Opposition?

A letter from Mansor Bin Puteh

Dear Rocky,

I am not writing in support for Utusan Malaysia and its reporter, Mohd Zaini Hassan or anyone, but for fairplay and for the unfettered freedom of the press and of expression. They know how to defend themselves and the freedom of the press and of free speech.

But what I am utterly speechless is, how come there is no blogger or member of the ‘liberal’ crowd who is organizing a candle-light vigil to support and press for the freedom of the press and of freedom?

Have the stores run out of candles? Have the supporters of the freedom of the press and of expression and bloggers and their supporters run out of candles to light?

Where are they, the liberals and democrats amongst the Malaysia, especially those who have been vocal to the point of annoyance and who demand these freedoms?

And where is the National Union of Journalists or NUJ? When is its president, Norlida Daud going to ‘ambush’ Teresa Kok and Karpal Singh to demand that they withdraw their suits against anyone or to stop using the defamation suits as the ‘ISA’ of the opposition?

What if their party is able to form the federal government, don’t you think that they, too, would want to take such drastic and even ‘draconian’ actions against anyone who do not write or speak like them?

Read more here: http://rockybru.com.my/2008/10/not-in-support-of-utusan-malaysia.html

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by truthbespoken, October 15, 2008 12:15:11
His conscience seemed to have left has left him recently. We need more people like En Mansor to advise him on the truth.
written by Agahdemo, October 15, 2008 12:22:56
Malicious reporting with ill intent is destructive and can not be condoned. Freedom of press comes with accountability and responsibility. Utusan Malaysia has done of it.
written by nylong, October 15, 2008 12:30:55
Hi Mansor b Puteh,

I agreed with you passionately on Freedom of the Press. But in this particular case, Theresa Kok, I think the Utusan may had carried it to far. Journalism is not a passport for hurling lies, and provoking unrest. Already, the issues had been well publicised. All the people involved can be contacted and the truth of the matter can be verified. Don't you think it is the responsibility of the Paper to verify the TRUTH.

After the TRUTH or FALSE of the issue is verified, then the necessary action had to be taken. It seems Utusan is not interested in the TRUTH. It is only interested to MILK the passion of the issue for a POLITICAL purpose, albeit a very dangerous purpose. If TRUTH is thrown out of the window in the name of PRESS FREEDOM, then what is FREEDOM of the PRESS???

Confused.
agree 116
written by Daryl, October 15, 2008 12:35:58
Hello the ugy that wrote that article.. cetek or chicken

Please sembayang really hard that nothing happen too our lovely Teresa Kok because if PR come to power you will either go to jail or go bankrupt. Because you will either be put on trial for instigation or civil suit with all your future earning going to her family. Is not too late offer apology but as usual you are UMNO bodek kaki so most likely not going to happen. Even if you do it will be half arse... So pray more my friend because your name is being engrave in Hell for you...
written by Badaksumbu, October 15, 2008 12:48:43
It is interesting to see-in support of Utusan Malaysia or not if we really talk about fair play. First, is there fair play at all in a place like ours? Many vocal media people- journalists, which I can only called one off, if not seasonal- no, I don’t trust many except RPK, the rest do it for and after something else, easily sulky.
written by Farida, October 15, 2008 12:52:45
When someone who claims to champion truth and justice turns around to support mainstream media that have indulged in mischief and lies, it is very telling that that person has sold out. The decent thing to do is resign from the fraternity of bloggers and show yourself as who you are, a wolf no more in sheep's clothing.
written by *********, October 15, 2008 12:56:47
YB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Badawi is talking crap when he says he is 'Prime Minister for all Malaysians'. He is nothing but a racist just like Najib, Hishamuddin, Ahmad Ismail, Khir Toyo et al. Wanna know what all of them have in common? They all represent UMNO! UMNO is a party beyond redemption. Brother Rocky, I pray you are not in that unceremonial dump...More http://*********.********.com
written by thewayicit, October 15, 2008 12:56:58
Hello friends, NEWS papers, be it Utusan or NST, they are just a media of raw data, and not information. It is we human being with sixth sense to analise the facts. News papers exist not to give info but make money for themselves.The goons with NO brain has to read this data and arrest YB KOK. Which also means that they do not have to work, just wait for morning news paper and start their work
written by unomalaysia, October 15, 2008 12:58:36
Mansur, Call a defamation suit an Opposition ISA? Filing a lawsuit if the RIGHT of any Malaysian including for umno shitheads. Utusan also filed a lawsuit against Teresa Kok. So does that mean Utusan is also using the Opposition ISA? If you get jailed by the stupid botak using falsehood curned out by an umno newspaper, what would you do? Keep quiet? you will go balistic, wave the keris and then file a lawsuit. Also no one else but amno can use the ISA. Can the amno gomen give this weapon to the Pakatan?
written by thor, October 15, 2008 12:59:24
These are getting more attention that Pink Lips, with his Text messages and his copters.

A strategy perhaps ???
written by joeawk, October 15, 2008 13:02:06
Oh my GOD, what a bunch of fu... How can anyone equate thuggery and threat with freedom of speech. Which part of your body do you store your conscience?
written by RumahPanjai, October 15, 2008 13:06:31
What's the asking price for a turncoat? Detention can make a person say things for price?
written by biggun129, October 15, 2008 13:11:28
The candles is reserve for 'RPK' the 'FREEDOM FIGHTER OF MALAYSIA', we have a lot of stock, come and get it at the Padang infront of Amcorp Mall every sunday night 8 pm.
written by alarcarte, October 15, 2008 13:19:38
Mansur Putih, Everyone wants freedom of the press to report on any news whether in favour or out of favour to any party. What the people want is the press to report the truth.

If not, those felt hard done by the press are entitle to sue the press including their “towkay”.

Lets say Utusan reported that you are commiting incest with your mother, if you know that this is nonsense and that the press is trying to discredit you, what would you do?

Freedom of press does not mean to use the media to run down somebody!
written by archie, October 15, 2008 13:42:44
"defamation suits as the 'ISA' of the Opposition".

A defamation suit has to go through the court process, whereas ISA allows the gov't to detain a person without trial. Anyone with a bit of common sense could tell the difference between the two.
written by truthbespoken, October 15, 2008 13:52:59
My sincere apologies: The top posting, second para, should read, "We need more people like Harris to advise him on the truth"
written by Mr Smith, October 15, 2008 13:57:37
What Utusan is doing is not journalism. It is outright outrages, shameful and disgusting. Utusan has no journalistic decency or morality.
A national newspaper going on a personal vendetta against a woman MP. How low can they go? This paper is managed by some SOBs.
written by The Hammer, October 15, 2008 14:00:07
Utusan should be renamed as KUTUSAN! Like to KUTU anyone who steps on their stinking feet!
written by Flex65, October 15, 2008 14:28:07
What kind of person can say that defamation suit is equal to ISA? Let me tell you the difference between the two. Defamation suit is used by people who are confident that the other party had done something wrong. Challenge them to prove that what they have done is true/correct. Give the other party a chance to defend. It is used by people with guts. ISA is used by cowards (mostly man with no balls) in the pretence for the benefit of the public. The other party had no chance of defending or even to prove that what they have done is true/correct.

What kind of person would say that they are same? Very very STUPID person. Will he sue me for calling him stupid? I think he won’t, it will give me a chance to prove that I am right. Most probably he will ask for ISA to be used as to him they are the same.
written by krising1, October 15, 2008 14:31:03
Mansor white is back again writing his garbage! Teresa is not suing the Utusan in any kangaroo court which is sure to rule in her favour. There is a far chance for Utusan to defend itself and maybe get judgment against Teresa. So whats the beef?
written by cillipepper, October 15, 2008 15:17:06
Mansor,
UM being the mouthpiece of UMNO Liars deserve to be sued to bankruptcy!
written by MalaysianFirst, October 15, 2008 15:18:12
What Mansur is saying is that he does not agree with Utusan Malaysia but we should allow, and continue to allow Utusan Malaysia to report. Utusan Malaysia is not reporting an opinion. It is reporting a lie.

There is a difference.
written by cillipepper, October 15, 2008 15:21:47
Mansor,
Freedom of the Press to tell the truth, I support 100%,
but for UM to spread lies on behalf of UMNO, I resist 100%.
That's not Press Freedom, that's LYING.
Plain and simple.
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 15, 2008 15:42:57
Freedom of the press does not mean that journalists and newspapers can tell lies and fabricate stories so that someone can be put under ISA. Freedom of the press doesn't mean that you can overcome your challenger by crooked means.
written by carribeanking7, October 15, 2008 15:59:11
A jolly obfuscatory article by Mansor Puteh, the author opens with a statement that he is not an Utusan supporter then goes on a half baked dissertation on freedom of expression. Then he goes into a tirade of why the "liberal" crowd is not lighting candles in suppoer of Utusan's right to the same. He is quite clueless that these liberals and democrats idea of press freedom is reporting the truth without fear or favor. The Utusan is not seen as an independent journal but a shameless mouthpice of UMNO who in turn afford Utusan protection from the printinting, press and publications act that was invoked on other dailies simply for publishing true but politically dissenting views.
Utusan publishes blatantly seditious articles without fear of the seditions act simply because it enjoys UMNO's protection. Something that escalated during the time Zainuddin Maidin was Utusan's chief editor, UMNO rewarded him by eventually making him Minister of information. Then he goes on to challenge Teresa to berate the papers in a tit for tat bid, ignoring the fact that the ISA was invoked based on the falsehoods of the article by Zaini Hassan and Khir Toyo's similar stand on his blog.
He then errorneaously tries to draw paralells with developed democracies where he apple picks and declares that no defamation suits are taken. He then flip flopped into totally unrelated subjects as parliamentary immunity, road signs and other drivel.
He is missing the forest for the tree's when he tries to draw churlish paralells between ISA and defamation suits. He also insults the readers intelligence by infering that defamation suits do not happen any where else on the planet. His quote "There is no such a thing as a bad or negative publicity" puts him in the same category as Paris Hilton. As for the last part about thick skin, razor and reputaion, he quite lost me there, instead of summing up his points he goes into vague rantings very much similar to that of a beleaguered senile person. If this is the same Mansor Puteh that some hail as a "public intellectual" it is very sad indeed.
written by angkasawan bocor, October 15, 2008 15:59:23
Mansor oh Abang Mansor:

Don't you know that the only freedom of speech practiced in this country is selective freedom of speech? Only Ummo people have the rights to instigate.
written by biggun129, October 15, 2008 16:11:52
Mansor, let me and u send Mohd Zaini Hassan to Kamunting Camp and stay together with 'RPK', it solve all the problem !!!
written by aryn, October 15, 2008 16:21:32
Utusan Melayu is not about press freedom.

We all know that it is a propaganda tool meant to serve the political interest of Umno leaders/politicians and the party itself.

Don't forget that Utusan is never on the people's side as it is an established mainstream media - the voice of Umno/govt.

Rocky too was a product of MSM and great admirer of Tun M. As for Mansoor, aah...bird of the same feather. It is indeed sad that educated people or even an ex-journo as Rocky still think MSM and blind to what press freedom is all about.

Still let them have their say. I believe in democracy.
written by samesamemam, October 15, 2008 16:30:41
i`m just thinking aloud here: the fler's name got a 'puteh' in it and he is referring to all white country examples to explain his points...this deserves an oscar...
written by samesamemam, October 15, 2008 16:32:27
seems like someone needs to change the name of his website to rocky's brew...seems like he had one too many...
written by nocrid, October 15, 2008 16:46:17
Release RPK and we will talk freedom of the press and of expression. Classic hypocrisy.
written by hakuna, October 15, 2008 16:57:11
Just boycott the paper and if everyone does this they will feel the pinch.

Same with Rocky's blog - it is his view or that HAS to be his view.Write the truth but if it is a lie get ready to be sued.

We are lucky we have MT
written by Angela Ooi, October 15, 2008 17:13:27
Excuse me Mansor Puteh, I am sure your intelligence, reasoning and your name is MISPLACED... I need to go 'muntah'
written by JUST, October 15, 2008 17:31:52
GOD spares no evils! The truth will prevail!
Justice will be served...... one way or another!
Evils will subject to eternity of God’s retribution!

GOD Bless All!
written by johntyc, October 15, 2008 17:37:20
It should be about freedom to publish whatever truth without limitation. However, if they spead fallacy, they should be made liable under the law. Fair-and-square.
written by jason, October 15, 2008 18:55:18
Hello Mansor
what was essentially said by you was that Utusan is right and Teresa was wrong in suing. Despite your declaration not in support of Utusan, you are actually in support of Utusan. You are just leading us round and round. How can you compare American journalist and Utusan journalist. They are miles apart in terms of integrity,investigative reporting and reporting the truth.If Utusan's report was a mistake, and the aggrieve party have pointed out the mistake,any reputable newspaper would offer an apology and retract the report.Then Teresa would graciously accept the apology. This is what we call FREEDOM of the press. Not freedom to propaganda and misinformation to the rakyat to stir up racial hatred.
I am not buying whatever you are peddling. Teresa has every right to seek redress in COURT! See you in COURT!
written by cruzeiro, October 15, 2008 20:08:05
Hey Mansor,
Get out of your stupor from Rocky's Brew .....

You equate a libel suit against UM for unblushingly publishing lies (with malicious intent) to ISA on an innocent victim??
Shame on you.
You stink for sure Mansor!!
Go take a shower, Mansor - I'm sure you need one!
written by Sabahfan, October 15, 2008 20:19:17
FREEDOM OF PRESS a.l.a. UMNO Malazut Version.....

1. The Press shall be free to report and publish everything NICE about UMNO, their malays supporters...etc
2. The Press shall be free to report and create lies to kill of all opposition parties...
3. The press shall be free to publish any materials, articles, cerita pendik so long as these are beneficial directly or indirectly to UMNO, its hegemony and preserve the power dynasty of UMNOputras
4. The press shall be free to create reports that cause public alarm, notwithstanding its credibility, so long as it sends UMNOs opponent to Jail to be fed DOGs FOOD....
5. The UMNO press and reporters shall be free to do anything and shall not be subjected to litigations so long as it is beneficial to UMNO leaders, their families, cronies and baruahs...
written by BAHAZIN, October 15, 2008 21:28:54
Aduhai Encik Mansur Dan Chamil Wiraya,,
Bukalah mata dan kepala botak hang ! UM is responsible for the Malay's stupidity and backwardness. Selagi orang Melayu bodoh, kesinambungan pemerintahan UMNO akan dijamin ! Nasib baik ada internet, orang Melayu dan sedar dan bangun dari tidur enak mereka. Thanks to internet.
written by sinchew, October 15, 2008 22:41:36
Not sure who's this mansor guy, but believe he really don't understand the whole thing, just another one more blogger ?

And one thing we want to clarified, Bush can't go around sueing the press as he himself is not clean. He's the biggest liar of the world, which most american people think he is.
written by cheekhiaw, October 15, 2008 22:48:16
With so many thieves, liars and murderers supporting that lying newspaper, why do they need freedom of speech supporters?

written by samesamemam, October 15, 2008 23:24:10
I remember MT carrying an article in July/August regarding one mansor puteh, supposed to be well-known local film-maker, who filed a report against Bank Perusahaan Kecil & Sederhana Malaysia Berhad (SME) and Perbadanan Kemajuan Filem Nasional Malaysia (Finas) and Kementerian Perpaduan, Kebudayaan, Kesenian dan Warisan cos they denied him a loan to produce his film called Malaysian Snow, which he claims in the report, to be part of his submission for his master’s thesis Master of Fine Arts in Film Directing atau Sarjana Seni Halus dalam Pengarahan Filem dari sebuah universiti terkemuka di Amerika iaitu, Columbia University di Bandaraya New York. The full police report can be found here:

http://edition.globalmediachannel.tv/news/entertainment/malaysian-snow-ditolak-mansor-puteh-buat-laporan-polis-terhadap-finas-bank-sme-dan-kpkkw.html

I wonder if this is the same fler or am I mistaken?
written by Taiping60, October 16, 2008 00:29:58
Mansor bin Putih, in due respect your argument about press freedom in the case above is totally rubbish.

Please do not equate this to freedom of press. We know what freedom of press is. Freedom of press does not give one the right to spread lies.

Firstly as a responsible media, Utusan should know that the claim against Teresa Kok by the Khir TOYO is very serious and sensitive. Therefore it is important that Utusan should verify the facts before publishing.

Yes, Utusan cam choose not to verify but they are taking chances and should be subjected to challenges by the affected party in court. They should not be immune to that in the name of press freedom.

This got nothing to do with the opposition becoming the government. Are you saying, any media can spread lies about any individual in the government. If that is not true the individual concern has all the right to sue for defamation. This is what we want Najid and his wife to challenge Raja Petra in court. You can sue him for defamation. If what was written by Raja Petra is factually wrong, then Raja Petra will have to face the consequence within the law.

Wonder why Encik Mansor did not come out to support Raja Petra on Freedom of Press.
written by tenang, October 16, 2008 01:01:02
Why don't we define our battle-ground to the advantage of common people, not the power-to-be.

Why don't we bite the bullet and say "yes" that sueing Utusan Malaysia is less then appropriate and ideal (but not wrong). Then turn around and ask Mansor Bin Putih and Rocky: "Now, it is your turn to defend the content of Utusan Malaysia". We have more "bullets and guns" in this "battle field" of public discourse on the aforementioned essay and false report.

Why would anyone want to define a "battle-ground" around legal sphere or state power, where common people are at the losing end? Or we are so sure we are indefinitely at the losing ends that we forget where we want to choose to fight?