Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ACA completes Lingam probe, gets mixed response

ACA completes Lingam probe, gets mixed response PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Monday, 13 October 2008 20:42

By SHAILA KOSHY, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: The news that the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) had completed investigations into matters raised by the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the V.K. Lingam video clip has elicited mixed feelings.

While the Bar Council and several others welcomed the completion of the investigations they had reservations about the quality or whether any further action would ensue.

“Previous ACA investigations into these same issues left much to be desired so we hope the investigations this time were more in-depth and thorough,” said council chairman Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan.

ACA director of Investigations Datuk Shukri Abdull was reported as saying on Monday that the investigations on matters directly related to lawyer Datuk V.K. Lingam were complete.

He added that the papers had been submitted to the ACA’s Prosecution Division for further action.

In its report, presented to the King on May 9, the Commission had found that it was former Chief Justice Tun Ahmad Fairuz Sheilkh Abdul Halim who was talking on the phone with Lingam.

Among others, it recommended the ACA investigate the New Zealand holiday that then Chief Justice Tun Eusoff Chin and Lingam and their respective families had gone on in 1994.

Following the report, which found evidence of manipulation in the appointment and promotion of judges, the Attorney General and the Cabinet directed the ACA to investigate six individuals: Lingam; former Chief Justice Tun Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim; Eusoff; former Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor; business tycoon Tan Sri Vincent Tan; and then Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Hakam president Malik Imtiaz Sarvar said it was in the public interest that steps be taken urgently, in view of the serious lack of confidence in the judiciary.

“The need for reform is beyond question. The taking of appropriate measures, one way or the other, is a must.”

Transparency International - Malaysia president Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam said the public had been wondering about the delay.

“I hope the ACA has been able to be completely independent and the new powers it now enjoys in prosecution will be fully justified because it is now solely accountable for investigations and prosecutions,” he added.

Retired Court of Appeal Judge Datuk Shaik Daud Ismail hoped the ACA would prosecute if the evidence called for that.

“They must otherwise the public will not have faith in them or any other Royal Commission.”

written by msiaman, October 13, 2008 20:55:55
Seems "korek, korek, korek" has disappeared from press radar altogether. Talk about restoring judicial confidence. First thing to do is to revamp and kick out all the scumbag police like that of Victor Sanjos and gang.

Votes: +47
written by ahmadneil, October 13, 2008 21:09:26
All these report will be in the shredding machine when Najis takes over.
Votes: +34
written by DreamLady, October 13, 2008 21:26:09
ACA, punish the wrong doers. Otherwise, ACA, your credibility shall be tainted with SHIT AGAIN..

Our Agong is watching, don't you ever fool the royal highness, unlike his previous counterparts, he does not take nonsence kindly..
Votes: +21
written by Dongra Dude, October 13, 2008 21:39:48
ACA why the delay in taking action against them compared to DSAI's Sodomy trial which was executed with great urgency. The Lingam case is of Publiv Interest, expedite the prosecution of all involved including the one which is barking behind the scene. smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif
Votes: +26
written by shangrilapeace, October 13, 2008 21:43:58
This is one of the high profile case which has to be executed with fear and favor. All eyes are on the ACA’s Prosecution Division.
Their reputation are at stake.
Votes: +13
written by shangrilapeace, October 13, 2008 21:45:30
Without fear and favor. Sorry,
Votes: +3
written by cheekhiaw, October 13, 2008 21:57:26
'ACA completes Lingam probe' in Hindi means 'cock completes cocky probe'?

Votes: +9
written by Jit Dharma, October 13, 2008 22:12:17
The ACA report has come to the conclusion that a man, probably V.K. Lingam's long lost twin brother( who was kidnapped at child birth and raised by
criminals, EXACTLY like a Tamil movie), was the man in the video. Their response
after this investigation was sheer disbelief. Said Datuk Shukri,"you wouldn't believe that such things are possible, but there you go.We hope the public will
rest easy now."
Death to ALL tyrants. Have a nice day.
Votes: +11
written by Dongra Dude, October 13, 2008 22:27:53

He looks like me, speaks like me but he is not me, but my clone says, V.K.Lingam. ACA will buy this argument and another DNA profile and case will be dragged to 2020 or V.K Lingam Dies like Eric Cheah. smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by pulaiman, October 13, 2008 22:42:14
no action will be taken on anyone esp racist mahatir, umno s. gen,vincent tan etc etc how can take action? UMNO is involved in all the manuplations. ACA also run by gomen maa. but RPK AND ANWAR MUST BE CHARGED AND CONVICTED.
Votes: +7
written by islandjoe, October 13, 2008 23:02:09
All good fiction takes time. Hence the delay. Must be hard writing a story when everyone knows the ending: It ends with INJUSTICE. Sorry, I spoilt it for you.

Anyway, this 3rd rate wayang kulit by the ACA is not worth spending time on. Lousy director, poor cast, and sub-standard acting. Straight to video.
written by ultraman, October 14, 2008 03:07:51
When did ACA ever succeed in nailing high profile cases? Tell me please!
My final conclusion for The investigation: NO CASE! CASE CLOSED!
Votes: +4
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 14, 2008 08:22:14
ACA completes Lingam probe, gets mixed response

WOW. EVEN A CRIPPLED CAN DO A QUICKER JOB. NOW THE AG WILL DRAG
ANOTHER 5 MONTHS. IT WILL DIE COME MARCH 09 AND THE CAUSE -
SUDDEN DEATH. NO CASE/NO ACTION. SO HIDUP M*M*K/NAJIS??
Votes: +1
written by Mik, October 14, 2008 09:34:21
Who will be watching over ACA?
written by khongja, October 14, 2008 10:30:50
a TOOTHLESS TIGER WASTING TAXPAYERS MONEY!!
Votes: +0
written by cllim123, October 14, 2008 13:29:33
Nothing will happen. There is no sufficient evidence to prove that VK Lingam was the man. The ACA asked him if he was the man but he said no. So no evidence. Syed Hamid will say the police did a fine job and was totally independent from his influence. No arrest, No remand, No ISA, nothing. And what is the best news? PM can say boldly "we still have mandate to rule." Welcome to Malaysia.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.