Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow SMS poser begs an answer

SMS poser begs an answer PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 October 2008 09:26
Commentary

OCT 14 - No one has answered the million ringgit question yet: Is the SMS exchange on the Altantuya murder case between Datuk Seri Najib Razak and a prominent lawyer authentic?

If it is not, then it should be put down as yet another move by critics of the government to discredit the man slated to be the next prime minister of Malaysia; dismissed as another desperate attempt to implicate Najib in
the murder of Altantuya Shariibuu.

If it is authentic, then the disclosure raises a whole host of questions. How did private and confidential SMS records of two individuals reach the public domain? Was Najib interested in the case because his advisor Abdul Razak Baginda was a central figure? Was there something sinister or inappropriate in any of the exchanges between Najib and Datuk Shafee Abdullah?

Did Najib use his position as the DPM to interfere in the progress of the murder investigation or did he merely make a few telephone calls to find out the gravity of the situation facing his friend?

Nobody in the government has said anything since the SMS exchange was posted on Malaysia Today, the website owned by Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the blogger who is being detained under the Internal Security Act.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi’s attempt to protect his number two was clumsy.

At a press conference yesterday, a journalist from a local daily broke the monotony of questions on the economy by asking the Prime Minister his thoughts on the SMS. Abdullah, either because he did not catch the question or because he wanted to stay on message and only speak on the economy, ignored the reporter. Later on, he walked up to the reporter and sought a clarification on the question.

The reporter elaborated a bit more on the SMS exchange between Najib and Shafee. The press conference was reconvened and Abdullah defended Najib.

“I can't believe Datuk Seri Najib wants to abuse power. If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor? I believe in him, I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah.

The problem with this stout defence of his deputy is that it does not answer the most important question swirling out there today: Is the SMS exchange between Najib and Shafee authentic?

Continuing silence on this matter will not help Najib or the Abdullah administration. Continued silence on this matter will also create paranoia on the strength of firewalls and security measures of Malaysia’s telcos.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by Concerned Malaysian, October 14, 2008 09:31:25
I can't believe Datuk Seri Najib wants to abuse power. If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor? I believe in him, I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah.

True Mahathir is also a good person so is Razak.......kan Najib his son...
written by Rundukon, October 14, 2008 09:37:52
“I can't believe Datuk Seri Najib wants to abuse power. If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor? I believe in him, I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah.

Mr Abdullah should start believing before its too late.
written by kingelvis, October 14, 2008 09:43:13
'If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor?'
AGREE Exactly what everyone's asking!
What poor judgement by you..better step down now smilies/smiley.gif
written by godknows, October 14, 2008 09:43:47
And Brutus is an honourable man!
written by cheemengwong, October 14, 2008 09:47:21
Dear PM,

don't be quick to defend najib without doing your own due diligence first! There is no smoke without fire
Leaves will not sway if there is no wind.
There will be no accusations if there is no iota of truth in it.

Pleaselah, very poor remarks coming from a Prime Minister of Malaysia. Are you for REAL?
agree 121
written by cahaya, October 14, 2008 09:52:03
The Malaysian media had reported bits and pieces of the murder case during the past two years. But some of us want to know what actually happened in the courtroom. A friend introduced me to this website which records all 139 days of the murder trial:

STOMP on the Murder Trial of Mongolian Beauty
http://thecourtroom.stomp.com....index.html

According to the website, the judge will deliver his verdict on Friday 31 October 2008. Will the disclosure of this SMS exchange (if authentic) affect the murder trial and the verdict?
written by lamakawan, October 14, 2008 09:55:23
THe only answer to this million dollar question is to subpoena Najib and his fat bitch wife. Bala already had declared the fat bitch was in attendance at time of incident.
written by Daryl, October 14, 2008 09:58:01
DPM will never be complicated in this murder trial even if he was filmed carrying out the murder because UMNO members depend on him for "cari makan". So, ow can we stop all these nonsense. PR coming to power is our only hope for better future.
written by Sunnysoul5, October 14, 2008 10:02:43
The Godfather movies have very interesting lessons for us to learn. It was a sad ending when his beloved daughter was shot dead right in front of him. Godfather had to payback for all the bad deeds at the end of his life. Go watch the movies.

Truth prevails.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 14, 2008 10:08:05
I can't believe Datuk Seri Najib wants to abuse power. If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor? I believe in him, I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah

written by cillipepper, October 14, 2008 10:16:51
Najib=Thief=Pak Lah=Robber
Birds of the same feathers flock together!
written by cheekhiaw, October 14, 2008 10:18:22
Thieves, liars and murderers live by different rules - it is not their culture to provide answers nor to sue others to sort out the truth.

Even when they can put their own thieves, liars and murderers to run the courts.

As some stone fellas imagine, they would like us to think of a thief's retreat from facts finding as magnanimous forbearance...

written by thor, October 14, 2008 10:23:45
Yes, we hve good leaders in this country, therefore there are no problems. Yes, our leaders unite us and NEVER play the racial/religious card to direct those gravy trains. Yes, we will not be affected by the financial crisis brewing bcos we have such good and capable leaders. United Nation shld learn from us, we can send our people there to help and in 8 to 10 minutes, the world financial crisis will be a thing of the past.
written by shamadz72, October 14, 2008 10:31:46
Only in Malaysia where everything depend on what the PM believed. If the PM believe the person is innocent than the rest of us will just have to swallow everything lock stock and barrel. Might as well we don't need to have any judiciary at all and save our tax payer money so that the whole cabinet can go on agriculture study trip probably 4 times a year. smilies/smiley.gif
written by JUST, October 14, 2008 10:35:07
此地无银三百两
No 300 taels of silver buried here!
written by krising1, October 14, 2008 10:37:00
Smart tactic. Dismiss the allegation with a sentence or two and it will go away. Malaysians mudah lupa! We have to let them know that we are not going to let them get away.
written by unomalaysia, October 14, 2008 10:38:11
No denial of the sms means it true! Slience means consent. As for the Old Sleepy Head statement, only sandiwara lah...
The Dozy Dude is a smart one after all. After taking the RM200 million from Bik Mamah in exchange for not contesting, he and the Beruk Boy start to release shit linking Najis to the Mongolian to the public. Comes March, Mr Shit will be so stinking to high heaven that old Dozy will declare that he is not fit to be PM and then for the sake of the country must remain the PM for the full term. Remember, Old Sleepy Head only declared he will not contest the amno presidency, he never said anything about stepping down as PM. Only the DYMM Agong can sack him. Who knows he can still pull the rug from underneath Mr Shit. He can still sack the whole cabinet, declare that the Be End gomen no longer has the support of the people (the truth for once), dissolve the parliment and call for new election and then let PR takes over. Old Sleepy Head then retires to Perth and show his middle finger to Mr Shit and his Sifoo, MM. Then all Malaysians can have a ball... kakakaka
written by Counterpointer, October 14, 2008 10:41:16
Bloggers/commenters be very very afraid!

Chucky's coming to get you soon.

written by Alice, October 14, 2008 10:44:23
I can't believe Datuk Seri Najib wants to abuse power. If he's the one who is inclined to abuse power, then how could he be my successor? I believe in him, I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah.

Abdullah you must remember that there is a GOD and if u lead people to believe than you have to bear
written by Zeroed, October 14, 2008 10:56:29
Apparently, now that the Grand Old Man is back in action. Lets see how he steer this sinking ship out of the iceberg.

I must say, developing MSC was the most unintended accidental good thing you have ever done for us. I bet you never thought that this day will come where the war of justice is actually fought is cyberspace!!

Thanks but no thanks!!!
written by cillipepper, October 14, 2008 11:12:08
Birds of the same feathers flock together
and protect each other!
Thats Najib and Pak Lah, the Thief & Robber Co
written by JUST, October 14, 2008 11:16:32
Simple! Swear! Solved!
written by ChrisLim, October 14, 2008 11:28:21
It is good that this PM is 'retiring'. Just listen to his asnwer and remarks, he just cannot convince us that he is a leader of this country. If this chap can become a PM, I believe almost all the adults (more than 18 years) are elibigle to replace him.
written by michael chick, October 14, 2008 12:13:30
Dear CounterPointer. Wonderful Graphics. Keep it up. There's no Photoshop here where I am, so I'm slightly incapacitated for now. Any MT Bloggers in Phom Pehn? Need to discuss evacuation plans should war break out between Cambodia and Thailand. Chau Doc exit is a viable option? (Assuming this Airport gets hit)
written by JJFoo, October 14, 2008 12:15:55
Just doesn’t add up. Why is Badawi bending over way backward to protect this controversial Najib? Do they share common interests that can’t see the light of day? Involved in the same honey pot? Will he be in the same pot of boiling soup with Najib, once allegations toward Najib were proven? He need not vouch for Najib innocence, nobody would criticize Badawi for remaining silence, especially in this case. Badawi is sticking his neck a little too far out, could it be for nothing? Something is cooking.............
written by Fuminari, October 14, 2008 12:24:18
anwar,this could be one of the reasons why that hamsap MOQI dare not to show up in parliment yesterday??
written by macaufan, October 14, 2008 12:24:57
Bodohwi:"i cant beleive najis will abuse his power"
u olidi cant believe:
- lost on 308 GE
- lost battle with TDM
- lost ur PM job sooooo soon
- lost Kalimullah & Patric Lim
- lost Penang 2nd bgridge
- lost umno president soooo soon

but all turn out 2b true !
written by michael chick, October 14, 2008 12:28:56
written by Dongra Dude, October 14, 2008 12:34:39
The truth will prevail finally. Lets hope and pray crime dont pay. Whoever the culprit have to pay in Dunia dan Akhirat. smilies/grin.gif. Salam
written by 1six5, October 14, 2008 12:42:27
Razak Baginda's wife and children were the 1st ones who shouted "THIS IS A SCANDAL" during the 1st day of trial...so now u understand why S2N sms said, "his wife is getting hysterical"...N2S replied to console her...kahklahakahahah...

who do u believe? the HYSTERICAL WIFE or the S2N chat? the choice is yours everyone. anyhow...the irony of ur choice will be the same answer...kahlahalahalhahah...niat ingsun matakajieeeee smarinsennn...
written by kislean, October 14, 2008 13:09:07

Badawi - Read my lips ! I'm MR. OPPOSITE, the greatest liar in Malaysia !
written by benny loh, October 14, 2008 13:22:03
I believe he's a good person...only thing is he likes playing with C4
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...k-meh.html
written by panca, October 14, 2008 13:27:50

Truth no talk, Money talk, Rakyat mati Rakyat punya pasal! I am going sailing with my maid in "Down Undies", ooops "Under".
written by apa jadi, October 14, 2008 13:52:38
If the SMS is authentic, the questions now are:

1) Who had the access to the phone server record.
2) Why go at length to search and extract the messages.
3) Who "leaked out" the message after that.
4) Whose directive, what motive is of this person.
5) Or is this person leaking the message simply want the naked truth told.
6) Why this SMS is out only at the moment the power shift is eminent.

One very final question: why the people involved keep very silent? Only a "holy" man came out to say he is a good man?
written by Limau, October 14, 2008 14:01:28
Pak Lah, by hiding Najib's deeds you are putting UNMO in more deep shit, after so much of expose you still say I believe in him, you expect the public to buy your words, Pah Lah you are also spoiling your own reputation by this comment at the stage of stepping down.
written by sydput, October 14, 2008 14:01:53
So all roads linked with those arrested under ISA, sodomy II, Monggolian women leads to Najib. And yet, none of the UMNO delegates chose another alternative as PM. What a shame.
written by CitizenBodohland, October 14, 2008 14:17:25
Now it looks like Bodowi "buat-buat bodoh" for real.
KJ?...
written by samesamemam, October 14, 2008 14:21:41
Lets be objective. No one can prove the authenticity of that sms conversation. No one will. If anyone does, its not goin to make a diff. In fact, the whole way it was reported is very dubious. First MT published it, then malaysiakini and a whole lotsa other blogs reproduced it citing MT. Then MT published another article on it citing that malaysiakini had posted it. Check you postings.

But the point is that the gomen side or their supporters are not goin to comment on this. But the anti-gomen side is gonna milk this story dry. And I bet there are gonna be more juicy stories to come. And the gomen side is gonna just keep quiet.

The point is – we all know who murdered Altantunya and who the accessories to murder were. The evidence thus far presented speaks for itself.

This sms details, true or false, ain’t gonna change the facts of the case.

The point is – this sms nor any other evidence ain’t gonna change the verdict. The verdict is goin to oni happen when umno/bn feels secure. Until then, all the court cases – against anwar, against rpk, and the altantunya one are goin to be postponed and postponed…gomen and police are goin to let us have all the vigils, petitions, rantings and ravings we wan…they goin to give us all the space for cryin and laments…cos they just don’t care and its no skin of their noses…this is their best thought-out strategy so far…let us buggers and bloggers just rant and rave till we are tired…; they got all the state machineries and they got the time and they got the judiciary, the military and police behind them…

Oni when bn/umno is stable, perhaps by march 2009, then they goin to release rpk, maybe do something about isa, and do this and that to show how good and patronizing they are…

We got to think of something else to do to change the game as it is being played now…if we don’t, then we just gotta wait until the next GE.
written by Kopi37, October 14, 2008 14:37:34
"........................I believe he's a good person and he would be a good prime minister, “ said Abdullah.

Of course when the devil speaks, he will talk good about his same species! The Country is now ruled by devils, the Angels are all caged in Kemunting! Release the Angels then only we will be of hope to breeze in heaven! Conversely and to the likely facts, we better prepare ourselves for hell we are leading to! The most lurid devil is coming to take all the rakyat for a free trip to Hell!.................eerie!
written by carribeanking7, October 14, 2008 15:02:45
Of course It is no secret that Razak Baginda and Najib are good friends, the transcript (if true ) prves Najibs concern, I however notice that 4 parts of the transcript raises concerns of inteference when looked at objectively. (In brackets are my concerns)

N2S Date: 8/11/2006 21:06:11
--> I have spoken to IGP. U can represent n meet RB in court.
(interference in an ongoing police investigation)

N2S Date: 16/11/2006 10:53:50
--> Pls do not say anything to the press today. i will explain later. RB will have to face a tentative charge but all is not lost.
(withholding info from the press while creating political spin, that was the same time ASP Tony Lungan called Bala by then exPI for Razak baginda to question him on what he knew,this line also smacks of political inteference)

S2N Date: 17/11/2006 12:57:49
--> Can You sound this to Dato Radzi Shek Ahmad?
(Dato Radzi Sheikh Ahmad was the Home affairs minister at the time-that means that Shafee requested Najibs inteference to put pressure on the Prisons Director, and as you can see in the next sms he was very cooperative as attested by Shafee in the next sms)

S2N Date: 17/11/2006 10:50:30
--> Dato Seri, Its important you speak toYusoff Zainal Abidin as he knows the law a lot better in the Chambers.
(The defence asking DPM to ask DPP Yusoff Zainal Abidin, who is well known for playing badminton with a certain judge, to egneer a dismissal of the case on a technicality citing 3 precedents)

I have no faith whatsoever that this will be investigated thoroughly, Najib is likely to deny it, after a long silence and while gathereing political spin, come out with some nonsensical counter claim, the the police will obediently trace the source of the sms leakage, come up with some crap threat about taking action against bloggers who publish the transcript on their blogs etc. Or maxis will announce that the data does not exist, hey if immigration records can be wiped out, what more telco records.One thing though , in the next general elaction, the opposition will not be short of issues to give voters reasons not to vote BN. You can manipulate laws, police, judiciary do what you like but you will never escape the wrath of the people at the ballot box.

written by KweN, October 14, 2008 15:18:17
of course najib is a good person..everybody in barisan national especially umno is a good person right?
teressa was accused of something and she got ISA
while ahmad was the one being racist and wao..no ISA
anyway the point is
people..do we want a perverted murderer to be our prime minister?
written by born2reign, October 14, 2008 15:19:48
I only know one thing. UMNO will die in UMNO hands - how can individual members not united among each other, murdering each other with their tongues, have a united party and move forward?

Just relax and watch the wayang kulit on the oldest profession, UMNO prostitution.
written by JUST, October 14, 2008 15:20:08
http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/13695/84/
written by alpha100, October 14, 2008 16:36:55
Is it malaysian culture for our politician not to sue someone for slander or libel? If not, then what is written is true!
written by ahmadneil, October 14, 2008 16:54:05
This SMS is nothing but the TRUTH!
written by Vincent, October 14, 2008 18:35:28
Mr najis, the best way you can do is to follow this :-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP3YCZvuB6A
written by astina, October 14, 2008 18:52:20
Pak Lembik could have immediately called for an investigation and also get his number2 suspended till cleared .

However Pak lembik choose to ignore this opportunity ..hmmm..the 200 milion question is why ??..hmmm..CON-fusion
written by Spear Bing, October 14, 2008 22:23:26
Yes keep on harping the sms allegations until you milk them dry. Keep on harping them - in the Parliament, in the teh tarik joints, in the streets, in the press, in the blogosphere, in the internet cafe, in the office during lunch break and dinner, during night time and during sleep.

Demand for the TRUTH. Tell the TRUTH and SHAME THE DEVIL. That is if NAJB dares.
written by agadam magadam, October 15, 2008 01:53:53
These bunch of faggots,scums, they lie thru their teeth, take the Rakyat for granted..
Things are going to get worse, when this scoundrel takes over the Govt with Iskandar Kutty backing him, we got to go back to Kindy school and start all over again, while they rip and rape Malaysia further...Unless.......... Anwar comes in fast, discloses his crossovers' and free us from mortal sin...
Will Anwar, ever do it..??? Please DSAI, when..?? When..?? We will stand along side you...But for how long..???....???