Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib faces more allegations

Najib faces more allegations PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 October 2008 17:26

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 14 — The attacks over the Internet on Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak continue to mount.

Just days after allegations surfaced on jailed blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin’s website Malaysia Today over alleged interference in the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder investigations, more claims have surfaced on the same website over allegedly shady defence deals.

In the latest posting entitled “Eurocopter”, a letter purportedly from Datuk Zahar Hashim, the chairman of Mentari Services Sdn Bhd, the local representatives for a Russian helicopter company, alleges irregularities in the recent award to Eurocopter for the supply of 12 new aircraft to replace the ageing Nuri fleet of the Royal Malaysian Air Force.

The letter claims the award was given to Eurocopter even though it was the most expensive of all the companies which submitted tenders. Eurocopter’s bid, it is claimed, is said to be more than RM1.4 billion over that of the lowest bidder.

The letter also claims no proper evaluation was conducted by the Defence Ministry.

A Letter of Intent (LOI) was signed by a mid-ranking officer in the ministry just two days before Najib switched portfolios and moved from the Defence Ministry to the Finance Ministry last month.

It was announced last month that Eurocopter had been awarded the contract to replace the RMAF fleet with 12 new Cougar EC 725 at a cost of RM2.317 billion.

The writer of the letter posted on Malaysia Today claimed his company represents Kelowna Flightcraft Limited of Canada, which offered the RMAF the Kazan MI-172 KF at a cost of RM898 million for 12 aircraft.

The letter alleged only documentary evaluation was made before the LOI was awarded to Eurocopter.

Neither Zahar nor Mentari Services could be reached for comment.

Najib has not spoken to the press since allegations against him started surfacing on the Malaysia Today website.

Malaysia Today carried a report last Saturday detailing what it alleged was an exchange of text messages between Najib and Datuk Shafee Abdullah, the prominent lawyer who represented Abdul Razak Baginda before he was charged with abetting two police officers in the murder of the Mongolian model Altantuya.

These SMSes — if true — have raised some questions over the handling of the case and suggest that Najib took a strong interest in the investigation from the beginning.

The SMS exchange, which went on from Nov 8 to Dec 2, 2006, has become great fodder for the opposition, especially since Najib is a cusp away from becoming the president of Umno and the prime minister of Malaysia.

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has called for a thorough investigation into all of the allegations.

Anwar and the opposition have been trying to link Najib and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor with the murder since it happened in October 2006.

Najib has furiously denied any involvement with the case, and has even sworn in a mosque that he did not know the woman.

Their nemesis has been Raja Petra. He published many reports and commentaries alleging a cover-up in the investigation of the murder. He was detained under the Internal Security Act for allegedly publishing articles which were blasphemous.

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by mountain man, October 14, 2008 17:30:38
In Malaysia crooks become PM and good guy goo to jail.
agree 161
written by JohnQ, October 14, 2008 17:34:10
On handover, may the copter nosedive with him onboard!
written by ahmadneil, October 14, 2008 17:36:50
The Mongolian Post.....'Malaysia next Prime minister is seriously tainted with allegations, linking him to the murder of the Mongolian beauty , daughter of Shaaribuu'.'If this doubt is not cleared and allegations not investigated,the relation between Mongolia and Malaysia will be seriously affected'.The paper went on to say'If the murderers of our citizen are not seriously investigated and the culprits not brought to justice we will appeal to the International court of justice'.
written by harmanamri, October 14, 2008 17:38:34
Anwar Ibrahim has told Parliament that he had spoken to Datuk Zahar to confirm that the letter is genuine.
written by *********, October 14, 2008 17:39:58
The same scenario can play out in Malaysia should Najib Razak become Prime Minister. Even more scary is the possibility of the events of Tiananmen Square repeating itself on our streets considering the fact that Najib will be a 'remote controlled' PM of the authoritarian former PM Mahathir, a fact that has been admitted by former Minister Zaid Ibrahim...More http://*********.********.com
written by No nonsense, October 14, 2008 17:40:20
This is to show more of the rakyats money is going into someone's pocket and I am sure everyone knows who. In Malaysia, you dont have to ask who but ask how much. This is Boleh-land and apa pun boleh seems to be the statement of the day. You boleh, dia boleh why cant I boleh?
written by Steven Tan, October 14, 2008 17:44:16
Dear Mountain Man,

Too bad it also happening or happened in few other places..... South Africa - Nelson Mandela, India - Mahatma Ganthi, Myanmar - Aung San Suu Kyi and probably in many other communist ruled countries where news won't be coming out.
written by loosecannon, October 14, 2008 17:49:07
Najib is in self-destruct mode. His past misdeeds are catching up with him. No wonder the opposition is sounding so confident of the BN falling. More to come and we all wait with bated breath. Altantuya must be smiling from above.
written by razzwill, October 14, 2008 17:49:15
We watch on TV fictionalised accounts of how top notch investigators such as the FBI and CSI work at solving crimes, and the amount of life-risking efforts they must make. If the FBI and CSI were to work in Malaysia, they'd have an easy time indeed, what with evidence springing up everywhere, begging to be read and investigated! The way to exposing truth is to investigate thoroughly, corner the suspect with the evidence, and extract a confession. But the way things are going here, you might as well sit and wait and expect the culprit to pick up a microphone and say "Hey, I'm guilty!"
written by cubi76, October 14, 2008 17:51:02
Why is the corruption in Malaysia so rampant? Getting worse day by day in fact!

All these deals are exactly the reason why we need an independent ACA, reporting only to Parliament!

Amno crooks do think that they are above the law!__________________________________
http://sustainablemalaysia.********.com
written by MAMR, October 14, 2008 17:54:01
Dear Mr Prime Minister,
I am not accusing DPM for wrongdoing. He was chosen by you to be your successor, you are equally GUILTY.
written by cubi76, October 14, 2008 18:06:30
Who's ruining this country actually? Who actually is oppresing liberal people of Malaysia and throw them into jail? Who's robbing our national wealth?

I hope all these issues will be the wake up call to all Malays in this country. Do not let your mind get poisoned by these people anymore and think that non-Malays are the ones threatening you!

Sorry to be a bit harsh... but, Sedar-lah! Open up your mind! And your eyes!
Enough is enough!
written by Sunnysoul5, October 14, 2008 18:19:10
The politicians in the under-developed or developing countries are rampant simply because the people are typically suppressed to the core. The corrupted politicians and businessmen work together and share the profit. These well established and time-tested business webs or syndicates cannot be eliminated overnight. It may be a pyramid system in which almost everybody is in it to make money together. Trying to ask one politician to go after another may be futile if all of them are entangled.

Some other countries legalised corruption in which all transactions must be recorded properly for tax and regulatory purposes. This way corruption can be mitigated for sure.

It may be a long way for Malaysia to be free of corruption if there is no change of a different breed of leaders who are humble, socialist in nature, and have the people's welfare in their heart.

It is impossible for greedy and corrupted people to volunteer to turn over a new leaf. Whatever punishments later become less important because they can at least enjoy as much as possible now. Sad as it may sound, but then how many people can resist the temptation of money and power.
written by shangrilapeace, October 14, 2008 18:24:02
His dream is getting blurry and blurring each day. If no response is forthcoming, he may be blind. Our corruption rating will suffer again. So many countries are involved in the tender?
God must help us.
written by cheekymate, October 14, 2008 18:41:13
Aiya,
Don't know mey, Bodowi, Najis and Big RosMaMa are one big happy corrupt family. You scratch my back and I'll scratch yours.
Syiok lah, share share RM 500 million and rubbing hands in glee with the helicopters deal confirmed.
Can buy lagi more expensive watches, RM 60 million houses in perth...
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 14, 2008 18:48:48
Najib has not spoken to the press since allegations against him started surfacing on the Malaysia Today website.

Malaysia Today carried a report last Saturday detailing what it alleged was an exchange of text messages between Najib and Datuk Shafee Abdullah, the prominent lawyer who represented Abdul Razak Baginda before he was charged with abetting two police officers in the murder of the Mongolian model Altantuya.

JUST HEARD DPM'S LAME DENIAL. WHY SOUND SO GUILTY AS IF TRYING TO BRUSH
OFF THIS ISSUE AND GO ON TO ANOTHER ISSUE. U HV TO REDUCE PETROL BY MIN RM 1.00 TO DIVERT THE ATTENTION OF ALL MALAYSIANS AND NAY, THE ENTIRE WORLD FROM THE SPIRIT OF ALTANTANYA. SEE, PUTTING RPK UNDER ISA WAS A BIG MISTAKE. NOW U
HV MILLIONS OF RPKS HOUNDING YOU EVERY DAY. REST ASSURED THE M*M*K DICTATOR WILL JUST USE U AND THEN DUMP U TO TAKE ALL THE BLAME WHEN HIS SON IS READY TO TAKE OVER. U WILL ALSO BE ANOTHER LAME DUCK PM.
written by Hairy Potter, October 14, 2008 18:50:07
Is there a way to find out how much is the ex-factory price of the Cougar? The price that Malaysian government should pay is definitely just the CIF price - no tax, excise duty and others that apply for commercial purposes. I don't think Eurocopter Malaysia has to pay for all these..

We want to know what is the mark-up price.

written by cheekymate, October 14, 2008 19:00:10
Hairy Potter,
Brilliant suggestion. Can someone with the right connections get on swiftly with it and expose these robbers of the citizens, PLEASE?
Post findings on MT for all to see. Keep going and hound them till all their dirty linen is out in the open.
written by mahendra5, October 14, 2008 19:00:41
It makes me laugh to predict that very soon you see our Capt.Zahar missing.
I am sure all Malaysians are just waiting for the next General Election to
cast their vote. It is never going to be an UMNO led Government as the present leaders have damaged the good name of our Clean Past Leaders namely our Bapa Malaysia Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Tun Abdul Razak, Tun Hussein Onn. Needful tomention here also re our Past Indian Leaders Tun Sambanthan and Chinese Leader Tun Tan Siew Sin. Barisan Nasional (UMNO.MIC,MCA) will find no place in Malaysian History in the next General Election. The Rakyat have made up their mind and giving gula-gula to the Rakyat by petrol subsidy and so forth is not going to work for the BN Govt. See how Pakatan Rakyat is faring in the 5 states.
They are doing a fine job. Anyway I hope like Balasubramaniam, our Capt.Zahar does not go missing smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, October 14, 2008 19:01:39
I have given up any hope that the powers-that-be will do what is right and proper.
The letters are very well written with facts to back up the contentions.
We are not talking about millions of dollars in potential savings but RM1.419 billion to be precise.
Ignorance is bliss but the government can no longer cover our eyes with coloured lenses!!
If the Eurocopter is that much superior , come out with the facts and figures to dispute the good Kapten{Rtd]'s arguments.!!
written by mendela, October 14, 2008 19:02:42
Thinking of such airhead will take over the helm very soon really makes me sweat and panic!

I guess it is high time we start to do some research on Najis. Bodowi took up Islamic Study after he failed Statistics exam. Wonder which course did Najis fail before he became a corrupted politician?
written by Kopi37, October 14, 2008 19:03:35
Since they can simply mark up the purchase price, why don't we think of to mark down all the taxes so as not to waste our hard earned revenues for the blood suckers?!
written by samson, October 14, 2008 19:06:20
Najib has just replied in M'sian Insider :"No need to reply to any allegations on SMS's.No abuse of power.He will explain Eurocopter issue in Parliament."

That is if he attends Parliament in the near future.Hasn't attended for yesterday's and today's sessions.Must be preparing himself mentality for the big moment in Parliament.
written by Yacob, October 14, 2008 19:48:59
Sorry to say lah, Pak Lah is a stupid PM ! so what can we expect from him ?
written by sonofmalaysia, October 14, 2008 19:51:53
THe so-called bangsawan, the PM designate is so fcuking tainted, even the most stinking skunk has to run for cover from the stench surrounding him !!

How horrific a scenario we will face, 27 millions Malaysians will have to shoulder the stench for him !!

DYMM Agong, and all Sultans of this country, pls save us, save our country !!

written by Kopi37, October 14, 2008 21:19:26
Dear sonofmalaysia,

RPK being a Raja lineage will have to endure all these misfortune and sufferings, we better rely on our own collective efforts and unity to fight for the right cause! Only RPK is compassionate and concerned with his welfare and all our welfare as a whole! He is the one man standing with the rank and file and he knows our hardships and the problems posing to ruin the Nation! RPK is our only hope!
written by Spear Bing, October 14, 2008 22:10:53

He (RPK) was detained under the Internal Security Act for allegedly publishing articles which were blasphemous.

- The Malaysian Insider

Again and again, consciencious Malaysians must continuously question why ISA is being used to silence freedom of information and speech, contents of which do not contain any intent to create VIOLENCE and ARMED REBELLION or FLAME RACIAL HATRED AND DISCORD.

Government Ministers must be made aware that they are public figures and as such they are subjected to public scrutiny, no matter how frivolous or 'fitnah' this 'falsehoods' are perceived to be.

Using ISA is completely untenable and abuse of human rights.

Najib may be tempted to evoke ISA again over the scandalous sms conversations between Shafee and himself. But this time he will be the LIMP DICK.

Right now, at the rate this information is being relayed to the world over, Najib can kiss his premiership good-bye. He is alreadt a dead meat.

Nothing can stop the forces of evolution. The tsunamis of information and communication through the bloggosphere will witness the beckoning of TRUTH AND JUSTICE.

The STRUCTURE of UMNO has become unstable, delusional and dysfunctional, no matter how transformational these leaders want it to be. UMNO is untenable.
written by SiHangChai, October 14, 2008 22:40:37
We all know that Najib is a 'ham sap' person with eyes staring at pretty and sexy ladies. So, if is true, not surprise to many people staying in Pahang. Also, Najib is a good actor who talks and facial expression of students participating in school debate. Ohh, I hate those fake facial and hand expressions. So fakey. Therefore, najib is a fakey in nature, and should not be PM at all.
written by anakmalaysia777, October 15, 2008 02:29:40
Datuk Captain Shahar - we sincerely hope you have revealed these details in National Interest simply because of the unsatisfactory manner in which the contract was awarded and not becasue you could not benefit from the spoils. May god bless you and your family.

It would be useful to also reveal who the new Razak Baginda is and how many hundred million commission he or she is to get from this award. Also you may want to confirm that Rosmah was sitted in the Ministry of Defence for two days until that LOI got issued.
written by anakmalaysia777, October 15, 2008 02:33:17
It is strongly rumpured by Ministry of defence personnel that whenever big contracts are to be awarded or is under discussion, Rosmah is always around to provide guidnace and adice to the poor civil servants who have difficulty understanding all the details.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 16, 2008 01:18:26
a Allah kami akan ada lagi suatu skandal..rasuah 600 juta kke??
dan siapakah akan di letup sekarang???

who is the next altoontooya...sahartooya??

rasuah..UMNO BOLEH
membunuh.UMNO BOLEH
mendengki..UMNO BOLEH
mengancam...UMNO BOLEH
menipu.UMNO BOLEH
mencaci...UMNO BOLEH
memukul...UMNO BOLEH
menghalau yang bukan Melayu...UMNO BOLEH
menyuruh yang bukan Melayu balik..UMNO Boleh
menghasut...UMNO boleh
mencuri..tanah orang Melayu..UMNO BOLEH
mencuri..wang ibu pertiwi..UMNO BOLEH
memalsu..dokumen...UMNO BOLEH
menafi berkali2...UMNO BOLEH
menguna ISA ..UMNO BOLEH
menukar undang undang..perihal tanah..UMNO BOLEH
meguna polis untuk menakut.UMNO BOLEH
menutup kesalahan dan dosa..UMNO BOLEH
bezina...UMNO BOLEH
merogol gadis 15 thn...UMNO BOLEH
menyumpah tanpa bukti...UMNO BOLEH
BERMAHARAJA...UMNO BOLEH

RPK TAK BOLEH
RAKYAT MALAYSIA TAK BOLEH