Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysia Civil Rights Action: Regroup for Another Strike

Malaysia Civil Rights Action: Regroup for Another Strike PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 October 2008 14:00

Raja Petra Kamaruddin (RPK) has been languishing in jail for 28 days since he was arrested on September 12. Many people have shown their supports for releasing RPK; Numerous calls, articles, public vigils, comments, forums, public displays, and even resignation from Cabinet are all working toward releasing RPK. However, the fact is that RPK is now still surrounded by four concrete walls enclosing a 8-by-8 feet space; RPK, now 59 after his last week birthday, is day-in and day-out in solitary confinement with food bad enough to cause stomach upset.

What are the missing ingredients for freeing RPK? The nation prominent writers, religion leaders, well-known bloggers, opposition leaders, and intellects have done more than their "fair" share in showing their outrage on RPK incarceration. Taking a quick survey, you could find news and articles written by our leaders and prominent intellects;

Please read the rest here

written by temenggong, October 14, 2008 14:23:31
Good plans and efforts but save it! Its puerile. Nothing will free rpk, hindraf and other detainees except a takeover by Pakatan.
written by ahmadneil, October 14, 2008 14:23:38
Is it possible to bring all the cows and pigs to the streets of KL and stop all the traffic.Spray all these animals with 'FREE RPK' on their back.In these way the world TV will broadcast live about the ill treatment of RPK.
written by elmo world, October 14, 2008 14:30:40
its about their (Govt) pride, if they free PRK they will loose their face.

if they can make up stories & excuses to arrest RPK & Anwar..
And find ways to help Najib to escape the Mongolian lady's murder case..

what else they cant do?
written by samesamemam, October 14, 2008 14:51:55
This is a time tested strategy the world over where gomens control the executive and the legislative, the judiciary and the police and the military. To delay a process, they take it to court…it will go on and on until gomen decides that a verdict can be made…the third world gomens oso do some other filibustering tactics simultaneously, like taking some other inconsequential arrests and detentions, destroy a sacred place or two…something that will cause uproar and distraction…get those anti-gomen flers worked up…those gomen flers os will allow demonstrations, vigils, petitions…anything yal;l wan…and they get their MSM to oso throw petrol on the fire…

Theoretically its true that if PKR takes over gomen all these problems can be solved. But that’s theoretical right now…and oso rhetorical.

So, what do we do. I think all the rantings and ravings shld go on…oso all the vigils and petitions and those other stuff. But something more needs to be done in the quiet. Some planning by the anti-gomen intelligentsia…a bit of a medium- to long-term planning…and don’t give away what yall plan…set the long-term goal to the next GE but plan some short- and medium-term goals/strategies to go outside the courts, the vigils, the petitions, etc. Nothing illegal…but there are so many ideas…

I know that committees are a curse and another endless chatter till the cows come home. But a special committee of well-known Malaysian figures of all ethnic groups aimed at setting and implementing long-term goals for Malaysia may be the way to go…maybe let the rakyat choose the reps to be in this committee…

Its sad that rpk and others are suffering in evil detention…but we gotta think long term here so that their sufferings will not be in vain for our children and our children’s children,,,
written by CitizenBodohland, October 14, 2008 15:06:30
temenggong is right. PR must take over the government all all cost.
written by michael chick, October 14, 2008 15:07:37
written by akulara, October 14, 2008 15:11:51
Mr Anwar, please answer this?? How cud you let our dear Pete hanging there?? No justice for him??? What have he done for you?? Am I angry?? Yes!!!

You are free to talk but yet you have not walk your talk!! Please help to released RPK... we will definitely will be hand in hand to support you.

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat!!!

rgds
Rohani AG

written by biggun129, October 14, 2008 16:04:15
DSAI's PR want to do it in a peaceful manner? with the present government ruling regime, Malaysian is suffering!!!One word for sure, DSAI is not the ONE!!!Dont pray hope on him! The Malaysian must do the REFORM themself,Do not let the present ruling regime give 'RPK' the death, we need to get him the 'FREEDOM'that we desperately need!Forget about PR, if we stay put and let the situation going on like this, its no ending!
written by mob1900, October 14, 2008 16:05:34

Our famous beloved Justice & Freedom 'Guerilla'.
written by Dominic, October 14, 2008 16:23:24
Go and Steal 30 TRACTOR, position near Kamunting....create a diversion outside Kamunting and then in one Foul SWOOP we level Kamunting and let everyone free. That structure is the Berlin Wall of Malaysia. We must Bring it down. Buy yellow ribbon, tie to stone and Launch it inside the Prison....by the Millions.

What is stopping Malaysian from doing this??
written by BennyG, October 14, 2008 16:27:04
Well written MCRAG. Concerned about the inaction of a lot of people though.

Maybe most of us do not realise the impact that RPK had on us or enough to bring us from our comfort and security of our homes to just light a candle for RPK. Or it becoz a candle will not solve the problem?

Let the politicians work their way towards their goal and us the Rakyat our way. If we were to wait for someone else to do what we are supposed to do, then for sure we will be disappointed.

Imagine if RPK think that one person could not bring changes to the gov't, then where would we be if MT does not exist?

A lot of people had come out to help RPK on voluntary basis and it could be frustrating to see the response.

Shall we let BN continue with their ways? Why not, we still have our jobs and homes? What else could we as Malaysians want?

Are we so blind till we are unable to see the consequences if BN continue to plunder the nation's wealth? Will Najis plunder at a slower rate or worse?

Let's just stay at home and type as much as we want this Sunday. Or a candle will make a difference?
written by norani63, October 14, 2008 16:33:48
ni apa nama ni...budak anwar ni, does he really have the number or not? I am beginning to have doubts in this guy already. Please anwar, do it while you still have all the supports.
written by Wisdom above, October 14, 2008 16:35:33
Let' Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's Pray for a Spiritual Break-though for RPK to be set Free.

RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!

My Salute to all Peacemakers.
written by ahmadneil, October 14, 2008 16:37:42
Michael chick,One picture a day is bloody too few.You are not doing us a favour.
written by tenang, October 15, 2008 00:42:14
written by Dominic, October 14, 2008 16:23:24

Go and Steal 30 TRACTOR, position near Kamunting....create a diversion outside Kamunting and then in one Foul SWOOP we level Kamunting and let everyone free. That structure is the Berlin Wall of Malaysia. We must Bring it down. Buy yellow ribbon, tie to stone and Launch it inside the Prison....by the Millions.

What is stopping Malaysian from doing this??

Dear Dominic,

Before Berlin Wall is physically brought down, there were much people momentum build up yearning for its symbolic collapse. The physical collapse was, after all, a well-planned event, albeit an emotional one. Resorting to using tractors as means to bring down Kamunting is putting cart ahead of horses. If Kamunting were to be brought down, it has to be the end result of the will of the people especially the majority race, i.e. Malays. I don't think there is short-cut about it.
written by agadam magadam, October 15, 2008 01:35:20
Raja Petra stuck his neck out, with the confidence that Anwar will take over and RPK was prepared to be detained under ISA, probably for 2 weeks or so..
But... with Anwar's claim of 'numbers in hand' nothing is being done until now, since 16th Sept...
The scenario keeps changing everyday.. Those who have agreed to the crossover may have also changed their mind by now..
Najib and his gang of evil thugs are so close now to securing full control..
Anwar will fail miserably and we''ll all be doomed...So How..???
Anwar HAS to move now.... I have been campaigning tirelessly for this change of Govt.. But..??? WILL IT HAPPEN...???? I sincerely hope it does....