Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Use the bully pulpit, not the courts

Use the bully pulpit, not the courts PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 October 2008 08:59

SHOULD politicians sue the media? They could, of course, if they feel aggrieved by what was reported about them. If they want restitution, they should.

Like the rest of us citizens, they have their rights, too. But could and should, and to be actually doing it, are two different things.

Members of parliament Teresa Kok and Karpal Singh are the latest politicians to take to court a member of the Malaysian media. I am not interested in discussing the merits of the cases, which are for the courts to decide, but to look into the act of politicians using the court to silence the media when the latter is not behaving to their liking.

Now before anyone starts jumping on his hobby horse and gets his shorts twisted as well, this is not an attempt to target the action of the DAP's two Ks. Members of the Government have sued the media, too.

What such action does is basically to instil the threat of financial ruin like the Swords of Damocles above the heads of reporters, editors and owners to cease and desist writing about the plaintiff. Now, what is the media to do if the plaintiff is a scoundrel and deserving of public contempt? Can the media write good things on the plaintiff, regardless?

What the politicians are doing is well within the law and their rights. But then, politicians are different from ordinary citizens.

Politicians are subjects of adulation and disdain, and they live by the people's thumbs-up or down. Their lives are matters of public interest and they should always encourage debate, favourable or not, on their actions and utterances,

Kok and Karpal should instead use their position as elected officials and the bully pulpit available to them to argue their cases. With the media being as diverse as it is now, there is no way that their nemesis' point of view would dominate, and if indeed it was driven by an unholy agenda and mischief, it must be found out.

Surely a more desirable outcome for Kok and Karpal is public contempt for the newspaper, rather than financial gain on their part, or ruin in the newspaper's case.

I would even cotton a boycott of the newspaper: as a consumer product it is always subjected to the whims and fancies of the consumers. Some discontinue subscribing to a product due to political differences, or even a change in the masthead.

It must be acknowledged that Kok gained as much notoriety and support from her tangle with the newspaper, much more than if the press had ignored her.

The media going after, and by the same token supporting, politicians must be as old as democracy itself. From the mainstream media to party organs to the new reaches of the new media, politicians have been derided and championed.

And they know it, too, hence, they seldom go after the media, especially with politicians being the self-appointed champions of freedom of expression, and being in the business of ideas and ideals

There is also a knowing wink by politicos to media practitioners of their symbiotic relations. Politicians generally operate in an environment that is extremely permissive to innuendo, selective amnesia, calculated righteousness, lies and half truths, and the convenience of the moment. The media generally give them enough slack not to pounce on every single utterance and action.

For example, by some proclamations, we would have had a new government, by now. But many opposition politicians now conveniently forget that and are changing the subject. The media understands the game, and has not gone on a tirade of the failure to deliver.

Taken to the extreme, should we all not start suing politicians for failure to deliver promises or failed policy?

We don't because it is rarely done, and deep inside we know what politicians are all about, and we are quick to excuse their failings for the nature of the creatures. Furthermore, we have the elections to get rid of them.

It is, of course, inherent that the media be more careful in its operation, but having said that, it is unfortunate if it were to be silenced by a court order. We should be worried if the two Ks are starting a trend among politicians.

A politician of all people should not in any way condone and promote the suppression of ideas, no matter how irreprehensible they may be to him. He should use the bully pulpit to correct them. He is, after all, not an ordinary citizen.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

- nst

written by Fatcat, October 15, 2008 09:06:13
ooooo.. running dog.
written by Rundukon, October 15, 2008 09:10:13
The issue is when a politician is arrested under ISA as a result of the negligence of newspaper reporting the politician has every right to sue. Its a different matter altogether when it comes to election promises or any other promises. In the latter case we can dump the party in the next election.
written by NRR, October 15, 2008 09:16:57
Zainul of nst does not seem to able to differentiate between ideas and downright lies and slander. If he follows the articles in that media lately he can clearly see how this media is all out to create racial polarization and chaos in the country. They have been free to write whatever they want without any qualms or fear of higher authority questioning them. This is because the owner is not going to question them for carrying out his (the owners) agenda. sigh..........
written by Thinker, October 15, 2008 09:23:34
I guess with opinions like these it's not surprising that their readership has dwindled. If the papers report things which they cannot substantiate, of what use are they to us? We might as well buy a book of fiction and enjoy the read.

I guess this says it all about the papers, really. The papers are subservient to the BN, period. They just sit back and write whatever they are told by BN politicians instead of digging for the truth.

True, true. Unfortunately, you are confusing ideas with fantasy and lies. If you can't spot the difference between the 2, I think you'd better stop writing.
written by SocratesI, October 15, 2008 09:58:46

Politicians are also citizens and RAKYAT of this country, you idiotic cybertrooper from UMNO, zai-null-brain ! They have a right to protect their rights, too, and what better than through the Courts, which is the last BASTION for a democracy, assuming that it is fully independent and empowered.

The media should report FACTS and not CONCOCT stories to mis-lead the readers, and to stir up RACIAL HATRED out of NOTHING !! That is what should be focused upon. Trust an UMNO IMBECILE to look at things in such a skewed manner !!

written by johanssm, October 15, 2008 11:11:35
So somebody is implying that Teresa Kok / Karpal Singh as a politician are doing it wrong by suing the press. Not a normal regular press here , but suing the utusan meloya.I can say that we are suing umno .To most of us folks here , utusan is umno.
Now , lets say Teresa not suing them . Just like najis and his fat mama not suing RPK. It is perfectly an okay to kidnap RPK , Teresa , a reporter and HIndraf 5 into the ISA ?
Its also an okay to charge RPK , Kickdefella and Penarik Beca ( all bloggers ) under the sedition act?
Suing is a no but use the ISA is a yes?
Those who still backing for the utusan meloya, you better use your little shity head to think.

As for the cheras umno div. whom are trying to get funding to defend the toilet paper , they are now trying to use the good name of mosque. Mixing their own religion and playing racial tune by implying that utusan meloya is malay rights.
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 15, 2008 11:18:47
Hey Zainul! You be in her shoes and let's see if you manage to smile after being incarcerated under ISA as a result of a newspaper article which is nothing but fabrications and lies.
written by truthbespoken, October 15, 2008 11:59:06
Zainul, put yourself in Teresa Kok's shoes and and see how you would have behave. Especially when you are ISAed and suffered mentally and emotionally for a week after a false article is written about you.

You would be a very dishonest person to say that you would not take any action and let the schemers and evil-doers go!

Zainul, grow up. A consideration is only a consideration if you can put yourself in another's shoes and do exactly the same thing you asked of him or her to do!

If you carry on like this, you will not be the good journalist you have originally set out to be. Have a conscience....
written by kksam, October 15, 2008 13:11:15
Dear all, go to Haris's blog and read how he argue back with Rocky Bru on this issue. Great debate against those who have the motive to framed someone and incite hatred with twisted facts. As the MSM like NST,Utusan and The Star, well forget it, we know who their boss is, continue the boycott don't waste your time and money on them.
http://harismibrahim.*********...your-head/
written by renoir, October 15, 2008 14:04:33
Folks, just leave Zainul alone as we would any insignificant lackey who needs to "cari makan.". Further, given his education, he cannot be blamed for not being able to differentiate between a privately-owned newspaper from UMNO versions of Dur Sturm or Das Schwarze Korps (the former a Nazi party paper and the latter a weekly belonging to the NAZI SS). Nazi mouthpieces were created not merely to brainwash the masses; when necessary they served as instigators of war or hatred against minority groups. In Germany, Jews were the favorite targets: in this country, minorities who refused to lick the boots of the ruling party.

Fortunately, despite rigged elections and/or the mass media being largely in the hands of Hitler's disciples, it's still possible for Malaysians to change things through the ballot box.

Let's remember all that has happened and vote the scums out in the next GE.

written by Capt Siva, October 15, 2008 15:17:44
libel is libel
slander is slander

boycott the newspaper all you want
but irresponsibility cannot be rewarded by a smack on the hand

utusan's coffers are deep from bilihland party theft over 51 years
make them pay

press must be responsible and report verifiable truth
everything must be verifiable

long live raja petra
daulat tuanku
written by JackWang, October 15, 2008 15:46:17
If I remember correctly, Singapore government wrote a responset to a magazine who printed what they deemed as unsubstantiated article on the island state. When the magazine refused them the right of reply, they banned the magazine, then took out a full page advertisement to print their reply. Meanwhile, they also sued the magazine.

I supposed there is a difference in expressing an idea and reporting events. When you express an idea, that's your opinion. But when you write a news report, the assumption is that the report is true. One would not expect a newspaper to report untruth, unless the paper had received that report from a source and did not do a good job of verifying the report. In which case, the paper should then just publish an apology and don't use that source again, ever.

Seems to me the writer is confused over when it is expressing an idea and when it is reporting an event. Also, there isn't enough newspaper licences given out so that dissenting views and ideas can be published.

Cheers.
written by Sinewy, October 15, 2008 16:06:28
Zainul, this is bullshit talking. Supposedly someone tell lies about you in a newspaper controlled by the ruling government that you have sodomised your own child and the authority that supporting the ruling government put you in jail without trial for 10 years, are you still be able to be so holy and forgiving after having been wronged by such unjust humiliation and malice towards you? Talking reasons in the comfort of your office is easy. Why don't you swap your place with RPK in Kamunting for the 2 years and after that we will see what you are going to write about.
written by AngryTaxpayer, October 15, 2008 16:45:09
I wonder what this Zainul would do if another paper published lies about him, causing him to be ISAed and home-made bombs thrown into his parents' house compound?

Want to cari makan also please do it honourably....at least not so obviously ass-kissing lah.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 15, 2008 19:01:12
I suppose in a free country, to each his own. However, this is not a case of bad journalism. It appears that the reporting caused the ISA arrest and if the reporting was bad, it was never retracted nor an apology was published. If that was the case of a genuine oversight, Utusan would have admitted wrong and published the apology and perhaps even published Kok's stand. Rest assured, publishing an apology will not erase the horror of an ISA repercussion. The damage is done and the trauma forever etched in Kok's mind. And Utusan has nothing to say to that except to keep taunting her.

Anyway, this hypothetical "could" vs "should" is not worth considering. Like someone said, if the shit is on your head, you would act very differently. Perhaps Zainul can write his story after an unsubstantiated news is written about him and causes him to be arrested under ISA. He may have a new perspective of life after that. And a new article quite the opposite.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...ed-nation/
written by shangrilapeace, October 15, 2008 19:20:11
Could or should? Don't know, not sure. 1 thing for sure, lawyers are laughing to the banks.
written by densemy, October 15, 2008 19:27:11
This is a clear case of Malaysians attitude to Freedom of Speech. I'm all for Freedom of Speech ...BUT!!!!!

The real truth is that Freedom of Speech is absolute and if someone says something against you then there are avenues to defend your rights.

Those avenues are through the Courts and if Karpel Singh and Teresa Kok believe that their reputations have been slandered by the press then they are quite within their rights to take the matter to Court for a ( hopefully) unbiassed judgement

The sooner the press learn ( through financial punishment) that Freedom of Speech does not give them carte blanc to lie and slander the better off everyone will be.
written by StevenO, October 16, 2008 01:49:32
Agree with this Nincompoop that one should not sue the medias according to one's fancy. Please do not gagg the free media.

But, Umno propaganda disguise as freedom of expression is absolutely no..no..!

I say, sue..sue..sue their pants off. That will each them a lesson of not churning out total lies to suit their political master.

Medias must be held accountable. Likewise, politicians too.