Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM clarifies proposal for direct membership to BN

PM clarifies proposal for direct membership to BN PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 October 2008 20:43

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today clarified that he never suggested that all component parties in Barisan Nasional (BN) be abolished and replaced with a single multi-racial party.

Instead, the prime minister said, he had merely proposed that the BN find ways to include a group of Malaysians who wanted to participate in the BN without joining any race-based component party.

"I never suggested that component parties must be abolished. What I suggested was that we must also respond to the needs of certain people who want to be associated with the BN, they like to interact with the BN and feel that it truly reflects a multi-racial party.

"So my response to that is to give them the opportunity to be a direct member of the BN. We create a forum, a club, a branch or whatever we want to call it, so there'll be component parties and there 'll be this new group," said Abdullah, who is also the BN chairman.

He was responding to Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek's statement on Saturday that the setting up of a single multiracial party was akin to abolishing Umno.

Explaining further, Abdullah, the Umno president, said this group of members would provide the BN with their views on various issues, as Malaysians and not based on their races.

"Can you imagine, for example, somebody from a Chinese party like MCA or Gerakan standing up and talking from the perspective of their community, and from that group one says 'well, I belong to the community but my stand is this'," said Abdullah.

He said that at the same time, it would provide the component parties a platform to explain to the group about their boundaries and limitations while representing the interests of each community.

"This group will also provide us new approaches, new thinking, and bring to our attention some of the multiracial concerns that we may not be aware of. So I think it's very good," he said.

However, he said, he could not see the BN as a single multi-racial party in the near future although there were changes happening in the party.

This was due to differences in the values of each community which demanded respect and understanding from each other, he added.

- Bernama

written by Kathy, October 13, 2008 20:49:00
Same difference? This forum, or group or what you want to call it is not a political party so where do its members stand when it comes to dishing out govt. posts? Abdullah's idea of this group sounds like a think tank but I thought we already have one but do not use it. Again, too little too late!
written by kkselvam, October 13, 2008 20:52:00
Just shut up la sleeping PM.We know that you not going to achieve anything in next 5 months.Why didn't you say it correctly and clearly of your intention before so that you don't have to clarify later?
You damn BN fools only play to the gallery.When any reporter talks to you,you just say some so called good news for the rakyat to hear and only to retract it later.Damn shitful la your mouth. Go to the grave early,can?
written by Thamipoh, October 13, 2008 20:53:45
AAB: it simply means you are talking nuts. All being said are nonsensical.
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 21:07:25
AAB is running out of time.What he does now will be chuck out by Racist mahathir's puppet.
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 22:14:38
This is just UMNO's new approach to accomodate stupid squatters...

written by Hello Keithy, October 13, 2008 22:15:06
No need to clarify. The UMNO goons will definitely shoot it down like a clay pigeon. AAB was talking cock and the component parties esp. MCA and Gerakan took it seriously. Still in their dreams and again taken for a ride by AAB. This is what UMNO is all about. Rubbing and squeezing the balls of MCA, MIC and Gerakan. And these goons feel 'syiok' and feel they are needed in the BN coalition. WAKE UP DICKHE*** !!!!
written by diff2view, October 13, 2008 23:32:21
Pak Lah, Please don't wrap yourself into blanket of excuses..If u wanna do merging, plz do it without any hesitation..I couldn't see any clarity of thought from you for merging BN into 1 giant force..or let the pakatan continue with 1 single force.. smilies/cool.gif
written by islandjoe, October 13, 2008 23:41:42
Direct membership criteria to BN:

1) No talent
2) No backbone
3) No work ethic
4) No brains
5) Spewing party rhetoric with no real comprehension of principals
6) No principals
7) Corrupt
smilies/cool.gif Selfish
9) Think skinned and easily influenced by his or her OWN Bull**it.
10) And let's not forget this one: ARROGANT

Here endeth the 10 commandments of BN.

This is why we will NEVER have a Nelson Mandela type leader while BN are in power.
written by Sagaladoola, October 13, 2008 23:53:24
Now, we know what kind of mentality that our Information Minister, Ahmad Shabery Cheek has ....

It is not surprising actually, this kind of mentality.
written by jason, October 14, 2008 00:44:55
AAB you are a real joker.You will invite some stooges into BN and act as if they represent the rakyat. If you really want to hear the people voices,MT is the place. You don't need extra marital partners in BN, what you need is to listen to RPK but you throw him in jail. You can"t face the truth,you only want to hear what you likes to hear, not the truth. You twist the truth and create tension among the races so that you can ISA all your critics.
Tell you what, why don't you abolish the ISA, close down Kamunting and everybody will love you.Then you will think, what to do with the ISA detainees? Not to worry, you have that institution call TANJUNG RAMBUTAN! Get the picture. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by varvoom, October 14, 2008 03:02:25
Badawi actually said “look, lets pretend we are non racist, get those fools in and before you know it, with backhander, like patronage, they will all sing the same song”.
Clutching on straws, those desperate corrupt bigots
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 14, 2008 08:27:48
PM clarifies proposal for direct membership to BN

DIDN'T THE DICTATOR TOLD U TO SHUT UP?? NOW U SLAP YRSELF.
HE MUST HV CASTRATED YOU WITH ALL THE BAGGAGE IN YR FAMILY CUPBOARD
THAT YOU JUST CANT SAY A WORD TO ALL HIS RIDICULES/TAUNTS/SARCASTIC
COMMENTS. SO WHAT BLOODY REFORMS ARE U PARROTING FOR THE NEXT 5 MONTHS.
IN YR DREAMS MAYBE??
written by anakwatanKL, October 14, 2008 09:08:50
I'm afraid that in time direct membership bodies will eventually be silenced by the shouting BN orators like, "u tak tahulah... DUDUKLAH!!!!!" Too many egos shouting away in parliament session. Too little scrutiny/debate is encouraged. Even the moderator is practically helpless.
written by cllim123, October 14, 2008 13:21:45
Another half past six flip flop idea from the PM, lame duck, bebek tempang.
written by No nonsense, October 14, 2008 19:27:25
Hello, why are guys so upset about what bird awi is saying? He is sleep-talking only so why so work-up? Relax man relax.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 15, 2008 19:15:17
Direct membership to BN = Direct membership to HELL.