Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RPK Sedition Trial: 10 to 13 more to testify

RPK Sedition Trial: 10 to 13 more to testify PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Monday, 13 October 2008 20:46

The prosecution will be calling 10 to 13 more witnesses to testify when the sedition trial of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin resumes in November, the sessions court here was told today.

The trial was to have continued today but was postponed to Nov 10 - 13 because sessions judge Rozina Ayob is on medical leave.

DPP Ishak Mohd Yusoff told judge Balqis Aini Mohd Ali, who presided over the hearing, the prosecution would continue with the questioning of Supt Gan Tack Guan, who had been called to testify last week.

Gan, the senior investigating officer in the Altantuya murder trial, had filed a police report against Raja Petra on April 30, claiming that several elements in a Malaysia-today.net  article titled 'Let's send the Altantuya murderers to hell' were "untrue and made up". The article was posted online on April 25.

Raja Petra's counsel, J Chandra, asked the court to allow his client to undergo a further medical check-up, including a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan.

He said an initial examination last Friday had revealed that Raja Petra is suffering from a spinal condition which requires medical attention.

"(He has a) pre-existing condition of lumbar spine degenerative disease which was aggravated after moving into detention. He feels that the poor sleeping facilities at the detention centre exacerbated his condition," said Chandra, who read from a medical report prepared by a chiropractor at Cheras Specialist Centre.

Balqis allowed Raja Petra to go for the check-up on the condition that all rules of the Internal Security Act (ISA), under which Raja Petra has been detained since Sept 22, are complied with.

Raja Petra, who spoke to reporters, said he was happier with the changes in his diet at the Kamunting detention camp. "Now, I get biscuits and eggs," he said.

A statement issued by Prisons Department public relations officer Hadi Ag Kassim last Thursday said that bread, biscuits and eggs would be added to Raja Petra'ss diet after approval by medical officers at the camp.

- The Sun

written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 20:53:58
Come on, give RPK a water bed or a piece of 15 inches Dreamland mattress to sleep on.If situation warrants a massage specialist then get one from Thailand where there are plenty of professional massageur.
Votes: +25
written by msiaman, October 13, 2008 21:08:15
Why is it when we talk about justice, abuse by the authorities are always on our mind? Just like this case, someone's freedom is at stake and we lock him up first while the rest try to figure out how to grill him. On status quo, the accused would be victimized first. Is that so much talk about democracy, world class judiciary etc?

Our sleepy head now becomes big head and can go around talking big. I thought airheads only applies to blondies? Here we have a new one....

Votes: +23
written by raybeam, October 13, 2008 22:25:42

The recent revelations made by both Nadaswaren and Terence Fernandez of the sun newspaper with regards to the corrupt practices going on at the tourism ministry is most troubling and shocking to say the least. I would not be surprised that this is only the tip of the iceberg and that a lot of wheeling and dealing is going around in other ministries. It is most unfortunate that in spite of the numerous scandals that have been exposed by these 2 brave journalists from the sun newspaper, everything seems to have been swept under the carpet, and what's more, to add insult to injury, none of the top officials in government have been brought to book for abuse of power. I think that it is appropriate for me at this juncture to remind the mca that if it is serious about reforming the barisan government, then it should take stern action against one of its top officials, namely, chew mei fun if she is found to be implicated in the tourism ministry saga, for 10,000 ringgit at the public's expense and having a chauffeur driven car is just not on. I would even go as far as to suggest that she be barred from participating in the forthcoming party elections to send her a clear message that abuse of power and corruption in any form will not be tolerated. At the same time, may I strongly urge Malaysiakini to start investigations on the tourism ministry scandal without delay so that the perpetrators of these crimes can be exposed and be made to answer for abusing the trust that have been given to them by the rakyat.

I also read with horror, an article that is doing the rounds over cyber space, with regards to the exchange of text messages between Najib Razak and lawyer shafee abdullah pertaining to the altuntaya murder mystery. Finally, may I caution all right thinking Malaysians not to rejoice at prime minister Badawi's exit from the top post of the land as I am quite certain that he is going to have the last laugh at all of us, for I am sure he knows only too well what is in store for us in the future when najib assumes power. Furthermore, it has been speculated that ex premier mahathir will become najib's top adviser which certainly spells disaster for all Malaysians. How can all law abiding citizens allow such a person as najib to be our next prime minister when he has been tainted and linked to several scandals. May I take this golden opportunity to remind all Malaysians who seek justice to remember our beloved hero, Rajah Petra who is now languishing in jail for exposing the corrupt practices of this very despotic regime. I am glad to inform all readers of Malaysiakini that despite the fact that I'm a blind inividual, I made it a point to attend a candlelight vigil last night to try and pressure the evil government to release RPK without delay and unconditionally, for he is certainly the voice and conscience of the nation and we should be proud of the sacrifices that he is making for all of us with the hope that we can have better leaders in the not too distant future.

yours sincerely,

Alfred Ho..
Votes: +29
written by budakindia, October 13, 2008 23:28:44
Pete, glad that you're ok and they started giving you decent food. smilies/grin.gif
I really hope this time the prosecution team will not produce pieces of furniture as their "witnesses"! smilies/wink.gif We already had a big mattress as a witness previously. We certainly don't want another big mattress hauled down to the court room yet again! smilies/cheesy.gif
Votes: +5
written by samesamemam, October 13, 2008 23:33:24
is anyone on the MT team actually going to give a report or commentary on the proceedings of the trial itself...or is it going to be just this lovely, dovey, we love you RPK...crap...we get it already...lets have some commentary on what actually happened in court...sorry folks...but...I think we owe it to RPK to comment on the trial...
written by islandjoe, October 13, 2008 23:33:58
IRONIC isn't it? They are torturing RPK because he has a backbone. Step one of the Kamunting rehabilitation - 1st remove the backbone, then start the brainwashing. If it wasn't so disturbing it would be funny.

Camp medical officers, of course they will say the sleeping conditions are fine. They are BN goons and we all know they would be fine under those conditions as they are SPINELESS!!!

PR Office for the Prisons?? Wow, the government's department of lies / misinformation even extend their puppets here. I can just imagine what this sharp tool looks like. Better donate him some gloves as I can hear his knuckles dragging on the ground already.

written by Desolated Malaysian, October 14, 2008 01:58:16
Am I fed-up with DSAI's empty promises? It doesn't matter anymore. Because I am still typing this comment from the comfort of my home.

Fact to the matter is that DSAI has truly let RPK down. RPK bet to his last dime so that DSAI can win. But now DSAI has chosen to leave RPK suffer alone in Kamunting.

Politicians will be poiliticians. All with their empty promises. I am sure DSAI knows that he doesn't have the number all along. He was just playing the the mind games with the MPs. But in this game, he has to sacrifice a piece of his pawn. Unfortunately this pawn is our beloved RPK.

Marina, I wished there is something else I can do to confort you at this juncture. But Pete has bet wrongly this time.
Votes: -4
written by Motherchell, October 14, 2008 02:02:48
Judge Rozina Ayob should take a serious view of the failed submissions so far by the prosecution!!!-- AM I GOING TO BE ISA'ed FOR SAYING SO ??? If this judge ever worked in a big corporation , she/he would get the sack------ !!! reason ??-----

---taking matters so lightly when a man's life is in danger of Justice denied, with all the HOLES in the case --- the judge is on medical leave ???? (i agree one has a right not to be in good health)----as though she/he is production operator of some manufacturing line who is playing truant with his/he job and responsibilities. NO EXCUSE!!!! UTTER IRRESPONSIBILITY!!

This Judge gives credence to our courts as Kangaroo Courts!! All the legal prose , of giving time for the prosecution so much leeway for SO MANY dammed flawed charges . No wonder ! none of our Govt legal eagles can fly or soar high in world Forums.
IN A COUNTRY WHERE we don't have a Justice Minister!!!-- and a tribal "nomadic" HOME Minister who doesn't even know the difference between "Batu Puteh" and "Batu Arang"!!!!!!!!!
Malaysia is becoming more tribal in dispensing true justice to its Citizens ----- the so called Merc driven "village head" kind Judges .

Shouldn't JUDGES work like HEART SURGEONS!!! ????? WHERE TIME IS SO CRITICAL TO SAVE A LIFE !!!!!! OR WILL JUDGES UNDERSTAND THIS truly better WHEN THEY ARE ON THEIR DEATH BED RIDDEN WITH A LIFE THREATENING impairment or malady????????

My heart and soul goes for the injustice done for RPK !! All judges will understand better their actions when they are on the death bed with surgeons going on medical leave !!
Votes: +12
written by Alice, October 14, 2008 07:37:45
When I attended the trial on Thursday,I was really glad that the Judge Rozina Ayob ,was a FAIR JUDGE.Now she is on medical leave.I really hope no one is pressuring her . JUDGES MUST HAVE A CLEAR CONSCIENCE AND MUST DISCHARGE THEIR DUTIES JUSTLY .
Votes: +9

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.