Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raja Petra sedition trial: Better food now

Raja Petra sedition trial: Better food now PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 October 2008 20:45

“How am I doing? Just look at my tummy, “ the Malaysia Today editor said while rubbing his stomach when he was brought to a Sessions Court here for the fifth day of his sedition trial on Monday.

PETALING JAYA: Internal Security Act (ISA) detainee Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin now enjoys an improved diet at Kamunting detention camp.

Raja Petra, 58, confirmed that he has been given bread, eggs and biscuits at the camp as part of his menu after he could not stomach certain food there.

“How am I doing? Just look at my tummy, “ the Malaysia Today editor said while rubbing his stomach when he was brought to a Sessions Court here for the fifth day of his sedition trial on Monday.

Asked on how he was being treated by others in the camp, Raja Petra said he did not get to mix around as he was placed in solitary confinement for three months.

He said he was spending his time reading. He has been placed at the police Hq in Bukit Aman during the trial.

Asked if he was attending any religious classes at the camp, Raja Petra said, “They (the authorities) will probably do it at another day when I go back to the camp.”

Trial postponed
At the outset of the case on Monday, lead prosecutor DPP Ishak Mohd Yusof said the trial was to continue with a fifth witness, Supt Gan Tack Guan, who is the complainant for the case.

However, he told Sessions court judge Balqis Aini Mohd Ali that the trial judge Rozina Ayob was on a medical leave, and asked for a new date for the continuation of the hearing.

The judge then set three days from Nov 10 for the continuation of the trial.

Later, lead counsel J.Chandra applied for Raja Petra to be allowed a further medical check-up at HSC Cheras Specialist Centre on Oct 16 at 10am as recommended by an expert.

He said the specialist had given a report over Raja Petra’s condition.

“He (Raja Petra) maintains that his pre-existing condition of lumbar spine degenerative disease was aggravated after moving into detention.

“He feels that the poor sleeping facilities at the detention centre exacerbated his condition,” the lawyer said.

Chandra said the specialist had recommended Raja Petra undergo an MRI scan on Oct 16 at the centre.

To this, DPP Roslan Mat Nor said any application by ISA detainee for treatments had to be in accordance with the guidelines of the Rules of the ISA.

“The prosecution will give a letter to the authorities for their further action,” he said.

- The Star

written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 21:00:34
Ya, I know RPK have been given better food after much pressure from supporters but it's not the food,it's the bed.The bed is so hard and cold that RPK can't sleep properly at night.Now listen ,it's time for Antu Syed to show sense by giving him a water bed or a 15 inches Dreamland mattress.Also provide RPK with a Osim massage chair so RPK can relax while reading his books.This is all been paid with taxpayers money not yours,Antu Syed.
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 21:01:54
How sure could you be that whoever is attending to Raja Petra's back problem might turn out to be najib's running dog? The possibility of being maimed or poisoned would be inevitable, just like the way Anwar was being physical abbused when he was in jail..
written by supplier, October 13, 2008 21:16:29
When Baginda was charged with murder,he was bailed out.
Double Standard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 21:46:44
supplier,

That's because Baginda prays to a special god.

His special god can issue platic explosives and provide explosive experts from nowhere, turn police DPM protectors into murderes, and make immigration records and private investigators disappear into thin air.

One gotta pray to the right god for those sorts of miracles to happen...

written by raybeam, October 13, 2008 22:21:34

The recent revelations made by both Nadaswaren and Terence Fernandez of the sun newspaper with regards to the corrupt practices going on at the tourism ministry is most troubling and shocking to say the least. I would not be surprised that this is only the tip of the iceberg and that a lot of wheeling and dealing is going around in other ministries. It is most unfortunate that in spite of the numerous scandals that have been exposed by these 2 brave journalists from the sun newspaper, everything seems to have been swept under the carpet, and what's more, to add insult to injury, none of the top officials in government have been brought to book for abuse of power. I think that it is appropriate for me at this juncture to remind the mca that if it is serious about reforming the barisan government, then it should take stern action against one of its top officials, namely, chew mei fun if she is found to be implicated in the tourism ministry saga, for 10,000 ringgit at the public's expense and having a chauffeur driven car is just not on. I would even go as far as to suggest that she be barred from participating in the forthcoming party elections to send her a clear message that abuse of power and corruption in any form will not be tolerated. At the same time, may I strongly urge Malaysiakini to start investigations on the tourism ministry scandal without delay so that the perpetrators of these crimes can be exposed and be made to answer for abusing the trust that have been given to them by the rakyat.

I also read with horror, an article that is doing the rounds over cyber space, with regards to the exchange of text messages between Najib Razak and lawyer shafee abdullah pertaining to the altuntaya murder mystery. Finally, may I caution all right thinking Malaysians not to rejoice at prime minister Badawi's exit from the top post of the land as I am quite certain that he is going to have the last laugh at all of us, for I am sure he knows only too well what is in store for us in the future when najib assumes power. Furthermore, it has been speculated that ex premier mahathir will become najib's top adviser which certainly spells disaster for all Malaysians. How can all law abiding citizens allow such a person as najib to be our next prime minister when he has been tainted and linked to several scandals. May I take this golden opportunity to remind all Malaysians who seek justice to remember our beloved hero, Rajah Petra who is now languishing in jail for exposing the corrupt practices of this very despotic regime. I am glad to inform all readers of Malaysiakini that despite the fact that I'm a blind inividual, I made it a point to attend a candlelight vigil last night to try and pressure the evil government to release RPK without delay and unconditionally, for he is certainly the voice and conscience of the nation and we should be proud of the sacrifices that he is making for all of us with the hope that we can have better leaders in the not too distant future.

yours sincerely,

Alfred Ho..
written by islandjoe, October 13, 2008 22:58:07
They should do an audit on how much the Kamunting Caterer is being paid and who decided on the caterer. Probably all the money dwindled down by the time it reaches the caterer. So prisoners get left over curry, rice, and an egg - RM8? Perhaps!

To think of that slimeball Baginda being on bail for MURDER, while RPK is framed under a poor excuse of a law, makes me sick.
written by cillipepper, October 13, 2008 23:37:53
Enough, Enough, Enough.
Conclude the trial, free Pet and the likes.
Instead prosecute and sentence the thieves, the robbers, the murderers, the rapists, the kidnappers, the corrupt, the oppressors, the speculators,the ulats, the ah longs,the mat rempits, the ibu ayams, the tontoos, the CBTs, the liars...would anyone care to add to my wish list!
What a waste of public funds.
Makan gaji buta buat kerja bodoh , tak berfaedah!
written by varvoom, October 14, 2008 02:36:47
"However, he told Sessions court judge Balqis Aini Mohd Ali that the trial judge Rozina Ayob was on a medical leave, and asked for a new date for the continuation of the hearing".

Soon they will run out of honest judge to take this case on.

written by anakwatanKL, October 14, 2008 08:56:08
Good to hear that RPK's humour is still intact.

Healthwise, he is placed under the worst dwelling that a human being can be put in esp with his back problem being aggravated. I pray that RPK's lawyers will push for RPK's good health be maintained as he was before he was placed in Kamunting.

Care to inform what is the guidelines as in the Rules of ISA.